Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2 cows with mastitis this morning, first in a long time, one was served the other day and was very hard to serve, so I assume the stress caused her mastitis. The other will be for the road when she is clear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    2 cows with mastitis this morning, first in a long time, one was served the other day and was very hard to serve, so I assume the stress caused her mastitis. The other will be for the road when she is clear

Why not just get rid of her instead of treating her?

She's tubed now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I had the first case in 6 weeks this morning as well. Barely back in the tank before dryoff:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I had the first case in 6 weeks this morning as well. Barely back in the tank before dryoff:rolleyes:

Just had a storm of mastitis here, drive you cracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Just had a storm of mastitis here, drive you cracked.

Steady 2 or 3 cases a week here since they were housed, annoying! Cubicles kept clean and limed every milking. At least the bulk tank SCC still under 200. But it would make me more determined to go all spring milk and be drying off now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Similar case here. She had a case during year also. Might give her a bottle of tylo along with tubes and give her a nice long rest.
    Anyone do the sensitivity testing with glanbia . Any clearcut results/recommendations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Timmaay wrote: »
    Steady 2 or 3 cases a week here since they were housed, annoying! Cubicles kept clean and limed every milking. At least the bulk tank SCC still under 200. But it would make me more determined to go all spring milk and be drying off now.

Mild damp weather is a big contributer imo. Shaking a bit of white rhino on mats a couple of times a week atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Had a couple of cases all the same time here the week after housing, wasted time with synulox and then switched to cobactan which then cleared it. Put it down to them being dirtier coming into shed off grass as well as extra stress, they cleaned up once winter diet kicked in and no clinical cases since. Cubicles scraped and limed twice a day while cows on are on the way to parlour. Switched to hical, in a ton bag, from agrical 2 weeks ago, it's 10% hydrated lime seems ok so far and not as dusty spreading as hydrated lime. Teat condition seems to be holding. Stretch is right tho damp warm weather ain't gelping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Two cases of mastitis here in the last few days as well, it's obviously going around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

it must be the stink weather, got a txt alert today excess water, whats this latest scam about from our good friends in glanbia? never got one before.

Very same storey here. Had no case of mastitis since May.
    Scc was 70 the day they came in. Went up to 360 after 6 days.
    7 cows with mastitis.
    Lesson learned- listen to the boss when he says pre spray and whipe when the cows are housed.
    Scc down to 130 atm which will be as low as well get it till cows go to grass again

it must be the stink weather, got a txt alert today excess water, whats this latest scam about from our good friends in glanbia? never got one before.
    Used to get them the odd time, normally around the last collection of the month. Now i can blow the last of the milk out of the line before washing so it doesnt happen anymore. When volumes are smaller at this time of year it shows up more. I also always empty any last bits of water out of jars before starting milking, you'd be surprised how much there is there

back up to 20 litres this morning

She's still worth a few pound milking so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

33.2l
    3.3p
    4.1bf

Fresh calvers.
    Started (probably) second last round of grazing today.

Any one else on everyday collection? Is there a shortage of winter milk? Normally we go for uht milk every day for a week or so but we have been everyday-except sunday- for a long time now

Used to get them the odd time, normally around the last collection of the month. Now i can blow the last of the milk out of the line before washing so it doesnt happen anymore. When volumes are smaller at this time of year it shows up more. I also always empty any last bits of water out of jars before starting milking, you'd be surprised how much there is there
    How does that work, W2? A compressor connected to some point on the milk line?

I usually have c.15l of milk in the line twice a day that I feed to late calves but as the late girls exit the system I was thinking of getting something to blow the lines clear of milk and then clear of water after washing. It would be worth about 10euro a day to me once all the calves are weaned:o

yes theres a valve connected to the air line for feeders and this blows the last of the milk in to the tank, my tank is bottom fill. I never feed the last of the milk to calves as theres too much of a johnes risk:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I just bought a valve to do it, goes under the receiver in the pit. You open the tap to let in filtered compressed air.

Haven't fitted it yet but will let you know how it works.

Big issue for us, when you milk as few as we do there can be more milk left in the line than in the tank! (actually something I wish I had thought of before I moved the receiver from the dairy into the pit)

When the valve was fitted last year it blew nearly every pipe off possible, now have loads of hose clips as the pressure is fairly strong.

yes theres a valve connected to the air line for feeders and this blows the last of the milk in to the tank, my tank is bottom fill. I never feed the last of the milk to calves as theres too much of a johnes risk:cool:
    How so?

Jaysus, I'm learning loads today.

I better switch off before I overload:)

How so?

Jaysus, I'm learning loads today.

I better switch off before I overload:)
    no milk from bulk tank goes to calves here, no milk from second calvers or heifers either and only johnes negative cows milk goes to the calves. In an ideal world I would be feeding no cows milk to calves but rotavec corona biestings has to be fed. Not a problem if ya dont have johnes. In second year of the scheme here now

What's concrete going for atm?
    8m3 in a load?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

no milk from bulk tank goes to calves here, no milk from second calvers or heifers either and only johnes negative cows milk goes to the calves. In an ideal world I would be feeding no cows milk to calves but rotavec corona biestings has to be fed. Not a problem if ya dont have johnes. In second year of the scheme here now

Just started testing for johnes here recently , what do youndo with your at risk cows ? Didnyou have many positives the first time you tested

Had 11 in first test. They are all gone. Think it was 9 this year they are all gone. Working now on offspring of those positives. It's a fecker of a disease. Positives went to factory. Isolated at calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

kowtow wrote: »
    I just bought a valve to do it, goes under the receiver in the pit. You open the tap to let in filtered compressed air.

Haven't fitted it yet but will let you know how it works.

Big issue for us, when you milk as few as we do there can be more milk left in the line than in the tank! (actually something I wish I had thought of before I moved the receiver from the dairy into the pit)

Got one here included with the new parlour, very useful bit of equipment. Actually Dairymaster were trying to charge me 1500 for one (including a special 3stage air filtration system), and they had the cheek to suggest 1200 for an air compressor to drive it ha. Use a 99e lidl compressor on the one I have now. Kowtow did yours cost much?

What's concrete going for atm?
    8m3 in a load?

€68+vat a metre for 30n around here, and that was s big enough order. will be interesting to hear what other lads are paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

€68+vat a metre for 30n around here, and that was s big enough order. will be interesting to hear what other lads are paying.

65 plus vat for 40n after bargaining hard. Was a 120 meter job. Got very good concrete too.

Had 11 in first test. They are all gone. Think it was 9 this year they are all gone. Working now on offspring of those positives. It's a fecker of a disease. Positives went to factory. Isolated at calving.

That sounds like an awful lot of johnes, are those kind of numbers normal in ur area? Around here it's always small numbers (2's or 3's), blooded cows for it here last yr, had one inconclusive, who was empty anyway, so she's gone. Was going to just blood anything that has gone over two yrs since then, plus bulls and anything that was bought in since then this yr. Is that a good idea or are am I skimping?