whelan2 wrote: » 2 cows with mastitis this morning, first in a long time, one was served the other day and was very hard to serve, so I assume the stress caused her mastitis. The other will be for the road when she is clear
Greengrass1 wrote: » Why not just get rid of her instead of treating her?
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » I had the first case in 6 weeks this morning as well. Barely back in the tank before dryoff:rolleyes:
frazzledhome wrote: » Just had a storm of mastitis here, drive you cracked.
Timmaay wrote: » Steady 2 or 3 cases a week here since they were housed, annoying! Cubicles kept clean and limed every milking. At least the bulk tank SCC still under 200. But it would make me more determined to go all spring milk and be drying off now.
jack o shea wrote: » it must be the stink weather, got a txt alert today excess water, whats this latest scam about from our good friends in glanbia? never got one before.
whelan2 wrote: » back up to 20 litres this morning
whelan2 wrote: » Used to get them the odd time, normally around the last collection of the month. Now i can blow the last of the milk out of the line before washing so it doesnt happen anymore. When volumes are smaller at this time of year it shows up more. I also always empty any last bits of water out of jars before starting milking, you'd be surprised how much there is there
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » How does that work, W2? A compressor connected to some point on the milk line? I usually have c.15l of milk in the line twice a day that I feed to late calves but as the late girls exit the system I was thinking of getting something to blow the lines clear of milk and then clear of water after washing. It would be worth about 10euro a day to me once all the calves are weaned:o
whelan2 wrote: » yes theres a valve connected to the air line for feeders and this blows the last of the milk in to the tank, my tank is bottom fill. I never feed the last of the milk to calves as theres too much of a johnes risk:cool:
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » How so? Jaysus, I'm learning loads today. I better switch off before I overload:)
whelan2 wrote: » no milk from bulk tank goes to calves here, no milk from second calvers or heifers either and only johnes negative cows milk goes to the calves. In an ideal world I would be feeding no cows milk to calves but rotavec corona biestings has to be fed. Not a problem if ya dont have johnes. In second year of the scheme here now
kowtow wrote: » I just bought a valve to do it, goes under the receiver in the pit. You open the tap to let in filtered compressed air. Haven't fitted it yet but will let you know how it works. Big issue for us, when you milk as few as we do there can be more milk left in the line than in the tank! (actually something I wish I had thought of before I moved the receiver from the dairy into the pit)
Greengrass1 wrote: » What's concrete going for atm? 8m3 in a load?
Deepsouthwest wrote: » €68+vat a metre for 30n around here, and that was s big enough order. will be interesting to hear what other lads are paying.
whelan2 wrote: » Had 11 in first test. They are all gone. Think it was 9 this year they are all gone. Working now on offspring of those positives. It's a fecker of a disease. Positives went to factory. Isolated at calving.