Not Quite Four Laps

1252627282931»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Thu 26.11.15 - Sat 28.11.15

13.7 @ 7.28/mi, 5.3 @ 7.00/mi, Rest

Usual long run and easy run on the Thursday/Friday and then took a handy day on the Saturday.

Sun 29.11.15

W/U, Dublin Intermediate (4th), W/D

After building up the mileage for the last few months and feeling a little sluggish as a result, I've been finally adapting over the last week or two and feeling really strong. After a great session on Tuesday, I was very confident going in to this.

We had a very strong team today too and there was a good buzz in the Cru camp. We've been talking about the National Novice for what feels likes years now and it was good to see some people returning from injury and marathon cycles today and putting in some really good performances.

Personally, I had no nerves whatsoever today,which was strange. Don't think its a good thing though because it does help to have that little bit of adrenaline and the nervous energy. Couldn't make myself nervous though :), so just lined up calm as you like. Plenty of familiar faces on the startline too with the Tallaght boys (Myles and TRR), Wolfie and Raycun all lining up. I was determined to mix it up at the front so I went out hard enough. Was surprised to find myself straight in to the lead. I eased back a bit but still nobody was going by. Eventually the clubmate Pabs came up on my shoulder and went in to the lead. He opened up a bit of a gap and managed to maintain this for most of the race.

Felt good for the first lap. The CSH runner that finished ahead of me in the Dublin Novice was with me occasionally. He has a bizarre tactic of picking it up and dropping off really frequently. Going from 2nd back to 6th or 7th and back up again, eventually finishing first so not a bad tactic I suppose. ;) 2nd lap was equally uneventful and maintained 2nd place with a similar 20m gap to Pabs in first. Half way through the third lab and TS came up on my shoulder. We tend to finish up around the same place in races but he had beaten me convincingly in the Dublin Senior so I wanted to stick with him and dug in hard to maintain position. I was working hard though and at the end of this lap he went by and my legs started to go. This is where I was most disappointed in my race. I knew that the tough patch wouldn't last and I should have pushed the boat out to maintain with TS but got in to a more comfortable groove and the gap opened. CSH runner came surging by here too.

So at this stage the two lads are streaming off and Pabs is dying a bit. I can also hear shouts for the two clubmates, Bren and Jayo behind getting closer but still I just maintained my rhythm until I started to feel better. Bren went by me now too but didn't get away. I stuck with him and he blocked me at my first attempt to go by but I made a sneaky move on a path crossing by avoiding the layed down chippings and got by. It was just around a rubgy field now and home. Pabs was still coming back to us but there wasn't enough course left so I had to settle for what is now becoming a very familiar fourth place :D. Looking at the results TRR was only a few seconds behind too so glad I had that little bit at the end to maintain position and the Boards bragging rights :p

In a really strong team performance, we had seven runners in the top eleven so took the team gold as well. Good day out and some great race practice ahead of the big one, the National Novice, next weekend. Rest assured, I won't be making any of the same mistakes next weekend.

Strict diet of easy runs and strides for next week too

tang1 wrote: »
    Team Gold well done.

Cheers tang, big team performance today. It was a sea of red and white up at the front with seven finishers in the top eleven :eek:. Great to see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Cheers tang, big team performance today. It was a sea of red and white up at the front with seven finishers in the top eleven :eek:. Great to see

That's some going to have that amount of runners in the top 11. Crusaders is thriving looking at that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Well done KU, saw you when you were still in second but couldn't remember your real name to give you a shout...

Tough course, crap conditions.

Well done KU, saw you when you were still in second but couldn't remember your real name to give you a shout...

Tough course, crap conditions.

Thanks RQ. Wouldn't be the first time I've gotten a supportive shout under my Boards moniker :D

Very dominant performance from the Donore women today as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,105 ✭✭✭✭28064212

In a really strong team performance, we had seven runners in the top eleven so took the team gold as well.
    Would have taken silver if two teams had been entered :eek:

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

28064212 wrote: »
    Would have taken silver if two teams had been entered :eek:

Yea, true enough.

Bit harsh on the guys who finished so high up the field and didn't even score on the team too.

Mon 30.11.15 - Sat 05.12.15

5.6 @ 6.48/mi, 8 @ 6.44/mi, Rest, Rest, 4.7 @ 7.23/mi, Rest

I thought I had updated this more recently but this is a long time ago now. This was the week leading up to the National Novice and I had a very easy week. Had intended on getting some strides in on some of the runs but just didn't happen. With the conditions predicted, I put priority on being as fresh as possible.

Sun 06.12.15

National Novice (103rd) :mad:

Since the track season had finished, this has been the big focus. The plan was to get a good base of mileage in and then really sharpen up in the weeks coming up to the race. Managed to get my weekly average up to over 50 miles for a couple of months and I was delighted with this. It had me a little bit more tired than usual but I was adapting well in the weeks coming up to the Novice and the strength was coming back. I had gotten some really strong sessions in on both the track and the Munich Hills and with this my confidence of a good performance was high.

There was a team of 17, yes 17 :eek:, going down to Waterford so we organised a bus and this was great craic. Driving down and the freshly formed lakes in nearly every field didn't bode well for conditions. We got there with not too much time to spare and we were out warming up fairly quickly. As expected, the course was a bit of a mess and it was really boggy in parts and well cut up from all the races ran there that morning. Same conditions for everyone so what can you do. I was finding it difficult to get in to race mode and the pre race nerves just weren't getting there. Lined up anyway and in my head all I was thinking was that I wasn't going to leave anything out there and the months of specific training for this weren't going to waste.

Gun time came anyway and it was nearly a disaster straight away as I almost slipped on my first step but regained my composure and worked my way in o a good position in the top 30-40 as we hit the first bend. Normally at this stage, the pace would calm down a bit but it was relentless and there was no time to relax. I felt grand anyway so kept going. The boggy conditions did start to take their toll though and after half a lap (3 X 2k laps), I was suffering. Persevered but there was no break anywhere on the course and my legs just could never recover. People were overtaking me now and from here to the end, that was the story. I was in the fourth scoring position on the team and when on the second lap, I was taken over by team mate Jayo, my motivation to keep working really hard went too. I didn't want to drop out but it was a pretty demoralising run home to the finish and I was really disappointed at the finish.

Tried to analyse what had went wrong on the warm down. I probably went out a bit too hard given the conditions and in an attritional race like that, starting conservative and working your way through the field is always the best option. Still, I was running with people that I normally finish in and around the same position usually so I don't think it was a huge race defining decision. Had I taken it too easy in the week leading up to the race? Possibly but again I don't think it would have a significant effect. Did the conditions impact me more than others? Again maybe. Some people are more suited to heavier conditions definitely but there shouldn't be too much of a differential. Don't think I'll be able to put my finger exactly on what went wrong but we'll come back again next year and try to put it right :D

Mon 07.12.15 - Sat 12.12.15

Rest, 6 X 800 (w/ 400 rec.), 5.3 @ 6.36/mi, 13.7 @ 6.30/mi, 5.4@ 6.29/mi, 8.9 @ 6.59/mi

Session Times: 2.34, 2.39, 2.33, 2.33, 2.30, 2.23

Ran all my runs kind of steady this week for some reason but really enjoyed it. Felt really strong and even hit some six minute miles without feeling like I was over straining myself. Did the session on Tuesday as I didn't feel like I needed much recovery from the Novice race. Took it easy to start out but finished very strong.

Sun 13.12.15

BHAA Marlay Park XC (6th)

In an attempt to banish the memory of the novice from my mind, I rocked up to the BHAA race at the weekend. Given the amount of rain we had, I was expecting the ground to be very soft but conditions were surprisingly OK and the course was very flat so happy days. I had a good race without setting the world alight. Worked my way from 10th up to 6th over the last two laps (three lap course) so happy to be going the right direction through the field again :)

Everyone was then in to the clubhouse to watch the European XC. Great to be in the company of fellow XC runners for what was a phenomenal performance by clubmate Caroline Crowley. Inspiring stuff.

Mon 14.12.15 - Sun 20.12.15

5.8 @ 6.27/mi, 12 X 400 (60s rec.), 5.3 @ 6.50/mi, 13.6 @ 7.01/mi, 5.7 @ 6.28/mi, 6.8 @ 7.10/mi, Rest

Session Times: 71, 70 , 71, 71, 69, 70, 69, 70, 69, 70, 70, 69

Couple of steady type runs at lunch time. Still feeling very strong on these. Ran the Tuesday evening session after a massive 4 course Christmas lunch with work so wasn't expecting much. Didn't feel great on the first few but worked my way in to it and the splits were super consistent too. Heavy weekend of Christmas partying so happy enough to have gotten at least one run in.

Our club Christmas 3k is on Tuesday so i might give the sub 9 a bash at that and maybe hit at least one of my goals for the year :p. In fairness to myself, I have been pretty close on all of them at least. Session times above would indicate that it is achievable anyway,

Christ, its a long time since I updated this so I'm going to have to go executive summary on this. I'll also steal BeepBeep's idea and use the Strava visuals as it saves a lot of typing. :)

Firstly there was the end of 2015. Not much to report on here. A lot of Christmas drinking and we had a 3k time trial on Tuesday 22nd. Very poor turnout as it was so close to Christmas. I had hoped to give the sub 9 a bash but it was very windy and nobody to race with so gave it a good hard effort and finished in 9.31. I had a bad cold for a few days then but turned out in the local 10k on Stephens' Day. Bit of a solo effort so happy enough to run 36.16 and being a bit sick. Then it was off to Andorra skiing for a week. Absolutely great craic but no running :D

2015_zpshyfqo4a0.jpg

I was in a bad way after the holiday. A lot of excess in every sense of the word. I figured the quickest way back was to jump straight back in to it. A session of 8 X 600 on the Tuesday, long run Thursday and then a BHAA race on the Saturday. Very soft course and I had a complete nightmare but I was all the better for it come the end of the week, although very stiff and sore.

Week starting Jan 11th, I was feeling back to myself and ran a good track pyramid type session on the Tuesday. The tempo run has been lacking in my training for a few months and I knew it was an area I needed to address. With this in mind, I've decided to stick in a few tempo miles on my long run back home on a Thursday. Hopefully build this up to 5 miles and try and pick up the pace then thereafter. This week I did 4 miles tempo at just under 6 minute pace. It was the coldest night I think I've ever ran in and it was all pretty much in to the wind so was delighted with the effort. Met up with Sacksian then on the Saturday for a session of 20X200 with 100 jog recovery at the Donore track. A lot tougher than it sounds and was feeling the 34s or so average rep times by the end. Good to meet up with a fellow Boards middle distance runner and hopefully squeeze in a few more hill sessions with him before the summer.

Next week I had to head down to Tipp on the Tuesday and missed the Cru track session so headed down to Irishtown on my own on the Wednesday. The sprinters from DSD (chivito amongst their ranks) were nice enough to leave lane 7 free for me and got a good session in at 2.31 ish average pace. Cut the tempo miles from the long run on the Thursday after the track session the night before and the National Intermediates on the Sunday. And to Dundalk it was then for the National Inters. It was mucky as hell and well cut up by the time we our race came around. I had low expectations as I've only ever ran really badly in heavy conditions but was very satisfied with my race. I concentrated on keeping my cadence high through the mucky patches (pretty much the whole course :P) and this helped on not getting bogged down. I also took it out easy on the first lap and then was able to pick off places throughout the 5 mile long laps eventually finishing 22nd :D. Was also third scorer on the Dublin team that finished second county but don't tell anyone that. I'd never be able to show my face back home.

This week then saw a good Tuesday track session of 12 X 400 with 30s recovery (Ave 72ish), feeling stronger as the session went on. Added back in the tempo miles on the long run but tared it back to 3 miles @ 5.50 pace with the Raheny race at the weekend. Few easy miles today with some strides and all set for tomorrow. Long time since my last road race (think Ballycotton last year), so looking forward to it.

2016_zpsvpglzrdo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Congrats on the national silver...for a DUBLIN team. Is Tipp still talking to you?! I was watching your race on Sunday, we were on the short stretch just before the finishing straight and it wasn't pretty looking at runners going round that corner...pure muck fest. We had to recce the course afterwards, a clubmate lost not one, but TWO shoes in your race and how ye slogged through all that is pretty hardcore, by the time of your race I don't think there was more than 10 metres here and there that wasn't totally churned up.
    Looks like you applied what went 'wrong' in the novices to 'right' on Sunday alright.

Sun 31/01/16

Raheny 5 in 26.52

So, that went well. Run this race every year and always enjoy it and this year was no different. Enjoy finishing it anyway :D. We had a huge contingent from the club running, 80-90 on the day I think and I met up with a few of them at race HQ for a warm up, dynamic and strides. We timed this perfectly and then straight over to the start line with just a couple of minutes to the gun. Bumped in to Wolfie here, wished each other luck and we were off. I was about 2 rows back and could get immediately in to the pace I wanted. Two of the lads from the club and one ladie took off like rockets, so I concentrated on catching these over the first mile or so. This was ticked off in about 5.10, so fairly spot on. Aim was 5.10 to 5.20. Second mile was a toughie. Nearly all in to the wind on a gradual incline up the Howth Rd. I tucked in with a group and just gritted it out but eventually got a little impatient and took the lead. This was a stupid thing to do because I was working too hard and when we turned the corner and out of the wind, they just glided by me and opened up a 10 metre gap that sort of stayed that way for the next few miles. Went through two miles in 10.2x. This would have been fine in good conditions but the second mile was a tough one into the wind and really took it out of me. Hung on in there for the third mile and had company with another run who I thought was Tallaght AC but turned out it was just a very similar singlet.

As we came in to the park for the long up and down along the avenue, I pulled away from the TAC lookalike and started catching up with a Lusk AC runner. This was the toughest part of the race, battling in to the wind and seeing Mick Clohissey gliding on by in the opposite direction. Got to the turnaround point and had to slow to an almost stop. Getting going again was tough and I was really suffering. Hit 4 miles then in 21.28. Quick calcultion told me I needed a 5.30 mile to get under 27. This was just the motivation I needed, so I drove on with this target in mind. Most of this mile was taken up by what seemed like endless turns and each time I thought the finishing line would be around the corner as you could hear the announcer. Eventually, I did turn the corner and legged it for the last 200 metres or so, collapsing over the line. Very happy with the race and nice to start the year with a PB :D

Mon 01.02.16 - Sat 06.02.16

5.3 @ 7.17/mi, 5.5 @ 6.52/mi, 5.7 @ 6.45/mi, 13.6 @ 6.54/mi, 5.5 @ 6.40/mi, 5 @ 7.17/mi

So decided to take an easy week with no sessions after a few tough weeks put in. Hamstring was a little tight for a few days after the race but loosened itself out naturally over the week. Put some strides in on both yesterday's and today's runs because I was in two minds to do the BHAA XC race in the Phoenix Park this morning or the 3000m in Athlone tomorrow. Getting to try out the indoor track for the first time won over the all too familiar muck of the Munich Hills :D. Looking forward to it, albeit that it is a bit of a trek to get down there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

That's great running, well done.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Glad you've revived the log to post about the Raheny result and keep me updated on some seriously good running, skiing and drinking over the past few months!

Great stuff!

That was me accosting you today btw. You had the dazed look of 'who tf are you?!' :D Glad it was you passed me tho. Anybody else, I would have had to up the pace ;)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    That was me accosting you today btw. You had the dazed look of 'who tf are you?!' :D Glad it was you passed me tho. Anybody else, I would have had to up the pace ;)

Yea, I knew who I was being accosted by alright ;). Not used to meeting people running out that way, aside from the work crew. I think in the 3 and a bit years I've been working out there, I bumped into KC once. He scared the ****e out of me too, sneaking up on me :) The headphones are a divil!

Yes, wasn't going to mention the headphones....

Okay, I better start updating this at least weekly because I'm getting old and my memory ain't what it used to be.

Sun 07.02.16

W/U, AAI Indoor Games 3k (9.21), W/D

I wasn't ideally prepared for this with no real speed sessions and not the healthiest of weekends but still thought the sub 9 might be on. A miserable day out too so it was great to be in the comfortable environs of the AIT indoor track. It really is a superb facility. They had a call room in operation so I was happy to have my first experience of this ahead of the Nationals this year. The warm up track, which overlooks the actual track was fierce busy but I carved out a bit of space and was feeling pretty good once I got going.

When they did call us to the track, we were lead out in a line to the start. All felt very professional like. Felt like a real proper athlete, although this was short lived once the race started :D. There were about 20 people in the race, so it was tight for space and even using the two start lines, room was at a premium. I was on the outside lanes start and decided to go out nice and easy to avoid trouble. Knew the pace would be pretty hot up the front too. With this, I was Paddy last after the first lap but just hung off the back of the group. 36s a lap is what was required for a 9 minute time and these were clicking off like clockwork for the first 4 or 5 laps. Passed 1k in 3 minutes bang on but I was drifting off the back now and starting to struggle. Tried to get back in touch but it was in vain and my race was over now. Can't remember what the 2k time was but I think it was around 6.10 or so. Game over for the sub 9 anyway. I saw it out and even managed to move up to second last on the last lap but it was a bit of a disappointment overall. Loved the experience of running indoors but the performance didn't match the venue

Week starting 08.02.16

Day|Session|Notes|Total Weekly Miles
    Monday|5.6|6.40/mi|5.6
    Tuesday|6 X 800 w/ lap rec.|2.33, 2.34, 2.34, 2.30, 2.31, 2.26|14
    Wednesday|5.3 Easy|6.34/mi|19.3
    Thursday|13.5 w/ 3 @ Tempo|Tempo pace: 5.43/mi|32.8
    Friday|5.6 Easy|7.17/mi|38.4
    Saturday|Off||38.4
    Sunday|2 Hilly Miles, 90s rec, 4 Miles Steadyish|6.02/mi and 6.26/mi|52.3

After a disappointing race on Sunday, I decided that I wasn't in need of too much of a rest so hit the session on the Tuesday. Took it handy enough and it was comfortable from what I remember. With the next big race being the Ballycotton 10 Miler, I knew tempo miles were important to added these in to my Thursday long run as the only plausible opportunity to get them in really. Tends to be in to the wind along Dun Laoghaire and Monkstown so happy with the pace. Sunday session was a write off. Missed the club session on the Saturday and was a bit hungover on the Sunday. Gave it a good shot but I was spent after the first one so bailed and just did a few steady miles on the Munich Hills.

Week starting 15.02.16

Monday|5.3 Easy|7.09/mi|5.3
    Tuesday|12 X 400 w/ 45s rec.|71, 71, 72, 71, 69. 70, 70, 69, 70, 70, 69, 68|13.1
    Wednesday|5.6 Easy|7.13/mi|18.7
    Thursday|13.5 w/ 25min @ Tempo|Tempo pace: 5.45/mi|32.2
    Friday|5 Easy|7.25/mi|37.2
    Saturday|5 X 1k (75/90s rec)|3.10, 3.09, 3.15, 3.07, 3.20|45.8
    Sunday|Off|Off|45.8

Probably one of my best sessions ever on Tuesday. We were down for 30s recovery but switched to 45s and it makes such a huge difference. Just gives you enough time to about fully recover between reps and allows you to risk the pace a bit more.Felt really strong and with an average 70s pace for the reps, its up there with any track session I've ever ran. The tempo session on Thursday was tough but then again they always are. For the Saturday session it was a bit of a slog in to a stiff breeze along one side of the Acres. Still, not bad :)

Week starting 22.02.16

Monday|5.1 Easy|7.24/mi|5.1
    Tuesday|300/400/500ish/600/500ish/400/300 (Rec 1-1.30)|53, 68, 1.29, 1.44, 1.27. 67, 48|14.2
    Wednesday|5.3 Easy|6.57/mi|19.5
    Thursday|13.5 Easy|7.03/mi|33.0
    Friday|30 Min Tempo|5.40/mi|43.8
    Saturday|Off|Off|43.8
    Sunday|Off|Off|43.8

Bit of a new session on Tuesday and the first injection of real speed in a long while. Really opened up on the last 400/300 while still keeping it controlled. Could definitely feel the burn in the lungs by the end. It's been a while :D. Busy weekend, so switched the Tempo to the Friday and just did a normal long run on the Thursday. Hit my old 1k loop in Shanganagh Park for the tempo. It was sort of fun to be running laps and laps of the green. Really got a lot of enjoyment out of this and might go back here for a few more tempos as the evenings get brighter.

Week starting 29.02.16

Monday|5.6 Easy|6.55/mi|5.6
    Tuesday|(1000/600/300/300/600/1000) X 2 w/ jog rec.|(3.14, 1.50, 54, 53, 1.48, 3.13), (3.10, 1.51, 53, 53, 1.52, 3.10)|17.7
    Wednesday|5 Easy|7.35/mi|22.7
    Thursday|13.5 Easy|7.14/mi|36.2
    Friday|5.6 Easy|7.20/mi|41.8
    Saturday|5.9 Easy w/ Strides|7.40/mi|47.7
    Sunday|Ballycotton 10|55.18|63.7

Another weird session on Tuesday and a long one at that. With the weekend's race in mind and given the length of the session it was sensible to ease in to it. Happy with the consistency of the reps and probably a nice session given the team is targeting the national 10K championships, which I've also signed up to for some unknown reason :eek:. That's it until the end of the summer then, I promise

Ballycotton 10

So, back down to Ballycotton for the third year in a row. This race really comes at the perfect time, just at the end of a long winter of building strength and a good opportunity to assess my condition before paring back the miles for the summer ahead. I was hoping for a sub 55 but the aim was to just get out there and give it a lash and see what that brought me. Pissy morning but the rain cleared up just before the start and it was a reasonably temperate, calm day as we were sent off to the sounds of the famous Ballycotton song ringing in our ears. The first two miles are quick and I was comfortable hitting these in reasonably fast times (5.18, 5.25). I was checking the lap splits at each mile marker but not letting it dictate how I raced unless I dropped off the pace significantly. Now there was a guy who I have raced with last year from Young Irelands and we ended up shoulder to shoulder again up until half way (5.27, 5.35, 5.26). Mile 4 was definitely tough and I struggled here last year too but I think it is just a course profile thing. Now at halfway, he opened up a small gap after the water station. I wasn't getting a drink or anything but just lost concentration momentarily. I hoped to just reel him back in over this mile but he just got away and gained ground on me consistently. Disappointed with this and should have put in the effort to close the gap straight away. He was picking off runners and I was catching the same runners behind him. On 6 miles, I saw R+ from the club up ahead but took me two miles to catch up and overtake (5.28, 5.31, 5.35). The last 2-3 miles are along the coast coming back in to town. The wind had picked up a little and it was raining so it was becoming a bit of a slog. After I passed R+, it was just open road ahead and ended up with no one within 100 metres ahead or behind for the last mile. Dug in deep but I was slowing badly and disappointed to see that last two miles were significantly my slowest (5.41, 5.45). The sub 55 was lost here but still low 55 was a good performance and a nice strength base to work with over the summer ahead.

Week starting 07.03.16

Monday|Rest|Off|0
    Tuesday|6.1 Easy|7.40/mi|6.1
    Wednesday|5.2 Easy|6.50/mi|11.3
    Thursday|13.5 Easy|6.43/mi|24.8
    Friday|5.5 Easy|7.07/mi|30.3
    Saturday|5 X 1k (w/ 90s rec)|3.14, 3.05, 3.07, 3.09, 3.10|39.7
    Sunday|13.7 Easy|7.16/mi/|53.7

So some easy miles to get back it to it after a tough 10 mile road race. Definitely a bit sore after it and tired so the easy miles were well needed. Great to finally have some decent weather for the Saturday session in Phoenix Park. Really relished it and as much as I find this session killer, its nice not to have to do it running in to wind and rain and flipping freezing cold :D.

Week starting 14.03.16

Monday|5.3 Easy|7.04/mi|5.3
    Tuesday|5.4 Easy|6.54/mi|10.7
    Wednesday|5.3 Easy|6.38/mi|16.0
    Thursday|Off|Off|16.0
    Friday|5.2 Easy|6.55/mi|21.2

Couldn't make the Tuesday session but in need of a bit more rest anyway. Legs still feel a bit battered but were coming round today. I've signed up for the MSB 5k on Sunday. I'll have to break 16 this time or I may give up this running lark :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

thats a super update.
    Great racing and some great sessions in there.

You must be happy at this stage of the year?
    Best of luck on Sunday with the sub 16.

thats a super update.
    Great racing and some great sessions in there.

You must be happy at this stage of the year?
    Best of luck on Sunday with the sub 16.

Cheers Alan. Yea got to be happy with my consistency over the last half a year or so. When I finished the track last season, my focus was just to get a good block of miles in to the legs for next year and also the National Novice. The latter part didn't go so well :pac: but I've had lots of good races besides so I'm not too hung up on that.

Will you be racing in the MSB tomorrow or have you been dragged in to some club duties or are you still lugging your daughter around the country for the greater good of Dublin football? ;)

Saturday|6.8 Easy w/ strides|7.26/mi|28
    Sunday|MSB 5K|15.57|34.8

MSB 5K

I was this close to not showing up to this today. We had been talking recently during a run about decision fatigue. Apparently, studies show that you have only so much decisions that you can make in a day and as the day goes on you become more indecisive and are inclined to stick with the status quo. Must make sure all my future court appointments are in the afternoon :D. Anyway, I must also have a weekly quota because I had a load of things to get yesterday for an upcoming wedding but I just couldn't make up my mind and just buy something. That lethargy carried over to today and I was this close to not running but last minute kicked my arse out the door and in to town. Maybe my utter disdain for 5k's was part of this reasoning :)

Anyway, I did get in to town but I was a little unsure that I had the mental fortitude for a 5k today so wasn't hopeful about running a great time. Once you got in, you could immediately see that it was a top class setup. It was so easy to pick up your number and get out for a couple of warm up miles around the Green and this made the whole affair a lot more relaxing. During our dynamic warm up and strides they were very eager to get us over to the start line so had to cut these a little short. Race got off a bit early too and this caught everyone by surprise. To be honest, I don't think they had given us the proper go ahead but there was hooters and stuff going off so it was all very confusing. It was a fast start but I was happy to go with this and I was feeling reasonably comfortable up to the 1K point (3.01). I was taking my splits at the kilometre markers on the course but as these were all tied to lamposts I wasn't completely confident on their exact positioning so I'll just reference the satellite figures. I missed the 2K marker (3.08) anyway and I was actually a little shocked when we came up to the 3K marker (3.16).

The race was going by so quick and perhaps I was a little too comfortable. Perhaps because of this, the pace had dropped off a little over the third kilometre. I was running largely on my own and might have just lost concentration. In another bad sign, I didn't have the urge to drop out yet, which is a first for this stage of a 5K:D. Well, speak of the devil and here was the urge. Some tough drags on the 4th K and I was feeling the hurt now. A Celbridge runner came up on my shoulder and this was a Godsend because I was able to tag on with him and get out of my groove. We were now catching up with the runner ahead and hit the 4th K (3.17). When we did catch up, there was now a bit of a race on and the pace picked up. Felt like I still had a bit of a finish in me but when push came to shove, I just didn't have the desire to really push in to the red for the last 500m and just kept up a high tempo to the finish line (3.08), finishing just behind the two guys.

I immediately thought I had finished in bang on 16 minutes and was pretty disappointed with this. Its a good time but I've finished between 16-00 and 16-10 for the last three 5K races before this and really wanted to get under that barrier. Official chip time was later confirmed as 15.57 so I'll take that :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭dintbo

Excellent stuff, well done!!

Monday|4.7|7.11/mi|4.7
    Tuesday|4 X 800 w/ lap v. slow rec.|2.16, 2.21, 2.19, 2.22|12.7
    Wednesday|Off|Off|12.7
    Thursday|5.3 Easy|6.42/mi|18
    Friday|6.8 Easy|7.06/mi|24.8
    Saturday|12 X 200ish Hills|37,37,37,37,37,37,38,37,37,37,37,36|34.5
    Sunday|13.4 Easy|7.40/mi|48.1

Have had a tight muscle just above the ankle on the inside of my right leg for the past week or two. Nothing major but it was particularly bad on Monday after the race so cut the run short a little bit and had considered maybe dropping the session on Tuesday. Did a longish warm up on Tuesday along the Irishtown Nature Reserve. Love that little run. Not even bumping in to the Bauld Lad King himself could detract from it :p. I'll not lie, the foot was a bit sore at the end of the warm up but the session sounded so intriguing, I couldn't miss it.

The basic session was 4 X 800 with a full slow jog lap recovery but the breakdown of each rep was a little different. The pace alternated between 5k/hard pace in the following ratios: 100/700, 200/600, 300/500 and 400/400. Apparently this is an Alberto Salazar session used for developing a decent finishing kick. We weren't sure what pace to hit for the hard bits but figured it would be something faster than 3k pace for the first one working down to faster than mile pace for the last one. Three of us were doing it and MOC was out like a rocket after 100m once we hit the fast pace section. I seriously upped the pace too but was reluctant to go with him as I was tipping along nicely as it was. Finished the rep in 2.16, which I was delighted with. There was 4-5 minutes jog recovery between reps and I lead out the remainder. Next two were 2.21 and 2.19 respectively. I was particularly happy with the 2.19 as 300 of this was at 5k pace so the faster 500 must have been reasonably quick. For the last one, I took the two 400m splits and these came in at 78 and 64 respectively. Working very hard for the last 400m, obviously enough :D but delighted to be able to hit that type of pace this early in the year. Really loved this session :)

On Saturday then, we had another more speed type session with 12 X 200ish metres on the Khyber Pass in the Phoenix Park. Tough enough old session but one that I really wanted to start doing so delighted that the coach put it on the plan. Again three of us doing the session and thankfully we had the wind behind us heading up the pass so we could really get the pace going. All were very consistent between 37 and 38 seconds and you could really feel the lactic for the second half of the session so paced about right I think.

Back home in Borris for a few days and got out for a nice hilly run this morning (1300ft climbing). As I was running, I recalled someone giving out about the potholes on the roads for the Ballycotton 10. Must take them down to Tipp. Tell me where does the road end and the pothole begin? :D

a104b199-753c-417b-aa12-44741c3321f0_zps4737049f.jpg

Week Staring 28.03.16

Monday|8 Easy|7.11/mi|8.0
    Tuesday|12 X 400 w/ 45s rec.|71,71,71,71,70,71,70,71,70,69,69,69|13.7
    Wednesday|Off|Off|13.7
    Thursday|4.2 Easy|7.58/mi|16.9
    Friday|Off|Off|16.9
    Saturday|3.2 Easy|9.08/mi|21.2
    Sunday|Off|Off|21.2

Really good session on the Tuesday this week. I was heading to Montreal for a few days on the Wednesday so knew it would be an easy week running wise. With this in mind, I really pushed it hard for this session. I was really feeling it after three or four reps but the winter of strength training has seen me well as I was able to stay strong for the rest of the session and suprisingly the times actually improved as the session progressed. Very happy with this session and a bit of affirmation that all the winter miles have been worth it.

Wednesday to Sunday I was in Montreal and just got out for 2 easy runs up Mont Royale, which was only about a half a mile from our place. Weather was similar there but there was still a lot of ice and snow around. Went off road on my second jaunt up the hill and ended up slipping and going half way down the mountain on my arse. :D Really cool place and had a great trip.

Week Staring 04.04.16

Monday|Off|Off|0.0
    Tuesday|400/800/1200/1600/1200/800/400 (Rec: 30, 60, 90, 120, 90, 60)|75, 2.33, 3.53, 5.07, 3.53, 2.28, 65|9.0
    Wednesday|5.3 Easy|7.14/mi|14.3
    Thursday|5.3 Easy|7.11/mi|19.6
    Friday|Off|Off|19.6
    Saturday|Off|Off|19.6

I missed a connecting flight in New York so had a much longer trip back than anticipated. Was meant to be back Monday morning but didn't get in until the evening. Was shattered, so just slept it out.

Still feeling the after effects of all the travelling on the Tuesday but hit the session down the track anyway. Pleasantly surprised that I got a good session in and again felt very strong throughout. Managed a 65 on my last 400m rep without too hard an effort so bodes well for the summer ahead. Should have got out both Friday and Saturday but the energy levels are a bit low this week and couldn't motivate myself. Will be racing in the National 10k tomorrow. This will be my last long distance race before focussing on the 800/1500 for the next few months. Have a lot of travelling over the next few weeks too so should serve as a nice little break as I transition over and start my quest for the sub 2/ sub 4 combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Nice sessions. Enjoy the travelling!!

TbL

Nice sessions. Enjoy the travelling!!

TbL

Ha, I sort of feel bad complaining about being tired from travelling when I see the things you do. At least I'm not going to Disneyworld anyway :D

Jesus wept, just looking at your 400 session with forty five pathetic seconds recovery makes me wince. Fair play and use that tomorrow, you'll fly it, you're in great form.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Jesus wept, just looking at your 400 session with forty five pathetic seconds recovery makes me wince. Fair play and use that tomorrow, you'll fly it, you're in great form.

45 actually seems pretty generous. We often do this with 30 and now that is no time to recover. You've barely made it to the 400m start and you're off again. With 45 seconds, its actually sufficient to recover and hit a good pace during the session. Having said this, will be looking forward to reducing the reps, increasing the recoveries and really letting loose. So looking forward to the start of the track meets now.