Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

My old gym coach in Melbourne once travelled all the way to Perth and back for 360m of competitive running (60, 100 and 200, all straight finals, no heats, at the Oz Masters).

Good luck today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Sat 11.07.15

W/U, GV Ryan IMC 1500 'C' (4.12.96), W/D

I was very confident going in to this race. I hadn't ran any mind blowing sessions or anything but I was feeling generally strong on the faster stuff and very fresh on my easy runs. Of course, as the race time drew nearer and nearer, I started to question this but still I lined up and felt a PB was on the cards big time.

The wind was strong in the home straight so this changed my tactics a little bit. I was going to have to sit in with the pacer for the first two laps and then hopefully pick it up for the last two. I lined up on the inside line. I got a good start, maybe too good and myself and the guy in lane two had to slow a little as we reached the first bend to allow the pacer to take over. Nobody wanted to battle in to that wind on their own. Everybody tucked in on the home straight to one long line and I was in 3rd or 4th possibly. Always find it difficult to recollect the exact details. Coming in to the second lap and I was not feeling good. The legs were feeling heavy and I was overtaken by one or maybe two runners. Knew I just had to dig in on this lap so concentrated on maintaining the metre or two gap to the group ahead and just battled on. First lap was called at 64 for the pacer and 66 for me. Maintained the gap but it was a struggle and it was a slow lap as I went through 800 in 2.14, so a 68s lap. Now, I started to come round a bit so closed the gap on the group ahead to settle in. Might have passed some people on this lap, not sure, but I was moving well and got in to 4th or 5th position at the bell. The eventual winner had opened up a bit of a gap at this stage and would not be caught. Second place was for the taking and I made my move on the back straight, going by either one or two people to settle on the second place runner's shoulder coming round the bend in to the home straight. Thought crossed my mind to stick on his shoulder for a while and keep out of the wind but my momentum coming round the bend took me past him so I just ploughed on. It was a real wall of wind now and it felt like I was at nothing sprinting in to it. Maintained my position though and had a good second on third place in the end.

Overall, I wasn't completely satisfied with the race. A PB was definitely on if I had dug in a little better on the second lap and looked to make places rather than maintain. Still, I feel running a 4.12 and not being completely satisfied with my race is a huge sign of progress. Recovered a lot quicker after this race than the IMC in Leixlip and pretty much decided there and then that I'll give it another shot during the week in the Graded and if that doesn't go to plan, there is always the National League 4 days later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Enjoy reading about your battle with the 1500m.

Well run in what sounds like tough conditions, someday soon it'll click for you and you'll smash it.

TbL

Sun 12.07.15

10.7 @ 7.00/mi

Got out early enough as I was heading down to Thurles for the Munster Final. Headed from Blackrock down through Sandymount and on to Sean Moore Park for a few laps before heading back. Expected to see Moorsey relentlessly running laps of the fields as I'm pretty sure he does that 24 hours a day. He must have changed venue though because he definitely hasn't stopped running :)

No aches or pains from the previous days racing so happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Sun 12.07.15

10.7 @ 7.00/mi

Got out early enough as I was heading down to Thurles for the Munster Final. Headed from Blackrock down through Sandymount and on to Sean Moore Park for a few laps before heading back. Expected to see Moorsey relentlessly running laps of the fields as I'm pretty sure he does that 24 hours a day. He must have changed venue though because he definitely hasn't stopped running :)

No aches or pains from the previous days racing so happy days.

I was in the tent at the side of the pitches smile.png Didn't get to SM park til 9 45 so ya must have been seriously early!

Savage run. 4:07 by my watch.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Savage run. 4:07 by my watch.

Cheers chivito. Yea, I think more or less 4.07 on the dot. I had about 2/10ths under and stopped it a little after the line, which usually means you can add on about the same. The electronic timing was broken so I'll never know for sure but delighted with it anyway. Absolutely perfect conditions with barley a breath of wind and the standard was spot on so it was all set up for a good time. Delighted, I took advantage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Jaysus. That's a serious time. Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done.
    How many seconds is that you've knocked off your pb now since the start of the year?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Well done.
    How many seconds is that you've knocked off your pb now since the start of the year?

Its a solid 7 seconds since the start of the year but in fairness a good chunk of that 7 seconds was tonight. Hard to be super consistent in the 1500. Slight tactical or pacing errors or lacks in concentration are punished fairly severely. Very happy with the progression and I've a few more races left hopefully. If I could sneak under the 4.05 before the end of the season then that would be dream land but if I don't, I'll be really happy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Its a solid 7 seconds since the start of the year

That's what I've been telling people about my marathon pb :P

All joking aside though, 7 seconds is really impressive over that distance. Would you envisage yourself going under 4 minutes maybe next year or further in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

7 miserable seconds for months of work, FFS, go back to the marathons ;)

Well done!

TbL

yaboya1 wrote: »
    That's what I've been telling people about my marathon pb :P

All joking aside though, 7 seconds is really impressive over that distance. Would you envisage yourself going under 4 minutes maybe next year or further in the future?

Goal for this year was to try and hit sub 4.05 and then next year go for the sub 4. Ultimate goal is to make the final of the Nationals over the next few years, which would likely require at least sub 3.55 so that's the stretch one :D.

Mon 13.07.15

5.3 @ 7.03/mi

Walked out of the office and was smothered in what felt like a warm. wet blanket. It was sickeningly humid so I took it very handy but even at that the sweat was pouring off of me. Really don't like this type of wetter. Always reminds me of Darwin in Australia, which is without doubt the worst place I have ever been to in my life.

Tue 14.07.15

Rest

Was going to go out for a mile or two and a few strides but I was wrecked tires so decided to just give it a miss. Smart call in the end I think

Wed 15.07.15

W/U, Dublin Graded 1500m 'A' (4.07 :D), W/D

I had been in two minds about running this race as I am committed to running in the National League on Sunday and thought three races in 8 days might just be a tad too much. Decided I would let the weather forecast decide and when I saw the good conditions predicted on Tuesday, I signed up online and committed to it.

Arrived at the track at around seven, which would have been fine if the meet ran in time but it was closer to half nine than half eight when the race went off so it meant a lot of waiting around. In fairness this was due to the busiest night at the Graded that I had ever seen. Huge entries in all the distances and a great atmosphere at the place.

The 'A' grade in the 1500 was to be run in too races and they had graded the 2 races somewhat to include most of the faster PBs in the second race. I was in the first race with a clubmate and one or two other heads that I recognised from over the summer. Clubmate had run in the first graded of the season and this was his second race since. He was aiming for 4.10ish as well but I really didn't know what kind of form he was in.

Felt a bit iffy on the strides warming up but nothing too unusual so I lined up for the race feeling reasonably confident. No great time lapse between us lining up and the gun so it was straight in to it. Legged it at the start but it was a really quick start and had to sprint it out for the first 50m to get a good position. Still, some feckers got around me and I was in about 5th position hitting the first bend. I felt comfortable but I also sensed that the pace was quick so just tried to stay as relaxed as possible and conserve energy. Not much positional changes in the first lap and was shocked as we came round for the first lap to hear 61, 62, 63 and only just reach 64 as I passed. Wow, a 64 second first lap and I felt comfortable. Had not anticipated that :D.

Second lap and I was still feeling comfortable as we came back on to the home straight again. Too comfortable. I needed to make a move here. Just then, GM Sportsworld flew past my shoulder and I decided to go with him. One of the lads ahead of me made a move too and I got ready to join me. He moved out but then stopped. I had upped the pace to follow him but then had to put on the brakes. He had made the group ahead three wide and I didn't want to take them at the bend, making me run a lot of extra track. I tucked back in.

Second lap was called and it was 2,12. A 68 second second lap. I was pissed off and made a burst around the lads and headed off after GM and the other two up ahead. I was working now, which was good but I felt strong, which was also good :). I was slowly reeling them in and when we hit the bell I thought I would catch up on them. Was still reeling them in on the back straight but then they kicked on near the bend and I just didn't have that extra kick to catch up with them. Still, there was a Rathfarnam runner left behind so I legged it as fast as I could on the home straight. I was reeling him in but very slowly and didn't think I'd have enough track to catch him. Still with 20-30 metres to go, I really gritted the teeth and closed the remiander of the gap before just pipping him at the line for I think fourth place, possibly third. Looked at the watch for 4.06.84. Couldn't believe it. Really thought I'd left a time like that behind after the second lap. I'm getting better at the hand timing but its still probably worth a low 4.07 or a very high 4.06 at best. The electronic timing system never recorded I was informed after, so I'll never know for sure but its all immaterial I guess (Its not though really :P).

Well, it was definitely worth showing up anyway....

Thu 17.07.15

5.3 @ 6.59/mi

Got out for an easy run t lunch. First time that I've been genuinely cold on run in a long time. That mixed with the rain means the nips are the a ittle sensitive this evening but these are the prices we pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

You are totally flying. Just catching up on your log, lots of great training and racing*. Nice :)

*I am reading and weeping...but most of all learning ;)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    You are totally flying. Just catching up on your log, lots of great training and racing*. Nice :)

*I am reading and weeping...but most of all learning ;)

Its all about the XC anyway. That's where its really at. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Great racing there KU.
    Super improvement on where you started out in this log 3 years ago from a jogger ;) to a competitive track racer.

Youre flying at the minute KU, well done. Im tempted to get outta the longer stuff and into the shorter stuff :pac:

There's just 4 Irish women ahead of you on the Irish All-time list now, and one of them was a drug cheat. You've got to make Sonia's 3:58.85 a goal. :)

There's still 41 ahead of me in the 400m :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Great stuff - a testament to what a combination of talent and consistent training can achieve.

And also +1 to Dubgal's reading and weeping, and another +1 to your comment about xc!

Would you be tempted to jump into the 800 at the last graded? You've gotta get one 800 in, particularly when in such good form.

Yea, I'd love to run an 800 before the end of the season but if we do pull a team together for the DMR, then I will do that instead.

Good chance I'll be doubling up in the National League tomorrow given current numbers so maybe an 8/15 double might be on the cards :)

Fri 17.07.15

5.3 @ 6.39/mi

If you could bottle up and sell the feeling of doing a run like this, then you'd make a lot of money. Left work a little early to nip in a quick run. The pace just kept on getting quicker and quicker with the last mile at 6 minute pace or so and just felt so natural and easy. Really enjoyed that :D

Sat 18.07.15

Rest

Sun 19.07.15

W/U, National League 2nd Round 1500m (5th Place & 4.21), W/D

Was glad to represent the Cru in the National League because the opportunities to get in some 1500 races before the end of the season are getting thin on the ground. Got a lift down with a clubmate and we were down there well early. All clubs have to nominate 2 officials for the day so since I would be hanging around a bit, I volunteered at the long jump and was official measurer for the event. Adam M from the club was jumping and it was a pleasure to see such a proper athlete up close. Jumped 7.6x in the end I think and it was a sight to behold from just a few feet away. Nice way to pass an hour or two.

There were two 1500 racesand as we were in the Premier Division, so I assumed our race would be second. I was surprised when we were called up first and didn't get a chance to get in a few strides but no big deal really. At the gun, there was a quick start as usual but then a 100m, the brakes were put on and we slowed right round. I felt uncomfortable and very restricted at the back of the lead group but I didn't want to take it on either so just stuck in my position. This continued on for the rest of the lap, which we hit in 72 seconds I think. There were a few little surges in the second lap but more of the same as a whole and the second lap was called at 2.22, I think. I was waiting for the move but was caught off guard when the four lads in the group sprinted off as they hit bend coming round to the home straight. They made a good few metres before I even realised and when I did pick up the pace, they were still moving away. They were a different class really. One runner did drop off as well but he was a guest runner so I didn't really make any effort and just brought it home. Fourth place for the team and given the standard of the top three, it was where I was always going to finish. Felt quite tired during the race so I think I would have been off the pace in any race situation. Probably just one race too many for the week,

Its still a bit up in the air but looks like we may have made the final, which would be great because its probably the last chance to get a 1500 in before the end of season. I won't be getting involved in a slow, tactical affair there :)

Mon 23.07.15

4.8 @ 6.52/mi

Lunch run

Tue 24.07.15

W/U, 4 X 600 (w/ 3 min rec.), W/D

Tmes: 95, 97, 101, DNF

Finally, a track session, almost a year and a half after my last one :D. It was great to be back. Session was 4 X 600 at 1500m pace. Was aiming for 98ish, based on my 1500 PB but just went by effort and hoped for the best. Was joined by R+ but he's just back from a short layoff so he backed off after the first one, which was too quick anyway and I could feel it in the legs for the last 100m. Second one was bang on target but the effort was too high and at this stage I was worried about not finishing. Still, I got the third one in and I was really struggling from half way in but just kept turning over to finish in a not too bad split of 101. My legs were like jelly though and I contemplated dropping the last one but just continued on hoping for a dramatic recovery. First 100 of this was OK but by haflway, my form was all over the place and I could barely lift my legs so I just pulled up. Bit disappointing but a combinatio of all the races last week and hitting the first one two quick, made this inevitable. Used to be good at working my way in to a session and need to get back to that way of thinking.

Wed 22.07.15

5.3 @ 6.52/mi

Another handy one at lunch.

Rest up man, you've been running savagely the last while. The body needs an easy week Id say..No point flogging a dead horse:)

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Rest up man, you've been running savagely the last while. The body needs an easy week Id say..No point flogging a dead horse:)

Yea, and it knows it too. Normally would take it easy on the Tuesday after a race but I'll miss a few runs over the next while so wanted to get in a decent session at least for the week. The kind of stupid decisions that lead to an injury, I know but sometimes there's just no taking to yourself. Will be an easy week from now in...well maybe a sneaky Parkrun over in London with the brother :rolleyes:

I assume you are doing Nationals?

No, I won't be able to make it. Pity, because the whole training cycle was geared towards peaking for this time of the summer and obviously I just really wanted to experience the Nationals anyway. Fingers crossed we make the League Final but still no official results posted on the AAI website. Bit of a joke really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

You are racing well so there is no need for big sessions during competition phase. A few sharpeners should be all that's needed, stuff like 200s from mile pace down to 800, nice easy runs in between.

No, I won't be able to make it. Pity, because the whole training cycle was geared towards peaking for this time of the summer and obviously I just really wanted to experience the Nationals anyway. Fingers crossed we make the League Final but still no official results posted on the AAI website. Bit of a joke really.

That's a pity, as you are running so well, it seems like a waste not to be able to run in the biggest race against the very best. The after party by all accounts is supposed to be quite epic too.

dna_leri wrote: »
    You are racing well so there is no need for big sessions during competition phase. A few sharpeners should be all that's needed, stuff like 200s from mile pace down to 800, nice easy runs in between.

Thanks for the advice dna. Should definitely be taking it handy in the last few weeks of training and keeping fresh for the last few races left. Hoping to hit the 800 next week at the graded with the 1500 (hopefully) on the Saturday after and just handy runs in between now and then with a few strides thrown in here and there.

Yea, coach said a while ago that last of the longer stuff is over but he still has 4 X 1k down for the weekend. Not sure what's going on there.