Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

GvidoR wrote: »
    I've done more than 10k. I wish I knew how much mileage I've done in total. A rough guess would be somewhere around 30k miles in all the cars I've had comined.

There's a petrol station close by which is usually cheaper than most places so I usually fill up for €15-€25 at a time. I find that easier on my wallet. :P

Ah ok I though it was just punto you were talking about. Ah Ye if your always close by a petrol station it's grand to buy it in smaller chunks plus as you said it's a more consistent amount of money all the time. How big is the tank in the punto 45L is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

CIP4 wrote: »
    Ah ok I though it was just punto you were talking about. Ah Ye if your always close by a petrol station it's grand to buy it in smaller chunks plus as you said it's a more consistent amount of money all the time. How big is the tank in the punto 45L is it ?

Near 8k miles on the Punto. Punto's tank is pretty much that yeah, 47L. So about €60 to fill it if it's completely empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Put nozzle in hole
    Throw money at cashier
    Start car
    Something
    Something
    Wheeee :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Put nozzle in hole
    Throw money at cashier
    Start car
    Put nozzle in hole
    Throw money at cashier
    Wheeee :p

FYP :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

There we go, i just want to touch them :)

368980.jpg

13fb2e850af08994.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

YbFocus wrote: »
    There we go,

No pictures of little animals in the tread!?

What's the craic if it's pouring rain at mondello in those?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

I can definitely say in my opinion that the UK motorways are quite different driving attitude wise compared to at home, nearly everybody I seen today was speeding and middle lane hoggers don't really exist. Traffic volumes are far higher and there is also more of a visible police presence on the roads.

More roadworks too and visible signs of them actually being old roads/overgrown signs etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

More roadworks too and visible signs of them actually being old roads/overgrown signs etc

You weren't messing about the whole average speed cameras thing either. There was about a 3-4 miles stretch on either the M56 or M6 (i can't remember which) that was full of average speed zones and from what I could see it was working.

Actually speaking of the U.K. I'd love to do a road trip over there for a few days might try arrange it for next summer I'm sure a few of the lads would be interested. Do a bit of sight seeing and have the craic. Not even sure where it's worth going to or what's worth doing. I think I'd like to stick to some of the more countryside areas. My dad spends a lot of time in the uk and various other parts of Europe for work but he always comments on how most people drive at at least the motorway speed limit over there and normally higher.

In the UK you have A roads which comprise alot of the road network 70mph limit.

Kinda a dual carriageway motorway setup not unlike M6 but it's not really a motorway.

If you're doing a trip like that, go to France instead, much more interesting, the are around Cherbourg like Normandy is class, great scenery and history.

Foxhole Normandy? :pac:

Ye that would be good if I got the time could turn into a long weekend most likely though so uk would be better id imagine you would need at least a week for France plus I'm not sure about insurance. I don't think I will see too much holidays this summer which I'm not too bothered about I had a good lot of holidays through college. I can't go Christmas either as I'm in Dubai. I will definitely stick it on the list anyway.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Foxhole Normandy? :pac:

Parlez vous cark bai ! :pac:

Plenty Keeedd :pac:
    Ye that would be good if I got the time could turn into a long weekend most likely though so uk would be better id imagine you would need at least a week for France plus I'm not sure about insurance. I don't think I will see too much holidays this summer which I'm not too bothered about I had a good lot of holidays through college. I can't go Christmas either as I'm in Dubai. I will definitely stick it on the list anyway.

Any insurance policy should cover you for around a month on Mainland EU, never heard of one that doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

You'd be mad to go to England before France on a road trip tbh. Some great deals on ferrys to France throughout the year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Ile de Re by La Rochelle, its been years since I was there and I can't forget it, its just so very, very nice.
    We started in "Paris", or the Ryanair definition of same and went via Chatres, La Rochelle and Bordeaux. France c'est magnifique!

You'd be mad to go to England before France on a road trip tbh. Some great deals on ferrys to France throughout the year

It would be good fun alright I done French for my lc so would have the basics of the language too. I would realistically want a week out there though I recon to make it worth while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I got invited to drive to Italy and back in April. I think that the others would agree that France has some of the most spectacular driving roads imaginable. Fast sweeping smooth roads with excellent visibility. Just make sure you avoid the tolled motorways as much as you can. Absolutely no craic and you see nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

4 points gone at last! Clean licence for insurance renewal next month! happyanim.gifroundel.gif

22506593593_88d1ff58c7_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

4 points gone at last! Clean licence for insurance renewal next month! happyanim.gifroundel.gif

I always thought a 50kph zone was a bit too slow. Like you nearly have to come to a stop to get that slow.

job seeker wrote: »
    I always thought a 50kph zone was a bit too slow. Like you nearly have to come to a stop to get that slow.

Feels like F1 in a Yaris though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Feels like F1 in a Yaris though :pac:

Sure does, Yaris really is a nice we car, but there sooo slow..

Just bitting my lip now until December when I have to only pay 199 for tax. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

You got flashed twice on the same day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

vintagevrs wrote: »
    No pictures of little animals in the tread!?

What's the craic if it's pouring rain at mondello in those?

I have another set that can handle any water, these aren't seemingly bad at all other than in very bad rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I got invited to drive to Italy and back in April. I think that the others would agree that France has some of the most spectacular driving roads imaginable. Fast sweeping smooth roads with excellent visibility. Just make sure you avoid the tolled motorways as much as you can. Absolutely no craic and you see nothing.

Nah you didn't get invited, we were just in dire need of a reliable alfa and somehow yours came up as a candidate :p
    We also needed a referee to keep the peace especially during market price vs market value :pac:

job seeker wrote: »
    Sure does, Yaris really is a nice we car, but there sooo slow..

Just bitting my lip now until December when I have to only pay 199 for tax. :p

I'd pay €56.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Nah you didn't get invited, we were just in dire need of a reliable alfa and somehow yours came up as a candidate :p
    We also needed a referee to keep the peace especially during market price vs market value :pac:

If I hear one more thing about market price vs market value I will honestly loose it!!!

Just thinking about it there. My car did have a lot of reliability, it was just all used upon that trip so there's none left now :pac: