Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

GvidoR wrote: »
    Rich people. Rich people everywhere.

I'm not, I can't afford the extra 27 a year...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

And while I don't actually drive different cars Throughout the year I like to have the option

Oh and it's a 19 year old alfa with 170k miles on it. I ain't taking that chance

That's why I tax mine for any more than 3 months at a time. Well, that and the fact it costs less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Question: Do the NCT check rear shocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Question: Do the NCT check rear shocks?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Parents Octavia is going in for its first NCT tonight fingers crossed :) this is the first time my mother has ever had to get an nct done as she has never had a previous car that was 4 years old. I still clearly remember the day we got it in 2011 I was doing my leaving cert.

I never thought then it would last 4 years. Great car for what it is never broke down, nothing ever broke or went wrong it's the definition of a work horse that just starts goes and stops no drama. Great value for money at the time too the newer Octavia are 5k more for similar spec and I don't think they are half the car at all I much before the one we have plus I can't fit in the back of the new ones I'm too tall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Got the spoiler for my Golf this evening but its navy - not black.

Should I be okay to sand it down and give it a run with an aerosol can? I dont want to do any professional job on it and would like to have it all done over the weekend.

Ah ya, give it a lash anyway. If you make a hames of it sure you can always get it done proper. Sand back the old paint a bit and on with the new stuff.

Them rear spoilers are a pain to put on. I had to get one on last June, Would it fcuk stay on, took so many attempts.

Ah ya, give it a lash anyway. If you make a hames of it sure you can always get it done proper. Sand back the old paint a bit and on with the new stuff.

Them rear spoilers are a pain to put on. I had to get one on last June, Would it fcuk stay on, took so many attempts.

Exactly what I was thinking, I'll give it a shot tomorrow!

Im gonna need some patience when fitting it alright, ive to call up to our mechanic with the Mondeo over the weekend so I might check would he chance fitting it for me - so I can blame him if it fails! :pac:

From the one I was putting on, there's no clips or fixings, they rely entirely on adhesive.

Do golfs not have spoilers from the factory the same as most hatchbacks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

CIP4 wrote: »
    Do golfs not have spoilers from the factory the same as most hatchbacks ?

Golf's come with nothing out of the factory. A buddy of mine has an 02 one with windy windows, the Mk. V was almost about then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Got the spoiler for my Golf this evening but its navy - not black.

Should I be okay to sand it down and give it a run with an aerosol can? I dont want to do any professional job on it and would like to have it all done over the weekend.

Would wrapping it be an option?

Nope. My focus hasn't one either.

To make my situation worse, I dropped the spoiler on the ground and it split in 2. :o Was only made of carbon fibre!

Golf's come with nothing out of the factory. A buddy of mine has an 02 one with windy windows, the Mk. V was almost about then!

Oh your right I forgot it's a mk4. Mk5,6 and 7 have them from the factory. Sorry my knowledge of any golf other than mk5,6,7 wouldn't be great.

CIP4 wrote:
    Oh your right I forgot it's a mk4. Mk5,6 and 7 have them from the factory. Sorry my knowledge of any golf other than mk5,6,7 wouldn't be great.

Pfft, and you call yourself a golf enthusiast. It's not pick and choose you know!! All or nothing :P

I don't call myself a golf enthusiast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

166man wrote: »
    Personally I prefer to tax it once for the year and have it over and done with. :)

My hoop!!!! Don't think I've ever seen you with a taxed car!!! :P

Speaking of, Just taxed the 166 there a few days ago. The disc arrived today. First time it's had a full screen since May. Great to be fully legit again :)

CIP4 wrote:
    I don't call myself a golf enthusiast

Ah now whisht, come off it!!!!

I was dead set on getting another one next but now I think I'm might get a saloon for a change :eek:

It's a Jetta you're looking at I bet :P

No I do like the newer Jetta though :pac: no I like the seat exeo alot though well for the last few weeks anyway. Whatever I get will be at least 2.0tdi 140bhp anyway I have well and truly some my time with smaller diesels power or rather lack of it never bothered me until recently. Grand at lower speeds put your foot to the floor great pull to 90 kmh but then dead as fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

No I do like the newer Jetta though :pac: no I like the seat exeo alot though well for the last few weeks anyway. Whatever I get will be at least 2.0tdi 140bhp anyway I have well and truly some my time with smaller diesels power or rather lack of it never bothered me until recently. Grand at lower speeds put your foot to the floor great pull to 80 kmh but then dead as fcuk.

Why not buy the cheaper a4 its based off of?

exeo%20vs%20a4.1.jpg

From the one I was putting on, there's no clips or fixings, they rely entirely on adhesive.

Same as the one I got!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Would wrapping it be an option?

Possibly. I'll see how the aerosol can goes and if that fails then I'll give it to someone to wrap!

YbFocus wrote: »
    Why not buy the cheaper a4 its based off of?

Oh I like them alot too but they are very hard to get un modified and the 2.0tdi pd engine in them is a no no so your would be back to a 1.9tdi. Where as the exeo has the newer cr engines.

Also is it true that it has more difficult to insure 10 year old cars I've heard a lot about this recently not sure if it's true I would like to pay 1k extra for insurance if that is true.

I had no problem insuring my 13 year old 525i at 21, cheaper than most of my friends on smaller, lower powered cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Oh I like them alot too but they are very hard to get un modified and the 2.0tdi pd engine in them is a no no so your would be back to a 1.9tdi. Where as the exeo has the newer cr engines.

Also is it true that it has more difficult to insure 10 year old cars I've heard a lot about this recently not sure if it's true I would like to pay 1k extra for insurance if that is true.

I'm insuring my 16 year old car for €560, it has affected one or two companies but only over the 15 year mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

I had no problem insuring my 13 year old 525i at 21, cheaper than most of my friends on smaller, lower powered cars.
    YbFocus wrote: »
    I'm insuring my 16 year old car for €560, it has affected one or two companies but only over the 15 year mark.

Nice one thanks Ye I was thinking there was a few younger lads with cars older than 10 years insured easily enough. It made no sense to all these cars still have abs etc so I can't see why they are higher risk.

The Octavia passed its nct anyway :)

My dad said it was the cleanest car there he said most were dirty out he said they were that bad he didn't know how they would test them. You think it wouldn't be that difficult for people to give their cars a quick clean before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Same as the one I got!

Possibly. I'll see how the aerosol can goes and if that fails then I'll give it to someone to wrap!

Wrapping is far easier to diy than painting.