Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

My parents went to fbd to see about insurance for January as my brother will be learning to drive. They were actually pleasantly surprised 2k all in with him named 600 without which would be slightly high for them. But all things considered that would be a good deal I thought they would be looking at 3k euro. I'll be interested to see what my renewal will be like next year I'm expecting it to be up hopefully it doesn't go over 2k would obviously much prefer it to be around 1k as even that is a lot of money for insurance. I was 1180 this year which was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I'll wait until the weekend, it could do with a polish and I might be adding one or two other bits to it before then

Fup the weekend, show it to us in its current state!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Fup the weekend, show it to us in its current state!
    CIP4 wrote: »
    But sure we need before pictures to see what it is like before you make any changes :D

I could go and take a picture now but it'll be a bit dark :pac: I took one picture of it the day I put the deposit on it and none since then.. When I get the few bits for the exterior then I'll put up the before and after!

**Dont be expecting anything extreme, all im after is a set of alloys, spoiler, wind deflectors and new plates

I could go and take a picture now but it'll be a bit dark :pac: I took one picture of it the day I put the deposit on it and none since then.. When I get the few bits for the exterior then I'll put up the before and after!

**Dont be expecting anything extreme, all im after is a set of alloys, spoiler, wind deflectors and new plates

Ah here no outside floodlights or lights in one the sheds darkness is a poor excuse :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I could go and take a picture now but it'll be a bit dark I took one picture of it the day I put the deposit on it and none since then.. When I get the few bits for the exterior then I'll put up the before and after!

Show us the dealer pics so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

That look on your 55 year old dads face when he floors a V8 for the first time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That look on your 55 year old dads face when he floors a V8 for the first time :)

That's proper bonding there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Did you collect it I didn't didn't you were getting it till the end of the week for some reason.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Did you collect it I didn't didn't you were getting it till the end of the week for some reason.

Nah got it this evening. Trip through limerick tunnel was an experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Had to change a dipped bulb on the 5 series tonight. Bit of an awkward job and fiddly. The access is via the wheel arch and can be done just about with out removing the wheel. I think they make all the plastics in there sharp just to be pricks, my poor hands are all scratched :'(

On the plus side, I did notice a little shark printed on the tyres. Same as this one.

c710a14s-960.jpg

How cute....

Uniroyal rainsports :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Just checked, and both of those are there. Does that mean I'm all set? :D

(how do you know that stuff by the way? Seems like fairly technical info?)

That means that your light units won't need to be changed for the DRLs. They may need light bulbs put in them though.

I need to know all this stuff for work. It's me that works at granting the approvals for lights, exhausts, emissions etc for cars.:)

Uniroyal rainsports :)

I'm not sure what to say to that! :pac:

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I'm not sure what to say to that! :pac:

I bought a full set for the S60 of RS3's, sharkskin technology YO :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

jammy fubber! enjoy its a dream car to me:D

if you were stealthing up the car id change those expensive chrome OEM mirrors that some scum steal (1000?+new) for stock plastic

add an SDI badge too to help the ilousion of a 65bhp powerhouse ;)

"Red i", you couldn't just settle for a plain tdi!

I read about that shark skin tech. I looked at the tread to see what it was all about. That marketing dept earned their pay there anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Didn't know you were serious about the TDI thing. I have a new unused TDI badge, no red letters. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Erm, wind deflectors, are they removable or is it once there on there on for good unless you buy another set?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

job seeker wrote: »
    Erm, wind deflectors, are they removable or is it once there on there on for good unless you buy another set?

They should be removable I'd have thought. Can't imagine you'd need a new set once they're put on.

job seeker wrote: »

They sit in the door rubbers and are removable unless some lunatic glues/screwed them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

davycc wrote: »
    jammy fubber! enjoy its a dream car to me:D

if you were stealthing up the car id change those expensive chrome OEM mirrors that some scum steal (1000?+new) for stock plastic

add an SDI badge too to help the ilousion of a 65bhp powerhouse ;)

surely this and the tdi badge is a "joke"

dont see the point in ruining a nice car to make it look like it is a standard car :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

surely this and the tdi badge is a "joke"

dont see the point in ruining a nice car to make it look like it is a standard car :confused:

Shleeper hai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Lads, are xenons worth it? Another feckin passat popped up with Xenons but is a bit more expensive and I'm trying to stop myself being an eejit and going for it just cause of the lights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Yes, well wort it. You'll know once you've had them! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭micks_address

bear1 wrote: »
    Lads, are xenons worth it? Another feckin passat popped up with Xenons but is a bit more expensive and I'm trying to stop myself being an eejit and going for it just cause of the lights :D

it depends on how much driving you do on 'dark' roads.. most of my driving is around dublin where the roads are pretty well lit up... i upgraded the standard halogens on my car to phillips xtreme vision 130s.. and they are good but you only really notice the difference when you are on a dark road without other traffic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

bear1 wrote: »

Yeah if you can get them they are. How much more expensive is it though and do you plan on keeping the car long enough to justify the extra expense?

If you do a lot of early morning/late night driving they are great. If you're about town a lot it won't make much of a difference if the streets are light anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Good points lads, I do quite a bit of night driving especially with winter upon us. The cost is an extra 1k which is why I'm debating whether they are worth it or not.
    It has the exact same spec except instead of tan leather it has black which is putting me off cause the car itself is black. Seems a bit too bleak especially in the winter.