Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

Happyman42 wrote: »
    People may need to ask themselves; 'are we being manipulated'.

Think about it, if the threat was massive, if the threat had any relation to the amount of Muslims living happily in Europe, then we would have massive massive death tolls everyday. That is based on what happened tonight with 5 men and small amounts of weaponry.
    These attacks, while awful are sporadic and carried out by small amounts of people willing to die. After killing 3000 people in America what is the success rate since?
    If there were 'hordes' of these militant people in Europe or flooding into Europe as some would sensationally have you believe, we would be seeing thousands of deaths.
    In other words, we need to calm down a bit.
    A trojan horse only needs to get a small number in to cause havoc, militants coming in with the migrants may lay low for several years while waiting for their numbers to increase until they reach a critical number that allows them to carry out a major attack on the host nation. It appears that the Paris attack was involved at most a dozen people, just imagine what a couple of hundred could achieve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Probably too soon to plan and in the wrong country for a revenge attack for Jihad John.

Could quite easily have been a generic plan. There are always going to be people in restaurants on a friday night, always going to be gigs and games.
    Quite possible they were primed and ready to go in response to American actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Peist2007 wrote: »
    My point exactly. Muslim extremist groups have not been attacking European countries in contemporary times until 2003 when we attacked them. Now we have a problem

But France was one of the most vocal in opposition, remember? That whole Freedom Fries debacle when they refused military support to the US.

Nice of you to group all European countries together as if we're all the same. The French showed no support and it was very public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

He pretty much did highlight the complete contradiction in what you are saying. You decry those set in a mentality and then parrot your own. You've got this one wrong.

There is only a contradiction if you're so dead set in believing the West is responsible for the actions of everyone else.

Which it isn't.

As I said: Self-pity, more interested in blaming the West than those actually responsible.

Can you explain why they attacked France, a country that was dead set against invading Iraq for example ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,568 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

In fairness, anyone who has an excuse for this is living in denial. It's about time J Robert Oppenheimer's pet project was introduced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

200 years ago they were not in Europe but in the Middle East amongst their own kind, now they are here in Europe but are not assimilated into Western culture so still have the same attitudes as they had then. Only now they believe that they can "get one over" their host nations!

Are you sure there weren't any Muslims in Europe 200 years ago?
    Really really sure?

Not even in Greece, Bulgaria, Romania, Albania, Serbia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Hungary when they were part of the Ottoman Empire?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Fleawuss wrote: »
    That would be because they were kicked out of Spain by Ferdinand and Isabella and routed at the siege of Vienna in 1683. Some of the Christian countries in the Balkans and the Armenians might object to your "contemporary times". They haven't been able to. Which is considerably different from not wishing to. IS are not the creation of America: they are Islamic puritans with roots that extend back centuries. Not your point at all.

You're grasping at straws. The US explicit invasion of the Middle East in 2003 and the resultant carnage in London, Madrid, Paris and Paris is coincidental because of things that happened in the 1600s. Face the facts, Muslims were not attacking us on our streets and in our entertainment venues prior to "shock and awe". We have created the conditions for this with our own greed. And saying that is not supporting terrorists, ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭firemansam4

It's not 100% down to western policies, i agree Islam plays a role. But Islam is a pawn here too. It is being used as a vehicle. Look at the Wahabbi religion which the Saudis love throwing money at and which is an extremist brand of Islam. You think the Saudis in their palaces give a hoot about religion? Religion is a useful tool to give a credibility to the mindless barbarism we saw tonight. But there needs to be real anger and, unless you think your average Muslim is rabid, this anger needed to come from somewhere. Having your resources taken by brute force by Western enemies for more than a decade seems handy enough to me.

I can understand there being anger and hatred for western countries due to the interference and the war in Iraq, I agree with you on that.
    But I think the radical extremism we are seeing of late is more to do with radical extremist religious beliefs of ISIS.
    I think due to the whole region becoming unsettled it has now given ISIS the platform to do what it is doing now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

timthumbni wrote: »
    Anyone recommend any UK freeview news channels to watch the latest.??? The Brixton broadcasting corporation (BBC) is not really tickling my ivories despite their extortionate fees. They are coming across like some polytechnic student media affair.

Watch it on France 24. Airs on TG4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

But France was one of the most vocal in opposition, remember? That whole Freedom Fries debacle when they refused military support to the US.

Nice of you to group all European countries together as if we're all the same. The French showed no support and it was very public.

In fairness the French opposed the invasion of Iraq. They supported and continue to support US involvement in the middle east.

There are for example involved in air attacks in Syria , whereas the UK is not for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Quite possible they were primed and ready to go in response to American actions.

Or French.....

There is only one aircraft carrier on its way to the Persian Gulf to fight ISIS & that's the Charles De Gaulle....

It's scheduled to depart Toulon on Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

this pray for paris is stupid, religion has done enough today dont we think

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    There is only a contradiction if you're so dead set in believe the West is responsible for the actions of everyone else.

Which it isn't.

As I said: Self-pity, more interested in blaming the West than those actually responsible.

You cant see that analysing why this happened is not the same as blaming those responsible? Of course ISIS are responsible. How did a group like ISIS end up doing this? You're being obtuse on purpose. Go to bed.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Are you sure there weren't any Muslims in Europe 200 years ago?
    Really really sure?

Not even in Greece, Bulgaria, Romania, Albania, Serbia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Hungary when they were part of the Ottoman Empire?
    Those countries are on the fringes of Europe, if you want to be pedantic, I am referring to countries like France UK Germany and the remainder of Europe.

A trojan horse only needs to get a small number in to cause havoc, militants coming in with the migrants may lay low for several years while waiting for their numbers to increase until they reach a critical number that allows them to carry out a major attack on the host nation. It appears that the Paris attack was involved at most a dozen people, just imagine what a couple of hundred could achieve.

There really isn't any evidence that this is a threat that can be sustained. After 9-11 what actual threat have they offered to America for instance?

You will never defeat this type of attack, if you want to deal with it, you need to look at WHY it has become a threat in the last 20 years. And it is staring me in the face why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

You cant see that analysing why this happened is not the same as blaming those responsible? Of course ISIS are responsible. How did a group like ISIS end up doing this? You're being obtuse on purpose. Go to bed.

Because they are extremist Islamists who kill people regardless of religion or where they are from.

Wow, that was surprisingly easy.

Why did they attack a country that had nothing to do with the bombardments of Iraq ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

A large majority of the Muslim community and also the Irish Muslim community in my opinion are nice folk, they just want stability to go through their lives without pain and suffering themselves and some peace, sure most of us know this and want this ourselves. The few/minority fcuk it all up for the many decent Muslim folk as usual.

What we see tonight regarding the chaos and terrible loss of life and for the families of those that have died is hard pain of losing a son or daughter or loved one, the whole family and extended feel the pain, but it's only a minority of fcuking **** that can cause absolure chaos and death. As always the case here in Ireland... There's always one. One asshole that just wreaks everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭kingtiger

You're grasping at straws. The US explicit invasion of the Middle East in 2003 and the resultant carnage in London, Madrid, Paris and Paris is coincidental because of things that happened in the 1600s. Face the facts, Muslims were not attacking us on our streets and in our entertainment venues prior to "shock and awe". We have created the conditions for this with our own greed. And saying that is not supporting terrorists, ffs

jasus

you can't condone indiscriminate actions like this pack of Cowards that were responsible for the carnage tonight

welcome to my ignore list after that tirade of bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Sapphire3

FanadMan wrote: »
    To hell with all the political discussion, my thoughts are with the families tonight.

I feel exactly the same way, my thoughts go out to the victims and their families tonight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭meepins

You will never defeat this type of attack, if you want to deal with it, you need to look at WHY it has become a threat in the last 20 years. And it is staring me in the face why.

This should be good, go on..

Or French.....

There is only one aircraft carrier on its way to the Persian Gulf to fight ISIS & that's the Charles De Gaulle....

It's scheduled to depart Toulon on Wednesday.

Yep, fair enough. I don't think this took a lot of planning to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I'm pretty friendly with an Egyptian Christian, through work, and he's in a pretty high position in his company.

So maybe some radical Muslims are attacking Christians (shock horror), the more normal Muslims, of which I'd be on friendly terms with about ten or so, are grand lads, not a bother on them as regards to the Christian guy in their midst.

So no problems being a Christian in Egypt then?? Aye ok.... I'm sure the poor Egyptian Christians on that Libyan (I tHink) beach were just marked out just for the craic then???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

The Egyptian connection through Moslem Brotherhood is btw a rejection of Nasser's secularism and aping of Western culture. IS talks of Moslem lands alright and the invader: they don't just mean the Yanks. Trust these people in one thing: they mean what they say. They want large parts of Europe back.

Em , Muslims were attacking the U.S. In 9/11 ( 2001)

The instability in the general Middle East goes back centuries

But I think the radical extremism we are seeing of late is more to do with radical extremist religious beliefs of ISIS.

I disagree but i do see your point. My opinion is that the top of ISIS doesnt care about religion. This is about power, revenge, land, money, oil. Suicide bombers need a cause and islam is clearly working.

Fleawuss wrote: »
    The Egyptian connection through Moslem Brotherhood is btw a rejection of Nasser's secularism and aping of Western culture. IS talks of Moslem lands alright and the invader: they don't just mean the Yanks. Trust these people in one thing: they mean what they say. They want large parts of Europe back.

Not before we turn most of their land into glass

There really isn't any evidence that this is a threat that can be sustained. After 9-11 what actual threat have they offered to America for instance?

Yes, inward migration without assimilation is the issue, there used to be a saying "when in Rome...." , that doesn’t apply any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

In fairness, anyone who has an excuse for this is living in denial. It's about time J Robert Oppenheimer's pet project was introduced

No. Just no. What are you going to nuke: the Moslem suburbs of Paris?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

BoatMad wrote: »
    In fairness the French opposed the invasion of Iraq. They supported and continue to support US involvement in the middle east.

There are for example involved in air attacks in Syria , whereas the UK is not for example

They also gave asylum to Ayatollah Khomeini for over a decade during the Shah's reign. Think of the deaths that this piece of humanity caused!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭meepins

BoatMad wrote: »
    Em , Muslims were attacking the U.S. In 9/11 ( 2001)

The instability in the general Middle East goes back centuries

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1993_World_Trade_Center_bombing