Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Missed the milestone by a country mile! Don't like how it's creeping up so high....

2weid7o.png

I have the 130k km milestone coming up on my one I'll try and catch it I used to be great for it but haven't bothered in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CIP4 wrote: »
    I have the 130k km milestone coming up on my one I'll try and catch it I used to be great for it but haven't bothered in ages.

I wish mine was only on 130k kms. Was about that when I bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Speaking of milestones, the mighty Punto hit 146,000 miles yesterday.

I'm not too bad at the moment clocking it up slow enough but if I end up going to evening college in cork next years that will be over 1k km of driving a week. I normally don't care about mileage but it's alot easier to sell a high mileage golf or focus etc compared to a Megane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

CianRyan wrote: »
    Some things my girlfriend just doesn't need to know.

ooh, the beauty of not having to worry about that anymore :pac:
    All the christmas presents this year are for me:D

Im delighted for you, you've had that car for so long and finally able to do the stuff to it that you've been wanting to do

something tells me though, theres a lot more parts she's not going to need to know about either:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I know the feeling, mine was 120k km when I bought it (could be way out here) and 2 weeks ago I hit 350k km.
    Still going strong. Touch wood, etc.
    What you got and how much is on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

ooh, the beauty of not having to worry about that anymore :pac:
    All the christmas presents this year are for me:D

Im delighted for you, you've had that car for so long and finally able to do the stuff to it that you've been wanting to do

something tells me though, theres a lot more parts she's not going to need to know about either:rolleyes:

Eh, yeah.
    Gonna be hard hiding Bride seats, a roll cage, lexan Windows and various engine parts though... Haha
    I need a shed, more parts money and a shed. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I would have though the commission on selling new cars would be good enough. I had a feeling it wouldn't be great on secondhand cars. I suppose it's an uncertain weekly wage which is the down side. But as you said if your good at it and sell consistently there is money to be made. Plenty of lads at it that love it and would do nothing else I'd imagine it's a great adrenaline rush when you sell a car.

Much more profit for a dealer in a secondhand car. Relatively feck all in a newer car. Tbh plenty of lads get into it thinking that money will be better than it is, especially for the premium brands. They're just as tight as everyone else.
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    Different game to what it was in the pre Internet/recession days.
    Good times!

Internet has educated people so much more alright, could have made it challenging for the less knowledgeable folk and also means shopping around for prices is a doddle if that's what you mean?

I know the feeling, mine was 120k km when I bought it (could be way out here) and 2 weeks ago I hit 350k km. Still going strong. Touch wood, etc. What you got and how much is on it?

It's a 2008 mondeo. Just gone over 130k miles, as above.

The 2004 focus is on 154,010 as of this evening. Missed that too!

On another note, I'm nearly positive that Tim Hastings in Westport has a freshly erected Mercedes sign outside his place. Last I remember there wasn't a Mercedes sign to be seen anywhere, just vw. Even transformed the Merc showroom into a vw commercials showroom. Possibly back in cahoots with Mercedes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Lads I'm a bit new to the whole buying a car off of a dealer game but I've been told by them that ill get a 6 month guarantee on the box, engine and paint.
    So he said that if in the 6 months there is a injector fault not caused by me then the repair is foc.
    He also said its the same for the clutch. Just curious how they know if the fault is caused by the driver or the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

misfuelling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

a tile from the wind blew of the apartments and landed on the boot of my car,massive dent

wonder if I can claim of mgt of the apartments or just have to suck it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

a tile from the wind blew of the apartments and landed on the boot of my car,massive dent

That's awful lad, i guess you can try, they might try claim an act of god or something like that, a young tree broke at its base yesterday from the wind and landed a foot away from one of the neighbours cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

House insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

claim I'd say. hardly an act of God or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

That's a balls. I'd certainly look at making a claim against them, have you still got the tile/proof?

my first and only dent on the car in 9 years.

was a sickener to see a tile broke in 3 places resting on the boot, the dent is that big it has retained the rain water leaving a big puddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

That is always a fear of mine, I always park a few feet back from the house during the winter. Not possible for everyone though. Sick for you.

yeah, thats my only option so that doesnt make much sense

will have to pay out of my own pocket, just wondering if makes sense to bother.

hate cars with any dents or scracthes on them, will end up not driving it now until its sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

+1 Should be covered under public liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Anyone know what the turnaround time is like for a change of ownership at the moment? Bought a secondhard car from a dealer last Friday and the new VRC still hasn't been issued according to motortax.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

The missus got a car about 6 weeks ago and she got the log book in a little over 3 weeks, and looks like her car was sold early last week but still no change yet on motortax.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

jimgoose wrote: »
    Now - some of you may have seen me mention NMMA TC-W3 standard two-stroke oil as a fuel additive. I am going to try it out, and I shall report appropriately. Have a read of this:

http://www.saltwatersportsman.com/techniques/understanding-two-stroke-engine-oil

I've been running this stuff at 1.9ml/l, or in premix terms 527:1, and I am pleased to report that oil consumption is down, and the engine is even quieter and smoother than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,212 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

5W30 wrote: »
    Mondeo driver gets confused about which side of the road (s)he should drive on

Im genuinely struggling to see what this video is meant to be showing???

Flicking through donedeal seen this. I think it looks well not too many going around. However you'd buy a golf gti or st etc same year for less money so I think it's a bit strong money wise even if it's rare.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-2-2-0-rs225-5dr/10872410

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Flicking through donedeal seen this. I think it looks well not too many going around. However you'd buy a golf gti or st etc same year for less money so I think it's a bit strong money wise even if it's rare.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-2-2-0-rs225-5dr/10872410

I think he's looking for apeshít money for it.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I think he's looking for apeshít money for it.

Ye I'd be thinking 7k would be reasonable for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Thargor wrote: »
    Im genuinely struggling to see what this video is meant to be showing???

Mondeo drover making a balls of the turn.

That is also the road I take to work only a matter of time before I show up on here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Mondeo drover making a balls of the turn.

That is also the road I take to work only a matter of time before I show up on here :pac:

To me, it's almost weird that 2 boardsies drive down the same road. Nobody even comes close to here. :pac: