Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fallout 4 [PC:G]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

From the reddit thread someone linked to earlier, this seems to be the original forum post on the Steam forums the ini tweaks were taken from. Contains fixes for quite a few issues so far and looks like it's being maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Shougeki

RopeDrink wrote: »
    Giving the game 8/10 so-far. Botched my build and taking things super thoroughly slow and methodically. Aside from the above negatives (and the yucky console controls), very enjoyable.

Started a game, didnt like how I looked by the time I got outside. Restarted.
    Repeat.
    Third time look ok. Finish the vault. Doh, I could have reset my appearance. f*cking great. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

^ Just use the console.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,857 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Shougeki wrote:
    Started a game, didnt like how I looked by the time I got outside. Restarted. Repeat. Third time look ok. Finish the vault. Doh, I could have reset my appearance. f*cking great.

You can change your appearance at any time once u get to diamond city anyway :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,210 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Anyone playing this with a controller on pc btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Wheres your legs bitch!!!!

Ended out beating it to death had no ammo for anything.

3086CAD5456BC6AF218093FC53CF7C2B441B3C1E

60mb patch anyone see a list fo fixes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Thargor wrote: »
    Anyone playing this with a controller on pc btw?

Yep, I am a few hours in using the controller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭BenK

Just opneed up my copy of Fallout 4 from Gameseek and it won't work because there's a big dent on the disc! So annoyed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

dreamers75 wrote: »
    15 hours in havent been to Diamond City, did a lot of the minute men missions. The bring you south, south is a bad bad place and best avoided until level 200 or something.

Had a massive fight in a building with a load ghouls thought I was done after a seriously high level one. Then as I walked out into what i thought was outside a legendary glowing mofo appeared. What I did in my paniked state was awesome.

Will stick up a screenshot later :D It felt cheap but fcuk it twas him or me :D

Yes I had this too. Facing the
    GLOWING ONE
    was great fun. I sent in Codsworth and emptied a couple of guns into it.

I got rid of the dog very quickly. He kept charging to his death and then needed stimpacks to get back up, whereas Codsworth just gets a minute of downtime and boots back up. How's that for balance? I told him to go home to Sanctuary and never saw him again. He probably got mauled by feral ghouls and is now limping and whining somewhere near Diamond City. I might go look for him some day.

RE loading times: I have it on my SSD and it is the first game in years that has me twiddling my thumbs waiting for it to load some times. I can only imagine what another 20 seconds of wait time per load would be like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Zillah wrote: »
    GLOWING ONE

I got rid of the dog very quickly. He kept charging to his death and then needed stimpacks to get back up, whereas Codsworth just gets a minute of downtime and boots back up. How's that for balance? I told him to go home to Sanctuary and never saw him again. He probably got mauled by feral ghouls and is now limping and whining somewhere near Diamond City. I might go look for him some day.

Was reading there is no need to use stimpacks on him, he will just sort himself out after the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Legendary raider feck me was harder than the 12 or so mutants I fought with a starting rifle. Got some cool armor of it, can you only wear those armor pieces with the vault outfit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Spent the last hour and half in some car factory near Lexington fighting raiders and Gouls. Still not finished in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭ronan keane

Need some help with the hole in the wall quest
    Is expert hacking required? Cant find the bloody password anywhere and havent put anything into hacking :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

What am I doing wrong here??

When I go to the workshop for base building. I'm stuck. Can't move. Can only select it build objects immediately next or near the workshop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

You dont need to be at the workshop for base building. You can open the building menu anywhere in the base.

i kinda wish you could only have one settlement at a time, i have two going at the moment but i would prefer to have all those people in the one place it's a bit of a grind trying to manage them. Aside from that over 20 hours in and i think i spent most of that building and re doing stuff in the settlement, i regret not going for a more charisma based build. seems to be key for a lot of dialog stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

What am I doing wrong here??
    When I go to the workshop for base building. I'm stuck. Can't move. Can only select it build objects immediately next or near the workshop.

Press and hold V anywhere in the base. Select the object you want. You can move around freely with it selected and you will see an outline in red or green depending if it can be placed in said location.

Unhappy here. Got home late. Had other things to do. Only gave me 30 min to go online before bed. I'm thinking to myself - 30 min is just teasing myself. I'll have to wait until tomorrow for more :(

Buildings have a max height :(

Was building a sky scraper.

7BE41C298AECDFE9ABD468D0E2FC9F81201AE5A7

ugh i just noticed you can set a settler/companion to establish a supply line. much less grindy now ha.

Lone Stone wrote: »
    ugh i just noticed you can set a settler/companion to establish a supply line. much less grindy now ha.

Explain please.

I have very little interest in this town building malarky. I've set up Sanctuary Hills, if I ignore everywhere else, will it matter? Like, it could be fun, but having a separate stash for each settlement, and having all of the resources exist as junk until they're needed, and not being able to fast travel while encumbered - just a perfect recipe of annoyance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    You can change your appearance at any time once u get to diamond city anyway :P
    Think I'm level 17 now after almost 20 hours and still haven't been to Diamond City..whoops.
    GLOWING ONE

RE loading times: I have it on my SSD and it is the first game in years that has me twiddling my thumbs waiting for it to load some times. I can only imagine what another 20 seconds of wait time per load would be like.
    Loading times are pretty bad but not game breaking. Finding the quickloads on PC incredibly quick compared to just the fast travel. Not playing off of SSD but noticeably slower than what I would like/expect.

Buddies, for the most part aren't high maintenance. If they take a lot of damage they'll sit on the ground and wait it out. if you want to get them back into the action while there's bullets flying you can give them a stimpack to get them on their feet. Pretty sure that if you approach them after the action has died down (after a few seconds) they'll jump to their feet. If you find that a buddy is running off into trouble then crouch to stop them doing that. When you crouch your buddy stays by your side.

I did have a weird occurrence of my buddy just sitting on the ground and not moving. Think it was a bug where I tried to approach him and give him a stimpack to get him back into action but the system didn't register it so he remained on his arse for the rest of the area until I loaded to a different area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

how do ye do that?

If u have more than one settlement go into build mode select a settler and there is a supply route option click it pick which settlement you want to pool resources with, just crafting stuff not power or water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,504 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Just found an Irish girl in
    the Combat Zone
    . The accent is atrocious, I mean beyond bad. It's like they're trying to take the piss (maybe they are).
    Of course I had to take her with me as a companion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,504 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Honestly, no. I'll listen out for it, though she seemed more pikey than anything else.

[edit, went back to her. Boston drawl, though I see where you're coming from]

If u have more than one settlement go into build mode select a settler and there is a supply route option click it pick which settlement you want to pool resources with, just crafting stuff not power or water.

This requires the Local Leader perk, which requires SIX perks, most of which are terrible.

I would cheat the hell out of this if it allowed me to just pool all of the settlements together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

How do you get/run a wire from a generator to a power item?

It's probably obvious...

how do ye do that?

You need Local Leader Perk is in the Charisma tree about 7 down.
    chrislad wrote: »
    How do you get/run a wire from a generator to a power item?

It's probably obvious...

Create both items highlight Genny and Space Barto connect wire and attach it to item and space bar again.
    This requires the Local Leader perk, which requires SIX perks, most of which are terrible.

I would cheat the hell out of this if it allowed me to just pool all of the settlements together.

You need 6 or 7 points in Charisma and then you can scroll down and only unlock that perk, you dont need the ones before it. I only leanred that last night :D

I was wondering around the west and Jet Engine plane flew over my head, I was following it and was distracted by something and lost it.

Anyone know what it drops and where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Just found an Irish girl The accent is atrocious, I mean beyond bad. It's like they're trying to take the piss (maybe they are).

Not too surprised after listening to Colin Moriarty in FO3. I was convinced he would have a leprechaun serving drinks in the bar instead of a ghoul.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    You need 6 or 7 points in Charisma and then you can scroll down and only unlock that perk, you dont need the ones before it. I only leanred that last night :D

WHAT

Another black mark on their absurd UI.