Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Murph_D wrote: »
    Morose cabbage? Your turn of phrase continues to impress. ;)

Pity my turn of speed doesn't :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Murph_D wrote: »
    Morose cabbage? Your turn of phrase continues to impress. ;)

TmC? Yeah, that works.

Plan today called for 30 mins easy, but since I haven't run in 2 weeks I decided to get tomorrow's run in instead as I'm in London Thursday and Friday and will manage only easy miles on those days. So today was to be 2 miles easy, 3 miles @ 7.00-7.10, 2 miles @ 6.40-6.50, 1 mile @ 6.20-6.30 w/ 3, & 2, min recoveries between.

Still mental at work and I got out to do this in Dangan in the fading light.

Very wet, windy and mucky in Dangan but I was delighted to be out. There wasn't a sinner about and that suited me perfectly.

I'd say I've a few pounds on from the last few weeks and although I didn't have to dig out my elasticated pants I could feel the extra pud as I got a one mile warm up done. It's amazing how quickly you lose fitness and once I started on the quicker stuff I knew I was gonna struggle and every time I ran in a section that wasn't sheltered by the trees the pace dropped off.

Half way through the 2 mile rep I was blowing harder than Gillian Taylforth in a Land Rover passenger seat :) Thought I'd have to stop but got some shelter in the trees and managed to finish it out.

Really enjoyed it and I now need to get some consistency going. Bring on project Seville!

Splits:

6.49, 7.01, 7.01
    6.35, 6.55

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Good running. Don't forget the fitness comes back fairly quick too once you get the consistency back. There's life in the old lemon yet ;)

Today the plan called for 7 miles easy. Work still very busy but at least I'm in Galway till Thursday and that makes getting out a lot easier. Got caught a bit for time but managed to get out to Dangan eventually.

Was very wet and windy again and I only had time for 6 miles very easy around 8.50 pace. Legs were very stiff and heavy after yesterday's session and never really loosened out. Got a bit of chafing around the BB and was manspreading at meetings for the afternoon :)

Supposed to have a 10 mile progression run tomorrow but I'm getting two teeth out so we'll see what sort of humour I'm in after that.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I'm getting two teeth out

TbL

See what the Skittles do to you, best of luck with that, not nice experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

tang1 wrote: »
    See what the Skittles do to you, best of luck with that, not nice experience.

(kept quiet about this at the time but) I was walking home from work eating Skittles a few weeks back and then I started getting sharp pain on chewing as I was getting to the end of the bag. Had to call the dentist in a hurry the next morning. By the time I got an appointment the soreness had calmed down and he decided nothing had to be done for now.
    *BUT* Tang is right, those Skittles are likely responsible. I was only a month or so into my "career" too ....

(no I have not stopped eating them, just cut-back a bit)

How's the delph?

Had two big mothers taken out, he sawed them in half to make it "easier" to extract them. Am a big girls blouse when it comes to the dentist and he gave me headfones and some music to listen to, to stop the whimpering! I'd a wry smile to myself as Fun Boy 3's "Our lips are sealed" came on. Couldn't put the implants in because of an infection so I've to go back. Grrrrrr

Missus was texting me after and on one of them she asked,

"What did you get for pain?"

My response,

"You :)"

'Twas the smiley that saved me!

Was told no running for the day as well so I'll have to try the progression run on the hotel treadmill tomorrow.

TbL

Jaysis that sounds rough, at least the missus was sympathetic to you. Just two days in Ingerland this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Presume it was the missus and not the dentist who stopped you running today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Horribly quiet here, you're ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

aquinn wrote: »
    Horribly quiet here, you're ok?

He still hasn't recovered from the backlash to the "What did you get for pain?" response.

Tnx Aquinn.

Not great from a running point of view but the tragedy in Paris puts everything into perspective.

I am however going through a cruel mutation - mid life, and it's not agreeing with me :)

Was told no running for 24 hours after having the two knashers taken out last Wednesday and I was in London with work on Thursday and Friday. Had planned on doing the 10 mile progression run on the hotel treadmill on Thursday evening but I got press ganged into a dinner in a dining room in the former Baring Banks offices. All very grand, with full waiting staff and a sommelier who rabbited on about each wine served with each course. I didn't give a toss if it was fermented from reindeers haemorrhoids as I was on the sparking water and still harbouring faint hopes of getting my run done! 5 courses and one too many "ye're great lads" speeches put paid to that.

Didn't get back from London till late Friday so no run again. TBH the head has dropped a bit and the body feels pretty run down (typically the gums got infected and I'm on antibiotics for that!) so I sat and wallowed in a bucket of cloying self pity over the weekend. Had hoped to meet FBOT in Dublin tonight for a grumpy auld git bitch fest and a slow run but even that didn't materialise as I had to head back West. Tried hooking up with Tang on the way down for a trot but his head has been turned by Firedance and he'd no interest :)

Apart from that it's all good :)

I'm hoping to get a 2 mile run done tomorrow!

You did ask AQuinn ;)

TbL

Tnx Aquinn.

Not great from a running point of view but the tragedy in Paris puts everything into perspective.

I am however going through a cruel mutation - mid life, and it's not agreeing with me :)

Was told no running for 24 hours after having the two knashers taken out last Wednesday and I was in London with work on Thursday and Friday. Had planned on doing the 10 mile progression run on the hotel treadmill on Thursday evening but I got press ganged into a dinner in a dining room in the former Baring Banks offices. All very grand, with full waiting staff and a sommelier who rabbited on about each wine served with each course. I didn't give a toss if it was fermented from reindeers haemorrhoids as I was on the sparking water and still harbouring faint hopes of getting my run done! 5 courses and one too many "ye're great lads" speeches put paid to that.

Didn't get back from London till late Friday so no run again. TBH the head has dropped a bit and the body feels pretty run down (typically the gums got infected and I'm on antibiotics for that!) so I sat and wallowed in a bucket of cloying self pity over the weekend. Had hoped to meet FBOT in Dublin tonight for a grumpy auld git bitch fest and a slow run but even that didn't materialise as I had to head back West. Tried hooking up with Tang on the way down for a trot but his head has been turned by Firedance and he'd no interest :)

Apart from that it's all good :)

I'm hoping to get a 2 mile run done tomorrow!

You did ask AQuinn ;)

TbL

I was only second choice, feckin glad I gave you the cold shoulder now!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Mid life my backside, age is only a number, get your **** together and get back on the road! Gum infection aside of course...(I'm crap at tough love)

If you're not careful ill catch you up and then you'll have something to whinge about :D

After a week of no running and feeling sorry for myself it was time to get back up on the horse (even if the increased weight might buckle him!)

Got out early this morning in very gusty conditions. I decided to head out over to Seanadh Pheistin and do a few miles out and back over the hills.

Took me a while to get my ass out of the car and get started and I almost headed home when the rain lashed off the windscreen but I'm determined to try and get some consistency back so I bit the bullet and got going. Was surprised how comfortable it was even though the pace was slow I thought it'd be more of a slog.

Felt good despite the conditions, so I kept going and got 10 miles done @ 8.12 pace. Happy with that and I've now set myself a mini challenge to run for 5 days in a row to gets things rolling again.

10 miles @ 8.12

TbL

Was surprised how comfortable it was even though the pace was slow I thought it'd be more of a slog.

See Dough Boy quit your whining and just get out and run, your in decent shape & bit of self belief in yourself man!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Look on the bright side - you'll soon have that pesky work out of the way & you can concentrate on your running. Presume from your comments that you are near retirement age ???

On my last update I promised consistency and sure enough I've been consistently inconsistent!

I had a strength & conditioning session last Thursday but I had to finish after 40 mins as I tweaked a muscle in my neck.

Had to head off to my second home, London, on Thursday afternoon and worked some serious hours through to Saturday morning.

The end result is that our Company was bought by new owners but more importantly I got no running done as I slept most of Sunday.

Got my 13 week training plan for Seville last night and it looks good so here's hoping I can finally get stuck in.

I'm in Stockholm today and tomorrow and I managed to get the planned 30 mins easy done on the hotel treadmill.

I might have a long haul flight to do towards the end of the week but I should still be able to get the runs in.

TbL

Thought we lost you there you were that quiet!! You still running the Waterford half?

No B, won't be around and I'm a bit round, currently :)

TbL

I've turned into a part time runner/logger/bogger.

Didn't get home till very late on Tuesday night - no run

Yesterday Mrs TbL threatened actual bodily harm if I wasn't on hand to spend the evening shopping and propping her up against a bar - no run!

Today, I did yesterday's planned run. 4 x 6 mins @ 7.00, 6.50, 6.40, & 6.40 pace. Was instructed not to go Comanche and wander off the range, pace wise!

Got this done in Dangan and started with a 1.25 mile warm up, and finished with a mile cd.

First 3 reps were handy enough but last one was a bit of a struggle.

Rep paces: 6.56, 6.47, 6.36, & 6.37

Long haul trip scheduled for this week was delayed till next week so hopefully I'll get running every day for the rest of the week.

TbL

No B, won't be around and I'm a bit round, currently :)

TbL

what about Jingle Bells instead then? apart from a super race, you'll get to meet the fabulous aquinn (and me but that won't be quite as amazing :D)

Firedance wrote: »
    what about Jingle Bells instead then? apart from a super race, you'll get to meet the fabulous aquinn (and me but that won't be quite as amazing :D)

Won't Tang get jealous FD :)

Anyway the way ye go on about Aquinn ye make her out to be some fire breathing dragon ;)

When's the Jingle Bells on, might tie it in with a shopping trip to the big schmoke!

TbL

Ah your just cranky i stood you up the other week:D

Anyway the way ye go on about Aquinn ye make her out to be some fire breathing dragon ;)

When's the Jingle Bells on, might tie it in with a shopping trip to the big schmoke!

TbL

Its next sat 5th, We will all be in ryans after the race so even if you don't want to raca you can drink instead :D. Tang didn't you say you'd come for a pint??

Firedance wrote: »
    Its next sat 5th, We will all be in ryans after the race so even if you don't want to raca you can drink instead :D. Tang didn't you say you'd come for a pint??

Joys of having a public sector job are ruling me out of it i'm afraid FD.

Tsk, ill just email all the baddies & tell them to take the day off :p