Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

colm_mcm wrote: »
    There was a lot of reckless interbreeding going on 20 years ago by the look of that programme,

agree, think it was the norm for a lot of irish to marry their cousins due to the population being so small. In rural areas in particular.

Think this is getting less common now in this day and age due to so many other people settling in Ireland from different countries. which can only be a good thing and stops this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

agree, think it was the norm for a lot of irish to marry their cousins due to the population being so small. In rural areas in particular.

Think this is getting less common now in this day and age due to so many other people settling in Ireland from different countries. which can only be a good thing and stops this

Is that a serious post :confused:

Or is it one of those "I'll say this and if the reaction is bad I'll say that I *forgot* to put in smilies" style of post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

In booked in for autoheroes 2 anyway, now for the tedious 4 week wait :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Or is it one of those "I'll say this and if the reaction is bad I'll say that I *forgot* to put in smilies" style of post?

I fully agree with it, so it must be serious. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

davycc wrote: »
    Yea I love his videos too especially his 'highs and lows of sch1tty living' moto-vlog which is one of the funniest entire series on youtube just my type of humour :D also inspired me to get my own first scooter/bike ;)
    picked up a road rashed suzuki katatna last sat and its all that comedy genious with the cameras fault :D

That is deadly davy, ye should meet up and have a convoy video :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Not quite sure what that has to do with a "Motors" chat thread tbh?

Plenty of other places for that kind of carry on to be discussed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I cleaned the Megane this day two weeks ago and looking at it now you'd swear it wasn't washed in months muck up both sides and the front and back are covered in dirt. Your at not washing cars in November and December anyway I think.

Heres a weird one. The S60 won't lock from either of the 2 fobs anymore. The unlock, boot and parking light buttons work fine on both. The thing has been sitting up for 3 weeks but can't see why that would do anything. Getting the thing ready to be put up on DD and its still giving me silly problems. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Fob needs a new battery. Volvo/Ford fobs need more power to lock than to unlock.

Focus was same last year

Fob needs a new battery. Volvo/Ford fobs need more power to lock than to unlock.

Focus was same last year

Oh I forgot to mention I just put a new lidls finest battery in each fob for the new owner because I'm sound like that. Spare one was dead anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Try another battery. It's not uncommon for a few to be dud's or too few volts remaining in them. If you have a multimeter you can test the volts. If that appears all fine then the points are probably worn in the fob or they need programming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭ofcork

Any cork posters see the Nissan GTR around now 08 reg grey think its a uk import .

Hal1 wrote: »
    Try another battery. It's not uncommon for a few to be dud's or too few volts remaining in them. If you have a multimeter you can test the volts. If that appears all fine then the points are probably worn in the fob or they need programming.

Tried that just there. Same result. Had the car battery disconnected for a few mins too to see if would solve it. Nope. Fcuk this car anyway. The indicators have stopped flashing when you unlock it too....I think. I'm not 100% sure if they did flash before. They definitely did when I locked it. SG can you remember from your s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

ofcork wrote: »
    Any cork posters see the Nissan GTR around now 08 reg grey think its a uk import .

Yep, often see it in Douglas driven by I assume the guys wife/GF, they live up by Glanmire I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭ofcork

Saw that G63 AMG being driven a few times by the owners wife and she barely gets out of 2nd would love to hear it being pushed for once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Sometimes he just can't resist going full troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Anyone going to Dundalk this week better have their discs up to date. Been through 5 checkpoints in 5 days, all of them armed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Anyone going to Dundalk this week better have their discs up to date. Been through 5 checkpoints in 5 days, all of them armed too.

Armed?

Would imagine they're looking for more than out of date tax hai!

I've passed 7 this week around Munster including customs outside Kent station only today. Before I'd be doing well to pass 1 a year. Half my days work involves driving now. At least none of em were feckin armed though! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

That's mental I don't think I've been through one in about a year if not more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

That's mental I don't think I've been through one in about a year if not more.

Passed through one myself in D18 Tuesday evening. First time in donkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Lots of gardai on the M9 this evening :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Passed through one myself in D18 Tuesday evening. First time in donkeys.

You'd think in dublin would go through loads but there very rarely seen. In all my years of driving I've never even been breathalysed.

quite a few checkpoints in dublin the last few days. They are not particularly looking for tax etc

Operation Thor probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Must be out trying to put these new audi's and bmw's into action!

exactly, things are about to kick off very soon.

Operation Thor probably.

Ye parents got stopped at 1am this morning in regards to this in Portloaise or somewhere around there anyway. Four guards there stopping and questioning everyone. Things seem to be clamping down big time in the last six months no harm anyway.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Ye parents got stopped at 1am this morning in regards to this in Portloaise or somewhere around there anyway. Four guards there stopping and questioning everyone. Things seem to be clamping down big time in the last six months no harm anyway.

Absolutely. Rural burglaries are rampant here in Limerick at the moment as well as the rest of the country. These lads got a bit more than they bargained for when they chanced their arms not so long ago. That place isn't too far from me either.

One of the lads I work with drives an E60 and he told me that he looks out his bedroom window first thing every morning to make sure the thing is still there. No one should have to live like that.

Absolutely. Rural burglaries are rampant here in Limerick at the moment as well as the rest of the country. These lads got a bit more than they bargained for when they chanced their arms not so long ago. That place isn't too far from me either.

One of the lads I work with drives an E60 and he told me that he looks out his bedroom window first thing every morning to make sure the thing is still there. No one should have to live like that.

Ah it's unreal the amount of burglarys. I'd be the same with my Megane always on edge worrying about it being stolen. It being such a saught after car the canbus Clifford alarm system it has is a necessity :pac: