What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Got spotted, picked up and returned home after three months missing :D:D:D

How is he
    Where was he
    Is he happy to be home (or does he care?!?!)
    Had he run away from home and found a better gaff??
    3 months - wow!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

aonb wrote: »
    How is he

Absolutely perfect aside from a little slimmer... which isn't a bad thing :D
    Where was he

Our local town, about a 10-12 minute drive away.
    Is he happy to be home (or does he care?!?!)

Yeah he's apparently very happy to be back. And when he got locked in the delivery van that drove him away from the house in the first place, he cried and cried so he probably knew he'd ****ed up :D
    Had he run away from home and found a better gaff??

He went into a delivery van at the house and got taken on an unintentional drive. When the driver opened the door, the cat hopped out and made his way to the closest town where he stayed for 3 months. We're unsure if he was being fed or looked after.
    3 months - wow!! :)

I know!! :D

Thats great news!
    Like a Disney movie!
    Why on earth didnt the delivery person bring him back :confused:
    My cat is in a cattery for 5 weeks - for the first time - Im missing her very badly, will be very interesting to see if shes happy to see me, and how she reacts to be back home (ex-feral-rescue)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Why on earth didnt the delivery person bring him back :confused:

He never saw Oscar! He thought he heard a cat meowing, but when he searched the van he found nothing and thought he was hearing things.

Oscar presumably snuck out of the van without being seen, the wee shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

My cat is in a cattery for 5 weeks - for the first time - Im missing her very badly, will be very interesting to see if shes happy to see me, and how she reacts to be back home (ex-feral-rescue)

If she's like Sammy, she'll give you the cold shoulder for about a day and a half, but then be even more affectionate than she was before you left.

Dandelion6 wrote: »
    If she's like Sammy, she'll give you the cold shoulder for about a day and a half, but then be even more affectionate than she was before you left.

I HOPE so! Shes a funny little thing - when she gets up in the mornings, and when shes being put to bed at night she loves a cuddle, but NOT in between :)
    Cats are so wierd!!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Maybe weird, but definitely wonderful!!!

New Home wrote: »
    Maybe weird, but definitely wonderful!!!
    Definitely wierd - shes my first cat (found as a kitten) - they are so different as pets - I love her to bits and I know she "loves" and trusts me, but its a totally different relationship to that I have with the dogs/horses/hens(!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Jentle Grenade

Our new dog came to live with us last week. She came from a shelter and we had been told that she had a rough time of it. She has been so quiet and timid since she came, half afraid to make any sort of noise. This morning she saw two cats outside in the garden and she gave the biggest bark I've heard in a long time. We all stopped what we were doing in sheer amazement that she made any sort of noise. Hopefully she keeps the bark for special occasions though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

One of my cats died, Captain :(. I was very upset so my bf got me 2 new kittens. It took a while for Pepper to get used to them but now Pepper is acting like a kitten again, running around with the 2 little ones. Very cute.

This morning, Luna and Fluffy were sitting up on the bed. Luna pounced on Fluffy and made her fall off the bed. About 5 minutes later, Fluffy snuck up on Luna and just pushed her off the bed in revenge. They're so funny together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

Was at agility training with my 4 month old pup. Most of it is playing really. 5 minutes tricks training for every 10 minutes play. But today was the first day that she saw the tunnels and thought they were the best fun. I had her toy to chase as a reward but she just kept running into one after the other because according to her that was the best thing ever.

Had me exhausted but it was great to see her enjoying herself so much. I think she's really going to like agility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I had a really well behaved walk with Mo last night. Loose lead all the way with minimal stopping and he only reacted to one car and one jogger.

It really feels like the leash rules are clicking for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

There's a lovely female cat who has made a home for herself in a communal garden area at the back of our road. I feed her along with a few others on the road. I kinda take special care of her though - I made her a insulated shelter for the winter complete with a nice comfy bed. During the summer evenings, I'd sit out in the garden and she'd lay on her side while I scratched her head, which she absolutely loves.

Anyway, I was abroad for the last month so I haven't seen her in a while. I opened the back door today. She sprinted over to me, let out a big meow, put her two paws on my shoe and started kneading.

I think I'll need her permission to go next time :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

You should have posted that on The BAAAAAWWWWWWWWWW Thread, Simon... :o

I bet she would have head-butted you and hugged you, had you knelt down to her...

Well, today a great turning point was reached. The Cat actually chose to headbutt me on my head. He was sitting on a log in the garden, he saw me, he came down from the log, walked towards me, I crouched down, and he rubbed his head against mine in a friendly way. He's never done it before (he's quite affectionate in his own way, but not as much as other cuddly kitties we've had in the past who would jump in our arms, throw their paws around our necks, and cuddle us to death), he's had a tough life and he even has a fractured spine, so rightly enough he finds it hard to trust humans; at most he'd headbutt me on my legs and then proceed to bite my calves while purring, or he'd rub his nose against my hands, but today's 'kiss' was something that really made me smile inside.

I know exactly how you feel. Sammy was unbelievably shy when I adopted him and I had the same sort of OMG moment the first time he gave me a nosekiss. Now I get nosekisses from him (almost) whenever I want them! It's so sweet!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

After nearly 6 weeks, my new dog finally forgot herself for a second and played. Just for a second, and just an attempt at catching a squeaky toy, but it made all the rolling around on the floor (trying to make squeaky toys and balls and boxes seem interesting) worthwhile. I'm almost as proud as if she'd sat up and talked to me. :)

We're back from our 5 weeks trip abroad.
    Collected Tux from the cattery. She was so pleased to see me - turned upside down the 'pawed' the air - this is good right?!?!?!
    Anyway, since shes been home, shes in more than out - and keeps coming back to check in when she does go out! Shes really happy to be picked up and cuddled too. I was worried how she might react to being in the cattery, or to coming home and being 'free', but all is well. I love having a cat!!!

Now I just have to wean her off the deluxe cat food that the wonderful lady at the wonderful cattery fed her on :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

My little one had cruciate repair surgery a couple of weeks ago, and was confined after to allow her to heal. This week, she is allowed 2 x five minute walks per day so I took her out this morning for her "walk". Although it was only 5 minutes, you could see the joy on her face when I took down the harness and lead, and she proudly pranced up the road, delighted to be out and about after being cooped up for so long :) I could have sworn she slowed going past the neighbours just so they'd see her :D

We're back from our 5 weeks trip abroad.
    Collected Tux from the cattery. She was so pleased to see me - turned upside down the 'pawed' the air - this is good right?!?!?!
    Anyway, since shes been home, shes in more than out - and keeps coming back to check in when she does go out! Shes really happy to be picked up and cuddled too. I was worried how she might react to being in the cattery, or to coming home and being 'free', but all is well. I love having a cat!!!

Having a cat gives you something to look forward to instead of just being sad when your holiday's over. Glad to hear it went ok for Tux. t09002.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Dandelion6 wrote: »
    Having a cat gives you something to look forward to instead of just being sad when your holiday's over. Glad to hear it went ok for Tux. t09002.gif

It could go the other way, Aon's cat will give him/her a day of "this is what you missed" before giving the cold shoulder for a week.

Had to get a handyman in here today - turned out to be probably the tallest human the cats have ever seen in their lives. They immediately ran and hid. When he left, I went to go look for them. Couldn't find Sammy anywhere. Turns out he was so scared, he was hiding in the (very tiny amount of) space between the bed and the wall! Poor li'l thing!

ken wrote: »
    It could go the other way, Aon's cat will give him/her a day of "this is what you missed" before giving the cold shoulder for a week.

hah!
    Thankfully, shes still happy to be home - staying in most of the time - and full of purrs and cuddles!
    I reckon after the frightening amount of money I had to pay to have her in the Cattery for 5 weeks, she knows she couldnt give me the 'cold shoulder' :D
    She was a found kitten, I reckon she has cost me an absolute fortune between vets, equipment, cattery etc. since I found her last year!!!

...and I bet she's worth every penny, and that she's already more than repaid you in affection, companionship, and fun. I know, trust me, I know... :)

YES!
    Shes my first cat ever - Im a committed cat lover now (well Tux lover at least!!)

Yesterday I went across the road to take the neighbours dog for a walk. As I was walking down their garden with the dog, I caught sight of one of their hens huddled under a log trying to escape the horrible rain and wind. She had obviously missed the call to be brought into the barn for the night and was inadvertently left out by herself. OK didn't make me smile but I don't know where else to put this! I felt so sorry for her and to see the poor little bird, that so many people would disregard as "just a hen" with a bird brain, actually trying to shelter and she looked so miserable, it was so pathetic :( I was glad I don't eat meat, because really looking at her she could have been a hen or a cat or a dog, just trying to fend for herself and looking pretty miserable :(

Poor little thing... :( I know how you feel, my hens are pets too to me, and I'd be very upset if I saw one like that... My own used to sleep on a branch by choice*, like normal birds would, but I don't suppose that one would have been used to staying out for the night... I hope it was still ok in the morning.

*I've since trained them to sleep in a sort of a shed with a tall perch in it, and now they seem to like it and go up on their own, especially when it's raining. :rolleyes:

Poor little thing... :( I know how you feel, my hens are pets too to me, and I'd be very upset if I saw one like that... My own used to sleep on a branch by choice*, like normal birds would, but I don't suppose that one would have been used to staying out for the night... I hope it was still ok in the morning.

*I've since trained them to sleep in a sort of a shed with a tall perch in it, and now they seem to like it and go up on their own, especially when it's raining. :rolleyes:

I knocked in and told them and shone the torch over to where she was so they'd know where to go. When I went back with the dog there was no sign of her so I presume they put her in. They have about 20 hens, and three of them were mine once upon a time (ex battery rescues) that I had to give up when I moved home with my parents. Great to have them homed across the road, and they really are free range, they often come into out garden during the day. Problem is I don't know which 3 are mine so I say hello to all of them :) They're actually very smart. They follow me up the yard if I take the dog out during the day and they are still out, because they know I'll have vegetable peelings and they also know when the dog is gone they can let loose at her dried food lol. Smart cute little girls :)

Hens are great - they have brilliant personalities, got their very specific likes/dislikes, enjoy human company so much - they make great pets. I love all my hens. The one thing they really hate is being wet, and the wind really chills them.

...and they can be very considerate towards each other (my little rooster makes sure his 'wife' is fed before he starts eating, and he brings her little morsels and calls her over if he finds something tasty :):o) and are absolutely hilarious when they half run/half fly when you call them. YAY for chickens! :)