Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Na, the one I seen had a different end. I took this off my, er, dash cam.....

Very similar!!! Could do with a wash that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Castlebar claremorris officer.

It looked like another one I know, now return to their our ve hic elllll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Anyone know if the classic car show that used to be on in the RDS is ever to return ?

And the same with the Phoenix Park races ? I used to love goin to that when I was younger but it been years since it was held.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Out for a spin there, and seen the local fella had his xmas lights on. Massive set up, thousands of lights all over the house, even across the road. He just had them on for a few minutes, must be testing them. I had the perfect snapchat story video done, but my phone died as it was uploading. Why oh why is life so cruel :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Waaaaaaay too early for xmas lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Anyone that can recommend somewhere in/around Sandyford to get an alignment done? She's not pulling left/right but the steering wheel is slightly off centre in a straight line.

Cheers!

This is brilliant. :D :pac:

12047155_1869655083057542_6601028324250755524_n.jpg?oh=b9327c3006dbf0f38179f835c1265ed9&oe=56D2E763

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote: »
    Waaaaaaay too early for xmas lights.

It's all a charity thing, puts them up in his spare time, must be ahead of himself this year!

Was gonna post that turtle thing too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I wish! The TT would run rings around the car I will be driving :pac:

I've always wanted to go to the rallycross up there. But two days in a row is too much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I love he refers to BBC iPlayer as "that". :pac:

he's looking very haggered in fairness. he must get photoshopped to bits for his book/ dvd covers etc, or maybe i've just never seen his face so up close before. once i get another few seasons out of him, i'l be happy :)

would also like to get a copy of "And On That Bombshell" for Christmas too, but not sure if i support yer man cashing in on the magic that was Old New Top Gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Meh.That ad is cringeworthy.
    I didn;'t like the way Richard Porter came out during the week with a soundbyte about Clarkson, his personal problems, and punching yer man. I know he has a book to sell, but I didn't think it was appropriate.

Much as I love sniffpetrol, I think the likes of Porter have a lot to answer for, the show was a bit of a farce for a finish, with contrived controversy in most episodes. The show is heavily scripted, and If I were Porter, I would have assumed that I'd be coming along with the presenters to whatever new venture was happening.
    The new show might be better with some new writers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I wish! The TT would run rings around the car I will be driving :pac:

what class you running in the 1.6 fiestas / 106/205gti / citroen c2vts etc?
    have a few laps in a 205 and most of the starter cars more sideways fun than you can shake a stick at tbf:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

GvidoR wrote: »
    Anyone see this?

Very lucky that didn't happen ON the ferry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I saw that comment on another thread and they make it out like Ferry's don't have a procedure for dealing with that very eventuality.

Mmm. As if no-one considered the dreaded "ship afire" scenario on a sodding car-ferry. :pac:

I saw that comment on another thread and they make it out like Ferry's don't have a procedure for dealing with that very eventuality.

Oh I'm sure they have, I still wouldn't have thought it would be much fun if one was sat in one's car stuck behind another car on fire in the middle of a river.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Mmm. As if no-one considered the dreaded "ship afire" scenario on a sodding car-ferry. :pac:

I am clearly in the presence of imperturbable cool-as-a-cucumber raise-one-eyebrow at the dashed inconvenience of it sort of chaps :)

ah it would have been more inconvenient on the ferry in terms of holding up Passage West traffic and having to haul the burned wreck off of it but i'd say the added actual danger if it were to occur on the ferry was minimal.

i'm sure the ferry is decently kitted out in the event of fire (extinguishers and a drop of water and a pump :P) and if it's anything like the Passage Easy ferry it's just an open iron deck type affair (as opposed to the car being under deck in a timber hull vessel or something) you're also probably no more than a maximum of ten minutes or so from shore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I am clearly in the presence of imperturbable cool-as-a-cucumber raise-one-eyebrow at the dashed inconvenience of it sort of chaps :)

What? Hardly, they'd have to send a wheel barrow to empty my underpants. My point is with a fire at sea being the one thing that terrifies sailors from time immemorial, a ship full of fuel-carrying vehicles would have the wherewithal to attend to a fire fairly lively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

jimgoose wrote: »
    What? Hardly, they'd have to send a wheel barrow to empty my underpants. My point is with a fire at sea being the one thing that terrifies sailors from time immemorial, a ship full of fuel-carrying vehicles would have the wherewithal to attend to a fire fairly lively.

From memory of the tarbert ferry your never out of sight of a hose/extinguisher. Car might even have survived onboard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Just watching that show with James May building cars live. That mini factory in Oxford is unreal some place :)

Watched the second half of it myself last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

CIP4 wrote: »
    Just watching that show with James May building cars live. That mini factory in Oxford is unreal some place :)

When you see the amount of automation and supply of parts co-ordinated to 1 minute time slots or less, then you realise this idea that VW don't know EXACTLY which cars have dubious stuff in them is farcical.

Or maybe, just maybe they are being assembled ad hoc by a load of lads lashing back steins of beer and having the craic. I mean, it's not guaranteed that a german automtive plant in germany would be better run than a german owned plant in the UK is it?

The price in setting up a plant like that must be astronomical. What evil genius plans out the whole flow and how do they know they did it right and didn't design a section that assembled X first but should have done Y first???

Trial and error. They've been making cars for a long time.

When you see the amount of automation and supply of parts co-ordinated to 1 minute time slots or less, then you realise this idea that VW don't know EXACTLY which cars have dubious stuff in them is farcical.

Or maybe, just maybe they are being assembled ad hoc by a load of lads lashing back steins of beer and having the craic. I mean, it's not guaranteed that a german automtive plant in germany would be better run than a german owned plant in the UK is it?

The price in setting up a plant like that must be astronomical. What evil genius plans out the whole flow and how do they know they did it right and didn't design a section that assembled X first but should have done Y first???

It's unreal. I worked in a large processing plant on placement and will be when I graduate as an operations process engineer. And it's honestly like magic granted the plant I am in doesn't build cars or whatever but just walking in with stuff going on everywhere 1000s of valves and motors all working in harmony control rooms everywhere with 15 screen displays of everything that happening tanks that you would struggle to see the top of there so tall. Networks of underground service tunnels that are like something pulled out of a film.

They are so vast you'll never know it all and there is always something new to learn. I always think I'm so lucky to get to go work in a place like that everyday even after 6 months I was still amazed by the place. So I can imagine that mini factory is quiet something else in reality. I suppose it depends what your into too some people would have no interest in these kinds of places.

I wonder if there's much job rotation in assembly. Most people would go cracked if their only job was fitting 4 bits of trim every 62 seconds.

I liked the bit in Toyota where they built a bolt dispenser for James because he found picking 2 bolts out a bit fiddly.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I wonder if there's much job rotation in assembly. Most people would go cracked if their only job was fitting 4 bits of trim every 62 seconds.

I liked the bit in Toyota where they built a bolt dispenser for James because he found picking 2 bolts out a bit fiddly.

That's the thing would be quite boring but I'm sure if your there a long time you'd get promotions further training to a more specialised job than the production line. Probably is a certain amount of rotation too maybe between 2-3 different jobs doing seats one day dash the next or whatever. I'd imagine a 12 hour shift would drag on a production line though at least your always doing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

Anybody know if Cars and Coffee is on in Limerick on Sunday?