Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

ofcork wrote: »
    Where is the best place to report a car which has been parked in my area over 2 weeks with tax/ins/nct all expired.

Id report them to the Gardaí

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

ofcork wrote: »
    Where is the best place to report a car which has been parked in my area over 2 weeks with tax/ins/nct all expired.

local garda station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

job seeker wrote: »
    Anyone know what's the car cultures like in Paris? College going to some chocolate exhibition.. But I don't think I'll bother going if all I'm going to see is Citroen and Peugeots...

You'd surly go for the craic. Any class trip I went on cars never came into my mind. Went to Spain with my class last summer and it was one of the best holidays I was ever on. But I'd imagine Paris will have some nice stuff but the majority of cars will be no doubt Renault Peugeot and Citroen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

CIP4 wrote: »
    You'd surly go for the craic. Any class trip I went on cars never came into my mind. Went to Spain with my class last summer and it was one of the best holidays I was ever on. But I'd imagine Paris will have some nice stuff but the majority of cars will be no doubt Renault Peugeot and Citroen.

Well, originally I wanted to be a chef, but recently I I've realised it's not something I see myself at down the line.. Stress is just too much. So kinda unsure what I want to do now. But that a thread for a different forum. :o So I'm not really bothered about seen chocolate... :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Just got petrol at 125.9/L. Dem feels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Does ded zebra still have the primera?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm some twat.

Was in the car around Cardiff Lane in Dublin around 4.50pm. Sat nav told me i'd be back in Dundalk by 6.01pm if I took the port tunnel. It also told me it would take an additional 42 minutes if I went out the Drumcondra direction; I thought to myself "that can't be right".

Thought i'd save myself a few quid by not taking the tunnel, so went out that way. 7pm I got home! ****ing Drumcondra, 50 minutes to go 2.8km. I reckon the heat of the engine also started causing a front left bulb warning to keep popping up every 30 seconds, I nearly went mental! :mad:

Well, originally I wanted to be a chef, but recently I I've realised it's not something I see myself at down the line.. Stress is just too much. So kinda unsure what I want to do now. But that a thread for a different forum. :o So I'm not really bothered about seen chocolate... :\

If it's a plant tour of a chocolate factory then it would be interesting enough. But then I like my plants I love seeing large equipment working away in front of you pumps, motors, heat exchangers, spray dryers, reactor vessels I love them all. You should go do engineering ideally process and chemical I'm not being biased at all :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Anyone know what's the car cultures like in Paris? College going to some chocolate exhibition.. But I don't think I'll bother going if all I'm going to see is Citroen and Peugeots...

There's a lot of dented crap in Paris they can't drive well that and they don't care.

But you also see some amazing cars I sure did even on theain shopping street in Paris (it's a really obvious street but for the life if me can't remember the name of it) there is some really swanky showrooms full of amazing cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

The Seans Alice A :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

There's a lot of dented crap in Paris they can't drive well that and they don't care.

But you also see some amazing cars I sure did even on theain shopping street in Paris (it's a really obvious street but for the life if me can't remember the name of it) there is some really swanky showrooms full of amazing cars.

Champs Elysee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Does ded zebra still have the primera?

Nope he replaced it with the most characterful 166 in the world

Anyone know how one would fix blown bulbs on a cigarette lighter you know the way they normally light up the circle around the inlet. Does it just pull out of the dash and can you actually change the bulb or do you have to change the whole unit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

YbFocus wrote: »
    The Seans Alice A :pac:

Ah, mercy bucket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Some ****er ran into the back of my car and drove off. Broke the left lens.

NCT retest tomorrow at 4:45. ****'s sake.

Time to get CLEVER

CIP4 wrote:
    Anyone know how one would fix blown bulbs on a cigarette lighter you know the way they normally light up the circle around the inlet. Does it just pull out of the dash and can you actually change the bulb or do you have to change the whole unit.

Pull out, bulb change, job done.

Nope he replaced it with the most characterful 166 in the world

Is it still on the road do you know, nearly sure I seen it today, if it wasn't it was damn close to it!

Pull out, bulb change, job done.

I was just reading there that you can't replace the bulb and have to buy a new cigarette lighter socket from renault now I'm not sure what model Megane that was on sure I'll pull it out tomorrow and see. It's a very white light given when working so I doubt it's a normal bulb but may it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

CIP4 wrote: »
    I was just reading there that you can't replace the bulb and have to buy a new cigarette lighter socket from renault now I'm not sure what model Megane that was on sure I'll pull it out tomorrow and see. It's a very white light given when working so I doubt it's a normal bulb but may it is.

Usually a very cheap all in one unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

My local tyre place thinks I'm mad. I got a 4 wheel laser alignment don't to take the slightest drag left out of the car. Funnily enough it's made a great improvement to the handling. My new Michelins are gripping great. They'll wear like hell I'd imagine but the handling is better than ever.

I've been thinking more about changing today. I got asked what I'd change fir and my head went blank so it's possible/probable I won't do it. Only ideas I got were an old 330ci or a Clio mk2 (bangernomics)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Is it still on the road do you know, nearly sure I seen it today, if it wasn't it was damn close to it!

I was supposed to buy it back again but then the guy told me he scrapped it. Perhaps it did live on though I would love that!!!!!

99-G-5076 was the reg of mine. If you see it again (or the one you saw if it turns out to be a different one) snap a pic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Get an RX8.....

You can get 'em for a song that're solid. They go like stink. Handle like a monster. And smell like a refinery.

ba_barabus wrote:
    My local tyre place thinks I'm mad. I got a 4 wheel laser alignment don't to take the slightest drag left out of the car. Funnily enough it's made a great improvement to the handling. My new Michelins are gripping great. They'll wear like hell I'd imagine but the handling is better than ever.

I must have some queer rally type kind of foot, because I had a set of michelin energy savers fitted 8k miles ago, the front are not looking too healthy at all. At a guess theres about 3mm left above the limit bar.....

I remember sitting in them new in 2004 at a local dealership. They were class. My driving has gone boring however, it's either motorway or the odd city spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Here ye go, only posting it because my car plays a big part :)

I must have some queer rally type kind of foot, because I had a set of michelin energy savers fitted 8k miles ago, the front are not looking too healthy at all. At a guess theres about 3mm left above the limit bar.....

The 159 eats the inner edge. Best tyre for grip and longevity so far were Avon but after a blow out last week it was either Triangle, some other ****e made by Bridgestone apparently or Michelin

My Pirelli p7 front tyres are wearing a bit quick too there is 5mm left on them. There not a great tyre either wet grip is just not there at all. Obviously still better than most of the crap you get but wouldn't be Goodyear/ Bridgestone standard.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I was supposed to buy it back again but then the guy told me he scrapped it. Perhaps it did live on though I would love that!!!!!

99-G-5076 was the reg of mine. If you see it again (or the one you saw if it turns out to be a different one) snap a pic!!

Na, the one I seen had a different end. I took this off my, er, dash cam.....

What road was that?

ba_barabus wrote:
    What road was that?

Castlebar claremorris officer.