Urban myths people always pass off as 'true'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Taxuser1 wrote: »
    i've read this 10 times and am still lost

what are you trying to say

He told it a bit over complicatedly ( and I think that story is true).

A guy on a train is eating his biscuits or crisps (let's say biscuit) when the guy opposite him, calm as you like, starts taking his food. First guy is incensed but is English so he stares the thief down, says nothing, and grabs another biscuit. Second guy does same. This continues until the second guy leaves after all the biscuits are eaten.

First guy then finds his biscuits in his pockets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

That python measuring story. Heard it from two disparate people who swore blind it was true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

That Phil Collins was in the Gorilla suit in the Cadbury's ad.

That the red line Luas has a different gauge to the green line.

The one about a girl pulling in for petrol at night, goes inside to pay, and a guy hides in the back seat and attacks her later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

thelad95 wrote: »
    There's another one about the student in (insert third level institution) who contracted scurvy because he only ate dried noodles so he could spend all his money on beer.

A guy in my class in college was hospitalized for malnutrition basically from eating crap to save money for beer all the time.

I worked in Germany for a summer and one of the girls (another Irish student) passed out at work one day. Turned out she was dangerously low on calcium from doing the same thing.

I knew lads who lived on white rice or bread and butter who would pound back the vodka every night of the week. None of these ended up in hospital or anything, but it could have easily happened.

The scurvy part could easily be urban legend, but the rest of it probably happens all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Dr.Internet

My cousins friend was in a restaurant. There was 2 men sitting at the table next to her. She asked one man to take a picture of her. It was BONO. She found out the next day that the man he was dining with was BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN.

micheal jackson was the waiter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If everybody that missed the Titanic actually got on it, it would have sunk in Cork Harbour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

The kid that goes missing in some shopping centre in Poland and they close all the exits. Then they search all shops and find an Irish couple with the child in new clothes and cutting its hair. Or was it a Polish couple in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

byronbay2 wrote: »
    The one about the lad pulling the gorgeous "girl" in Thailand. All went well until he dropped the hand etc.

Dropped his hand? So his hand fell off because he was a leper? Feck, I'd say any woman would stay well clear of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

murpho999 wrote: »

The one about a girl pulling in for petrol at night, goes inside to pay, and a guy hides in the back seat and attacks her later.

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

My cousins friend was in a restaurant. There was 2 men sitting at the table next to her. She asked one man to take a picture of her. It was BONO. She found out the next day that the man he was dining with was BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN.

micheal jackson was the waiter

I have a vague memory of a girl telling that story in the red chair on Graham Norton show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Ah no - the one where a couple are in their car, parked in the woods, snogging. Fella gets out for a pee, doesn't return.

Girlfriend hears a sinister knocking noise, alarmed...it is the Evil Monster banging on the roof of the car with the head of the boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Polish eating swans.

Well I found one court case from the UK. A Turkish man, not an Eastern European.

http://www.express.co.uk/news/nature/479798/Swan-Killed-Eating-Charged-Queen-Man

But I'm sure it's an exaggerated myth overall.

A guy on a train is eating his biscuits or crisps (let's say biscuit) when the guy opposite him, calm as you like, starts taking his food. First guy is incensed but is English so he stares the thief down, says nothing, and grabs another biscuit. Second guy does same. This continues until the second guy leaves after all the biscuits are eaten.

Jeffery Archer Short Story but with cigarettes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

tupenny wrote: »
    Bono and Springsteen

There was a fella on here who swore that was his girlfriend. Do a search and you'll find it. She even still has the photographs (which unfortunately he could not post)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

One of the priests back home used to be always telling sermons about these amazing religious coincidences which supposedly definitely occurred, he'd keep stressing the truth of them throughout the sermon. Every time I googled one I found a bunch of links to extremely similar stories but without the religious and/or local spin.

I kind of suspect he was just using a book of urban myths so he'd have enough material to fill up the ten or whatever minutes each Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

osarusan wrote: »
    Radio show where person must reveal details of the sex they had with a partner (who has already spoken about it) - if the specific details match they win a prize.

When pushed for specifics, the first partner to speak specified that the sex was in the kitchen/shower/on washing machine, etc, but when the radio host say the second partner must be more specific to ensure their stories match and they are in fact telling the truth, the second partner (usually a woman) admits that it was actually anal sex.

Not actually a radio show, but in essence this one's true!

http://www.snopes.com/radiotv/tv/newlywed.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Augeo wrote: »
    There's one about a girl who goes home with a chap she met in the nightclub, following morning he heads off to work tells her to let herself out etc. She thinks he's great, goes for a dump, floater, won't flush. She gets a plastic bag from kitchen caputures it and leaves it on table while she heads outside to see where wheely bin is, door closes and ooooops turd left on plastic bag on kitchen table.

Heard that a few times, first time though a lad living near me (bit of a talk before think type) told us that in the local, except it was factual and his daughter was the lady involved, she was absolutely scarlet about it so ....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=KgB8uuWfX5M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

The one about the bride to be who goes to a tanning salon to get a tan. She ends up going to five different salons a day for a week before her wedding. The day of the wedding she's walking up the aisle when suddenly she lets out a demented scream. Her bowels empty and she drops dead because all the tanning had turned her internal organs to mush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

The one about Audrey Hepburn and Nicholas Cage telling the same stories.

I would be very surprised to hear that story about a pole since they are all hard workers and sound

Not sure if serious...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

murpho999 wrote: »
    That Phil Collins was in the Gorilla suit in the Cadbury's ad.

That the red line Luas has a different gauge to the green line.

Surely the latter has happened somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Not sure if this is an Urban Myth or not but nearly everyone i know claims to have an aunt or mother or sister that dated Phil Lynott :)

Phil Lynott and his band played the Moulin Rouge in Dame Street back then. He had his pick of Dublin's beauties. Oh, he was a fine thing!

The one about the girl who drank a glass of milk and it had some black specks floating on it. Months later she's terribly ill; they open her up and a cloud of flies buzz out of her stomach, having hatched out in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Bob Holness (of Blockbuster fame) played sax in Gerry Rafferty's 'Baker Street'

.......a myth started to show how myths can spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

If not, you could make it happen!

But safety first. Careful with that axe, Eugene!!

It happened to my friend. After pulling out of the petrol station a van started flashing it's lights behind her. It was 2 am and she freaked. She was heading home and the van kept following her and flashing the lights. Her house is down a country lane with no others and the van kept following her. She beeped her horn to alert her parents, parked the car and jumped out. The van was still following her. It turned out the van driver had seen the axe murderer jump in the back at the petrol station and was flashing his lights and following her to warn her he was in the back!!

Gandhi wrote: »
    A guy in my class in college was hospitalized for malnutrition basically from eating crap to save money for beer all the time.

I worked in Germany for a summer and one of the girls (another Irish student) passed out at work one day. Turned out she was dangerously low on calcium from doing the same thing.

I knew lads who lived on white rice or bread and butter who would pound back the vodka every night of the week. None of these ended up in hospital or anything, but it could have easily happened.

The scurvy part could easily be urban legend, but the rest of it probably happens all the time.

Yeah, I became severely anaemic in my first term of college (to the point of almost requiring a transfusion) from not eating properly.

I don't get this.

Willfarman wrote: »
    I have a vague memory of a girl telling that story in the red chair on Graham Norton show.

Someone in the red chair told the "Hit the floor" story. Nobody pointed out that it was an urban myth, they all seemed taken in by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭mightyreds

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Polish eating swans.

How do the swans know the difference?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

That it's weird to occasionally have bright green lumpy ejaculate and that this could indicate a health issue.