Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post a picture of your car here Part 4 (quote a picture, get a 24h ban!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Holy tap-dancing Christ, I came on to stick up a picture, and it appears as though bitching and sniping has yet again infested the Motors forum.
    I originally joined Boards way back in 2003, but closed my account in 07 as I couldn't stick the amount of petty squabbling and crap that was thrown about the Motors forum. I signed up again a few years ago to get help on a few things, and the decline has unfortunately begun again....seriously questioning visiting again lads... Well done.. not that many care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I don't know what's worse the whinging or the repeated winding up with more comments and pics.

Cop on the fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Honestly lads, I thought this forum was fine, these last few pages have proven otherwise, seriously disappointed with the craic going on, serious amount of butthurt :(

Yeah I think we all thought it was fine until people started their own private gatherings without inviting others but there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Lol! Edited. Pity it'll live on in the quote in your post:pac:

How are you finding the E60 so far? I bet it's a lot more modern feeling than the old E39! I'm not huge on the looks of the E60 but there is no denying how much more modern it looks. Is the drive equally more modern?

Tbh I was a bit 'meh' initially. Didn't have the same level of excitement I usually get when picking up something new. I've had near ten Bimmers at this stage but was never blown away by the E60.

That said the more I drive it the more I like it. Only have it a few days but it's really growing on me. Completely different car than the E38 / E39 and admittedly doesn't have the same thoroughbred feeling to it but in other ways it's a far better drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Yeah I think we all thought it was fine until people started their own private gatherings without inviting others but there you go.

Why should that even matter? We're in completely different parts of the country. Yes on person came from Galway, I asked as I wanted to discuss his potential new purchase along with a good chat as I didn't get to talk enough at the last meet. People are getting far too bad at this. Terrible way to be IMO.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Tbh I was a bit 'meh' initially. Didn't have the same level of excitement I usually get when picking up something new. I've had near ten Bimmers at this stage but was never blown away by the E60.

That said the more I drive it the more I like it. Only have it a few days but it's really growing on me. Completely different car than the E38 / E39 and admittedly doesn't have the same thoroughbred feeling to it but in other ways it's a far better drive.

That's interesting alright. I hope it continues to grow on you.

I'm interested in the difference between the 39 and the 60. The guy I share my apartment just bought an E39 520i. Admittedly the one he got is a really really good example. Just about as good as you can get for any 12 year old car but my god did he pay for it! I tried hard to convince him to get an E60 instead. Budget wouldn't have been a problem for him but he had his heart set on a E39. I drove it on the test drive and it was really tight and a comfortable car but felt distinctly old fashioned in its handling. He is totally blown away by it but he is coming from a E46 320D so a lawnmower would have felt smooth and refined in comparison :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I dunno about that. The E46 is a nimble machine and the 20d has plenty torque. That said, if the '46 was an SE and the '39 is a Sport there'd be a noticeable difference in handling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Lads this whole offence-taking has been one big misunderstanding. No one was purposely excluded but the reaction is only proof that some folks shouldn't be invited to these things in the future and it is also this kind of childish nonsense that has brought the forum to its knees.

The absolute scutter that has gone on in the last few pages is actually sickening. To think that people can't do what they want and then post a picture of it without getting a reaction worthy of beheading someone's sainted mother is appalling.

If it was set up to exclude people, do you think anyone would then go and post it on here in order to cause trouble? I certainly don't think so. Would I give a flying rat's bollix if any of ye organised a meet outside of boards and didn't invite me? Like fvck I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

Amen to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

10501874_810801339002600_78084936647671487_n.jpg?oh=acaca76deadcc52d3c7f290211e8c625&oe=568C0B99

Heard about this really cool secret car meet in munster, was rushing down to it and had a wee issue. *may not be completely true*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Amen to that

I know what you're at but I would appreciate it if you didn't :)

Heard about this really cool secret car meet in munster.

And I was the star of the show. Even brought the family along.

Both_cars_01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

That's a few pages of muck read through....

Can a mod post a few words to put this to bed?

+1.

Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

There's a report button... But they were obviously enjoying it as much as the rest of us:pac:

Heres a pic of my yoke in distress. Insurance expired 59 mins ago and won't be insured by me again. She'll be on DD in a few weeks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Looks like you enjoyed your last few hours in it anyway!!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

I don't want to drag this on much more than it should be but I do feel the need to address the clique comments and the midway/Leinster Vs Munster meets.

The last midway meet that I attended where a load of the guys were too obsessed with with the shmoke out of some passing car and the amount of dirt in a lads boot to even say hello when I arrived. Made no effort to say hello/ introduce themselves and no interest in looking at my car or talking to me, despite me taking the time to ask them about theirs... Cliquey is right..

Tbh that turned me off going to midway again and I feel a lot more comfortable meeting a few lads I know and I know I can easily have a conversation with.

Looks like you enjoyed your last few hours in it anyway!!!!

That was back in august :) Stuck in a car park/field.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I dunno about that. The E46 is a nimble machine and the 20d has plenty torque. That said, if the '46 was an SE and the '39 is a Sport there'd be a noticeable difference in handling.

The E46 was an SE. To be honest it was a bucket. Steering was really heavy but still vague. I'm not really an expert on suspension but to meet the springs were over stiff while being under-dmaped. Then engine was probably good for it's time but way worse power delivery than its modern equivalent which I would be more used to. The one redeeming feature it had was excellent brake feel. The E39 is a sport. Personally I wouldn't be blown away by it's handling but at least the steering is a bit nicer (lighter though IMO still lacking feel.). Most importantly the 6 cylinder engine and an auto 'box is so far superior to a 4 banger diesel. Interior is way nicer too as it's cream leather not black. (I personally can't stand black interiors!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Dream machine meets Superdream (and Sunny)

22259968901_a842612511_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

I know what you're at but I would appreciate it if you didn't :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,668 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Autosport wrote: »
    I like the ass in pic 2 ;)

The HOLE 57 years of it ? :pac:
    Autosport wrote: »

So many cars parked badly :D

If we parked straight we would have been sent home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Yikes,I was thinking of attending meets of late but seems like I'm best not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Also GvidoR i took these especially for you :)

So SCENE

Thanks Supergurrier, I love it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭rizzee

23llcb9.jpg

Pressed metal plates will be here tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,748 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The last few pages of this thread, have really made me feel bad about not knowing about the Cork meet. I feel bad because it was probably the first meet in a long time where the morons on this forum didn't get to go to. After seeing some pictures, and videos of recent Boards meets where lads are desperately trying to out-shítbox each other, with their smokey piles of rot, this Cork meet, (which was organized on another website btw) looked to be a collection of genuine car enthusiasts for a change. The haters on here need to untwist their knickers because it's this exact kind of bullshít that would make most other users want to organize "secret" meets, so that they don't have to listen to such bullshít. Grow the fúck up. A group of people met up, one of the connections between these people was Boards, but I'm sure they were all facebook, and Irishmotoring users too.

A certain portion of this forum really need to step back and have a real long look at themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

I wish I had soooo big problems. :]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭F34

Quazzie wrote: »
    The last few pages of this thread, have really made me feel bad about not knowing about the Cork meet. I feel bad because it was probably the first meet in a long time where the morons on this forum didn't get to go to. After seeing some pictures, and videos of recent Boards meets where lads are desperately trying to out-shítbox each other, with their smokey piles of rot, this Cork meet, (which was organized on another website btw) looked to be a collection of genuine car enthusiasts for a change. The haters on here need to untwist their knickers because it's this exact kind of bullshít that would make most other users want to organize "secret" meets, so that they don't have to listen to such bullshít. Grow the fúck up. A group of people met up, one of the connections between these people was Boards, but I'm sure they were all facebook, and Irishmotoring users too.

A certain portion of this forum really need to step back and have a real long look at themselves

Spot on there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

It's amazing what a situation like this does to people. Not surprising though.

Entitlement/sh*t stirring/background bog trots not seen in ages that suddenly become active to spew condacending tripe/goody 2 shoes and the rest

If people want to meet up, grand. I love seeing pics of friends meeting up that genuinely all have a common interest and sharing it with us all. Isn't that what this is about? Isn't it their business whom they want to invite/tell what is happening? Doesn't that show that there is a thriving community of enthusiastic posters dotted around the country? Doesn't matter if it's a meet on a Pacific island with all boards members, thats what I came in here to see.

Instead, I see millitant muppets belittling other members just out of nastiness. Who more than likely have their own clique and are talking about everyone anyway. How 2 faced eh.... Very disappointing. Not very surprising

If thats the general tone and conditions of some posters who want to attend meets then count me out. I certainy don't want to be seen with bickering little boys mouthing off people they have never even met or even care to meet

Keep the pictures coming in. Thats what were all here to see. There was some nice motors at that Cork meet :)

The opinion of an observer