If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Rory37

Hi all......

So after reading this thread literally everyday since last May, I thought it about time I joined in! For years I have stood at the side of the road in Milltown clapping and encouraging all the runners in the DCM and wondered how on earth anyone could run 26 miles? However deep down inside I always wished it was me doing the running and other people shouting "Do you want a Kimberley"!

So after 4 years of running and 'secretly' signing up for the DCM last April, here I am already or at least nearly already to give it a go for myself. As requested back last May I had best answer the below questions.....

1. What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level? Absolutely no athletics background at all up until my brother convinced me to do a 10km roughly 4 years ago.
    2. Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!). Have done a number of 10k's and two half marathons to date. Best 10km 44min (Park West night run) and best half marathon 1.47 (Clontarf)
    3.Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do) No
    4.How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level. Have pretty much stuck to the Boards Novices Plan
    5.How many days a week do you run only? 4ish
    6.What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time? Target # 1 is just to complete and enjoy my first and possibly only marathon. Target # 2 sub 4.30
    7.What marathon programme are you following/intending to use? Boards DCM Novices Plan

Up to recently everything has pretty much gone to plan although I have struggled on and off with my left ankle all caused by incorrect runners back in 2014! Although I have pretty much stuck with the Boards plan, only missing two midweek runs due to work unfortunately the ankle decided to really act up this week. So wisely (or not) I have taken a break from running for the last two days and will head back out Saturday and see how I go. Prior to this I completed my long 20 mile run 6mins over target at 3Hr18m. And although the ankle may cause me some concern on the day I really hope or at least think I will be able to run through it and then let it take a well earned break.

But most importantly the real reason I decided to post here today was to thank Dubgal for all her hard work with this thread. I for one really appreciate the commitment you have made to the DCM 2015 Mentored Novices Thread. And I know there must by lots more like me who for whatever reason never joined in the conversation but still took away all the knowledge. Also thanks to everyone else who provided great hints and tips for both training and the big day ahead. While running on Milltown road last Saturday morning I think I might have bumped into some of you coming the opposite direction. I was the one who shouted "only two weeks to go"

So its another person for the 4.30 group. I'll be the one in the yellow shirt with RORY on the front and possible shouting abuse at my left ankle!

Best of luck to you all on the day. Now bring it on..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

JacEim wrote: »
    Starting to think of travel on the day of the race. I'll be driving up from Laois to Dublin on the morning of the race and need to consider driving into city centre or getting the Luas. I logged onto the Luas site / dowloaded the APP and have to say it is absolutely USELESS for what I want to do.
    You would think that you could enter your starting destination, starting time, & end destination whereby it would come up with the list of options (even approximate options). Perhaps you can, but I haven't been able to find it!!
    Anyway. I believe the Redline starts at 7am in Saggart / Tallaght so will be at Red Cow approx 10 minutes later. I then think it is approx 30 mins into town and get off at Abbey street for a 20 minute walk across to Fitzwilliam Square.

Do I need to be in Fitzwilliam Sq for around 8.30 in order to drop bag etc (or earlier?) I don't want to be hanging around too long (especially if it is cold)

Was thinking:
    Leave Laois: 6:15 (with breakfast in car)
    Arrive Citiwest 6.50 (Vroom Vroom!!)
    Get train: 7.10 (Hopefully loads of people around!!)
    Arrive Abbey St 7.40 (even more people around)
    Arrive Fitz Sq: 8.00 (Jammers with people!!)
    Bag dropped: 8.30 (Final checks, toilets etc etc all complete)
    Start 9.00 (Oh Sh1t)

The trams are every 10-12 minutes so even if I miss one I should be fine. Am I giving myself enough time from Abbey street over and all the prep etc?
    Anyone do this last year ?

Hi JacEim,
    I used the Red Line Luas last year and was on the first tram at Kingswood around 7:10 (leaves terminus at 7:00), arrived into Abbey street in plenty of time. Citywest, Red Cow or Kingswood (shop car park) would be fine for parking. Going for the same plan this year too.

Lots of options.......

P.S. Get a lend of a car with an automatic gearbox for the trip home.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Rory37 wrote: »
    Hi all......
    So its another person for the 4.30 group. I'll be the one in the yellow shirt with RORY on the front and possible shouting abuse at my left ankle!

Awesome Rory- you will make a handy RV point in your yellow top..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    +1 to runnerholic
    Don't force it Peter, your body - and mind - sound like they're telling you something....early night and go again tomorrow. It's amazing the difference a day makes :)

Still feeling a bit crap, stuffed up, tired, no energy. I didn't run today, but I will tomorrow. My wife says I m suffering from an illness called the taper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

ratracer wrote: »
    So here it is then.....wait for it......wait for it.......I'm joining the 4hrs30 group:D:D

This is a little bit slower than I had originally planned, but I'm gonna 'enjoy' the day as much as possible. If after the second 10 mile warm-up I feel fresh enough,I may decide to push on a bit, if not so be it!!

Seems to be a good lot on here in this group, I say we over-power the pacer before the start and draw the boards logo on his flag:P
    Yahay, you'll be in good company! Best of luck to you RR and see you on the other side :)
    Rory37 wrote: »
    Hi all......

So after reading this thread literally everyday since last May, I thought it about time I joined in! For years I have stood at the side of the road in Milltown clapping and encouraging all the runners in the DCM and wondered how on earth anyone could run 26 miles? However deep down inside I always wished it was me doing the running and other people shouting "Do you want a Kimberley"!

So after 4 years of running and 'secretly' signing up for the DCM last April, here I am already or at least nearly already to give it a go for myself. As requested back last May I had best answer the below questions.....

1. What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level? Absolutely no athletics background at all up until my brother convinced me to do a 10km roughly 4 years ago.
    2. Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!). Have done a number of 10k's and two half marathons to date. Best 10km 44min (Park West night run) and best half marathon 1.47 (Clontarf)
    3.Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do) No
    4.How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level. Have pretty much stuck to the Boards Novices Plan
    5.How many days a week do you run only? 4ish
    6.What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time? Target # 1 is just to complete and enjoy my first and possibly only marathon. Target # 2 sub 4.30
    7.What marathon programme are you following/intending to use? Boards DCM Novices Plan

Up to recently everything has pretty much gone to plan although I have struggled on and off with my left ankle all caused by incorrect runners back in 2014! Although I have pretty much stuck with the Boards plan, only missing two midweek runs due to work unfortunately the ankle decided to really act up this week. So wisely (or not) I have taken a break from running for the last two days and will head back out Saturday and see how I go. Prior to this I completed my long 20 mile run 6mins over target at 3Hr18m. And although the ankle may cause me some concern on the day I really hope or at least think I will be able to run through it and then let it take a well earned break.

But most importantly the real reason I decided to post here today was to thank Dubgal for all her hard work with this thread. I for one really appreciate the commitment you have made to the DCM 2015 Mentored Novices Thread. And I know there must by lots more like me who for whatever reason never joined in the conversation but still took away all the knowledge. Also thanks to everyone else who provided great hints and tips for both training and the big day ahead. While running on Milltown road last Saturday morning I think I might have bumped into some of you coming the opposite direction. I was the one who shouted "only two weeks to go"

Hi Rory, welcome and better late than never! Thanks for the kind words and that's on behalf of the Team (the A Team actually ;) ) cos I'm only the shop front, they're the goods :) Good call on the pacing group, I think we're going to have to bring in reinforcements!
    Peter D61 wrote: »
    Still feeling a bit crap, stuffed up, tired, no energy. I didn't run today, but I will tomorrow. My wife says I m suffering from an illness called the taper.
    Hi Peter, sorry to hear that. You could well have phantom ailments but all the same, listen to that body and no harm to keep an eye on your temperature too. Clearlier's advice is spot on for situations like this: go out for 10 minutes and if you feel ok, carry on. If you feel crap, turn back.
    You won't do yourself any damage this way and at the same time, if you have a few days off you won't lose any fitness either. Keep popping in to let us know, won't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

smashiner wrote: »
    Hi JacEim,
    I used the Red Line Luas last year and was on the first tram at Kingswood around 7:10 (leaves terminus at 7:00), arrived into Abbey street in plenty of time. Citywest, Red Cow or Kingswood (shop car park) would be fine for parking. Going for the same plan this year too.

Lots of options.......

P.S. Get a lend of a car with an automatic gearbox for the trip home.......:D

LOL - the last car I got was automatic...little did I think it would come in handy for this!!!

3:00 TRR, ABHAINN, FRANKQ
    3:10 WOUNDED KNEE, DUBLIN RUNNER, GERCOPE
    3;20 BEEPBEEP, NOGUTSNOGLORY, CHRISGRAYSON
    3:30 KILLERZ, GRIZZILYNORRIS, GRELLAN
    3:40 GIGIMA, 40WHIT, ROLANDO
    3:50 ANKERS, OLLIE K, BELLCARRA
    4:00 MARTASTEW, MRSTEW, MENO
    4:10 GARMAN, PETERMC, MATHSO
    4:20 BREFINI BLUE, KANDIKANE, NHUNTER
    4:30 UM1, OISIN1112, MURPHD**
    4:40 JB-SKI, ALISONDOWNUNDER, ABOON
    4:50 AIMANN, GALLOPIN HOGAN, CHARLIE933
    5:00 JONNY99, RAYCASS

**Extra reinforcements due to flurry of posts in recent days :pac:

Y'know I said about not getting excited and using up all your energy? Well I've had my own version due to sitting on this :D

Remember way back then when Eliud very kindly popped in to wish you all luck?
    I've been sitting on this all weekend, kinda hugging myself with excitement. Many thanks to Eliud Kibet Too - winner of DCM 2014 - and James Walters for putting this together! Some wise words and chimes in quite nicely with the Focus For the Week, 'listen to your body' ;)

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=487704671379204&set=vb.479074745575530&type=2&theater

Well he's back :) Some of you may have seen his dust him in the recent Athlone 3/4 marathon where he set a course record of 1:40:13 yes, you read that right, one hour, forty minutes and 13 seconds. Read more about that here.

Eliud ran 2:13:35 in his debut marathon in Cleveland, 2014 and followed this up in October by winning the Dublin marathon in 2:14:47. His PBs are as follows:

Half Marathon 1:02:35 Indianapolis, IN 03 MAY 2014
    Marathon 2:13:35 Cleveland, OH 18 MAY 2014

His next venture will be to retain his Dublin marathon title from last year. And in the meantime, Eliud has very kindly agreed to a Q&A session with the Novices of 2015.

So, to make it easy to organise, have a think about your question(s) overnight. They can be about any aspect of Eliud's career and training. Post up your question along with a little bit of info about yourself (username, age, brief running background).

Title your post with 'Q&A with Eliud' and off you go. (This will make it easier for me to search the thread and copy and paste all the questions into one post.) You can PM me your question(s) too.
    The question window will close on Sunday night and on Monday, Eliud and James will come on to answer your questions.

You may find this useful for questions. And don't forget to pop in here to follow and keep up to date with Eliud's running.

Many many thanks to Eliud, Neil and James for this :) They have also confirmed their acceptance to the invitation of drinkies at McGrattan's afterwards ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

^^^^^wow, just wow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Great work Dubgal!

Sorted out a few bits this evening, marathon haircut (needed to reduce drag), t-shirt printed (oversized name on a spare club top) and pre race gear from Penneys (Decent hoodie on sale for 7 euro, terrible tracksuit bottom for a fiver....sure where would you be going).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Phoole

Did a nice 3 miler last night in 21 mins, without really pushing it. Man, my legs feel really strong. Anyone feel like they have bionic legs? I hope I'm saying that in a week's time!! :eek: 8 miles on Sunday then a few short ones next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Phoole wrote: »
    Did a nice 3 miler last night in 21 mins, without really pushing it. Man, my legs feel really strong. Anyone feel like they have bionic legs? I hope I'm saying that in a week's time!! :eek: 8 miles on Sunday then a few short ones next week.

Good to hear phoole but take it easy, you're supposed to be recovering during the taper and 7 minute mile aren't recovering. That's the pace you'll see most 2:30-2:40 marathon runners run at for an easy run.

A fast run might feel easy on certain days but you have to consider what effect that will have on your body down the road. Mistake numero uno of the novice runner is running too hard when there is absolutely no need to, it causes far more problems than good and the taper is most definitely not the time to be doing it, take it easy.

Not trying to take anything away from your running but I'm just looking out for the future and the marathon day where you want to be as fresh and sharp as possible.

Wow Phoole, you may get thyself to a parkrun in a few weeks to test those bionic legs for time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

OK! I'll kick this off, feeling suitably star-struck! :)

Hey Eliud - first of all, well done on your superb results in Ireland (and abroad)! If I ever manage to run a half marathon in the time you manage to cover 3/4, I'll be a happy runner :)

My question is about the mental part of the run/race. We've discussed bad running days on this thread before. Some of us posted our mind-games to talk ourselves through a rough stretch. But we're total amateurs. How does a professional athlete like you deal with bad patches during races? What's the most valuable advice you've ever received in this regard?

Many thanks for taking the time for us Novices. Good luck defending your title next Monday, and save us a seat in McGrattan's - no doubt there'll be plenty empty seats when you arrive, as (almost) everybody else is barely through halfway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Last LSR report :( (though I'm not even sure 13 miles counts as LSR distance these days :) )

Woke up stupidly early and couldn't get back to sleep, so decided to get this over and done with at 6.30 this morning. Not sure whether it was marathon nerves or being off the booze that caused me to wake up so bloody early :) Only my second ever early morning run, I just had an Innocent smoothie and a glass of water before heading out. I haven't needed to bring water along for runs of this distance in a while now, I did bring along a bag of jellies just in case, though I didn't eat them. It was pretty windy on the coast on the way out so effort felt a bit harder than the pace, though that could have been just waking up / running on empty.

Headed out to the well worn path to Malahide and to the end of Portmarnock and back again. Hurried up for the last few miles. Got a little emotional near the end as another milestone for finishing up training was passed...

Splits:
    9'22, 9'15, 9'13, 9'07, 8'49, 8'33, 8'34, 8'31, 8'07, 7'36, 8'05, 7'38, 7'50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Woo hoo!!!

I've just completed the last lsr of the HHN1 plan. That's if you can call 8 miles an lsr!

Didn't enjoy it at all. Just wasn't feeling the love. It was definitely one of those "just put one foot in front of the other & repeat" type runs. I prob had too many layers on (it was chilly when I started, but heated up quickly after sunrise).

Anyway, the real taper has begun. My plan has only 3 more runs left till the big day. That's only 9 miles between me & the start of DCM 2015.

Jaysus!

I'll probably be joining the 4:30 group too (possibly 4:20), so you'll have to squeeze in a bit & make room for two more (I'm running with my mate).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Edit: adding info.

Hi, I'm Singer, 36, running for about 18 months.

1. What next after Dublin? Are you planning on competing in any of the big 6 marathon majors / Olympics / World championships?

2. I saw the video about your home that you recorded for Second Captains. It was very inspiring, and it looks like you put the winnings from last year to good use! What will you do with your winnings from this year's Dublin marathon? :)

3. Do you intend on going into coaching after you finish running competitively or will you retire to your farm? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Last LSR done and dusted. Very steady, though a bit fast (last mile crept up to PMP!) but feeling very fresh and comfortable. Delighted to have gotten through it all, just the small runs next week before the big 26 (.2).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

A great week in the tank. Running is back to normal now with no more niggles.
    This morning was a break away from the running with an indoor sprint triathlon.
    The swim and cycle went great but I did hold back on the run. I didn't want to push it and risk anything.
    Tomorrow morning I have to get a run in to test the new Garmin. Only 8-10k though.
    The main thing I need to remember is not to run into another pillar and break another watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Just finished the last 8 mile LSR on the HHN1 plan. Went out early and really enjoyed it. Was lovely to "only" have to do 8 miles :)

Can't believe there's only 3 short runs left to do on the plan. I've kept a log of all my runs and except for cutting short last weeks 12 mile LSR by a couple of miles, I've completed every single run on the plan. Delighted with myself for that :)

I've decided to also join the 4:30 group and hope for the best!

Well done on everyone getting this far and enjoy your weekend runs.

EDIT: knew I had a (probably ridiculous) question! I have parking in the IFSC and was going to leave the car there. Would the finish line to the ISFC be too far to walk afterwords? Someone else will be driving home thankfully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Last LSR completed this morning, 8 miles as well. Decided to prep for it as if marathon day so wore what I'm actually going to wear on the day. Also decided to carry my full compliment of gels to see what that's like. Had to take them out of my gel belt about half a mile in as they felt too loose and I'd lost one. Stashed them in the pockets of my shorts and they were fine then. Tis what I normally do for a race. Carried a small bottle of water in my hand as well as I am not going to use a water belt on the day and carry a bottle from the stations if I want one. Again what I normally do in races, will have high 5 tabs with me as well to electrolyte the water....I have practiced this as well running before.
    Didn't feel 100% on the run to me be honest, just a bit tired (the post at 11:4x) last night shows a silly boy up too late. After about 5 miles I could feel my stomach a bit, was able to stay going but eating just as I was going out the door was not a good idea. Usually eat about an hour earlier than that so lesson learned.
    Pace was 9:23min/mi with splits of 9:13, 9:08, 9:19, 9:51 (walked for a min as mate was going to the jacks), 9:17, 9:27, 9:22, 9:29.

Overall feeling for the run was tiredness to be honest but hopefully that's just a bad run out of the system now. Better now than DCM day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

3:00 TRR, ABHAINN, FRANKQ
    3:10 WOUNDED KNEE, DUBLIN RUNNER, GERCOPE
    3;20 BEEPBEEP, NOGUTSNOGLORY, CHRISGRAYSON
    3:30 KILLERZ, GRIZZILYNORRIS, GRELLAN
    3:40 GIGIMA, 40WHIT, ROLANDO
    3:50 ANKERS, OLLIE K, BELLCARRA
    4:00 MARTASTEW, MRSTEW, MENO
    4:10 GARMAN, PETERMC, MATHSO
    4:20 BREFINI BLUE, KANDIKANE, NHUNTER
    4:30 UM1, OISIN1112, MURPHD**
    4:40 JB-SKI, ALISONDOWNUNDER, ABOON
    4:50 AIMANN, GALLOPIN HOGAN, CHARLIE933
    5:00 JONNY99, RAYCASS

**Extra reinforcements due to flurry of posts in recent days :pac:

Yay we have Murph :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

This is brilliant! Thanks so much for organizing this!!

I almost wasn't going to ask my questions. As such a slow plodder of a runner, I feel utterly unqualified to ask an elite anything! :o Ok, having said that, I won't let my lack of confidence get in the way so here's my questions!

Thank you so much for taking time to answer our questions, Eliud! It's really appreciated! I saw you run DCM last year. Well done and congratulations on the win! Enjoy this years race and good luck!! So, my user name is This Fat Girl Runs (says it all!). I'm 39 and have been running for 2 years. The first time I ever went for a run, I could barely manage 120 metres. This year I've run as far as 18 miles. :D DCM 2015 is my first marathon and I'm really looking forward to it!

1. DCM has a reputation for being one of the best international marathons. What is your impression of DCM and how does it compare to other marathons you have run?

2. Your training plan doesn't show gym work. What do you do for strength and conditioning?

3. What do you eat before a marathon and when? What do you eat afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

13km lsr completed plus my usual 1 mile cool down at very slow pace. Didn't head on Thursday or Friday as felt a bit of tightness in my left calf. Thought I still felt it this morning but it was so nice out there today I decided to head out. Didn't feel anything during or after the run so maybe it was all in my head :o

Anyway, nothing major on the run. Really enjoyable. Actually the best thing about it was that there was so little preparation involved. Didn't have to bring water or gels or anything like that. Didn't have to make sure I brought some money with me or that I was wearing the correct tee shirt / shorts / socks.
    Just get out and run.

As much as I like the long lsr's, it really does take up so much time out of your day between the run itself and before / after. I won't miss that element of the training, I'll have my Saturdays back :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

As much as I like the long lsr's, it really does take up so much time out of your day between the run itself and before / after. I won't miss that element of the training, I'll have my Saturdays back :p

If you happen to join a club, they almost all do their lsr's early in the morning at the weekend. We start at 8am on Sundays. Even the longest of runs is over well before noon.

Good to hear phoole but take it easy, you're supposed to be recovering during the taper and 7 minute mile aren't recovering. That's the pace you'll see most 2:30-2:40 marathon runners run at for an easy run.

A fast run might feel easy on certain days but you have to consider what effect that will have on your body down the road. Mistake numero uno of the novice runner is running too hard when there is absolutely no need to, it causes far more problems than good and the taper is most definitely not the time to be doing it, take it easy.

Not trying to take anything away from your running but I'm just looking out for the future and the marathon day where you want to be as fresh and sharp as possible.
    I agree, but I really wasn't pushing it at all. It felt very comfortable and my stride jut seemed to be a bit longer. Last LSR tomorrow morning then its rest and take it very easy for the week.

Wow Phoole, you may get thyself to a parkrun in a few weeks to test those bionic legs for time!

Defo, going to go hard for the Clontarf half and see if I can finally do myself justice on that course.

Phoole wrote: »
    Defo, going to go hard for the Clontard half and see if I can finally do myself justice on that course.

On the 21st november??!! :eek: Oooooh noo you're not *pantomime voice*
    Seriously, I wouldn't recommend going all out so soon after the marathon. It's tempting, but you probably won't have recovered fully. Give it another couple of weeks and try lashing out a fast one in a parkrun or Jingle Bells, both 5k. You'll surprise yourself, very pleasantly! IIRC there's a HM in December, Waterford maybe?
    And the endurance you have gained from the marathon is there for months now, as long as you recover well and maintain a consistent schedule from December onwards.

diego_b wrote: »
    Didn't feel 100% on the run to me be honest, just a bit tired (the post at 11:4x) last night shows a silly boy up too late. After about 5 miles I could feel my stomach a bit, was able to stay going but eating just as I was going out the door was not a good idea. Usually eat about an hour earlier than that so lesson learned.
    Pace was 9:23min/mi with splits of 9:13, 9:08, 9:19, 9:51 (walked for a min as mate was going to the jacks), 9:17, 9:27, 9:22, 9:29.

Overall feeling for the run was tiredness to be honest but hopefully that's just a bad run out of the system now. Better now than DCM day.

*nudge nudge* ;) (for you too ZV Yoda :) )

"I'll leave you with some advice from Clearlier:

TRUST IN THE TAPER!
    "It’ll probably need endless repeating but you have to trust the taper to deliver you to the start line ready to run, during the taper you'll have great days and awful days. You might even feel bad on the start line but you will be ready and ready to run well. One very good runner said that for his good races he always felt awful until about halfway through the race! We’re all individuals."

Chops1234 wrote: »
    Just finished the last 8 mile LSR on the HHN1 plan. Went out early and really enjoyed it. Was lovely to "only" have to do 8 miles :)

Can't believe there's only 3 short runs left to do on the plan. I've kept a log of all my runs and except for cutting short last weeks 12 mile LSR by a couple of miles, I've completed every single run on the plan. Delighted with myself for that :)

I've decided to also join the 4:30 group and hope for the best!

Well done on everyone getting this far and enjoy your weekend runs.

EDIT: knew I had a (probably ridiculous) question! I have parking in the IFSC and was going to leave the car there. Would the finish line to the ISFC be too far to walk afterwords? Someone else will be driving home thankfully :)

That's great work chops, well done. You deserve your reward of a great run now! You're in with a great group :)
    If you're too wrecked, you could hire a rickshaw or similar to take you back to the IFSC, treat yourself. You might need to get out backwards though :pac: