If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭aoboa

All this talk of t-shirts... do the bibs not have your name printed on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

PJD wrote: »
    Final sports massage tonight. All good.

In other breaking news..... the 4.30 group has logistical and secret support in the form of mrs macs' other half!!! Awesomeness!

Yes FBOT is currently doing up his excel spreadsheet with times and expected arrivial at destination (no pressure Murph !) and will be cycling around the course to give us a shout out.

See as a mod of After Hours,I automatically assume that all those facebook people must be trolling!

Lads I wish I could go with ye in the 4:30 group but I think I'd be giving myself a very hard day out if I did.

My last few LSR runs were done at a pace that would give me 4:50ish for 26.2 miles. I just don't see how I could knock 20 minutes off of that. I'm going to chat with my trainer over the weekend anyway and we'll come up with a plan, but I gather he'll say the same - he at least has all my training at his fingertips.

Pity, would be just be amazing to run a marathon with you guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

See as a mod of After Hours,I automatically assume that all those facebook people must be trolling!

Lads I wish I could go with ye in the 4:30 group but I think I'd be giving myself a very hard day out if I did.

My last few LSR runs were done at a pace that would give me 4:50ish for 26.2 miles. I just don't see how I could knock 20 minutes off of that. I'm going to chat with my trainer over the weekend anyway and we'll come up with a plan, but I gather he'll say the same - he at least has all my training at his fingertips.

It will amazing anyway and sure this way we have just enough time to get the pints in before you arrive so you're timing it well :D

Either way, starting with the 4:30 pacers does not automatically mean a finishing time of 4:30. I have enough respect for what we are about to do to know that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Bit sadistic but the carnage has given me a confidence boost!

I know what you mean. I finally feel like I've gotten my mojo back this morning and I'm not sure if it was reading those questions or what but I'm just happy it's back!

More marathon dreams though, am I going to get a decent nights sleep before this thing I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Fieldsman

As well as running for more years than I care to remember I've been addicted to a TV program call Countdown. I know come next week ye'll all be in countdown mode. I hope the extra bit of training I got in this year will help me over the last few difficult miles as I intend to go with the 4 30 pacers.
    MURPH D that's me allright and I will probably come across you somewhere I'm sure. It would be wonderful if this fine weather continued for another 10 days or so as last year the strong wind on Crumlin Rd. blew my chances away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

we'll make up for it in mc grattans after whoopssa !! :)

Toulouse wrote: »
    It will amazing anyway and sure this way we have just enough time to get the pints in before you arrive so you're timing it well :D

Either way, starting with the 4:30 pacers does not automatically mean a finishing time of 4:30. I have enough respect for what we are about to do to know that much.

Absolutely. And it may well turn out that my trainer says go for the 4:30 - it's 40-50 seconds a mile faster than my average training pace - which is pretty much what it should be, but I would be very surprised if I had 26.2 miles of that in me so I'll be going out cautiously regardless.

If for any reason anything goes wrong for ye, which I sincerely doubt as your training has all been bang on, then at least you can be safe in the knowledge that there's someone behind you with a stash of jelly babies :D
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    we'll make up for it in mc grattans after whoopssa !! :)

Oh indeed we will!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Absolutely. And it may well turn out that my trainer says go for the 4:30 - it's 40-50 seconds a mile faster than my average training pace - which is pretty much what it should be, but I would be very surprised if I had 26.2 miles of that in me so I'll be going out cautiously regardless.

If for any reason anything goes wrong for ye, which I sincerely doubt as your training has all been bang on, then at least you can be safe in the knowledge that there's someone behind you with a stash of jelly babies :D
    !

I think we'll be around the same
    I planned for 4:30 all along but have doubts for endurance.

Gonna start off with the 4:40 group & see how I go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Singer wrote: »
    The immediate proximity of the marathon really hit home today when I saw a bottle of milk that goes off on the 27th

It is remarkable comforting that I am not the only one who notices/processes/frets over these things ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

nop98 wrote: »
    It is remarkable comforting that I am not the only one who notices/processes/frets over these things ;)

Ditto
    From tomorrow we'll be into single digits on the countdown!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

I'll be knocking around on the day, as part of 'team Whoops'. If any of ye have any kind of panic/trouble/emergency, don't hesitate to drop me a pm.
    Being on team Whoops is my priority so her needs come first, but if I can help in some small way I will.

Go Team Whoops \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

libelula wrote: »
    I'll be knocking around on the day, as part of 'team Whoops'. If any of ye have any kind of panic/trouble/emergency, don't hesitate to drop me a pm.
    Being on team Whoops is my priority so her needs come first, but if I can help in some small way I will.

Same here. Happy to help, just shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Tracker link for this years marathon..

http://track.rtrt.me/e/TDL-DUBLINM-2015#/tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Mad, it looks like I registered to do the marathon....no one told me.

Small bit real when you see your name/details on the list. For some reason I am excited to see what my race number is, what a minor detail to be excited about.

diego_b wrote: »
    Mad, it looks like I registered to do the marathon....no one told me.

Small bit real when you see your name/details on the list. For some reason I am excited to see what my race number is, what a minor detail to be excited about.

Was the race number not emailed in the original confirmation email? Mine is nice and symmetrical :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

stepster wrote: »
    I started my training with the ambition of a sub 4 hour. Since then I have had to err on the side of caution due to niggly injuries (mostly calf). With this in mind I am going to run in the 4.30 group, and see how I feel on the day. I had a very pleasurable 8 mile run on Saturday when for the first time I ran with someone. All of my training so far has been on my own. It made a huge difference to me having someone to talk to. The miles went by so quickly, I wasn't even thinking about pace (turns out it was 9:21 pace which is too fast!).. So here's me hoping to get to know all you 4.30ers on the day!
    Hi stepster. You're going to be in with a crowd of messers y'know awesome company, and that's just the pacers :D Running in company is great but the amount of training you have done on your own will have made your mental stamina hard as a rock so well done.
    Toulouse wrote: »
    I'm exhausted, this taper lark is not all it's cracked up to be! A la Whoopsa I've been having Marathon dreams too. Got about 3 hours last night before waking up and I'm shattered today.

Delighted to hear about Murph for the 4.30 group though, have we gotten confirmation yet?

With that, it's time for my pace talk! I'm going to stick with my 4.30 plan and then push on at around 20 miles if I can. I'm really proud of myself for sticking to the training and I've completed every single session (and some extra) and loved it all. I'm happy enough with all the races in the series and think if anything I'm guilty of being a little too conservative with my targets.

However half the fun in this whole thing, okay, more than half the fun has been the craic I've had with lots of new friends and we are all aiming for around the same time (4.30) so I'm really happy and proud to be doing this with all of you and I can't wait for the big day. I want to enjoy this race and look back on it with happy memories and I don't think that's worth sacrificing for the sake of 10 or 15 minutes.

I'm so happy that I'm doing DCM 2015 with this novice team and under the guidance of DG and her band of trusty helpers. Out of 3 of us from work that set out to do this it now looks like I'm the only one who will make it to the start line and that is totally down to this thread and all the excellent and well-structured advice we've been given. So huge kudos to you guys and thank you so so much.

8 mile LSR on Saturday and then sports massage on Monday. No more gym, only 9 miles over 3 days next week and hopefully I'll be all fresh and raring to go at the start line on Monday week!
    Great post Toulouse and thanks for the kind words. You have all the boxes ticked (and a couple extra...20 mile run :p ) Good call on the pace!
    Folks, long time lurker here and decided to post something at long last. I have to say that this is a fantastic thread with all the great contributions from posters and long run reports and the great advice from experienced runners

Heading in to my 4th DCM in a row and can't wait to be honest. Training has gone well and I have 3 sub 1 hr 40 half marathons this year, the best in Enniscorthy in June in 1:36:05 on a hilly course

Never followed a plan and only do three runs a week. Long run at the weekend and two tempo runs during the week. First marathon in 2012 was an unforgettable experience, high fiving kids and enjoying the banter on my way round. Finished in 3 hrs 54 mins, was banjaxed about 700 metres from the line so that couldn't come soon enough. 3:53 in 2013 and 3:39:27 last year

I have a 17, 18 and two 21 milers done. Just wondering what people's plans are for the last week of the taper. I will do the same as last year, 7 miler this Sunday then a 4 and 3 easy next tues and thurs. All about rest and relaxation in the last week but easier said than done with taper madness tightening it's grip!

Anybody running for charity this year? I have ran for Temple Street Childrens Hospital and Make a Wish Ireland in previous years, and fundraising for Console this year

Best of luck to everyone (especially first timers) and hope anybody with colds/niggly injuries make the start line
    Hi ginger runner, thanks for popping in and the very best of luck to you this year! Hope it's an enjoyable experience and that you get what you want out of the day. We'll all be doing shorter runs at easy pace and some will throw a few strides in. Anything else and they know better than to post here about it :pac:
    Say hello at the main event on the 26th if you get a chance.
    Singer wrote: »
    I think we'll need a training plan for future novices threads the way this thread is going. It's been really great over the last few days. Stellar work on the summary posts and feedback Dubgal, what on earth are you going to do with all the free time you'll have after the marathon? Train for one yourself?

The immediate proximity of the marathon really hit home today when I saw a bottle of milk that goes off on the 27th. Also I did my last real fast miles today, running home from work and for once it was excellent! 9 miles averaging at 7'48, couple of fast miles at the end, warmed up ok but kind of forgot to slow down towards the end...
    Go into withdrawal....that and get to bed on time I preach but don't always practise :p It's been a real pleasure singer although I am blaming you for my extra wrinkles :pac:
    unaaine wrote: »
    The anti-bios finished yesterday and the infection looks like it's gone. It's still tender to the touch but not painful but I am aware of it when running. The physio reckons that it will have an impact on my running as I’ll be subconsciously making adjustments to compensate. I'm pretty sure too I'll lose the nail – it’s a very attractive shade of iridescent purple at the moment - but hopefully it won't happen before the 26th. A painful dry-needling session with the physio a couple of weeks back sorted out the itb. The calf tightness is manageable and hasn’t really developed beyond the niggle stage. Physio gave both legs a light massage yesterday, adjusted the leg length difference by 8mm and thinks I’m in good enough shape all things considered. Booked in for one more session early next week.

55mins/9km tonight @ z2 with 6 x 20'/30' strides. Beautiful night for a run
    You'll be well ready by the 26th, great news. Hopefully meet you on the 26th!
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Okay guess we have to put it in writing to commit which is why I signed up to this amazing thread in the first place. Looking back over the last 17 weeks hands down one of the hardest and most challenging things I have ever done. I never thought I would get this far and I am so proud of myself. So after reviewing my training I've stuck to the plan and haven't missed any of the long runs.... Basically I've trained for 4.30 so I owe it to myself to go for it so will also be in the awesome 4.30 group ..... Murphd .... No pressure. !!! +1 to toulouses post have met such great people thanks to this thread and hats off to DG and all our mentors for all your time and support. There it is in type no going back .... Collected my tshirt this aft .... Got my name put on the front. Went to penneys and bought tracksuit bottom and top and hat that I can ditch at the start (seeing as a charity collects them) it's getting real
    Great call A and thanks, ye are worth every post, all of ye!
    Shower of bastards :P

Posted earlier about feeling shyte. Saw Chris and Firedance's post, also got a text from Libelula saying to go to bed. Didn't have to be told twice and got into bed for a nap. Woke up and saw Clearlier's post plus endorsements and felt guilty so did 40 very slow yucky minutes with no hill sprints. It felt terrible.

I now have hot whiskey and am looking very forward to climbing back into bed.

Pretty sure I used to have a family. Hope to see them again in two weeks!
    What happened to turn back after 10minutes??!! :p:D
    menoscemo wrote: »
    Thanks for your FB questions; give me this thread any day. That was all a bit mad for myself an UM1 :pac:!!!
    There is still someone asking me if it is ok to have done 1 max run of 13 miles pls help :o i alredy said it is not ideal but she seems to think it is normal :eek:
    Heehee was so tempted to ask if you do piggy backs but restrained myself. See a couple of your friends made an appearance (RD) :)
    TFGR don't get a new t-shirt for the marathon now- you won't have done enough long runs init to know if it'll be ok /
    THIS SHOULD BE FOR EVERYBODY :eek: good call libelula!
    Bit sadistic but the carnage has given me a confidence boost!
    Heehee ye are models of greatness here aren't ye :D Nothing like visiting the naughty class to see how good you are :pac:
    Fieldsman wrote: »
    As well as running for more years than I care to remember I've been addicted to a TV program call Countdown. I know come next week ye'll all be in countdown mode. I hope the extra bit of training I got in this year will help me over the last few difficult miles as I intend to go with the 4 30 pacers.
    MURPH D that's me allright and I will probably come across you somewhere I'm sure. It would be wonderful if this fine weather continued for another 10 days or so as last year the strong wind on Crumlin Rd. blew my chances away.
    ok now I'm in, where do I sign?!
    Ah how lovely! Thanks Libelula and Ososlo!

Thanks for that! We'll get a table up with numbers after the expo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Was the race number not emailed in the original confirmation email? Mine is nice and symmetrical :pac:

I see the part that says number but was not sure if that is it, 7840 is me if it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

You don't get your number until you collect at the expo. The one on the confirmation email doesn't match the one given on the day. People had to track me by name instead of number last year. Your name is printed on the bib but it's not massive so better to get it printed/written on top. Again on the front!

aquinn wrote: »
    You don't get your number until you collect at the expo. The one on the confirmation email doesn't match the one given on the day. People had to track me by name instead of number last year.

Ah ok, didn't know this. Thanks. Thought the number in the email was the actual number we'd get on our bibs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Fieldsman wrote: »

You might be seeing me sooner rather than later. The pacer slots are still unofficial until final confirmation but all I will say is I am no longer in the 4:40 slot. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

So here it is then.....wait for it......wait for it.......I'm joining the 4hrs30 group:D:D

This is a little bit slower than I had originally planned, but I'm gonna 'enjoy' the day as much as possible. If after the second 10 mile warm-up I feel fresh enough,I may decide to push on a bit, if not so be it!!

Seems to be a good lot on here in this group, I say we over-power the pacer before the start and draw the boards logo on his flag:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Starting to think of travel on the day of the race. I'll be driving up from Laois to Dublin on the morning of the race and need to consider driving into city centre or getting the Luas. I logged onto the Luas site / dowloaded the APP and have to say it is absolutely USELESS for what I want to do.
    You would think that you could enter your starting destination, starting time, & end destination whereby it would come up with the list of options (even approximate options). Perhaps you can, but I haven't been able to find it!!
    Anyway. I believe the Redline starts at 7am in Saggart / Tallaght so will be at Red Cow approx 10 minutes later. I then think it is approx 30 mins into town and get off at Abbey street for a 20 minute walk across to Fitzwilliam Square.

Do I need to be in Fitzwilliam Sq for around 8.30 in order to drop bag etc (or earlier?) I don't want to be hanging around too long (especially if it is cold)

Was thinking:
    Leave Laois: 6:15 (with breakfast in car)
    Arrive Citiwest 6.50 (Vroom Vroom!!)
    Get train: 7.10 (Hopefully loads of people around!!)
    Arrive Abbey St 7.40 (even more people around)
    Arrive Fitz Sq: 8.00 (Jammers with people!!)
    Bag dropped: 8.30 (Final checks, toilets etc etc all complete)
    Start 9.00 (Oh Sh1t)

The trams are every 10-12 minutes so even if I miss one I should be fine. Am I giving myself enough time from Abbey street over and all the prep etc?
    Anyone do this last year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

JacEim wrote: »
    Starting to think of travel on the day of the race. I'll be driving up from Laois to Dublin on the morning of the race and need to consider driving into city centre or getting the Luas. I logged onto the Luas site / dowloaded the APP and have to say it is absolutely USELESS for what I want to do.
    You would think that you could enter your starting destination, starting time, & end destination whereby it would come up with the list of options (even approximate options). Perhaps you can, but I haven't been able to find it!!
    Anyway. I believe the Redline starts at 7am in Saggart / Tallaght so will be at Red Cow approx 10 minutes later. I then think it is approx 30 mins into town and get off at Abbey street for a 20 minute walk across to Fitzwilliam Square.

Do I need to be in Fitzwilliam Sq for around 8.30 in order to drop bag etc (or earlier?) I don't want to be hanging around too long (especially if it is cold)

Was thinking:
    Leave Laois: 6:15 (with breakfast in car)
    Arrive Citiwest 6.50 (Vroom Vroom!!)
    Get train: 7.10 (Hopefully loads of people around!!)
    Arrive Abbey St 7.40 (even more people around)
    Arrive Fitz Sq: 8.00 (Jammers with people!!)
    Bag dropped: 8.30 (Final checks, toilets etc etc all complete)
    Start 9.00 (Oh Sh1t)

The trams are every 10-12 minutes so even if I miss one I should be fine. Am I giving myself enough time from Abbey street over and all the prep etc?
    Anyone do this last year ?

Why not drive all the way in and park near the start?

Clearlier wrote: »

I think thats what I'm going to do. Try and get parking somewhere north of Merrion Sq. I asked in the other Dublin Marathon thread and people there seemed to thinking parking should be ok.

Clearlier wrote: »

I had heard parking was a nightmare - if this is an option I would definitely do it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

I had heard parking was a nightmare - if this is an option I would definitely do it!!

It might be worth asking on the DCM thread for those with more recent experience than me but I'd be surprised if it was difficult to find parking pretty close to the start.

Just checked the route again. So even though I want to get back down the M7, it probably makes sense to park north of Merrion Sq (as eyeball kid suggests) so that I can head out the North side of the city (avoiding the route restrictions), so as to get back onto the M50 somewhere... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Just checked the route again. So even though I want to get back down the M7, it probably makes sense to park north of Merrion Sq (as eyeball kid suggests) so that I can head out the North side of the city (avoiding the route restrictions), so as to get back onto the M50 somewhere... ?

quickest way to the M50 from the finish area is probably out the N11. Remember Leeson Street, Morehampton Road, Stillorgan Road are all kept open.