If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

diego_b wrote: »
    Think I made a balls posting the picture of my top last night, see that late night post was a bad idea. Anyhoo this is it....

Someone cremated this top when putting the club logos on the front and back but it does the job. The only print available in the shop I went to was the premier league print so that little print job cost a tenner...laughed as the top itself only cost 8 euro off the club.

Hope it is well worn in, don't want any wardrobe malfunctions on the day.
    Won't need glasses to catch your name for sure .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Hope it is well worn in, don't want any wardrobe malfunctions on the day.
    Won't need glasses to catch your name for sure .

Oh it is, I gave it a dry run today as well with the print on it. Talk about feeling a small bit like a tool running around your village with your name in simply massive letters on the front of your top. But suspect I will be glad of the extra support it might get me on DCM day when the going is tough!

Definitely true on the size of it but said feck it, least I could get the job done and tried out today. Went into town last night at 7pm and surprised I could find somewhere to do it. Thanks very much Lifestyle Sports in Manor West Shopping Centre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Last lsr of 90mins/16km with last 30mins @ PMP. Did the marathon route through the park out through Castleknock and back in plus some extra. Noticed that the marathon route signs are up and the next time I run past them it'll be on the 26th. Scary! Absolutely beautiful morning for a run though a stiff enough wind around Garda HQ until Lord's Walk. And similar coming back in Knockmaroon gate. Definitely PMP + 15 secs/effort running for me if windy conditions on the day. Unless it's behind me of course! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Same here, last LSR of 90mins,16km. Felt good, niggles behaving themselves.

Did the run at my parents place down the country....proper country. Biggest hassle was cleaning the cowsh**e off my runners after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Did a nice 4 miles today, do idea how long it took as I didn't bring my watch. 8/10 lsr tomorrow, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I wish I hadn't worn my favourite top for my long runs because now the marathon will be the last time I ever get to wear it.

State of my name all over it.

I'm regretting my choice of top too; can't get my name printed on it and will have to use stickers instead. :( Too late to change it now though but I'll know for next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 378 ✭✭brennarr

So the last LSR of 9miles @ 9:38/m done this morning, was supposed to be 8m but I went out and guessed a route.. so close enough!

Guys putting up marathon signs around Kilmainham. WOO! Wasn't really kicking in that its Monday week but its starting now..

Seen them this morning putting them up too on my run to the park, suddenly hit me how close it is.

Hopefully they'll clean up and widen the area around the gaol before the marathon, bit of a mess around there for the last while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

I'm regretting my choice of top too; can't get my name printed on it and will have to use stickers instead. :( Too late to change it now though but I'll know for next time!

It's a big marker for me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Being a bit new to this running malarkey I did a bit of reading about Eliud..... also found a you tube video...
    Can I just say - Amazing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

FeenaM wrote: »
    Hi all, just checking in to say hello. I've literally just spent nearly an hour catching up over the last 30 pages. Trying not to check in too much as I don't want to be too consumed with 'the marathon,' although I may have gone a bit too far and feel like I have forgotten I'm doing one at all :D

Did 8 miles yesterday with 7@ marathon pace for 3.30 and I have decided from that, that I will go with the 3.40 pacers (I hear they are the bee's knees) ;)

Still a bit chesty when I cough after my chest infection but I think it's nearly gone. I'll be keeping a close eye on my HR for all my easy pace runs next week and if it isn't close to where it was for that pace before I got this chest infection, I probably won't do the marathon at all - but I'm sure I'll be grand so not going to worry about that.

Looking forward to a weak of short, easy running, extra sleep and I'm going to have a mountain of superfoods, beetroot, etc so I should be glowing by Monday :D
    Hi FM, was wondering where you'd got to. I really really think you've made the right decision. You have definitely got 3:3x in you, it's all about approaching it from the right direction and I'm convinced this way is the best way to go about it. One thing that has struck me about you along this journey is that you have matured as a runner in every way; from getting out to do the miles, following a plan, not deviating from the plan (too much ;) ), being with a club and now - weighing up the long term implications...in other words, seeing the bigger picture. Get yourself well rested between now and then. It's all in the bank. Tell those kiddies mammy needs to sleep this week ;)
    diego_b wrote: »
    I'm hoping I don't lose out too much with the overall benefits for endurance gains from the marathon training having a break like that.
    Doing a 5K on the 12th of Dec in Tralee but it's a Santa 5K run and planning on pushing a buggy for it. Might get in a few parkruns in December/Jan if I'm sorted from the niggle and to see where I'm at over the shorter distance and that oh so horrible feeling 5Ks are I find.
    Next planned race is the Raheny 5 miler at the end of Jan and then a 10 miler on Valentine's weekend in Tralee.
    Remember we've talked about the benefits of recovery, where your body maximises all the stresses-to-adaptations made from training - and now, actually running the marathon? Well that's what November is going to be: one long recovery and adaptation fest. Some will take the whole month off, some two weeks, others a week and resume training every other day or so after their complete break. It's all very personal. The main thing is that you keep the stresses imposed on your body in this month to the minimum. All easy miles. I won't lie to you, any longer than a month's rest and, imo, you'll be going backwards but within that first month, you have lots of wiggle room to keep that endurance banked for future use.
    Toulouse wrote: »
    Last L'ish'SR done this morning. 8 miles @ 10:54min/mi avg.

Wasn't really looking forward to it. My legs have been stiff all week and my left calf has been a bit tweaky so I was just concerned with getting the run done and not developing any new niggles before my sports massage on Monday.

It was damp morning in Laois but no rain so off I left home at about 9:15am. The run was pretty uneventful until I encountered some more bloody cows at 3.5miles. Thankfully they were only crossing the road and the nice farmer kid stopped them for me but I'd say he had a good laugh at the look of sheer terror on my face when I saw them ahead of me.

I felt better during the run as I knew I would and the legs held up fine. Pacing was pretty poor but I was comfortable so didn't worry too much about it once I didn't feel I was racing it.

During the last mile I had a nice little farewall to this set of LSRs. I met a neighbour who has done a couple of marathons out walking her dog and she shouted 'Good luck in the marathon' as I passed. Then a black cat crossed my path and the sun came out. Did you ever get the feeling that you are exactly where you are supposed to be doing what you're supposed to be doing? Well I felt like that this morning :)

Spilts as follows:

11:29
    11:18
    11:04
    10:54
    11:01
    10:31
    10:36
    10:18 (Ooh just noticed that last mile was PMP too, spooky!)

Headed to the gym for my last session before the big day (no legs, just upper body and core) and that's me done.
    Such a zen (apart from the 'sheer terror' bit :pac: ) and meant to be post!
    unaaine wrote: »
    Last lsr of 90mins/16km with last 30mins @ PMP. Did the marathon route through the park out through Castleknock and back in plus some extra. Noticed that the marathon route signs are up and the next time I run past them it'll be on the 26th. Scary! Absolutely beautiful morning for a run though a stiff enough wind around Garda HQ until Lord's Walk. And similar coming back in Knockmaroon gate. Definitely PMP + 15 secs/effort running for me if windy conditions on the day. Unless it's behind me of course! :rolleyes:
    Vvv^^^ Confused :confused: 90 mins/16km = 9m/mi pace = all PMP??!
    TheBazman wrote: »

Did the run at my parents place down the country....proper country. Biggest hassle was cleaning the cowsh**e off my runners after.

Dubgal72 wrote: »

Vvv^^^ Confused :confused: 90 mins/16km = 9m/mi pace = all PMP??!

I'm confused too! :eek: Hadn't noticed that myself and have just checked my stats. First 60 mins was PMP + 10/15 seconds. I went astray on the 30 mins @ PMP(6kms). Took my eye off the ball as I came onto the downhill after Myos turnoff and didn't slow until I finished. Totally unintentional and am putting it down to being in the habit of trying to pick up the pace at the end of my LSRs and finish strong. I think my brain had switched off.

Here's one for the mentors! Novices too if you want to chime in!

I was talking to that ultrarunner friend of mine who asked about my fueling strategy for the marathon. He came up with an alternative he wanted me to think about. Going to share it with you and see what you think. I know what I think of it, and what my coach thinks, I'm just curious to get other points of view!

He thinks I should have one gel and half a Clif bar every 45 minutes. For a 6+ hour marathon that would be 9 gels and 3 Clif bars. He also threw in some Shot Bloks for the mid way point and a magnesium shot for salt towards the end. Plus a spare gel just in case. For the heck of it we threw it all on the counter to see what it would look like.

For the record, the most I've ever had on a run has been two gels and a Clif bar. Possibly three gels for the 18 miler but I can't remember. The longest run I had was 4 hours, 25 minutes.

You guys know me and my training. What do you think of the above? I'm curious!

I was talking to that ultrarunner friend of mine who asked about my fueling strategy for the marathon. He came up with an alternative he wanted me to think about. Going to share it with you and see what you think. I know what I think of it, and what my coach thinks, I'm just curious to get other points of view!

He thinks I should have one gel and half a Clif bar every 45 minutes. For a 6+ hour marathon that would be 9 gels and 3 Clif bars. He also threw in some Shot Bloks for the mid way point and a magnesium shot for salt towards the end. Plus a spare gel just in case. For the heck of it we threw it all on the counter to see what it would look like.

For the record, the most I've ever had on a run has been two gels and a Clif bar. Possibly three gels for the 18 miler but I can't remember. The longest run I had was 4 hours, 25 minutes.

It does look like a lot. But on the other hand I plan to take 5 gels on the day- give or take. I gel before the start and then 1 every 9-ish kms. I take the hi5 too but take the isogel which is more watery - not as thick and easier to swallow. I haven't taken any 'solid food' so far during lsr but that's not to say after 20 miles I might eat someone's hand off.

Yeah, these are the isogels, premixed with water. I've been using those on my training runs.

Do you find you get a little sick after 5 isogels? Is it hard on your stomach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Remember we've talked about the benefits of recovery, where your body maximises all the stresses-to-adaptations made from training - and now, actually running the marathon? Well that's what November is going to be: one long recovery and adaptation fest. Some will take the whole month off, some two weeks, others a week and resume training every other day or so after their complete break. It's all very personal. The main thing is that you keep the stresses imposed on your body in this month to the minimum. All easy miles. I won't lie to you, any longer than a month's rest and, imo, you'll be going backwards but within that first month, you have lots of wiggle room to keep that endurance banked for future use.

That's grand Dubgal to be honest I'd happily sacrifice some of the endurance benefits to get the knee fully right again! I figure I have the choice to do what I'm told from the physio and get it all good or else plough on with it....I vote to get it right. He was thinking the 10 mile race in Tralee in February would be a good target to work towards but from reducing the mileage, building the strength and building back up the mileage again. I think if I recall right he suggested for the first 3 weeks after the marathon there would be no running but I could do the strength work. After the initial 3 weeks back running once a week and then by the end of 6 weeks...early to mid December that he'd expect all going well I'd be up to 3 times a week again. We'll see how it goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Hi FM, was wondering where you'd got to. I really really think you've made the right decision. You have definitely got 3:3x in you, it's all about approaching it from the right direction and I'm convinced this way is the best way to go about it. One thing that has struck me about you along this journey is that you have matured as a runner in every way; from getting out to do the miles, following a plan, not deviating from the plan (too much ;) ), being with a club and now - weighing up the long term implications...in other words, seeing the bigger picture. Get yourself well rested between now and then. It's all in the bank. Tell those kiddies mammy needs to sleep this week ;)

Thanks for that message. As always, I agree with you and I think like everyone here, I've taken soooo much from training for the DCM that getting to the finish line is just a bonus :)

Yeah, these are the isogels, premixed with water. I've been using those on my training runs.

Haven't felt sick so far. But I have been practising taking them since I started training for DCM '14. When I intended to run any distance over 1 hr I would take 1 gel, 2 hrs = 2 gels etc. So maybe my system has gotten used to them gradually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

TheBazman wrote: »

I know! I was giving out yards this morning about the sheer amount of cowsh**te on the roads. There's normally some but today there was a ridiculous amount. My poor beautiful GTs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I really think you'd be asking for trouble taking all that stuff in a six hour period. If I were you I'd continue to do what you've been doing on the long runs, scaling up for the distance. I don't think the calorie burning count will justify your friend's kind of fuelling strategy.

All the best on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Haven't felt sick so far. But I have been practising taking them since I started training for DCM '14. When I intended to run any distance over 1 hr I would take 1 gel, 2 hrs = 2 gels etc. So maybe my system has gotten used to them gradually.

Same here. I used these during training, too, and got used to taking them every 10k - done based on advice from meno a few hundred pages back: don't wait until you're hungry but top up before that. I plan to use 3 on the day but will have 4-5 with me.

Another strategy might be to simply look at the water stations and pick 4-5 along the way. Take a gel just before, and grab something to drink at the station to help it down. But the most important thing is to not wait until you've ran out of fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

A question for those of us who've been there before: is it a good idea to have the family (2 kids, 6&8yo) come to, say, Mount Street to watch the finish? Will it be hard to get a decent spot - once the event has started? Any tips? I'd like for them to see me come in but I doubt they'll want to be there for hours...

And afterwards, is there much of Merrion Square cordoned off? What's a good place to agree to meet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

First off, best of luck on Monday week Eliud.
    I have two short questions.

1. In this week before the marathon, what will your taper be like; how much running and other training will you be doing?

2. As a first time marathoner on the wrong side of 40, I'm expecting things to be getting tough around about 20 miles.
    What one bit of advice can you give a novice marathoner at this point in the race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

nop98 wrote: »
    A question for those of us who've been there before: is it a good idea to have the family (2 kids, 6&8yo) come to, say, Mount Street to watch the finish? Will it be hard to get a decent spot - once the event has started? Any tips? I'd like for them to see me come in but I doubt they'll want to be there for hours...

And afterwards, is there much of Merrion Square cordoned off? What's a good place to agree to meet?

I was there last year as a spectator, its not too difficult to get a spot on Mount St. People were letting kids go to the front. (Well I was )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Peadar_85

Any other gel carrying tips? Thought the Ronhill cargo shorts were my saving grace with their inbuilt elasticated loops but the High-5 gels I've tried just fall away straight away.

Last LSR today - feels weird even calling 10m a long run at this stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

They should have no problem getting a spot last year the public were able to access the square on the Dail side, AFAIR you could walk from the Mont Clare hotel straight up with no barriers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Peadar_85 wrote: »
    Any other gel carrying tips? Thought the Ronhill cargo shorts were my saving grace with their inbuilt elasticated loops but the High-5 gels I've tried just fall away straight away.

Safety pin the tab/top of the gel to waistband of your shorts. Between that and the loop stopping the bouncing around, you should be okay. Just make sure your pin has a good purchase on the material of your shorts for when you yank the gel free, otherwise you'll end up with a nice little rip in your waistband, or worse again an open safety pin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Peadar_85 wrote: »

I use a High-5 gel belt. Don't like the idea of the gels being in my shorts and this keeps them nice and accessible on the outside. You can usually pick one up at the expo although some years they sell out early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Clothing Alert!!

Make sure that we all get some disposable clothing for the morning of the DCM as we will be up at the crack of dawn scampering about to get the Luas/Bus/Car in to the city centre. Get to Dunnes,Penneys or Heatons and buy some cheap tracksuit bottoms (loose) that you can peel off a few minutes before the off. One novel idea is to go to Woodies/B&Q to get the all in one white 'painters overalls' with hoods.....lads one word of warning.....they normally come in a pack of 3 for a tenner.....be sure to give the other 2 away or leave them in the boot of the car otherwise the missus will have you painting the hall, stairs and landing before Halloween...:D

On the morning, keep limbering up, do not sit down on a cold step to rest before the race, Ososlo told us that she got a very tight hamstring before her first DCM and it only loosened out halfway through....she feels that sitting on a cold step before the race probably did the damage......be warned.

Bring disposable hats and gloves if the weather calls for it, sunglasses and sun cream were the order of the day last year, but hopefully we will get a cool day which is the norm :rolleyes:

As I posted before, be sure to for 50-100 Metres in your runners prior to the start to make sure that they are not too loose or too tight. Some people put vaseline on their feet and toes to prevent blisters.

Some runners use their race belts for gel storage (similar to Murph_D idea), gels are held on with pins or tape etc, or as suggested by Conor_mc safety pins on your running shorts or top will work very well to stop them popping out too.

Plastic bags/bin liner can be used to keep you dry if it is wet and also as a wind breaker but be sure to dispose of them prior to the start as they can be a trip hazard if people fling them off once we start.

Only 8 more sleeps to the big day.....7 really as we all won't sleep on the Sunday night.......

C'mon Oireland!! :pac::D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Interested in this myself. They'll be getting the bus in anyways as doubt there'll be much parking at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Murph_D wrote: »
    I really think you'd be asking for trouble taking all that stuff in a six hour period. If I were you I'd continue to do what you've been doing on the long runs, scaling up for the distance. I don't think the calorie burning count will justify your friend's kind of fuelling strategy.

All the best on the day.

+1 do this, especially the "continue to do what you've been doing on the long runs" bit :) Bring a little extra for 'just in case', for example you might need to take on fuel every hour towards the end. At this stage, you will have taught your body what to expect on a long run and it will have adapted to that by now.

Scrap my 45 minute/'little and often' suggestion, especially in light of Murph's reminder to carry on as you have been :D I wouldn't have meant you to take on that amount, certainly :eek: Don't forget Clearlier's salty suggestion, just to break up the monotony of sugars. Try on any run, even just to pratcise the mechanics of opening, chewing and swallowing.