Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Whatever else you do, look after the foot anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Today the plan called for 2 mile warm up, 8 miles alternating (6.50-6.55 /7.15-7.20), 2 miles cooldown. I was expecting to be home in the bog and have this done by early evening but this morning I was told that I'd to stay till tomorrow. To say I was pissed off is an understatement.

Had no clean running gear and another long day meant I ended up getting only 5 easy miles done in stinking gear on the treadmill.

I'm back in this kip all next week and I'm now wondering if I should focus on Seville in February as I've very little quality done and next week will be more sloppy treadmill miles. Also had to cancel my massage tomorrow which was badly needed as the foot is starting to complain.

Grrrrrrrrrrr!!!

TbL

frustrating for sure! what does coach say?

Oh yeah FD wants you to come to Longwood Sunday morning.........

tang1 wrote: »
    Oh yeah FD wants you to come to Longwood Sunday morning.........

I just assumed, where you go he goes, is that not how it works? :p

ps I see the grown up you has gone back in his box :D

Firedance wrote: »
    I just assumed, where you go he goes, is that not how it works? :p

ps I see the grown up you has gone back in his box :D

We're not the Boards version of Bert & Ernie now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

frustrating for sure! what does coach say?

Not ideal but gotta deal with the hand that has been dealt, also no point in chasing miles. Can't argue with that, and if it was only this week I could deal with it ok as I'll still end up with almost 55 miles, but another week of this is really a big setback. Won't do anything in haste but my min expectation from SS was a PB.

Don't totally knacker tang in Longwood :)

TbL

Plan called for 8 miles easy.

Only managed 6 early this morning.

Hoping to get some sort of long run done tomorrow as it's been a poor week so far.

Hoping I can get back from London on Wednesday next week so I can get some sort of session done.

TbL

Chin up chief.

Today the plan called for 7m easy, 6 miles steady and 4 MPM.

Had to miss the rugby to get this done and I was a little apprehensive coz the foot was tight.

Another nice dry and cool day. Got the easy miles in a bit on the fast side and the steady miles were comfortable enough. Finished the MPM and finished with a slow 3.5 mile jog to finish with 20.5 miles.

Foot held up, still a bit tight and I've a massage booked for early tomorrow morning before I head off to London again.

57 miles for the week but not much quality, hoping to get a better week in next week.

Steady & MPM splits;

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good call on the ruggah. :pac:

Plan today called for a 4 mile Nursing Home Special.

Felt crap and nauseous when I got to the hotel today and it didn't help that I was exposed to noxious fumes. The taxi driver had the worst BO I've ever experienced, it was chemical weapon grade stuff! Had my head hanging out the window for the 75 min drive!

Eventually hit the hotel gym and warily got on the dreadmil to get the 4 miles very easy done.

Hoping to get outta dodge and back to the bog tomorrow night.

TbL

you probably know this already but if you put the treadmill on an incline its supposed to better replicate road running, I know its not ideal but they are all miles in the legs..

Tnx FD, no I didn't know that but I'll try it, I think the way I'm foot striking on the treadmill is slightly different to the foot strike on the road and its tightening up the foot. Maybe it's all in my head but the foot feels much more comfortable on the road.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

+1 to this. You don't need to go all Everest on it, 1-2% incline will suffice, but that should make it more comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭lukeeman

Tnx FD, no I didn't know that but I'll try it, I think the way I'm foot striking on the treadmill is slightly different to the foot strike on the road and its tightening up the foot. Maybe it's all in my head but the foot feels much more comfortable on the road.

TbL
    Yes its all in your head, just get on the treadmill and do it.;)

Today plan called for 5 miles easy.

Booked a flight this morning to get back into Shannon tonight, and planned on getting this done in Galway tonight.

Was told this afternoon that I have to stay till Friday and all next week :(

Had to change hotel as well and the gym closed early so I only got 4 miles easy done with a 1% incline.

Given today's development, quality runs will be at a premium so I gonna revise my SS targets down. Still hoping for a good time but given everything that's going on I don't need the added pressure.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

That's tough going TBL - especially with a young family. Can't be easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Don't give in TbL! You've a good base there. It could still work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

That's a bummer, C. How about not setting a target for SS? Just keep working away and then dump the watch and go with the flow on the day. What's the worse that can happen? You might be pleasantly surprised by the results of naked running ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Sensible move C - I'd go along with FBOT though too, relax the cacks and just see how you go on the day maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

You might be pleasantly surprised by the results of naked running ;)[/QUOTE]

Wish I could manage that naked running thing :D

kit3 wrote: »
    That's tough going TBL - especially with a young family. Can't be easy

Tnx Kit, you've put your finger on a big part of my problem, when you don't get home till very late Friday night and are trying to squeeze runs in over the weekend it's very difficult. The missus has been fantastic but I want to be able to spend some time with the kids as well. We had a family break booked for the kids mid term and I've had to cancel that now!
    Bahanaman wrote: »
    Don't give in TbL! You've a good base there. It could still work out.

Tnx, I'll stick at it Bahanaman but I feel the lack of quality sessions will ultimately tell. If it doesn't work out I'll just have to get back up on the horse.
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    That's a bummer, C. How about not setting a target for SS? Just keep working away and then dump the watch and go with the flow on the day. What's the worse that can happen? You might be pleasantly surprised by the results of naked running ;)

Hey M, I'll keep bashing away but not sure I've built enough discipline to run without the watch.
    Duanington wrote: »
    Sensible move C - I'd go along with FBOT though too, relax the cacks and just see how you go on the day maybe?

Hey Double D, this is the position I came to last night, sub 3 has put too much pressure on me with everything else that's going on, so if it doesn't happen now it will in 2016 :) I'd like to think I can go sub 3.05 though!
    Bahanaman wrote: »
    You might be pleasantly surprised by the results of naked running ;)

I might be surprised but everyone else would be disturbed :)

Wish I could manage that naked running thing :D[/QUOTE]

TbL

Today the plan called for a 4/7 mile easy double. I was staying in the Alexander House hotel in West Sussex last night, nice hotel but the gym hours were only 8am-8pm so I had resigned myself to a demoralising day of no running. Headed down to breakfast feeling full of self pity. I noticed that the hotel seemed to be set in the middle of a big expanse of countryside so I asked at reception was there anywhere suitable to run (road was out of the question). Was told that there were loads of trails around the hotel but that they would be muddy. Decided to give breakfast a miss and get the 4 miles done.

It was pissing rain and I headed out through farmland, woodland and trails, slow going in places coz of the terrain but at least I wasn't on that life sucking dreadmil. There was a maze of trails and I ended up getting lost and finished up with 9.1 mucky miles. Late for my meeting but it was worth it. Respect to XC runners it's tough as hell!

Back to the other hotel in Nutfield tonight, where the gym stays open till 10/10.30 and got 4 miles easy done of the demoraliser!

Supposed to do 15 miles with some MPM tomorrow, but I'll check with coach to see if I can scale this back as 15 miles in that yoke ain't gonna happen.

13 miles for the day.

TbL

Sounds like you really enjoyed that run in the mud :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Don't get sucked in, they are everywhere. It's v dangerous for an auld bogger.

Today the plan called for 3 mile wu/cd, with 3 x 2 miles @ MP off 1 mile @ 7.50-8.00.

I knew I'd never manage that session on the treadmill so coach and I agreed on 1 mile wu/cd followed by 3 x 15 mins @ MP, off 1k easy. Was told to pull the plug if the foot started acting up.

Wasn't looking forward to this all day and was almost looking for excuses to put it off. Eventually hit the damned machine put the incline up by 1% and got the mile warm up done. Hit the first 15 mins and didn't think I'd be able to keep going. What the fcuk, I was thinking, if this was on the road this wouldn't be this hard! Only took a slow jog/walk .5k recovery, and started on the second set, Jasus how can this be so hard, maybe my Garmin has been lying to me all these years!!

I took another .5k jog/walk recovery and started on the last set, I wanted to quit after 2 mins, I could see my face in the mirror and it looked like an auld sunburned tomato :) Convinced myself to get 5 mins done, then get to halfway. The last 7 mins were a pure slog and took every ounce of Bogger thickness to get it done.

Finished it but left scratching my head as to why I'm finding the faster stuff on the dreadmil so hard.

1. 15 mins @ 14.0kph
    2. 15 mins @ 14.1kph
    3. 15 mins @ 14.2kph.

Fingers (and toes) crossed but the foot seems to have held up well

TbL

it could be something like the the calibration on the treadmill is wrong, also, and I could be completely wrong here! I think when you run outside you have the full force of your body propelling you, on a treadmill you're relying completely on your legs to do the work - sounds good though so lets go with that :) either way, good on you for getting that done under those circumstances. Bogger thickness will get you to the start of SS in good shape.

Tnx FD, though if I had the full force of my body propelling me along I'd be an Olympic champion :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Threadmills are a nightmare but they can also be deceptive - room temperature is always an issue for me any time I use them, we usually run at 10-14 degrees this time of year ( at a guess), add in the few degrees for the indoor setting and the effort levels go way up.

don't sweat it ( sorry :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I always find the treadmill feels faster than the numbers say too, C - no idea why. Probably cos body is not actually moving, something to do with sensory feedback. Well done, you did well to get through that one!