DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    When did you sign up G? Check your emails for starters....

Thanks will do, signed up back in March. So probably
    Knocking around somewhere.

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Thanks will do, signed up back in March. So probably
    Knocking around somewhere.

Should have started with person who actually runs my life
    MRS, although she was little frightened when I asked which
    gave a little cause for concern, but TG she had in her email
    panic over.

PJD wrote: »
    Thought I had deleted my email! Phew! Have the link now !!! So are we meeting at the expo and going for a few beers or would that be a bad idea!!! :-) ..... okay.... save the beer for monday!!

Thanks PJD for bringing up, never even gave a thought about any letter
    Assumed would be in post.

Thanks DG for e mail suggestion.

Maybe I need to get bit more panicked, new all was going to well😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Grand week so far of 3x5m. Tuesday, wednesday easy. Got a pair of Bluetooth earbuds in post yesterday so was trying them out on the run. I never bring music with me and it was so funny how all over the place I was... Mostly way too fast!

Anyway cycle in and out of work today and 14m tomorrow.. With a final physio appointment next week for a last check and work over..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hehe let's do better than a chocolate teapot. Next week, we're going to compile a course overview based on our personal experiences. Why not start now...?!

To make your overview easy to search for, please put 'course overview' in the title (as above).
    yaboya1 wrote: »
    I think the funny thing about the Dublin Marathon is that all the talk beforehand focuses on 'Heartbreak Hill' and other minor inclines late in the race, when the truth is that the second half is relatively flat compared to the constantly undulating first half.

Miles 11-13 - This is the steepest incline you'll tackle in the entire race. St Laurence's Hill takes you out of Chapelizod up into Ballyfermot. Don't even look at your watch here. Just concentrate on keeping the effort steady & consistent. From there to Rialto you're constantly going slightly up or down. Again, it's the effort that's all important. Don't even worry if you're slightly behind pace through halfway. Dublin is a course that suits a negative split.

Miles 14-15 - A long drag from Dolphins Barn up the Crumlin Road and then on to the Walkinstown Roundabout. Wind is normally against you here, but it was stronger than usual last year and you'd be very unlucky to encounter the same conditions. Effort again is the most important thing in these miles.

+1 to this,
    Miles 11-15 were definitely the toughest last year. Chapelizod to Ballyfermot, under the concrete tunnel is a bit tough as Yaboya says, but thankfully when you get up that hill the course is flat for a short while to get your recovery in.

Crumlin Road to Walkinstown Roundabout, Long drag:
    One great tip for this section if it is windy, is to 'draft' with the herd of runners, get behind the tallest and widest runner that you can find :D, as you will save a lot of energy this way. Don't be the nugget that is weaving in and out of people on the paths just to gain a few seconds. This 'drafting' method works very well on the Chesterfield Avenue (PP) as this can be quite windy too....... drafting is perfectly legal in this race and you can save a lot of energy that will be needed for later on....:)

Once you get to the top of Roebuck Road, you then go down a lovely magical mile or so on Fosters Avenue and then it's mostly downhill/flat to the finish. For me, once I hit that point last year I knew that I would make to the finish line, as the crowds were like a big fantastic magnet dragging me towards that medal!!

Off to the physio this afternoon to get crunched back in to place and then my last LSR on Sunday morning ......then Ireland beat France in the Rugger and then we beat Poland in the footie.....Carlsbergs don't do 'Dream Sundays'.....but if they did :pac::D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Hi guys,
    Last couple of nights have been the first time I haven't felt like running in a long time, I didn't even have a better offer I just wasn't twitching to get out like I normally do.
    Wednesday
    I did 6.5 of this midweek's 8 miler, I had planned to take in a few miles of the marathon route but accidentally took a short cut to the canal thus shaving 1.5 miles off the route. I ran from Dolphins Barn up the Crumlin Rd to the Walkinstown roundabout. I thought this would be a drag but it wasn't too bad. Then down towards the Submarine bar and onto KCR which represents miles 13 - 17 on the route. At the KCR I realised I had messed up my route but decided to keep on plan rather than running loops looking for 1.5 miles.
    I had a niggly-tightish feeling in the back of my legs around mile 4 again very frustrating - disappeared by 5.5. I mentioned it to the physio who in turn emphasised hamstring, glute and that cobra stretch.
    Splits
    1. 10.56
    2. 11.13
    3. 11.10
    4. 10.59
    5. 11.04
    6. 10.55
    Thursday
    Dragged myself out after the Ireland game last night and did a light 4.5 miles around the locale. Ate lots of jellies! Felt good nothing more to report
    1. 10.27
    2. 10.41
    3. 10.54
    4. 10.29

Talked to my older brother, he lives in Denmark these days but back in 1985 when I was 11, he ran the NY marathon - he was 16!! I was thinking our conversation would make a great podcast or article, some really interesting stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Mulberry wrote: »
    A pace band will also give you your 'real' marathon time, rather than your garmin time.

To explain:
    Pretty soon into the marathon you'll notice that your watch is beeping the miles (or KMs) well before you hit the mile marker. This is because you will inevitably be weaving around the road a little, overtaking people or going from side to side on the road - and all of this adds distance. So, your watch will have calculated that you've run 5 miles before you get to the 5 mile marker. In actual fact, you'll have run at least 5.05 miles by then.

What's important about this is that, later on, your garmin will show you have finished the 26.2 miles BUT you'll still have from 0.25 to 0.5 miles to go before your each the gantry, depending on how much weaving you've been doing.

So (and this is where it gets really important), let's say you're going for a goal time of sub four hours, you've calculated that means you need to run at an average pace of 9.05 per mile, which will get you home at 3.58.09. Great.

BUT, if you do a marathon like my DCM in 2012 you'll actually cover around 26.5 miles. If you stick to 9.05 pace religiously in this scenario then your finishing time will be 4.00.42.

Ouch :(

A good way to avoid this is to monitor the cumulative time you've been running (as well as your average pace of course, if you're used to doing that) on your Garmin and use a pace band.

Your pace band will say the following:
    Mile 1: 9.05
    Mile 2: 18.10
    Mile 3: 27.15
    Mile 4: 36.20
    Mile 5: 45.25
    etc.

Ignore the mile beeps from your watch and instead glance down at the 'time passed' on your garmin when you hit a mile marker. In this case when you hit the 5 Mile Marker glance down at your pace band - if the 'time passed' says c. 45.25 then you're on track for your sub four marathon.

Also, try to run the racing line wherever possible. 26.2 miles is long enough, no need to be adding any more distance!

Best of luck everyone.

Wow thanks for the info sounds great I will set myself up with one cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Question on the tracking link that they put up for marathons (and the race series)....

In the marathon is it updated every mile or every few miles or .... ?
    Just so I can give the link to anyone who might be out waiting for me to pass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

frash wrote: »
    Question on the tracking link that they put up for marathons (and the race series)....

In the marathon is it updated every mile or every few miles or .... ?
    Just so I can give the link to anyone who might be out waiting for me to pass

Usually they have a tracking mat at 10k, halfway, 20 mile and finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Here's my report of the part of the course I've been running. Quite regularly too so I'm happy with how familiar I am with the roads.

This report is in a different format to most. As much as I love reading and writing, I am a far better visual learner! I did this as much to help myself remember as to hopefully be of use to you guys! I don't see it as overkill, it was really helpful to put it together! :D (And fun too! :p)

Usual caveat: These are just my own thoughts from my own experience of the part of the course I've been running. It's not a technical reconnaissance. If I find a hill hard it's because I find it hard. Please do not berate or belittle me for it.

Ok, on to the good stuff! I am posting my report in parts based on the road. I also have a full pdf of these. If anyone wants the pdf just pm me with an email address or I can upload it somewhere and send you the link.

I really hope it's helpful!

01 Patrick Street (Mile 1)
    02 High Street (Mile 1)
    03 Bridge Street (Mile 1)
    04 Ushers Quay (End of mile 1)
    05 Blackhall Place (Mile 2)
    06 Manor Street (MIle 2)
    07 Aughrim Street (End of mile 2)
    ]08 North Circular Road (mile 3)
    09 North Road Phoenix Park (mile 3)
    10 Zoo Bypass, Lord's Walk (mile 3 & 4)
    11 Chesterfield Avenue (Miles 4, 5 & 6)
    12 Castleknock Road (Mile 6)
    13 College Road (Mile 7)
    14 Tower Road (Mile 7)
    15 Knockmaroon Road & Upper Glen Road (Miles 8 & 9)
    16 Chapelizod Road (Mile 9)
    17 St Laurence Road (Mile 10)
    18 Sarsfield Road (Mile 10)
    19 Inchicore Road (Mile 11)
    20 Inchicore to SCR (Mile 11)
    21 South Circular Road (Mile 12)
    22 The road ahead! (To inifinity and beyooond!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Here's my report of the part of the course I've been running. Quite regularly too so I'm happy with how familiar I am with the roads.

This report is in a different format to most. As much as I love reading and writing, I am a far better visual learner! I did this as much to help myself remember as to hopefully be of use to you guys! I don't see it as overkill, it was really helpful to put it together! :D (And fun too! :p)

Usual caveat: These are just my own thoughts from my own experience of the part of the course I've been running. It's not a technical reconnaissance. If I find a hill hard it's because I find it hard. Please do not berate or belittle me for it.

Ok, on to the good stuff! I am posting my report in parts based on the road. I also have a full pdf of these. If anyone wants the pdf just pm me with an email address or I can upload it somewhere and send you the link.

02 High Street (Mile 1)
    06 Manor Street (MIle 2)
    13 College Road (Mile 7)
    14 Tower Road (Mile 7)

Love it TFGR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

02 High Street (Mile 1)
    06 Manor Street (MIle 2)
    13 College Road (Mile 7)
    14 Tower Road (Mile 7)

Legend! Fantastic, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

PJD wrote: »
    Thought I had deleted my email! Phew! Have the link now !!! So are we meeting at the expo and going for a few beers or would that be a bad idea!!! :-) ..... okay.... save the beer for monday!!

Ha ha imagine that you go on the lash at the expo and sleep it out !!!

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Should have started with person who actually runs my life
    MRS, although she was little frightened when I asked which
    gave a little cause for concern, but TG she had in her email
    panic over.

Gotta love MrsKennyG bet there were a few 'f's ' in the sentences that followed that question g !!!

Great post on the course Yaboya that's one that will have to be printed off and reviewed in great detail ... Don't suppose I could laminate it and carry around my neck on the day !!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

02 High Street (Mile 1)
    06 Manor Street (MIle 2)
    13 College Road (Mile 7)
    14 Tower Road (Mile 7)

Fairplay. This is very well put together. After the big day you will have to complete it and leave it as your legacy for next years novices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

My Dad signed up for the marathon last week. Only told me today.
    He's looking to get it done in under seven hours.
    He's been out jogging and walking the last few months so hopefully he hit his time.

Early run tomorrow, I do love my 6 AM Club.
    Sunday Gerry Duffy is giving a motivational talk in the Civic Theatre in Tallaght.
    Heard he is very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Great post on the course Yaboya that's one that will have to be printed off and reviewed in great detail ... Don't suppose I could laminate it and carry around my neck on the day !!!! :)

Agree that it is a great post but I prefer the way he described "Heartbreak Hill" in his race report last year........... "I came around towards the famous Roebuck Hill and started to get a bit annoyed that it had such an unearned reputation. I saw people ahead of me stopping to a walk, so decided I wasn't putting up with this sh*t. I ran up it as fast as I could, through the Wall of Support trying to make eye contact with someone in the crowd so I could say: "Heartbreak Hill my b*%&@x". :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

Stevo1983 wrote: »
    My Dad signed up for the marathon last week. Only told me today.
    He's looking to get it done in under seven hours.
    He's been out jogging and walking the last few months so hopefully he hit his time.

Early run tomorrow, I do love my 6 AM Club.
    Sunday Gerry Duffy is giving a motivational talk in the Civic Theatre in Tallaght.
    Heard he is very good.

Gerry is a great speaker and a really nice guy. We had him come speak at a fundraiser for the Darkness into Light run in our village last year. Even non-athletes were really happy with the talk, an inspirational speaker. Gerry hung around for ages after speaking to and taking picture with anyone that wanted. Well worth the entry fee to hear him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Agree that it is a great post but I prefer the way he described "Heartbreak Hill" in his race report last year........... "I came around towards the famous Roebuck Hill and started to get a bit annoyed that it had such an unearned reputation. I saw people ahead of me stopping to a walk, so decided I wasn't putting up with this sh*t. I ran up it as fast as I could, through the Wall of Support trying to make eye contact with someone in the crowd so I could say: "Heartbreak Hill my b*%&@x". :D:D

This is going to be my aim! I tend to get like that with most hills in races, DHM being the exception as it wasn't my goal race. There was a tough hill on the Limerick Half near the Crescent SC. I just said f'it and powered up it.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Gotta love MrsKennyG bet there were a few 'f's ' in the sentences that followed that question g !!!

There was a pause for thought alright. Don't think either of us
    Where to sure, as she always says what would I do without her,
    Head like a sive & I'd get lost on a round about.

Love it !

02 High Street (Mile 1)
    06 Manor Street (MIle 2)
    13 College Road (Mile 7)
    14 Tower Road (Mile 7)

Great post TFGR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

02 High Street (Mile 1)
    06 Manor Street (MIle 2)
    13 College Road (Mile 7)
    14 Tower Road (Mile 7)

Wow! From now you shall be known as TFGRAIAAL:

This Fat Girl Runs And Is An Absolute Legend

Heard he is very good.

Oh his books are fantastic.

Is this a ticket only jobby? Wouldn't mind popping along to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

You can pay at the door whoopsadaisydoodles.
    Tick Tock Ten was class.
    Do I go full fanboy and get my book signed lol

You can pay at the door whoopsadaisydoodles.
    Tick Tock Ten was class.
    Do I go full fanboy and get my book signed lol

I don't think he'll sign my kindle :( :pac:

Brill thanks for that, I'll check it out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

I just noticed on Garmin connect that on todays run i had reached 1500 miles for the year so far which is about 6 weeks quicker than last year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Ladiee Person

Thanks so much for this.... its starting to feel so real now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Thanks for the great feedback on my course report! You're making me blush! :o
    Fairplay. This is very well put together. After the big day you will have to complete it and leave it as your legacy for next years novices.

That's not a bad idea, if only as a way for me to remember the day :D I can keep it to show all the people in the old folks home one day!
    Thanks so much for this.... its starting to feel so real now

I was just thinking that tonight!

I went for my last mid-week 6 mile run and got a little weepy afterwards as it's my last one. Next week I'm dropping down to 4 mile runs. Definitely hitting home how close the big day is but strangely, I'm feeling more confident than nervous (liable to change without warning!) because of all the hard work and running I've put in. If something goes wrong on the day, it won't be because I wasn't prepared. Cross fingers! I know from reading last years reports that anything can happen, even to seasoned athletes so there is that to remember! I guess I've decided that whatever will be, will be so there is no point in worrying about it!

Of course, if you ask me in ten minutes I may have a completely different answer! :pac: