DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Speaking of niggles.....Did a couple of 10ks this week and was really refreshing not to have some ache or pain and was feeling really positive. However towards the end of the last 10k I felt a slight pain on my right knee. It was the exact same pain that I got in my left knee a few months ago which has only died down recently and really impacted the amount of miles I could do....even with a fair amount of physio. So quite a bit of pain after that going up and down stairs etc. Decided to give it a break for a few days to see if it improves as I know when it happened on my left knee that running on it wasn't the right thing to do.

So rather than a run this morning went for a 50k relatively easy pace cycle. Might try to get a swim in at some stage over the weekend as well. Fingers crossed the break from running will help. I'll try a short run on Monday to see how I feel.

Had a great run...until I suddenly felt very u well and had to call it a day after 2:15 :(

Everything was going perfectly, took off at 9:25, was meeting himself at around 6 miles, we were going to do a 6 mile loop up to Clonskeagh Road, up "Heartbreak Hill" and back down to where we started and I would run the 6 miles home from there.

2 miles in and I realised that it was a really really warm morning, i felt sweat dripping down my nose and was thinking that can't be good. Passed an older gentleman running the opposite direction and said hello. Few minutes later he came back and ran with me for about a mile and we chatted, he's doing the marathon too, he was all about how I should go out and enjoy it and not be doing for a time on my first one and all that. Nice to have that chat but I realised my pace was very fast and I was going up a drag so my HR had gone quite high. No big deal, I just dialled it right back, continued on up that drag and realised that most of my runs have a lot of inclines/drags/hills so that can only be positive.

Met my once off running buddy just before 6 miles and kept going on into donnybrook. Up then to Clonskeagh road and quite a drag there. Then out up to Roebuck road and the smell of food past the Mosque was delicious!! All going good, saw HB hill and said "ok that is a hill in fairness" for anyone who doesn't know it, you can see it as you're approaching, but it goes around a bend so youve no idea where it's going to. The yellow apartments that you can see before you get to it were pointed to me and I was told they're at the top of it, so don't panic. It's a bit steeper than you'd prefer but it's very short and straight into downhill. I found the drag from Clonskeagh Road up to that point more tiring tbh.

Down fosters avenue and as far as booterstown avenue and I was on my own again, all was absolutely fine. Legs felt good, was a bit thirstier than I usually was but nothing out of the ordinary. Then 10 minutes later I felt really unwell. Like I needed to lie down and I had a pounding headache.

I sat down for a second and tried to get it together, I wasn't feeling wrecked from running - if that even makes sense. Just unwell.

I've eaten lunch now and feel better, but I've still got a headache. I was tempted to go back out for another 5 miles in a while just to get it done. My body doesn't feel tired at all.

Very bloody frustrating. I'm really doubting if I'm able for this at all now in all honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Rounded off my last long run today. Finally persuaded my running partner to get on to boards so she can introduce herself in mcgrattens. She has already met some of you at the half marrathon- Im all about the social side of the event! Anyway, boxed off 33kms at a nice consistent pace and pending disaster all feels good. Slightly over FBOTs suggested mileage but should be within the acceptable parameters!

Ps- we saw another boardsie in the park but im having a senior moment and forget his name. Apologies! Hope you had a nice run. Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Had a great run...until I suddenly felt very u well and had to call it a day after 2:15 :(

Very bloody frustrating. I'm really doubting if I'm able for this at all now in all honesty.

I can't speak for why you felt suddenly unwell, except to ask how are your iron levels? I suspect iron depletion had a part to play in last week's disaster for me.

And I know this might not mean much to you, but I have no doubts whatsoever about your ability to run the marathon. You may not believe in yourself (at the moment) but I think I can safely say we ALL here on this thread believe in you and believe you can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

And I know this might not mean much to you, but I have no doubts whatsoever about your ability to run the marathon. You may not believe in yourself (at the moment) but I think I can safely say we ALL here on this thread believe in you and believe you can do it.

+1!

Thank you guys.

I had an excellent week of running, with the exception of doing my fartleks wrong!, everything went perfectly. Last week's LSR was tiring but spot on and my body felt 100% after it.

So it's just annoying/upsetting that my last LSR before the big day didn't go as well as it could have or more importantly - as well as it had been going up until the point where I had to stop.

Re my iron levels - they're ok. But my sodium levels were a little low, and I did wonder if sweating so early on today made a difference to that but I'm only speculating with no real basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Enjoy the facial A!! I went for one last week, heaven!

Sorry to hear that Whoopsa but you had a good week with no issues up to then so of course you are able for it!! I think I've read a few reports of people not feeling well during runs lately, could you be coming down with something? Or if it is the sodium thing could you bring nuun tabs or their like with you when you run?

12 miles done this morning at varying pace as the run got split into two due to an utterly unreliable friend. Not sure why I expected any different to be honest.

The plan was to run 5 miles up the canal, meet said friend and run the next 7 miles along the coast, get cake and Dart it back. What actually happened was 5 miles along the canal, reach meeting point at exactly the pre appointed meeting time only to stand there for 15 minutes. Eventually get a call to say they were at some other place at which point I told them forget it and ran home angry. I was very clear about where to meet and standing around getting cold was not on my to do list this morning.

Splits :o

5.39 miles
    10:58
    10:28
    10:51
    10:37
    10:33
    3:56

6.75 miles
    11:30 (stopped to take grovelling call from unreliable person and forgot to stop watch)
    10:16
    9:55
    9:44
    10:02
    9:48
    7:04

Was a nice run ruined! Rant over. That's the last double digit run on the HHN1 plan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Toulouse wrote: »

Sorry to hear that Whoopsa but you had a good week with no issues up to then so of course you are able for it!! I think I've read a few reports of people not feeling well during runs lately, could you be coming down with something?

12 miles done this morning at varying pace as the run got split into two due to an utterly unreliable friend. Not sure why I expected any different to be honest.

The plan was to run 5 miles up the canal, meet said friend and run the next 7 miles along the coast, get cake and Dart it back. What actually happened was 5 miles along the canal, reach meeting point at exactly the pre appointed meeting time only to stand there for 15 minutes. Eventually get a call to say they were at some other place at which point I told them forget it and ran home angry. I was very clear about where to meet and standing around getting cold was not on my to do list this morning.

5.32 miles

6.75 miles
    11:30 (stopped to take grovelling call from unreliable person and forgot to stop watch)

Was a nice run ruined! Rant over. That's the last double digit run on the HHN1 plan!

Thats a pity... hate that.... well I promise to meet you on 26th somewhere near the 4.30 hour pacer! Me and 15000 other people will not let you down!

PJD wrote: »
    Thats a pity... hate that.... well I promise to meet you on 26th somewhere near the 4.30 hour pacer! Me and 15000 other people will not let you down!

Aaaah thanks P :D

I'll meet ye in the pub. Time TBC :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Thank you guys.

I had an excellent week of running, with the exception of doing my fartleks wrong!, everything went perfectly. Last week's LSR was tiring but spot on and my body felt 100% after it.

So it's just annoying/upsetting that my last LSR before the big day didn't go as well as it could have or more importantly - as well as it had been going up until the point where I had to stop.

Re my iron levels - they're ok. But my sodium levels were a little low, and I did wonder if sweating so early on today made a difference to that but I'm only speculating with no real basis.

Whoopsa, sorry to hear about your LSR. It sounds like 'bonking' (technical running term :p) or hydration related. I've had that happen to me and getting more fluid or electrolytes helps a lot. I've read some of your posts about eating too and wonder if you are getting enough nutrition to fuel a log run? Hopefully it's just a temporary blip, and it's only one run... You got a good 2+ hours in so not bad.

annapr wrote: »
    Whoopsa, sorry to hear about your LSR. It sounds like 'bonking' (technical running term :p) or hydration related. I've had that happen to me and getting more fluid or electrolytes helps a lot. I've read some of your posts about eating too and wonder if you are getting enough nutrition to fuel a log run? Hopefully it's just a temporary blip, and it's only one run... You got a good 2+ hours in so not bad.

So should I have just pushed on? I felt proper weak and I was kind of afraid of hitting the deck :(

Yesterday I ate....
    Bowl of porridge
    A Yogurt
    Chicken salad with some flatbread
    Then I had dinner out and had a fish burger and sweet potato chips.
    Also had chocolate (got a pressie of a box :p)

I think that's loads of food. I don't think I could/should have eaten more.

This morning I added two slices of toast to my bowl of porridge because I was starving during me run last week. It did mean I couldn't finish the porridge but I never got hungry at all running today.

I don't think my food would have made a difference today, but possibly my hydration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Alan30

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Talking of niggles, how are you guys doing today:
    BobDylan, Diego, Wolfyboy, ZV Yoda, Stepster calf, Alan30 foot, Smashiner hamstring, Chrislad calf, Nop, Mrs Mc knee, Duffer? Anyone else?

Any concerns over the weekend - ANY - play it safe and get onto that physio for Monday or Tuesday. Too much to lose at this stage....

I was at the physio on Friday morning and he said I have mild plantar fasciitis. So no load bearing exercise for a bit. I will be going back to my old runners until after the marathon. Hopefully be back on my feet by the middle of next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Nice 5.3 mile steady pace run done 7.53 avg. missed thurs tempo run
    Due to early start in work & Physio apt. Then Ireland match thurs night.

He rang the **** out of my left Achilles so was little tender, but back at
    About 90% now. Scoffed down chip butties & fresh cod about hour & half
    Before run, so belly complained more than Achilles . Don't like to say to
    Loudly for fear of been bitten in ass but right Achilles at about 99% over
    Last few weeks. So marathon training has forced me to work hard on
    Weakness I have always ignored so even for that has been well worth
    It.

One more nice easy 20 miles tomorrow & then taper time. No more
    Up at 5.30 in am, so plenty of sleep over next two weeks.

Roll on the 26th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Thank you guys.

You will be grand. I missed the second 20 miler (only managed 16) as I just felt crap. You're entitled to a crap day, you're not a machine (that I'm aware of, but I don't know you that well.:pac:). I know it seems crap now (I know I would have ignored this advice when I bonked) but it does get better. Two weeks ago seems like a lot longer after the last few runs went well.

Sorry to hear that Whoopsa but you had a good week with no issues up to then so of course you are able for it!! I think I've read a few reports of people not feeling well during runs lately, could you be coming down with something? Or if it is the sodium thing could you bring nuun tabs or their like with you when you run?

5.39 miles

6.75 miles

Looking at splits, I think you should arrange to meet your friends at mile 20
    On Marathon day and make sure they don't show and you'll finish really strong
    Running angry seems to agree with you 😜

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Looking at splits, I think you should arrange to meet your friends at mile 20
    On Marathon day and make sure they don't show and you'll finish really strong
    Running angry seems to agree with you 😜

Hahahaha G, that just made me laugh out loud :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Here's my report of the part of the course I've been running. Quite regularly too so I'm happy with how familiar I am with the roads.

This report is in a different format to most. As much as I love reading and writing, I am a far better visual learner! I did this as much to help myself remember as to hopefully be of use to you guys! I don't see it as overkill, it was really helpful to put it together! :D (And fun too! :p)

Usual caveat: These are just my own thoughts from my own experience of the part of the course I've been running. It's not a technical reconnaissance. If I find a hill hard it's because I find it hard. Please do not berate or belittle me for it.

Ok, on to the good stuff! I am posting my report in parts based on the road. I also have a full pdf of these. If anyone wants the pdf just pm me with an email address or I can upload it somewhere and send you the link.

I really hope it's helpful!

01 Patrick Street (Mile 1)
    02 High Street (Mile 1)
    03 Bridge Street (Mile 1)
    04 Ushers Quay (End of mile 1)
    05 Blackhall Place (Mile 2)
    06 Manor Street (MIle 2)
    07 Aughrim Street (End of mile 2)
    ]08 North Circular Road (mile 3)
    09 North Road Phoenix Park (mile 3)
    10 Zoo Bypass, Lord's Walk (mile 3 & 4)
    11 Chesterfield Avenue (Miles 4, 5 & 6)
    12 Castleknock Road (Mile 6)
    13 College Road (Mile 7)
    14 Tower Road (Mile 7)
    15 Knockmaroon Road & Upper Glen Road (Miles 8 & 9)
    16 Chapelizod Road (Mile 9)
    17 St Laurence Road (Mile 10)
    18 Sarsfield Road (Mile 10)
    19 Inchicore Road (Mile 11)
    20 Inchicore to SCR (Mile 11)
    21 South Circular Road (Mile 12)
    22 The road ahead! (To inifinity and beyooond!)

Well done, this is fantastic, so informative. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Saw this earlier and thought to share it

Pharmaceutical drugs and heart health for runners

If you have any niggles etc at this point please go the physio! With my knee niggle in the last few weeks it would be tempting to take ibuprofen and just get on with it but so glad I didn't. A few more experienced runners I know said to me about it to just take nurofen (and during the marathon itself), as if it was an energy gel it sounded to me.
    I have been doing what my physio has told me and it's working well, a week and a half ago I struggled to run 3 miles (when the plan was 5 on the night) and the next day I couldn't run 1 mile. By early action I feel like I am reasonably back to normal and was delighted to get through my 14 miles today.
    With some very basic exercises and guidance on it is really helping and I have a timeline and program to follow after the marathon to resolve the issue properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

12 miles done today at av pace of 11min per mile. Glad to have done after a taxing week on many fronts. I decided to include miles 2 - 13 of the actual marathon route. I got the bus into town and started run at Patricks Cathedral. I brought the map from the marathon website which turned out very difficult to follow. I ended up checking the map at nearly every crossroads, I'm not very familiar with some of the areas and was glad to get to familiar surroundings and head for home. My back got very stiff around mile 9-10 to round off a disappointing run.
    Lessons learned; use a proper map, or scout ahead or use phone app.

diego_b wrote: »
    Saw this earlier and thought to share it

Pharmaceutical drugs and heart health for runners

If you have any niggles etc at this point please go the physio! With my knee niggle in the last few weeks it would be tempting to take ibuprofen and just get on with it but so glad I didn't. A few more experienced runners I know said to me about it to just take nurofen (and during the marathon itself), as if it was an energy gel it sounded to me.
    I have been doing what my physio has told me and it's working well, a week and a half ago I struggled to run 3 miles (when the plan was 5 on the night) and the next day I couldn't run 1 mile. By early action I feel like I am reasonably back to normal and was delighted to get through my 14 miles today.
    With some very basic exercises and guidance on it is really helping and I have a timeline and program to follow after the marathon to resolve the issue properly.

100% agree, I have never taken pain killers, even when I was getting out of bed
    like Forrest Gump before he got callipers taken off, earlier in training cycle.

Pain there for a reason, Physio I go to from Rugby Back round and is all about
    Strengthing weakness. Well done on recovery all seems to be going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Had a strange accident with the nail on my big toe last weekend, not sure what happened but as I turned to cross a road, I think my nail caught in my sock and my shoe went the other way and it felt as if my nail had been twisted off. Was at 25km of a 34km run and didn't want to cut it short so kept going. At the end my toe was really sore and nail was bruised looking but was still firmly in place. I didn't do my recovery run the day after as it was too sore to put in my shoe. I tried soaking in warm water / tea tree oil / epsom salts and all sorts of natural remedies but as the week went on and with 2 further uncomfortable runs done it became well and truly swollen, throbbing, red and infected and was really getting me down. I can't count the number of stubbed toes and things I dropped on it. Electric shocks each and every one. No choice but to get an anti-biotic which I'm disappointed about but it wasn't getting better and I was finding it hard to walk on nevermind run. The anti-biotics kicked in fairly quickly though and I managed to get my last 20 miles in last night without too much discomfort though it was a little slower than the previous one. Anyhow a timely reminder for race day - no new socks, trim the nails, and vaseline the feet a bit. And make sure laces are tied properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Kennyg71 wrote:
    100% agree, I have never taken pain killers, even when I was getting out of bed
    like Forrest Gump before he got callipers taken off, earlier in training cycle.

Pain there for a reason, Physio I go to from Rugby Back round and is all about
    Strengthing weakness. Well done on recovery all seems to be going well.

Thanks very much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

23 km lsr completed. Happy enough with it but was a bit too quick 6:14 mins per km. I normally aim between 6:30 and 6:20. Felt ok, just a bit tired at the end. Changed my route today and a few unexpected hills in there but I'm beginning to enjoy hills!

Not much else to report. I did try the trick of pining gels to the top of the shorts and wearing them on the inside. Didn't use any, just wanted to see if it was comfortable. Felt fine and that's what I'll do on the day. One thing I did learn was to make sure the drawstrings are tied tight. The extra weight on the shorts could very easily lead to a wardrobe malfunction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

So should I have just pushed on? I felt proper weak and I was kind of afraid of hitting the deck :(

Yesterday I ate....
    Bowl of porridge
    A Yogurt
    Chicken salad with some flatbread
    Then I had dinner out and had a fish burger and sweet potato chips.
    Also had chocolate (got a pressie of a box :p)

I think that's loads of food. I don't think I could/should have eaten more.

This morning I added two slices of toast to my bowl of porridge because I was starving during me run last week. It did mean I couldn't finish the porridge but I never got hungry at all running today.

I don't think my food would have made a difference today, but possibly my hydration.

No, definitely you shouldn't have pushed on, you did the right thing. Sounds like you had plenty of fuel too in the day before. When it happened to me, I had to quickly find a shop and some sports drink or whatever and could barely WALK home. You sometimes just get days like that... Hopefully that's all it is for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

smiley70 wrote: »
    Hi sorry have not posted for while but have been catching up on thread whenever I can. Training going well enough still not sure what time to aim for on day . Set off last year with 4.40 group and felt great even though had a bit of hamstring injury leading up to marathon that still was not right and hurting me on day. Anyway at about 10 miles decided I thought I needed to go toilet so stopped but of course it all in the head of course I did not need to go! Went to catch up on my group so had to run a bit faster and felt bit tired then and also Crumlin road wind was bad so felt that too . To cut a long story short I started to fade at mile 16 and lost my group I just felt sore and tired and the confidence went a bit but carried on . All I can say to everyone the atmosphere the crowd are just amazing everywhere. Finished thrilled with self at 5.10. To be honest I really had not put in anywhere near enough training last year and it was one injury after another but I finished and I tell you no matter what time it takes you honestly you will never experience such a feeling as crossing that line. Everyone here is so committed and I feel so much more prepared this year from reading this thread. Just have to decide whether to go with 4.30 or 4.40 . I have been following hal highdon 2. My average long run times have been between 10.5 and 11.1 and felt ok on these. Thanks and sorry for long post. Look forward to meeting you all on day hopefully.

You're doing great M don't be so hard on yourself as DG says trust in the plan ! And you've managed to hit all your long runs on your own too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

I did my last 12 mile LSR yesterday. Stopped at 9.5 miles and walked my feeling sorry for myself ass home the last 2.5 miles. Tried to start again and just couldn't. It was very warm and sunny yesterday morning and most of the run was fine.

Then my head just gave up. Legs were fine. "Why am I doing this? What's the point? I must be mad" Felt like a prat walking home in my running gear and water bottle. Was gutted all day yesterday thinking I'd ruined everything!

Today I'm just thinking that I've ran every single run on the plan I was supposed to run. I've enjoyed most of them. I've been shattered this week after the 20 mile last week so I don't those 2.5 miles I missed yesterday are going to make a huge difference. I know for sure my head won't give up on the 26th as I'm really looking forward to running and completing it.

So in a long winded way - don't worry about the run - the next one will be better :)

5.39 miles

6.75 miles

Well done C .... Very frustrating to have to wait. Congrats on last double digit run. Hope you got some cake anyway :)

PJD wrote: »

+1 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

16 mile LSR report!

I was feeling pretty rested going into this, after last week's hangover/cold-impaired slow LSR and reduced taper mileage, so intended to go for around 8'50 with a few fast miles at the end. Ended up starting waaayyyy too fast :rolleyes: but got things under control, then when I speeded up at the end I felt pretty sore and tired, and had to slow down :o

Went up through Airside then out through Malahide and Portmarnock on the coast road, and back again.

Splits:
    8'37, 7'46, 7'59, 8'25, 8'39, 8'46, 8'48, 8'47, 8'36, 8'51, 8'52, 8'40, 8'14, 7'46, 8'17, 8'31