If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

FBOT01 wrote: »
    I hope you don't mind me saying so Steve but that diagram is about as useful as a chocolate teapot :D

My guess is that he got it from Perfect Pacing's facebook page. It was originally used as part of a talk which discussed it in detail.

More info on it here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

My guess is that he got it from Perfect Pacing's facebook page. It was originally used as part of a talk which discussed it in detail.

More info on it here....

I'll still take the chocolate teapot option ;)

It went well with the talk :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Now I want chocolate & tea....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hehe let's do better than a chocolate teapot. Next week, we're going to compile a course overview based on our personal experiences. Why not start now...?!

Post up your extract from your lsr's (denis b, nop, TFGR etc I'm looking at YE :D ) and we'll cobble them together into a coherent overview.

To make your overview easy to search for, please put 'course overview' in the title (as above).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Help. My massage therapist is going away for two weeks on sunday. Can anyone recommend a physio around Shankill or anywhere southside? I will need a massage maybe two before 19th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Peter D61 wrote: »
    Help. My massage therapist is going away for two weeks on sunday. Can anyone recommend a physio around Shankill or anywhere southside? I will need a massage maybe two before 19th.

Off the top of my head here is list of therapists in or around the area who deal with runner:

Ciaran McDonagh (Walkinstown)
    Ciaran Fitzpatrick (Balinteer)
    Myself (Walkinstown)
    Aidan Woods (Pearse St.)
    Sports Med Ireland (Kildare St.)

All have good reputations amongst boards members.I haven't been personally treated by any but I am sure that others here will be able comment but generally positive feedback ( not commenting on myself as self praise is no praise :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

5 miles done again, bit stiffer starting off but to be expected after sitting down all day. Avg pace was 9:05 with splits of 9:26, 9:01, 9:01, 8:52 (scared by a dog so little bit of acceleration, 9:05. Felt grand throughout, starting to get used to running at pace again. It does feel better on my knee, will try play around with it a bit on the 14m LSR to see if I can slow it a bit.

Off the top of my head here is list of therapists in or around the area who deal with runner:

Myself (Walkinstown)
    Aidan Woods (Pearse St.)

All have good reputations amongst boards members.I haven't been personally treated by any but I am sure that others here will be able comment but generally positive feedback ( not commenting on myself as self praise is no praise )

I'll give a recommendation for Myles Splitz who helped me last year with a piriformis issue. It happily appears to be long since gone now....actually forgot about it till recently! If I still lived in the Dublin area he'd be my first port of call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hehe let's do better than a chocolate teapot. Next week, we're going to compile a course overview based on our personal experiences. Why not start now...?!

Post up your extract from your lsr's (denis b, nop, TFGR etc I'm looking at YE :D ) and we'll cobble them together into a coherent overview.

To make your overview easy to search for, please put 'course overview' in the title (as above).

I can do part of the course, from High Street to Inchicore Road as I've run that section a lot. I'll work on that a bit and make it more coherent. Won't be a technical review, just my own experience of it. :D

Ciaran McDonagh is who I go to Peter (as recommended by Myles), he's seconds from the Tallaght exit on M50 just on Spawell Roundabout. <15 mins from Shankill. Couldn't recommend him enough, he's the reason I'm still in this thread tbh.

Edit: just see Myles on the list too, I'm sure he's equally fantastic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

diego_b wrote: »
    In more important news he thinks I should be all good for DCM if the knee holds steady as it is.

Absolutely delighted to hear that, Diego! :)
    chrislad wrote: »
    3 sets of 5 miles done for the week! Very consistent overall with at 10:45, 10:42, 10:43 average pace. My right calf is a little tight so working that now, but two days off before the 14 miles on Saturday to rest up, following by physio on Monday morning.

Similar here :) but not too disciplined with pace. The third set, with 3 colleagues, was a little too fast.

4.7M @ 9:32
    5.7M @ 9:17
    5.7M @ 9:01 (PMP)

One of my colleagues signed up for DCM on a whim, having not trained much at all. On the run today, I kept telling him to slow down, and he wouldn't listen. This, I am pretty sure, is going to end in tears (not mine).

Niggle-wise, some alerts (Achilles and thigh-muscle, still) but only after the run, not during. I have one more appointment with the physio next week.

A mere 14M on Saturday, really looking forward to it. Folks, this will be our 13th HM+ distance in the last 14 weeks. The only exception was the FD10. I mentioned this to some colleagues and they looked at me as if I was nuts.

I'll work on it this evening, mainly the last section! [got the message DG :-)]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

[quote="[Deleted User];
    Edit: just see Myles on the list too, I'm sure he's equally fantastic :D[/quote]

This is indeed correct :)

nop98 wrote:
    Absolutely delighted to hear that, Diego!

Thank you kindly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

nop98 wrote: »
    A mere 14M on Saturday, really looking forward to it. Folks, this will be our 13th HM+ distance in the last 14 weeks. The only exception was the FD10. I mentioned this to some colleagues and they looked at me as if I was nuts.

Tsch, wimp. I did 14 miles the week of the FD10. :pac:

I keep on saying that to myself - we've done a half marathon every weekend since the 11th of July. That's mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Run didn't go too well tonight had 6 miles to do with 4 tempo. Started off fine but the knee started to niggle when I took the speed up. Decided to take it back to easy rather than risk injuring it. Legs were heavy head was not in a good place and decided to pack it in at 4 miles. Writing it off as a bad run and will look forward to my rest day tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Does anyone have experience / opinion on these yokes:

http://www.53degreesnorth.ie/skins-calf-tights-mx-black-gold.html

My calves have effectively been sore for the past 3 months. It doesn't really bother me too much during the run but I can almost always feel them. A friend recommended the above, says he swears by them. TFB also uses them all the time.

I am half thinking of just getting them tomorrow and trying them out on Saturday. Now is the time, right? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Tweaking question DG.....
    I am following the David Carrie plan and it has 20 miles listed for this weekend. I want to do 22 as I missed out on the distance attempt last weekend. I am thinking that it wont be an issue unless you can tell me otherwise?? ......Any thoughts?.... P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Myself (Walkinstown)
    Aidan Woods (Pearse St.)

All have good reputations amongst boards members.I haven't been personally treated by any but I am sure that others here will be able comment but generally positive feedback ( not commenting on myself as self praise is no praise :D)

Thanks Myles, can you pm me your number please, I'll ring you tomorrow.

PJD wrote: »
    Tweaking question DG.....
    I am following the David Carrie plan and it has 20 miles listed for this weekend. I want to do 22 as I missed out on the distance attempt last weekend. I am thinking that it wont be an issue unless you can tell me otherwise?? ......Any thoughts?.... P

Hey P, I'm going to pass this over to FBOT, he's the resident David Carrie expert :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Peter D61 wrote: »
    Thanks Myles, can you pm me your number please, I'll ring you tomorrow.

PM sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Run didn't go too well tonight had 6 miles to do with 4 tempo. Started off fine but the knee started to niggle when I took the speed up. Decided to take it back to easy rather than risk injuring it. Legs were heavy head was not in a good place and decided to pack it in at 4 miles. Writing it off as a bad run and will look forward to my rest day tomorrow.

Sorry to hear you had a crappy run. You've had some really good (and really long!!) ones recently so when you think about it, what's 2 miles at the end of a busy week? Better not to risk hurting your knee!

Next one will be better!! Enjoy your day off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I ran 19.66m on Sunday at easy pace and was still fcuked yesterday at recovery effort (ask your husband). You ran 22m with some MP in there. I'd be half worried if you did feel 100% this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Will do DG. Will get something coherent in by Saturday.

Really enjoying those Boards Plan 5 milers this week. One of the kids knicked my garmin watch on Monday and ran a 9km that I do not own. No problem, except its staring me in the face on Strava and people might think I have lost the plot and run a belter at this late stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Chin up Mrs Mc as toulouse said u have had a lot of long runs recently I hope your knees OK.

8 miles done at the crack of dawn. Time to rummage out the oul gloves my hands where freezing temperature has definitely dropped. Got the legs rubbed down this evening it was well needed.

Stupid question alert but how exactly does a pace band work? And does a slow coach like me need one!

denis b wrote: »
    Will do DG. Will get something coherent in by Saturday.

Really enjoying those Boards Plan 5 milers this week. One of the kids knicked my garmin watch on Monday and ran a 9km that I do not own. No problem, except its staring me in the face on Strava and people might think I have lost the plot and run a belter at this late stage.

At least it was a belter :D Anyway night night novices. Devices off, over and out ;):D

Toulouse wrote: »
    Sorry to hear you had a crappy run. You've had some really good (and really long!!) ones recently so when you think about it, what's 2 miles at the end of a busy week? Better not to risk hurting your knee!

Next one will be better!! Enjoy your day off :)

Yeah that's what I reckoned c mentioned my knee on Monday at physio and she felt it was just impact of 22 miles. 20 miles on plan for Sunday but the boss has pulled me back to the lower range so only have to do 16. Never did I think I would use only and 16 miles in the same sentence !!! Ha ha we're all cracked !

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I ran 19.66m on Sunday at easy pace and was still fcuked yesterday at recovery effort (ask your husband). You ran 22m with some MP in there. I'd be half worried if you did feel 100% this week.

Thanks P yeah will look forward to rest day tomorrow.

Emsy 1 wrote: »
    Chin up Mrs Mc as toulouse said u have had a lot of long runs recently I hope your knees OK.

8 miles done at the crack of dawn. Time to rummage out the oul gloves my hands where freezing temperature has definitely dropped. Got the legs rubbed down this evening it was well needed.

Stupid question alert but how exactly does a pace band work? And does a slow coach like me need one!

Yeah starting to dig out the long sleeves and long bottoms definately getting colder .... Starting to wonder about changing attire for race day but that's a question for nearer the time:) don't know why your calling yourself a slow coach you're flying ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

The week so far. week 10 of 12

Tuesday: 5 miles @9:08 REC

Thursday: 8 miles @8:26 General Aerobic.

It hasn't been a great start to the week for me as i have been feeling a bit under the weather and i have been taking things a bit easier. With that in mind i decided to drop todays run of 8 mile/5X600m @5k pace in favour 8 miles @ General Aerobic pace. I dont like to go off plan but i felt that the easier run would be the better option as im still not feeling 100%.
    The rest of this weeks plan has a 5 mile recovery tomorrow, a 10k tune up race(Donadea) on Saturday and 16 miles on Sunday.