Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

STOVES questions and answers here(see mod note in post 1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Sanchez83

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    I got more detail on this and they said they clean chimney, then do camera inspection, then test the chimney draw using smoke pellets. If it passes these tests they say a flue liner is a waste of money.

If the draw is ok and the chimney is in good condition then you will get away without using a liner.
    But I would never say it is a waste of money.It is logical that it will require more fuel to heat an 8" chimney to a 6" chimney.7 days a week for let's say 25 weeks a year for 20 years would easily be worth the cost of a liner.
    But that's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Vote 4 Pedro

Hi Vote for Pedro,

We have a Dru 44 multifuel fitted with over 3 years. It still looks as good as the day it was installed and the heat is fab. Would absolutely recommend.

Many thanks,
    good to here from someone who actually has one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I have ordered the Elm stove with a fireplace and stove stockist and they gave me an additional cost (optional) called Flexi. They said they recommend it for all installations but depending your chimney, some may be required. It is apparently supposed to be to do with getting the smoke out of the stove into the chimney, and out of your house safely.

Is this correct and what are people's thoughts on this particular "optional" extra? Is it indeed worth it or is is just one of those throw ins that sales try to flog?

Also would it stop rain coming down the chimney? At the minute when it rains we can hear drops falling down on the grate when we don't have a fire on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭GatsbyGal

I'm thinking of purchasing a French antique stove. I have a period style fireplace. Would this be a simple enough install? Or would there be other factors I would need to take into consideration? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭loki7777

I have ordered the Elm stove with a fireplace and stove stockist and they gave me an additional cost (optional) called Flexi. They said they recommend it for all installations but depending your chimney, some may be required. It is apparently supposed to be to do with getting the smoke out of the stove into the chimney, and out of your house safely.

Is this correct and what are people's thoughts on this particular "optional" extra? Is it indeed worth it or is is just one of those throw ins that sales try to flog?

Also would it stop rain coming down the chimney? At the minute when it rains we can hear drops falling down on the grate when we don't have a fire on

Flexi flue linear - I took it and paid extra €300-I think it will be worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭macjohn

That is a flex flue liner
    Basically lines the chimney and connects directly to your stove.

Probably safer to have one in,
    and stove will likely be more efficient.

Do you need one ...............
    Depends on the age and condition of your chimney,
    The output in kw of your stove (not sure this used as much as a criteria any more)

Doesn't seem to be any downside to using other than cost ........... so do you need one.

Loads of info and for and against in this any other threads.

Go to a good installer (someone you trust/ ask locals for recommendation) and get them to have a look. (Handier than frying your head trying to learn about them and still having to go for professional advice!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭vagazzled

Hi, I don't know much about stoves other than they are cute. A friend had one and it was great for heat and burning paper rubbish.
    I have a small 3 bed semi with open fire & kerosene- both heat the radiators.
    The open fire is lovely in the cold weather, but it doesn't throw that much heat out. And the rads would hardly be warm at all.
    Haven't bought kerosene for over a year and got along with an extra fleece / dimplex elec rad if the room would be really cold.
    I was trying to post a link of a house that is for sale across the road to show what type / size of open fireplace I have but it's pretty standard. I can't seem to post links yet. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭sc86

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭chuck eastwood

SeaFields wrote: »
    We are trying to decide on whether to fit a non-boiler or boiler stove at the moment. There is already oil central heating in the house but we have plenty of turf so either way we'll be fitting a stove.

Is it possible to fit a boiler stove to compliment the oil heating? Be it that we would be able to switch from one to the other for heating everything or just use one for rads and one for water?

And is it a big job/ expensive to install the boiler stove if we already have a heating system in place? The house is a three bedroomed bungalow with ten rads varying in size. The hot water tank is about two metres from the fire place across the hallway and through two walls.

Any input / past experience welcome

I fitted a Stanley boiler stove about 8 weeks ago.
    To complement my condensing oil burner. Best thing I ever did. I already had a back boiler fireplace linked into my oil system via a system link setup. Just Google system link and their site has all the layouts you will need to get an idea if what you want is affordable. I'm a pipefitter/fabricator by trade and the build quality of the Stanley is the best bar none going on welds, plate thickness and general fitting quality. If you want to pm me I can send you some photos of my set up and roughly what it cost. I did it in stages so I wouldn't guess what a plumber would cost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭lovehathi

Hi we have a riva 55 installed in dec 2014, i have noticed our glass becomes black every time we use, we can't see clean burn working properly, we use seasoned wood .

Secondly we can hear air noise from out side in the stove when its not lit . also too much smokes comes in when we refuel it. what should we do or is it normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Anyone got any recommendations for some plumbers with experience installing boiler stoves in the Wicklow area? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Hey there.

Haven't a clue what I'm to look at, or where to go in regards choosing a stove and someone to fit it. Hoping you guys can help here.

Based in the New Ross area of Wexford. I'm hoping to get a new boiler stove to heat a large open sittingroom as well as 6 radiators;(2 large radiators, 4 medium radiators). 1 of the large radiators is also in the sittingroom where the stove would be if this matters.

When I say open sittingroom, I mean the stairs to the upstairs landing is in the same room.

How many KW boiler stove would I need thereabouts and any recommendations where to get it?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 eibhlin1106

Looks like a lot of us are in the same boat.

I'm fed up looking at stoves and getting different opinions from stockists so am looking for advice from people who already have what I'm looking for!

Our house is a bungalow with 14 single rads (and they are not big might I add!). Our sitting room (where the stove will be) measures 23x14 feet and 8 foot high.

I am particularly interested in the Henley Achill 21kw or the Brightfire (Yola) 17KW (my main preference) but my concern is that with the Brightfire Stove that it won't heat the room as the output is 3kw. I did the room calculation and it says that I need an output of approx. 4.6 KW but the room has 2 double radiators in it already so would 3kw to room suffice?

All recommendations welcome :-)

Many thanks.

lovehathi wrote: »
    Hi we have a riva 55 installed in dec 2014, i have noticed our glass becomes black every time we use, we can't see clean burn working properly, we use seasoned wood .

Secondly we can hear air noise from out side in the stove when its not lit . also too much smokes comes in when we refuel it. what should we do or is it normal.

It sounds like you have a down draft problem with your chimney.
    An anti down fraught cowl or lining your chimney may help.

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Hey there.

Haven't a clue what I'm to look at, or where to go in regards choosing a stove and someone to fit it. Hoping you guys can help here.

Based in the New Ross area of Wexford. I'm hoping to get a new boiler stove to heat a large open sittingroom as well as 6 radiators;(2 large radiators, 4 medium radiators). 1 of the large radiators is also in the sittingroom where the stove would be if this matters.

When I say open sittingroom, I mean the stairs to the upstairs landing is in the same room.

How many KW boiler stove would I need thereabouts and any recommendations where to get it?

Cheers.

If single rads you will need 9kw to water.The most a boiler stove will generally give to the room is 4/5kw so 14kw total.
    If double rads you will need 14kw to water so 18/21kw total.
    These are rough estimates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Sanchez83 wrote: »
    If single rads you will need 9kw to water.The most a boiler stove will generally give to the room is 4/5kw so 14kw total.
    If double rads you will need 14kw to water so 18/21kw total.
    These are rough estimates.

My livingroom is 18' long x 14' wide x 7.5' high & has 1 double radiator sized 160cm x 50cm.

Other radiators include:

Kitchen: 100cm x 50cm double
    Office: 95cm x 43cm single
    Bedroom 1: 80cm x 31cm single
    Bedroom 2: 111cm x 31cm single
    Bathroom: 62cm x 42cm single

A local stove shop recommended this as the best solution for me,

€1249 excluding fitting costs.

Would this be around the best option, is there any other stoves, insert or free standing that might be cheaper whilst just as good?

eXxKyGn.png

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    My livingroom is 18' long x 14' wide x 7.5' high & has 1 double radiator sized 160cm x 50cm.

Other radiators include:

Kitchen: 100cm x 50cm double
    Office: 95cm x 43cm single
    Bedroom 1: 80cm x 31cm single
    Bedroom 2: 111cm x 31cm single
    Bathroom: 62cm x 42cm single

A local stove shop recommended this as the best solution for me,

€1249 excluding fitting costs.

Would this be around the best option, is there any other stoves, insert or free standing that might be cheaper whilst just as good?

eXxKyGn.png

Going by those measurements you need 11kw to the water and approx 4/5kw to the room.So a stove around 16kw total.
    The Pierce is a decent stove.Hamco Morgan would be a decent one two.Most popular in that size would be a Henley Achill 17.
    Others to consider would be a Straftford EB12 and Boru Chieftan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Anyone else having trouble trying to get some quotes for installing a boiler stove?

Anyone got any recommendations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Just had a fella out to see about installing a freestanding room heater stove, he said that first off he would need to do a camera inspection which will cost €150. He said that provided it's a straightforward job, it would be €150 per square meter for labour and parts and around €400 for the stove itself. And then an extra €200 for the heat preotective rendering and plaster over the existing chimney breast. So thats €1950 all in. Is that an ok price? Seems a bit expensive to me.

Edit to add: He is one of only a few certified and registered installers in my area. He says a lot of his jobs involve taking out and repairing stoves that have not been put in properly and have caused damage or problems as a result.

Just had a fella out to see about installing a freestanding room heater stove, he said that first off he would need to do a camera inspection which will cost €150. He said that provided it's a straightforward job, it would be €150 per square meter for labour and parts and around €400 for the stove itself. And then an extra €200 for the heat preotective rendering and plaster over the existing chimney breast. So thats €1950 all in. Is that an ok price? Seems a bit expensive to me.

Edit to add: He is one of only a few certified and registered installers in my area. He says a lot of his jobs involve taking out and repairing stoves that have not been put in properly and have caused damage or problems as a result.

Rendering and plastering is reasonable.
    Everything else is over priced.
    But good fitters are in huge demand at this time of year so they can charge more.
    It's why people should really fit a stove during the summer rather than the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 GS2K

Hi, looking for advice. I am planning on putting in an inset stove but the opening is fairly shallow only 27cm from the front to the concrete blocks at the back of the fire.
    I have found a stove, the Henley Apollo that is 27cm in depth but was wondering if you need to leave a gap at the back of the stove so it's not up against the concrete.
    If so, how much of a gap is needed?

GS2K wrote: »
    Hi, looking for advice. I am planning on putting in an inset stove but the opening is fairly shallow only 27cm from the front to the concrete blocks at the back of the fire.
    I have found a stove, the Henley Apollo that is 27cm in depth but was wondering if you need to leave a gap at the back of the stove so it's not up against the concrete.
    If so, how much of a gap is needed?

The Apollo does not require an air gap as its a convection stove.
    The air circulates between the back of the stove and the convection box.
    As there is no room to insulate you may lose a small portion of heat to the wall from conduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,338 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Looking for suppliers of the "fire resistant silicon sealer" that I hear some guys talk about or is there any such thing.
    Am in North Co Dublin.
    Thanks, as always

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭SeanMacEoin

Hi Guys,
    Hope im not hijacking someone elses thread here but seems like theres a bit of everything on this one.
    Im looking for some advice on woodburning stoves. I plan to install one in my sunroom (otherwise known as the fridge during winter). I'm looking at the Contura 850 convection stove. Its expensive so would value any feedback or if you have any model of contura like to hear what you think of it.
    Thanks a mil.
    Sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 GS2K

I am Planning on getting an inset stove and a liscannor stone slab for a hearth at the front.
    My question is, is the rear of inset stoves on legs or is the hearth supposed to go to the back of the opening in the fireplace?
    The front of the stove will be resting on the slab but i can't find any slabs that extend back into the fireplace.

Or what do people put in the back of the fireplace so that the stove will sit level?

The stove i am going for is the Henley Apollo as i have a shallow depth of 270mm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

GS2K wrote: »
    I am Planning on getting an inset stove and a liscannor stone slab for a hearth at the front.
    My question is, is the rear of inset stoves on legs or is the hearth supposed to go to the back of the opening in the fireplace?
    The front of the stove will be resting on the slab but i can't find any slabs that extend back into the fireplace.

Or what do people put in the back of the fireplace so that the stove will sit level?

The stove i am going for is the Henley Apollo as i have a shallow depth of 270mm.

Mix a bit of concrete and fill it to the level of the stone hearth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭bazbrady

Just a few questions,hope yous can help.im looking at installing a charnwood island room heater only stove in my sitting room.the only concern i have is i want to recess it so it looks neater and meant to be there instead of in front of the existing fireplace thats currently there,what im wondering is do you loose much heat(kw figure?) from recessing a stove rather than leaving it in front of the fire.i imagine i wont have a huge amount of room around the sides when i pull out the existing fireplace,i know theres regs regarding 30cm or more,but my question is more do you loose considerable heat,i would also be installing one of those fans you place on top of the stove so that should help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭shugy

Another one here looking information on a stove. I have a house that has 15 rads and its heated by a kerosene burner and an open fire in living room. My house is plumed in hep with push fittings apart from 1 m away from boiler and hot press cylinder.

What I'm basically wanting to know is how much would a decent stove be and I think I'll need a double coil cylinder as well. The cylinder is about 17m of pipe run away from the stove (35-40 meters of copper pipe return and flow) .

I'm wanting a stove that'll burn coal,turf and timber.

So in a nutshell, can someone give me a rough price that I'll need to spend on a decent stove and other materials needed. I've searched the net and there's just to much info to take it so thought I'd ask here where people would know what their talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Looking for recommendations for someone in Limerick to fit a freestanding stove? We've had awful trouble trying to find someone. One fella left us down 2 nights in a row to come and size the job up. Another told us we would be waiting 14 weeks. Third fella called to the house within 20 minutes of me ringing him and told me I'd need a cctv survey done before he could give a quote. He booked me in for the next day, spent 20 minutes with a camera up my chimney, charged me €150 and told me he would get back to me the nex day with a quote before riding into the sunset, never to be seen or heard from again :mad:

We have ordered all the materials ourselves and the only thing putting my OH off doing it himself is the amount of money he would have to fork out on a ladder. So any recommendations of good honest workers would be greatly appreciated. Pm me with any names :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭VandC

Sorry if this has been asked somewhere before but this sticky is huge! We got a multi fuel insert stove and marble fireplace installed in May and have just got around to lighting it now. A fire had never been lit in the house before (circa 18yo) but we did get chimney checked by 2 different ppl to make sure that the chimney was for real fires just not gas. Initially there was an open fire and wooden/tile fireplace with marble hearth.

So we started with small fires and we have started to make them bigger and lit for a few hours max so far.

Today I notice that the paint on the chimney breast (to the side of the fireplace, not above where chimney is) has started to crack. Loads of little hairline cracks no more than a cm long, some paint has started to discolour (minimal but from light grey to darker) and then I noticed a sticky substance in two areas (I def didn't spray anything on the wall) that I don't recall being there yesterday. Saturday evening was the last night we lit a fire.

Is this the sign of a bigger problem? Or is it all part of the "breaking in"?

Mods if you feel this would be best placed elsewhere please move.