Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

GvidoR wrote: »
    Well "these days" in my case is more like late 90's, early 2000's. :pac:

I know that curse exactly! Everything after 2000 to me is "a few years ago".
    To me the 20th century had very distinct and very separate decades, you could never mix up the 70's, 80's and 90's.
    After 2000, all one grey porridge to me. Was upset "a few years ago" :p when a washing machine died, it had only lasted 10 years. :D
    It does get worrying when decades fly past the same way years did.
    The theory behind it: If you are 10 years old, one year is 10% of your entire life. That is an eternity! At 40 odd, you don't even notice one year anymore. It's a case of "It's Christmas? AGAIN? Swear it was only last week we had the last one"
    I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now what I'm with isn't it and what is it, is strange and scary to me. :confused:

I'm pretty sure this was post number 3878 and now it's 3887, Boards really throwing a wobbler.
    I think Boards needs to invest in a new server, the old 486 not hacking it anymore, the mouse operating the fan has died:

RFgZh.jpg

Get yourself into the Azure cloud, you get nice virtual servers AND loadbalancers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

The amount of bad luck in this place the last while almost has me afraid to drive the car :pac:

Now that the baby has been born hopefully I'll be able to book the car in for the remap later next week. Looking forward to seeing if there's much of a difference in performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Is yours the 1242 engine? That's in our 2014 500, pretty much identical.

And I thought it was strange that the 1st gen Punto's used the same engine. :eek:
    5W30 wrote: »
    Yes but I'm pretty sure the belt has been changed at least once? :eek:

I sure hope so. It's at 144k miles right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Our pajero passed the NCT first time yesterday. Quite the surprise seeing as it's a 1998. Put some of that cleaner stuff into it before hand and drove it extra hard to ensure the emissions would pass.

If boards spent more time fixing their servers, and less time spoofing this shyte, we'd all be happier. Nothing seems to work around here today.

2uiiqyo.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

GvidoR wrote: »
    I sure hope so. It's at 144k miles right now.

I'll never forget the moment my dad cracked the timing belt cover off the 1.7d Kadett and noticed the timing belt had split and separated and was being held by what looked like a few strings :pac:

Funnily enough he didn't replace it and it went a few weeks later. Not sure if that engine is interference or not but he ended up getting a new belt and the engine was fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Tyre blow out on the motorway. Frightened the life out of me. I've realised how hard it is to buy good tyres at short notice. Could only find muck but eventually found a place that had Michelin tyres, got 2 for 125 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Overheating issue turned out to be a cracked stat housing. All sorted for the grand total of €100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Lads, wtf is up with Boards today?

I don't know but it's very buggy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Out for the day with the family but the light came on in the Octavia and then probably drove another 30km so it was fairly empty fuel wise stopped into topaz brimmed it with diesel @1.179. 57 euro total cost what a time to be alive :)

It's focking melting my brain!

Think I might have the opportunity to buy a 97 Manual 520 Touring, for cheap, thinking about picking it up as a project to learn mechanicals instead of an E34 as they're proving too rare/high price.

Umm...did a load of posts disappear from here?

Edit: They all reappeared after I posted this! WTF?

It keeps doing that the whole time Mr. Goodman.

You have to refresh the page (sometimes a couple of times) for them to re-appear. BTW why not download the Boards app?

What sort of money for the 5er FN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Infact all of his monies

Had the app when it was new and it wasn't great. I'm sure its improved since. Must download it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

sTpNNxP.jpg

Big Nasty wrote: »
    What sort of money for the 5er FN?

He only bought it for 600 so I'd be hoping for 4/500. No NCT or tax I don't think but drives as he uses it.

Naa, it's still crappy. Still very limited amount of features available on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

A V8 pick up with straight pipes really is a thing of glorious fashion. You can hear the three speed slowly churning through as well makes it extra cool..!

He only bought it for 600 so I'd be hoping for 4/500. No NCT or tax I don't think but drives as he uses it.

Will do grand for parts anyhow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Haha! Timing belts.... My Apex seals know no such fear..

Give 'em some premix, rev the **** out of 'em and just keep it in oil and it'll run forever. Or at least until the next petrol station.

No floods. And the only hot-start issues are caused by ****e petrol. It hates ****e petrol.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Will do grand for parts anyhow!

I wouldn't use it for parts more as a project for myself to learn crap on and then eventually chuck a 4.4 V8 or the likes in there, because you know, Dog haulage requires a V8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

The guys/girl from pioc my ride are on the Ray darcy show no. Paddy is fecking hilarious :D how could she have not picked him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

You know that TG4 car show clip that was on a few weeks ago where he picked the advance pitstop voucher over the date. There both on the Saturday night show there. He said the 250 euro will go a long way to getting a new starter and turbo ye so the only conclusion to take from that is he has never been to advance pitstop :pac: he'd be doing well to get a pair of front brake pads for 250 quid.

The thing about the voucher was on Today FM a few days ago and they were saying "His car must be a Lada with 3 wheels or something."

Didn't expect such comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Anybody going to cars and coffee in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Boards motors section is seriously broken atm, when can we expect a fix ?