Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know anything about prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

€2,800 is a lot of money in fairness. It's hard to have debts hanging over you so if prison is the only alternative I can understand choosing that. Unless you have a decent paying job it would take years to pay it off.

Have you talked to anyone about the effect this might have on your future credit rating etc? I'm no expert, but I'd imagine that this could make it difficult for you to get loans etc in future. Not just big things like mortgages or a car or whatever, even getting a phone on contract could potentially be tricky if you've served a custodial sentence for non payment. That's just my guess though, someone like MABS would be able to tell you the facts about how long things stay on your credit history and so on... Of course I understand that's not really your top concern right at the moment, just something it might be useful to know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

When is the big day op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

sean2591 wrote: »
    But nobody would know that only the prisons would they so is it a big deal I know my criminal record is different?

Whatever happens with this I won't be going back to prison after it

Lots of jobs out there ask you have you a conviction. A yes will immediately disqualify you.
    Not to mention insurance quotes and travel visas.
    Someone else mentioned your credit rating being hit, so that effects loans,mortgages, phone accounts, insurance quotes.

I cants understand why you didn't pay it off while you were working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Lots of jobs out there ask you have you a conviction. A yes will immediately disqualify you.
    Someone else mentioned your credit rating being hit, so that effects loans,mortgages, phone accounts, insurance quotes.

The beauty of it is that you can tick no. Fortunately, unless you will be in a job of great trust then past indiscretions will not be checked. I work full time, I have a mortgage. Nobody who knows me would ever dream I'd been in prison. But I have a record that is there for all to see. Just nobody thinks to look. Don't worry too much about that part of it OP. It is greatly overdone IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 sean2591

I don't think they would ask you about convictions or that if you are taking out a phone contract or something like that.

I got a driving ban so when I get back driving I know my car insurance will be huge but that's going to be teh way it will be whether I go to prison or not.

It's the same if I am asked if I have a conviction if I apply for a job. I already have the convictions so it doesn't change things - just whether I paid the fine or did a few days in prison for it.

FortySeven wrote: »
    The beauty of it is that you can tick no. Fortunately, unless you will be in a job of great trust then past indiscretions will not be checked. I work full time, I have a mortgage. Nobody who knows me would ever dream I'd been in prison. But I have a record that is there for all to see. Just nobody thinks to look. Don't worry too much about that part of it OP. It is greatly overdone IMO.

That's what I was thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 sean2591

When is the big day op?

Don't know. The Guard said he'd give me the week to decide whether to pay or not. He was sound enough. I have to wait to hear from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Or, you could man up, face the fact you screwed up and deal with the consequences, pay the fine and not go to prison.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

jimd2 wrote: »
    In my opinion you should do the time and pay the fine with the fine taken out of your dole, tax or whatever.

It cannot be allowed to be financially beneficial for the OP to say oh I'll take prison and suddenly my fines disappear. The costs putting someone up in prison should not be added to the losses in unpaid fines.

So the prison sentence should go hand in hand with compulsary charging either through dole or whatever other means necessary.

Ah, dry up!

You are the kind of person who spends his life in mortal fear of that someone, anyone, somewhere might catch a break. And, you always try and boil it down to taxpayer money to get others on your fucking side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

AFAIK it will...look it it'll be over before you know
    Neighbour here was sent to cork for not paying fine for poaching :rolleyes:

They gave him the dinner and sent him home again!

Is poaching illegal? Poaching what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

melissak wrote: »
    Is poaching illegal? Poaching what?

Eggs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Eggs

You bet me to it :)

Ha ha.
    Eggs

Ha ha.
    Eggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Eggs, lmao

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Different dates, as they're still fines warrants, will be run in as well so it looks like it's 30 days max. Make sure the Garda has all the outstanding warrants when you go. Remission is a quarter so 22/23 days max but you most likely won't do anything like that.
    If you haven't been to jail before though IMO it's still not worth taking the chance even if you do only stay for a couple of hours. Is it really worth getting a prison number for?? That never goes away !!

A lot of fine defaulters are never given a prison number. They are just turned around and sent home again. The prison authorities do not want short term prisoners. If the person didn't do anything bad enough to get a custodial sentence in the first place they are at the head of the queue when there is a shortage of space to house the prisoners given serious sentences.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

Looking like I will be going there. Only for unpaid fines for driving stuff. They add up to alot and I don't want to end up in debt so going to do the time instead. I already have the convictions so it won't change my record but I will save on the fines. Added together it's about 30 days but the guard I was talking to said I would probably only do a few days at most and that some people with fines only do a few hours. The guard was sound and gave me a few days to get things to get sorted.

So just wondering if anybody knows what it's like inside? Do people in for fines be kept apart from the regular prisoners? If you are in Dublin do you go to Mountjoy?

Bring plenty of Vaseline for your botty vageen and lots of money to pay them allow you the chance to use the Vaseline first......

Eggs, lmao
    Tompatrick wrote: »
    Bring plenty of Vaseline for your botty vageen and lots of money to pay them allow you the chance to use the Vaseline first......

What a helpful and compassionate response...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

melissak wrote: »
    What a helpful and compassionate response...

No probs

It's probably the most useful advice in the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭rondog

As I said previously lad,i can guarantee you wont get raped so don't mind the g0b****es on this forum who have never gotten so much as a parking ticket.

Prison isn't the Hollywood BS that you see on TV.

Keep your head down,dont take anything even if offered from anyone.

Stay well away from drugs in there as they are the root of 95% of issues in prison.

Be civil and keep to yourself and you will be out in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

The last guy I knew who was in for fines was actually back home before the guards that brought him there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭FineFilly

I know a lad who was in cloverhill ,keep the head down and it seems you will be grand ,pity they wouldn't jail the real scumbags of the country and not the mickey mouse fines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Ironic that by going to prison the op not only gets himself out of debt but will also end up with a bumhole large enough to store loose change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

Very Bored wrote: »
    Ironic that by going to prison the op not only gets himself out of debt but will also end up with a bumhole large enough to store loose change.

No wonder its where guys in prison store there drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Very Bored wrote: »

You've been watching to much american tv homie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

it really depends on the current numbers in the jail , if its packed to the walls you ll be out before the cops who drop you off, of its quite you will end up spending a bit of time there , either way theres landings for first timers so if you keep your head down and you mouth closed and you will come out of it a wiser man.

also pay your Fcuking fines becase soon they will be able to take it out of your wages/dole and a good thing it is too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Ireland told to stop sending people to prison for not paying fines
    THE UN HAS expressed concern at the number of people going to prison for failure to pay fines.

In an eight page document released by the international body’s Human Rights Committee yesterday, it said an alternative method needs to be looked at.

This is despite the adoption of Enforcement of Court Orders (amendment) Act 2009 and Fines (payment and recovery) Act 2014 by the State.

The UN committee said: “The State party should fully implement the Fines (payment and recovery) Act 2014 to provide for a community service order as an alternative to imprisonment used as a method of enforcing contractual obligations.”
    Welcoming the recommendations the Irish Penal Reform Trust (IPRT) called on the Government to act on the committee’s recommendations “without delay”.

Deirdre Malone, executive director of the IPRT said: “The Committee is uncompromising in its statement that no one should be sent to prison for failure to pay fines or debts. The Fines Act 2014… must be fully implemented, and with urgency.
    “In the meantime, Ireland continues to send thousands of people to prison every year for being unable to pay fines,” Malone said.

Article here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭Old Bill

Looking like I will be going there. Only for unpaid fines for driving stuff. They add up to alot and I don't want to end up in debt so going to do the time instead. I already have the convictions so it won't change my record but I will save on the fines. Added together it's about 30 days but the guard I was talking to said I would probably only do a few days at most and that some people with fines only do a few hours. The guard was sound and gave me a few days to get things to get sorted.

So just wondering if anybody knows what it's like inside? Do people in for fines be kept apart from the regular prisoners? If you are in Dublin do you go to Mountjoy?

As I said on another thread.

Irish prisions are more akin to Hotels.

They have Sky Sports, Playstations, Xboxs, Gyms, Pool tables, TV, DVD players, Libraries, Gluten Free food, Football Yard, Full medical care and many other benefits.

Its no wonder Criminals keep going back there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

rondog wrote: »
    As I said previously lad,i can guarantee you wont get raped so don't mind the g0b****es on this forum who have never gotten so much as a parking ticket.

Prison isn't the Hollywood BS that you see on TV.

Keep your head down,dont take anything even if offered from anyone.

Stay well away from drugs in there as they are the root of 95% of issues in prison.

Be civil and keep to yourself and you will be out in no time.

I don't know what the general consensus is, but to be honest, someone being in prison would make them more of a gob****e than someone "who hasn't even got a parking ticket". Or is having been to prison some sort of badge of honour?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

I don't know what the general consensus is, but to be honest, someone being in prison would make them more of a gob****e than someone "who hasn't even got a parking ticket". Or is having been to prison some sort of badge of honour?

It is among certain classes of people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

Would be better off sewing your arse shut and going on a colostomy bag.