Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know anything about prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Each to their own but my sanity and wellbeing would come over my pride and i'd get a loan off some friends.
    I was thinking it was massive money when i originally read that he was thinking about doing time rather than paying up, 2800 euro is a pittance to pay for your mental health and wellbeing in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

It's best to walk around like a hard man on your first day.
    When you walk into the canteen seating area push over the guy sitting on the best located seat and take the milk from the guy next to you.
    This will ensure you a safe stay for the duration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Each to their own but my sanity and wellbeing would come over my pride and i'd get a loan off some friends.
    I was thinking it was massive money when i originally read that he was thinking about doing time rather than paying up, 2800 euro is a pittance to pay for your mental health and wellbeing in my opinion.

Not if you haven't got it. It's massive money to me to be honest. Sure, he had plenty of time to save it up, but I don't know his circumstances so I won't judge. I am only giving my input as to his current circumstances.

My guess is that he'll do a couple of hours, and shortly after being released will break his hole laughing when he realises how easy it was to have a 2800 debt wiped clean!:pac:

pablo128 wrote: »
    Not if you haven't got it. It's massive money to me to be honest. Sure, he had plenty of time to save it up, but I don't know his circumstances so I won't judge. I am only giving my input as to his current circumstances.

My guess is that he'll do a couple of hours, and shortly after being released will break his hole laughing when he realises how easy it was to have a 2800 debt wiped clean!:pac:

Hopefully that's what happens :)

Thespoofer wrote: »
    It's best to walk around like a hard man on your first day.
    When you walk into the canteen seating area push over the guy sitting on the best located seat and take the milk from the guy next to you.
    This will ensure you a safe stay for the duration.

Similar to Max Bygraves https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJez7AbocbE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

You'll be very surprised at how nice the guards and po's are to you. They know scum from normal people and will try to make it as easy on you as possible.

Saying that though, nothing can prepare you for when the door closes behind you and you can't get out.

Spend those first few (hardest) minutes planning a weekend away or similar. You'll be on the bus home before you know it.

I love it -'they know scum from normal people '...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Hopefully that's what happens :)

AFAIK it will...look it it'll be over before you know
    Neighbour here was sent to cork for not paying fine for poaching :rolleyes:

They gave him the dinner and sent him home again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

In my opinion you should do the time and pay the fine with the fine taken out of your dole, tax or whatever.

It cannot be allowed to be financially beneficial for the OP to say oh I'll take prison and suddenly my fines disappear. The costs putting someone up in prison should not be added to the losses in unpaid fines.

So the prison sentence should go hand in hand with compulsary charging either through dole or whatever other means necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

I'm female in a similar position, seriously considering the time too..
    Anyone an incite to the female prisons?? I've seen orange is the new black, that i could cope with

tupenny wrote: »
    Anyone an incite to the female prisons?? I've seen orange is the new black, that i could cope with

If you can atal avoid it....as afaik it's literally the worst of the worst get sent down to female prisons

Whether right or wrong you'll see woman get left out for a lot more serious offences that men get sent down for (I'm not winding up/being sexist here...just from my experience)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭flunkyfearsome

Right now I could to with the break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭acb121

Its not that bad.

I got put in a cell with a huge bearded fella, maybe 20 stone, with huge muscles and tats.

He grabbed me round the neck and said " We are going to play Mummies and Daddies. Now. Who do you want to be ? "

After considering the question, I replied " Daddy ".

" Good answer " said the fella.

" Now suck mummies c@ck ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

FortySeven wrote: »
    For real, the other thread posted had a few decent facts but to be honest, the POs have about 10% knowledge of what really goes on in prisons. If they had any idea there would be no drugs, no phones and no assaults. They just react. Usually too late.

They have a lot more knowledge than that FortySeven - but they're hardly going to tell you that ;) I'm sure you've seen fellas being transferred unexpectedly and with supposedly no good reason....
    Every jail in the world has drugs, phones and assaults. Phones are a lot more scarce in Irish Jails than they used to be but there'll always be a few.
    sean2591 wrote: »
    ..... the fines are €2,800 and the number of days in lieu is actually 45. ......
    .... I just can't afford €2,800 and it's not like it would change my record.

Is that 45 days total or is it 45 days on the longest one?? Only the longest one counts.
    It will change your record in that you'll always show up as having done time in Prison once you're issued with a Prison number.
    For people that have never been to prison I'd always advise paying it. Different if you have a Prison number already..
    According to the citizens site anything over €635 is 90 days default. If there is more than one you could be looking at consecutive sentence, a lot depends on what efforts you have made to pay. 90 days, even with remission I doubt they would let you right back out. It's a three month sentence.

That's all BS. The fine and length of sentence is generally at the discretion of the Judge and they're NEVER consecutive if they're fine sentences.
    Of course it's a complete waste of time, money and resources.

Prison should ONLY be for violent offences where the offender is a clear risk to the public.

You send people in and they come out 10 times worse, look at the recidivism rates for Ireland - system clearly broken.

Pretty much the same rates around most of Europe actually so we're not that far out of line, if at all.
    No point in just keeping prison for violent offences either. What about burglaries, criminal damage, drink driving repeat offenders etc?? Do you not want any deterrent for those??
    Uncle Ben wrote: »
    I love it -'they know scum from normal people '...
    tupenny wrote: »

Don't do it...end of story. I'd nearly bet my house that you'll be out in a couple of hours but I'd still say not to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 sean2591

Stheno wrote: »
    I don't think you'll be out in a few hours if you've 45 days to serve tbh

I know that because it adds up to 45 days altogether it's probably more than most. One of them is only 3 days. I'd say if i was just going in for that it would only be a couple of hours.
    starling wrote: »
    To be fair, this isn't just "unpaid fines," the original offence involved crimes that have the potential to cause serious harm - drink driving particularly, but also driving with no insurance means that in the case of an accident OP wouldn't be able to make any kind of restitution. What I'm saying is that "unpaid fines" can make it sound like he didn't have a TV licence. No offence OP and fair play to you for changing that behaviour, but wouldn't you agree that it is your responsibility to deal with the consequences of that behaviour?

Now bearing in mind the young fella I mentioned up thread, believe me when I say I'm not trying to claim that you deserve to be beaten and raped or physically harmed in any way - I'm just talking about the notion that choices have consequences, you know what I mean I hope.

I do know what you're saying. i did go a bit mad for a bit and I know I have to deal with the consequences and that's what I'm doing. It's all made me grow up a bit.

I know what you said about that guy. It sounds so tragic but I'd say it's pretty unique but I know it's not the best place to be.

I went in for fines 3 times to Maghaberry prison in the north... 2x 7days and a 14 day.
    The system there was to hand yourself in to the local barracks at about 10pm and spend the night in a cell there and that counted as a day. Following morning brought up. Few hours in the holding cells and then down to the committal wing where it was 23hr lockup. Meals in the cell and an hour in the yard. Then out in 3 days.
    The 14 day one saw me processed through the committal wing and onto a main wing. That was an eye opener for sure. Shared a cell for 4 days there with a headbanger that was coming down off all sorts of ****. But he wasn't physically intimidating ... But he stank like a farmyard animal.
    There was manslaughter inmates and other serious lads on that wing in their own single cells. Only really conversed with them in the que for the phone and on the last day I gave out what was left of my tuck shop which they seemed to appreciate.
    The 7 day ones usually meant 1 night in the barracks and 2/3 in the prison... The 14 day one was 3 days in committal wing and 4 on the main.

I then did the same thing for fines down here.... Guard called out to the house... Asked me was tomorrow ok for me. I said yes...
    Arrived at the local barracks at 8am... He told me he wasn't ready as the other guy I was going with was running late... Head on there and get a coffee and come back at 10am.... Back at 10 and into the car... Drove a couple of hours from wicklow to Portlaoise prison and had a grand chat.
    Into the prison... Into a holding cell by 12.30 or so.... Little bit later, the worst meal of my life arrived... 4pm given conditional release papers and released with a travel voucher ... Walked down to the train station, got the train home and back in wicklow on my sofa for a late dinner.

So it seems it's usual to do half the time up North. What happened to you down here seems funny. How many days was that meant to be?
    starling wrote: »
    FYP.

He could pay it, he's choosing prison over debt. That's his choice to make and I'm not judging him for it, but he's still responsible for what he did and for how he chooses to deal with the consequences.

If an offence merits a fine, then there has to be some consequence when someone who doesn't pay the fine, wouldn't you agree?

Now personally I think it would be better if someone in OP's position could do community service instead of just sitting in prison. That has the potential to benefit both the OP and the community. He'd basically be paying the fine, but with his labour by "working it off" instead of getting into debt.

Another potential benefit would be that hypothetically if he did something like helping out at a hospital or something that put him in a position to become familiar with the potential effects of drink driving, it would be a much more effective deterrent in the future.

But that's neither here nor there because apparently the options for OP are prison or pay. The point is, there has to be some real consequences for a crime, and that in fairness, OP is a big boy and he did make a choice.

I actually asked about that but that's not how it works. You have to pay up or go to prison. I'd much prefer to do some community service.
    rondog wrote: »
    Don't bring anything of value.No watches ,jewellery etc.Any junkie or other crim will try to take it from you if he considers you weak so he can use it as a bartering tool in prison for tobacco,drugs etc.

Tell your parents.I thought I was going in to court before for a fine and ended up on remand.Had to tell my mother on the phone and as I had kept the whole court thing a secret from my family she was completely shocked to find out as she thought I was going to the shops to do the lotto:(.

Its true what they say,if you are approached,dont be a bitch.Stand up to someone if they get in your face as you may very well be tested when on remand.

Keep your head down in there.Dont take anything off anyone cos they may say 'ah gowan have that' but I saw lads being approached in the following days for payment and payment was a lot more then you would pay onteh outside ir for use of an illegal phone might cost over a hundred quid.Once youre in debt,youre in debt and you will have to pay back somehow and you can imagine what they might ask.
    rondog wrote: »
    This is completely true based on my experience.

When you are on remand you are held in a cell in the court,downstairs,before you are put in the paddywagon.In these cells could be about 10+ other on remand or convicted prisoners waiting to be escorted to prison.

If you know you may be going to prison I wouldn't take jewellery or an ything that advertises you have anything valuable.

When you get to prison,if you know someone locked up you can ask to be put in with them.If not you will go to a holding cell until you are given somewhere to stay or if you are put on protection you will go to relevant cell.

Stamp on any matresses too that you get when you get there if that's the case.Junkies have been known to hide syringes in the mattresses.

Thanks man - heard some of that before. Don't plan on bringing anything valuable at all. I presume they take anything you have from you like at the Garda station - phone, wallet, keys all that.

Do you get to keep your own clothes? Can you get more dropped in if you need them?

I was in those holding cells once before when I got arrested and had a bench warrant. Spent the night in the Garda cells before going to court. There were a few of us waiting and then 2 lads came in who had come from prison. They were giving it loads and winding us up a bit but were alright. I had some smokes with me that the guards let me keep and they just tried to cadge them from me. I was only in that cell for a couple of hours so have a bit of an idea what you mean.

Unlucky or maybe lucky for me I don't know anybody in prison or who has been.

You'll be very surprised at how nice the guards and po's are to you. They know scum from normal people and will try to make it as easy on you as possible.

Saying that though, nothing can prepare you for when the door closes behind you and you can't get out.

Spend those first few (hardest) minutes planning a weekend away or similar. You'll be on the bus home before you know it.

Hope so. Been in the Garda cells before so know about the slamming of the door but say prison is much different
    2800 quid or jail :eek: Surely you've some friends that could help you out with that kind of money :confused: . People spend that on a holiday.
    2800 is 2 months wages if you were on the minimum wage. Now if you are not working, doing 2 days at most in the clink is a rather appealing option. If nothing else, it will be an experience. And who knows? The next time he is tempted to get behind the wheel uninsured or whatever, it might make him think twice.

If I was in the same position, I'd take the jail time.

€2,800 is loads for me - already owe a bit so don't want to have more - just not worth it. Like I said before I finished up working a couple of weeks ago and have applied for JobSeekers while I am trying to get something else.

Mountjoy 93% full tonight. Daily figures here. I'd say with 90 days you have a good cvhance of being locked up.

Didn't know they put that up online. Enough spaces so that's not so good. I thought the prisons were meant to be overcrowded. Maybe there weren't as many court cases over the Summer so there are less than normal in there now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

What age are you OP ? if you don't mind me asking

Mountjoy 93% full tonight. Daily figures here. I'd say with 90 days you have a good cvhance of being locked up.

Didn't know they put that up online. Enough spaces so that's not so good. I thought the prisons were meant to be overcrowded. Maybe there weren't as many court cases over the Summer so there are less than normal in there now?

I know that because it adds up to 45 days altogether it's probably more than most. One of them is only 3 days. I'd say if i was just going in for that it would only be a couple of hours.

What's the longest one as that's the only one that really counts? Everything else is 'run-in' to that one. i.e if the longest one is 7 or 15 days or whatever that's as much as you'll potentially do (less remission).

Do a runner??

They'll not extradite you over an unpaid fine and arrange payments through your soliciter

Or even try pay off like e20 a week...once they see your making some effort...possible leeway??

Those stats don't always give a true reflection though. For instance there's nearly always some 2 bed cells with only one occupant for possibly security/protection reasons or whatever.

jimd2 wrote: »
    In my opinion you should do the time and pay the fine with the fine taken out of your dole, tax or whatever.

It cannot be allowed to be financially beneficial for the OP to say oh I'll take prison and suddenly my fines disappear. The costs putting someone up in prison should not be added to the losses in unpaid fines.

So the prison sentence should go hand in hand with compulsary charging either through dole or whatever other means necessary.

Well if they made you pay the fine then you wouldn't have to go to prison would you?

What age are you OP ? if you don't mind me asking

What's the longest one as that's the only one that really counts? Everything else is 'run-in' to that one. i.e if the longest one is 7 or 15 days or whatever that's as much as you'll potentially do (less remission).

Right maybe that changes things. The solicitor when I was back in court said something about that The worst one I think is 30 days and she said the ones linked to that wouldn't count. But I thought she said that the 7 days and 3 days were for different dates so were separate. And then I have a 5 day one for the public order charge. I'm not sure if I'm totally right but thinking about the guard said 30 days as well.

What do you get as remission?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Right maybe that changes things. The solicitor when I was back in court said something about that The worst one I think is 30 days and she said the ones linked to that wouldn't count. But I thought she said that the 7 days and 3 days were for different dates so were separate. And then I have a 5 day one for the public order charge. I'm not sure if I'm totally right but thinking about the guard said 30 days as well.

No remission if the sentence is under a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

You're quite young so. Hopefully you're not in their too long.

Different dates, as they're still fines warrants, will be run in as well so it looks like it's 30 days max. Make sure the Garda has all the outstanding warrants when you go. Remission is a quarter so 22/23 days max but you most likely won't do anything like that.
    If you haven't been to jail before though IMO it's still not worth taking the chance even if you do only stay for a couple of hours. Is it really worth getting a prison number for?? That never goes away !!

It will change your record in that you'll always show up as having done time in Prison once you're issued with a Prison number.
    For people that have never been to prison I'd always advise paying it. Different if you have a Prison number already..

But nobody would know that only the prisons would they so is it a big deal I know my criminal record is different?

Whatever happens with this I won't be going back to prison after it

Those stats don't always give a true reflection though. For instance there's nearly always some 2 bed cells with only one occupant for possibly security/protection reasons or whatever.

All cells in Mountjoy (Dublin's committal prison) are single cells.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Omackeral wrote: »
    All cells in Mountjoy (Dublin's committal prison) are single cells.

Are the 'caravans' gone from C wing then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Are the 'caravans' gone from C wing then?

The whole lot was refurbished. All cells are single occupancy with fully functioning sanitation.