What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I walked into the room, the cat started purring the moment she saw me, followed by rubbing herself against my leg and a couple of slow blinks. Simple but effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

Had the best walk with my puppy, he seems to be WAY more toy motivated than food motivated, so brought a tug toy with me for a walk and it seemed to relax/occupy him. The moment he got back home he ran back to the front door and sat there as if to say "lets go out again!"

The least stressful walk I've had with him. So happy!

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

hardCopy wrote: »
    Mo made his first proper friend at the weekend.

My fianceé's parents have a farm which Mo loves to run around when we visit. On his last visit he wasn't a bit impressed to find an adopted border collie in residence. Mo is a house dog and Prince is an outdoor farm dog so the two were kept separate for the weekend after an unpleasant confrontation.

This weekend we brought him down again. We arrived late on Friday night so the two boys didn't meet but Mo could smell Prince every time he went to pee. I took him for a swim and a long walk to tire him out before the first meeting on Saturday morning. Tensions were high and neither dog looked comfortable but after a few rounds of brief meetings and breaks the two ended up chasing each other in the field for most of the day. I've never seen Mo so tired as he was on Saturday evening, on Sunday all he wanted to do was get back outside and play.

He had an absolute ball and it's the first time in ages we managed to burn off all his hyper energy (he recently managed to jump on the vet while sedated).

Edit to add: while playing he got himself so overheated that he dug a hole in a flooded part of the field and lay down in the mud, I can only assume to cool off. The dog who thinks he's a pig.

We had Mo visiting Prince again last weekend the two dogs are much more comfortable around each other now and happy to spend the whole day together outside. Mo definitely has more energy than Prince and can't seem to take a break, if Prince won't chase him he has to go looking for cows or birds but he doesn't seem to be bothering Prince when Prince wants a break.

This is great to see because the two dogs will be spending the guts of a month together during our wedding build-up and honeymoon. We've found a nice boarding kennel/home where they can stay together Mo gets to sleep in the sitting room and hang out indoors in the evening if he wants and both will have the run of a large site during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Diane Selwyn

My dog barked!

I know but wait - the thing is that since she came to live with me in December, and aside from the odd small sleep bark, its only the second time she's ever done it. The first time was the day she came home and I had to leave her to go out to the shop (for dog food!). When I got back to the house I thought I heard her barking. Then - nothing - until this morning. She's a rescue so I concluded that whoever she lived with before must have discouraged barking somehow…

Long story short - this morning on our walk we met a cat she wanted to play with but the cat was not so keen - bark! I actually wasn't quite sure where the noise came from for a second!!

We had Mo visiting Prince again last weekend the two dogs are much more comfortable around each other now and happy to spend the whole day together outside. Mo definitely has more energy than Prince and can't seem to take a break, if Prince won't chase him he has to go looking for cows or birds but he doesn't seem to be bothering Prince when Prince wants a break.

This is great to see because the two dogs will be spending the guts of a month together during our wedding build-up and honeymoon. We've found a nice boarding kennel/home where they can stay together Mo gets to sleep in the sitting room and hang out indoors in the evening if he wants and both will have the run of a large site during the day.

We got back from our Honeymoon on Tuesday and had to wait until Friday to pick Mo up from my in laws. He had an absolute ball for the few weeks and has learned to play fight with his buddy. We arrived down on Friday evening and managed to sneak up on Mo while he was napping, I think he was in shock when he saw us cue lots of licks, hugs and ear chewing.

We let the two dogs out for a run shortly after we arrived and were a bit shocked to see them wrestling, growling and biting each other. It was all for fun though and both dogs were enjoying themselves the whole time.

Mo's demeanour is quite different from when we left, his demented hyperactivity seems to be under control which seems to be due to the absolutely massive amount of exercise he got on the farm. The plan from now on is to massively increase the amount of exercise we give him. (Which means lots of recall work so that we can let him loose in the park again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

We got back from our Honeymoon on Tuesday and had to wait until Friday to pick Mo up from my in laws. He had an absolute ball for the few weeks and has learned to play fight with his buddy. We arrived down on Friday evening and managed to sneak up on Mo while he was napping, I think he was in shock when he saw us cue lots of licks, hugs and ear chewing.

We let the two dogs out for a run shortly after we arrived and were a bit shocked to see them wrestling, growling and biting each other. It was all for fun though and both dogs were enjoying themselves the whole time.

Mo's demeanour is quite different from when we left, his demented hyperactivity seems to be under control which seems to be due to the absolutely massive amount of exercise he got on the farm. The plan from now on is to massively increase the amount of exercise we give him. (Which means lots of recall work so that we can let him loose in the park again)

Just a comment but has anyone else noticed that their dogs behave very differently when being taken care of by someone else? Specifically when in someplace other than home? I know I spoil my pets very badly, but Im always surprised to see how their personality is very different when with someone else/somewhere else. I suppose obviously their confidence is not there so much when they are someplace not so familiar, and the person minding them doesnt know their triggers/cues etc.

Maybe Mo was more controlled because he was someplace unfamiliar, and he was in another dogs house? Maybe he was subdued being someplace "new"?
    Let us know how he is when he gets home/to the routine - and under the new increased exercise regime

Welcome home after your honeymoon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

My better half got the complete seal of approval from the cats. Normally they are very skittish around new people and it takes them a while to warm up to anyone visiting but nope - straight over all purrs and rubbing around legs. I was carrying Peach and she dived out of my arms into hers and sat across her shoulders, Cream was sitting on my lap and crawled from me over to her, curled up and fell asleep (and he does not EVER sit on new people), and dude slept sprawled across both our laps at the same time. Animals judgement is always right I think :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

My better half got the complete seal of approval from the cats. Normally they are very skittish around new people and it takes them a while to warm up to anyone visiting but nope - straight over all purrs and rubbing around legs. I was carrying Peach and she dived out of my arms into hers and sat across her shoulders, Cream was sitting on my lap and crawled from me over to her, curled up and fell asleep (and he does not EVER sit on new people), and dude slept sprawled across both our laps at the same time. Animals judgement is always right I think :D

Back when I brought the OH home for the first time I was worried how bunty would react, she hated new people and would usually hide from visitors. She licked him :-P within hours he was her second favourite person :-) this was a cat that besides me and my parents everybody else just seen photos or a blurry object steak by. I think an animals approval is the best sort :-P

Not smiling today - can I include a reply in the "what your pet did to make you CRY today" on here?!?! We're off abroad tomorrow for 5 weeks. Put Tux into the cattery this morning :( She somehow managed to cut her toe last night - just saw it this morning. :( The cattery is fabulous. The woman who owns it seems so lovely. Tux has a fabulous safe, warm, cosy enclosed huge space - with climbing/ladders/big caged area etc etc, but cried leaving her there, looking at me as if I was deserting her, and cried all the way home, and cried in the supermarket when I saw Whiskas (she HATES Whiskas!!) Keep telling myself she is safe and fed and warm and cared for, but it doesnt help at all :(

aonb wrote: »
    Just a comment but has anyone else noticed that their dogs behave very differently when being taken care of by someone else? Specifically when in someplace other than home? I know I spoil my pets very badly, but Im always surprised to see how their personality is very different when with someone else/somewhere else. I suppose obviously their confidence is not there so much when they are someplace not so familiar, and the person minding them doesnt know their triggers/cues etc.

Maybe Mo was more controlled because he was someplace unfamiliar, and he was in another dogs house? Maybe he was subdued being someplace "new"?
    Let us know how he is when he gets home/to the routine - and under the new increased exercise regime

Welcome home after your honeymoon :)

Mo visits the my wife's home a lot so there's no shyness in this instance. We did notice that I was able to call him back into the house first time when my in laws had trouble getting him in and had to bribe him all week, it's like he's on special behaviour for me since we got back. Maybe he's being a good boy in case we send him away again. :(

We even managed to ween him off climbing on the couch since we got back and he now has a lovely comfy bed in the sitting room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭redbel05

Our cat, Mia sleeps in the barns at night behind the house. This morning she wasn't at the door to be let in for her breakfast so I said to our little dog Bel, " Where do you think the cats gone?" Bel shoots off to the barns and the two of them return a minute later for lots of cuddles and rubbing up against me from the two of them.
    Its made me smile to see the two of them running in tandem cos they pay no heed whatsoever to each other once they are in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

Since we started using the lavender oil all 4 of our cats are often in the living room with us at the same time which almost never happened in the past. I picked up another 2 cat beds and Felix and Jazzy spend most of their time in those while Toby has discovered the joy of sofa:) I can't help smiling when I see them all happily cosy in the same room with none of them harassing the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭vagazzled

Ruby my adopted JRT didn't roll in poo today on her walk. She got a quick roll in on the grass on-lead but there was no poo there. YaaaaaaY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

My Tibetan terrier vomits back up any potato he gets, even a bit of mash, but would eat a bowl of rice. Bread gives him a dodgy belly too, as does milk ( which he never goes near), but very hot beef curry, or chilli, garlic roasted chicken seem not to bother him at all. Neither did the bags of frozen veggies (broccoli at least 3 times) and a whole sea bass, bags of frozen Donegal catch and numerous tins of sardines in spicy tomato sauce He's stolen (the list is too long, and added to weekly even includes about half a jar of sweet chilli jam I made which was too hot for me) today he didn't try to steal my toast when I got up to get the remote. He just wagged his tail when I told him good boy.
    He's 7, he just doesn't get why anything left in his reach isn't his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

We have this cat, I call him Fat F*ck (but in an endearing way). He's a huge boy, comes in around 7 kilo but he's not actually fat. He's just big. He wandered in around 8 years ago and stayed. We've no idea how old he is. He has a weird musty smell, like an old man's coat that you've found in the back of the wardrobe. And he's fluffy and generally a big bear. I've seen him watch a mouse scurry past and just blink at it. Couldn't be bothered hunting. He's super chilled, sits in the middle of the road licking where his man bits used to be. Anyway, no matter how much we feed him, he's never full. He'll tear the bin if he can (a throwback to his time straying?), and will eat then beg ten minutes later (onset of dementia?).

So, I take the neighbours dog out for a walk. Their 3 cats generally gather on the roof of an old kennel they have lying around, as they know I will feed them when I bring the dog back. 3 little dinks, delighted to be getting proper food and a few treats. Anyway, last week. Took the dog out. Brought her back, fed her etc. Turned to walk down to where the 3 little dinks wait patiently for a bite, and who is sitting in the middle of them, pretending to be a part of the group - Fat F*ck :P Sitting there blinking at me, "yeah I've always been here man, show me the food" :) Obviously clocked the routine and figured he'd act the stray, that I wouldn't notice, and he'd score an extra meal :P

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    We have this cat, I call him Fat F*ck (but in an endearing way). He's a huge boy, comes in around 7 kilo but he's not actually fat. He's just big. He wandered in around 8 years ago and stayed. We've no idea how old he is. He has a weird musty smell, like an old man's coat that you've found in the back of the wardrobe. And he's fluffy and generally a big bear. I've seen him watch a mouse scurry past and just blink at it. Couldn't be bothered hunting. He's super chilled, sits in the middle of the road licking where his man bits used to be. Anyway, no matter how much we feed him, he's never full. He'll tear the bin if he can (a throwback to his time straying?), and will eat then beg ten minutes later (onset of dementia?).

So, I take the neighbours dog out for a walk. Their 3 cats generally gather on the roof of an old kennel they have lying around, as they know I will feed them when I bring the dog back. 3 little dinks, delighted to be getting proper food and a few treats. Anyway, last week. Took the dog out. Brought her back, fed her etc. Turned to walk down to where the 3 little dinks wait patiently for a bite, and who is sitting in the middle of them, pretending to be a part of the group - Fat F*ck :P Sitting there blinking at me, "yeah I've always been here man, show me the food" :) Obviously clocked the routine and figured he'd act the stray, that I wouldn't notice, and he'd score an extra meal :P

Hey, that kind of sneaky subterfuge DESERVES the extra meal :) What an intelligent boy!! Maybe you could get him a bit of "diet" food, if hes that much of a piggy he will scoff it regardless. So much for onset of dementia huh?!
    Love the clever old pets like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,045 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Is Fat F*ck a ginger cat, by any chance?

Nope, although he has all the personality hallmarks :)

Brought the dog out for some "exercise" before work the other morning. Thought it would be great if we both enjoyed the crisp morning to be all motivated and stuff. Threw the ball for her. She retrieved it, dropped it at my feet then walked past me into the house and back to bed. "It's 7am. if you want the ball feckin get it yourself".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Brought the dog out for some "exercise" before work the other morning. Thought it would be great if we both enjoyed the crisp morning to be all motivated and stuff. Threw the ball for her. She retrieved it, dropped it at my feet then walked past me into the house and back to bed. "It's 7am. if you want the ball feckin get it yourself".

I'm babysitting my brother's dog this week and she did the exact same thing to me, although not at 7 am! She normally loves to chase the ball but all the deer scents in our garden proved far more engrossing than the ball......she fetched it once and left me to fetch the rest of the time! I'm a Mug....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

I had to wash Patch's chest and head earlier and just the way dogs are so springy and a bit mad after a wash (even if it's half a wash). I felt a bit sorry for her because we were out on a walk and on the way back (about 2 minutes from the house) and there was a car coming so we stopped. Where we stopped was where cows cross to the parlour so there was **** on the road. Anyway car comes along and ends up spraying us with ****. I didn't mind too much as it was just on my pants and shoes but poor old patch got sprayed in the face and her chest. I think she was a bit shocked.

We got 2 identical pet beds last week and it's funny to see the size difference between Felix and Jazzy in them. They're side by side and while Jazzy fills half of his Felix fills the whole of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Just 5 minutes ago, I was lying in bed and I had a toaster pancake on my bedside locker. When I wasn't looking, Pepper got between the bed and my bedside locker, stretched her whole body up, grabbed the pancake and then proceeded to jump up on the bed and over me to escape with the pancake! She had a nice little feast at the bottom of the bed and I still can't stop laughing at how cheeky she was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,045 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

KatW4 wrote: »
    Just 5 minutes ago, I was lying in bed and I had a toaster pancake on my bedside locker. When I wasn't looking, Pepper got between the bed and my bedside locker, stretched her whole body up, grabbed the pancake and then proceeded to jump up on the bed and over me to escape with the pancake! She had a nice little feast at the bottom of the bed and I still can't stop laughing at how cheeky she was!

I'm guilty of resource guarding.
    I wouldn't have found that remotely funny.
    Is pepper a snake, dog, cat, ferret?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I'm guilty of resource guarding. I wouldn't have found that remotely funny. Is pepper a snake, dog, cat, ferret?

Well I call her a kitten but she's a cat at this stage! She was just so cheeky, that's what made me laugh :D

KatW4 wrote: »

I caught Jazzy sizing up some cheese and tomato pizza that was cooling on the work top the other night, I got to it before he did though. But I gave him some cooked chicken in lieu.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

Yesterday Cookie started eating what was left of Sammy's dinner, even though Cookie's own dish wasn't empty. Sammy looked at me like "what do I do". So I held up Cookie's dish to him to show him that there was still food left in that and he ran over and started eating it. They get exactly the same food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Got spotted, picked up and returned home after three months missing :D:D:D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Oh that's brilliant news, Jimmy!! Welcome home Oscar!!

Jazzy decided to come to bed and wash my hair by licking it and tugging it with his teeth at stupid o'clock this morning. His way of telling me it was breakfast time. He hasn't done that for ages, cute as it was I hope he doesn't make it a habit.