What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I'm away for the week in the Gaeltacht. My bf text to say Pepper has been so bold since I left! Biting him, ripping things up and just getting into mischief. Apparently she's been pottering around trying to find me (probably not but I like to think so). I can't wait to see her tomorrow evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,526 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

Milo got de-nutted. He has perfected the John Wayne walk :) Poor mite, I've never seen any pet step so gingerly over a 2 inch lip of a bed before.

Of course, when no one is looking he jumps up onto a 2 foot toy box out the back and down again without any issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

I've always been so worried about our visiting Ferals attacking my cats and transmitting FIV or FeLV (though they do have the vaccine for the latter). This morning my fears were proven wrong. I looked out into my front garden and saw all three of my cats with Toothless, the black feral. Himself and Cream were rubbing faces, Peach was sitting back and watching, and himself and dude started playing chase, slapping each other's ankles and tripping each other up! It's lovely to see Ferals acting the same as the tamest cats when they all play together :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

I know I posted here earlier but something else made me even happier than this mornings events!
    My uncle has two friends visiting at the moment and the way our houses are set up, we share a garden. A few minutes ago I was looking out into the back, and I could see one of his friends walking around the place..followed by the dog..then followed by peach and cream!
    Cream especially is terrified of strangers and runs away if anyone is new around, but he was rubbing into her legs and rolling over for belly rubs! Then he was showing off climbing one of the trees...and he crawled from the tree onto her shoulders and then down into her arms and was giving her kisses! I'm in complete and utter shock. I'm the only person cream has ever done that to before! I feel cheated on :P but I'm so delighted that he's not terrified. It's massive progress for him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Mo has had a difficult couple of months. He's 9 months old and from the time he hit about six months he got far too strong for most people to walk him so his walks were shortened while we worked on loose lead walking. This meant less encounters with other dogs which made him anxious around them and he developed a verrry loud bark that came out whenever he came within 100 metres of another dog.

Last month we enrolled him in an obedience class to try and work on his general behaviour and hopefully help him make friends with the other dogs. The class was great but Mo was very anxious around the other dogs. He wanted to play but charged in barking like mad every time he saw the other dogs. We mostly had to work at the far end of the hall, away from the other dogs. By the end of the six week course he was able to quietly but nervously approach one of the dogs and sniff around a bit without freaking out or intimidating the other dog.

On these short walks we've worked hard at loose lead walking and I've been rewarding him every time he reacts calmly to seeing a dog or car.

Around the same time that we shortened his walks he started running off when let off the lead and his recall went out the window so we've also been working with a long line in quiet areas of the park to build up his recall.

This week we've had a couple of positive encounters with very calm quiet dogs who were patient enough to let Mo sniff around them without reacting and he has gotten noticeably calmer when approaching dogs.

Last night we decided to put some faith in his training and let him off the lead again in the local park. He ran around us in circles going absolutely bonkers and once he had let off steam we were able to call him back to us for big praise and treats. He even came back to me when he encountered a screaming jogger (who is apparently terrified of dogs). He then made friends with another dog and the two took turns chasing each other for about 5 minutes until Mo flopped down exhausted at our feet.

This was huge for us and for Mo and meant months of patience testing work finally falling into place.

Edit to add a photo:
    4PvPeD.png
    Wiped out after a swim and a bath on Sunday. I haven't got many pics because he's too black to get a decent photo of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

oh well done hardcopy! Its so great to read about success stories, and hard work paying off.
    Photo of Mo please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Murph the collie tries to give me a gift when I came home but just parades around the house with it, and when I try to take it he walks off with it again. That made me smile today. He's a strange cookie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Murph the collie tries to give me a gift when I came home but just parades around the house with it, and when I try to take it he walks off with it again. That made me smile today. He's a strange cookie.

LOL Murph looks as though he is looking for a place to hide his little friend.:)

A Bit OFF TOPIC, but of heatstroke to all our little friends in this hot weather.

http://www.dogsnaturallymagazine.com/can-my-dog-get-heat-stroke/

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Ra has been much improved on her new meds and has is trying to be her old self; following me to the kitchen to supervise the cooking and wanting to get up on the sofa again. She still can't walk more than about a few minutes very, very slowly so Friendly Neighbour loaned me a crate on wheels to take her out in. It's not ideal (I think it's intended for chihuahuas and the like), but I was able to bring my little one to walk on grass for the first time in weeks. She wasn't overly delighted to be in it but seemed to get the idea and enjoyed looking around as we trundled up and down the path.

ra_zps3wrvdngp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

Bongalongherb, my dogs do the same thing every time we come home!
    I think I inadvertently trained Oliver to do it as a pup, every time he picked up something he shouldn't chew, we swapped it for a toy and praised him. Now it's a kind of comfort thing, and every time we come home he has to find something to bring us! Tiffi just copied him when she came along.

mymo wrote: »
    Bongalongherb, my dogs do the same thing every time we come home!
    I think I inadvertently trained Oliver to do it as a pup, every time he picked up something he shouldn't chew, we swapped it for a toy and praised him. Now it's a kind of comfort thing, and every time we come home he has to find something to bring us! Tiffi just copied him when she came along.

Mo does something similar. He knows he won't get a cuddle if he jumps and having something in his mouth seems to help him stay calm.

It's funny to watch him search frantically for a toy when he sees us reaching for the door handle.

I've read that it can help calm an excited dog but he just figured it out himself. It could be a toy, a tea towel, a ball or even an empty coke bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

Bella has adopted a small collection of stuffed animals over the last few months. She has a cow, a polar bear and an elephant stolen from around the house. We thought she'd rip them up, but she takes turns carrying them around the house. It's like they're her group of friends. :D

The cow is her favourite. She brings him out to her food bowl and puts him beside her while she eats. She sleeps with him too, all cuddled up like a baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Take the dog out to the park in the car, you know giving him a treat, a long walk in this fine weather.

All goes well until we get home. Take off the seat belt, I open my door tell him to get out of the car. He's on the passenger seat standing there. I tell him to get out of the car and he just barks and growls in the seat. This goes on for 10 minutes until I walk around the car and open the passenger door and he hops out without a bother.

Im changing his name to Hyacinth Bouquet

2itpiyf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭LeakingLava

I actually have a similar photo of theo to the above poster :P
    353393.jpg
    I was doing some pre travel checks of the car and theo jumped in wanting to go wherever the hell I wanted to go :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Antarctica

Not last week but still makes me laugh to this day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

Raven gets unbelievably excited every time we go to the beach, its like the sand is a load of like.. balloons, she goes mental like a small child after too much coke!

today we just went to the park but for some reason there was sand covering a part of grass, my jeez, it was like christmas for her! barking at it nd all!

theres me standing there talking to her about it hahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

I overslept this morning and woke up with Sammy nose-bumping me. It was just past his usual breakfast time, so I assumed I was in for a Simon's Cat scenario...but instead he lay down on my chest for a cuddle. When I opened my eyes again it was an hour later and he was still there! t09016.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

When I'm walking my three puppies they try to drink out of every puddle we pass, no matter how scummy it is. If there's even so much as a speck of dirt in their water bowl at home, they look at me like I'm trying to give them cholera :rolleyes::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Lily was having a snooze beside me on the couch. She meowed in her sleep, but her own meow woke her up :pac: She froze, with her eyes wide open, like "WTF was that noise?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Cat is always looking for things to play with around the house. As soon as he's in my room he goes looking for the box of tampons. He loves to roll them around the floor. It's okay in the privacy of our room. But the door was open during the week. He rolled it out the door, down the stairs, through the hall and into the kitchen. The embarrassment if one of the guys I share the house with found it. It was funny but I couldn't help but think of how embarrassing it would be if someone found it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Funny how animals can be such creatures of habit. Our labrador is generally not allowed upstairs, and he knows this, though occasionally when either my OH or myself are home alone at night, we'll take him upstairs for company and he's in his element being up beside us. On normal nights when it comes to bedtime he goes to his bed and makes no fuss about it but now, when one of us is home alone, he will always chance his arm! I've been at my parents' for a few days at the moment; last night my OH said good night to doggy and went up to bed, only to be woken at 3am - Rocky snoring in the bed beside him!
    I love how he has learned to open doors so he can sneak around the place, yet has never done it in front of us, so that we don't know he can do it :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭angeldaisy

First night having the doggies back after a 2wk break. Thought they'd be a pain. Nope. Elly slept the whole night in her crate and only cried to get out when oh got up at 7. The two are now curled up asleep either side of me in bed! Can't beat doggy cuddles..... Missed my babies!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

Phoebe (shihtzu) had a complete MELTDOWN at 2am last night, for the life of me I dont know what was wrong with her - maybe a bad dream? So I took her into the bed with me and we had a great ol' sleep :) she's just the CUTEST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

True about pets being creatures of habit.

My husband is on sick leave at the moment, so gets to sleep in in the mornings. Muggins here has to get up for work, so I usually will go to bed around 10pm, with himself following later.
    One of our cats is usually already asleep on the bed when I come up, so she'll get some cuddles before I drift off.
    Only in the last week or so, this cat has started to actually come downstairs if I'm not up by around 10.15. She'll sit in front of me and stare at me until I get up and go to bed with her.

My husband finds it absolutely hilarious, he's actually making me stay up until she comes down to collect me now.

Due to an unforseen trip to dublin today, the two dogs had to be left on their own all day.
    Each has their own half of the house, toys, food, water etc..
    When I got back this evening they'd been as good as gold. So as a treat I let them take their cuddly toys outside. hilarious!
    Zoomies round the garden with large soft toys in mouth. Elly almost fell over herself!! Both are now panned out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Pepper knows things.... she was outside playing so I decided to get some food. As soon as I brought it upstairs and got into bed (for a Netflix binge) she climbs up to the bedroom window. She's still there meowing at me, trying to open the window and giving me sad eyes. It's very funny. I don't know how she knows I have food. It happens every single time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

We went on a day trip to the beach at the weekend and the poor dogs are just wrecked after it. Normally when I rattle their leads in the morning for walkies they completely lose the run of themselves, but today Phoebe just opened one eye and looked at me as if to say 'Eh NO' and Izzy tried to hide under the cushion in her bed. God help the dog walker later, she will have to carry them around :D

Mo made his first proper friend at the weekend.

My fianceé's parents have a farm which Mo loves to run around when we visit. On his last visit he wasn't a bit impressed to find an adopted border collie in residence. Mo is a house dog and Prince is an outdoor farm dog so the two were kept separate for the weekend after an unpleasant confrontation.

This weekend we brought him down again. We arrived late on Friday night so the two boys didn't meet but Mo could smell Prince every time he went to pee. I took him for a swim and a long walk to tire him out before the first meeting on Saturday morning. Tensions were high and neither dog looked comfortable but after a few rounds of brief meetings and breaks the two ended up chasing each other in the field for most of the day. I've never seen Mo so tired as he was on Saturday evening, on Sunday all he wanted to do was get back outside and play.

He had an absolute ball and it's the first time in ages we managed to burn off all his hyper energy (he recently managed to jump on the vet while sedated).

Edit to add: while playing he got himself so overheated that he dug a hole in a flooded part of the field and lay down in the mud, I can only assume to cool off. The dog who thinks he's a pig.

Just brushing my teeth in our ensuite and I could hear Elly softly growling, this was growing in intensity, so I stuck my head out to see what the problem was....

I'd forgotten that my son, when asked to take the basket of clean clothes through to the bedroom, had decided to hide the basket in the bed!!

She obviously thought a very small but fat intruder was in my bed - I nearly wet myself laughing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Im just not cut out to be a cat owner :o I dont understand them, they are so wierd, they are so independant and free spirited. So you know Ive been adopted by my first cat. Tux is an in/out cat, mostly in, and always in before midnight, for dinner and bed indoors. Last night she didnt come home. I didnt sleep a wink. Up several times, to check if she was at one of the outside doors. Work up at dawn, still no cat. Really upset. Thought "ok shes dead/gone". Went out with dogs, scanning hedgerows, ditches, fields around our house. Drove up/down our lane looking for little dead body.... nothing.

Went out to get something out of the boot of the jeep just now. And yes!! You've guessed it - bloody Tux was locked in there since yesterday evening :D:D So happy to see her! She gave me a filthy look, and came in to the house to check nothing went wrong in her absence, ate her very overdue dinner - but only one pouch - other pouch/brand is beneath her for some reason - and off shes gone for her morning patrol. Not a backward glance at me! Sigh