Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Was reading an article on the journal.ie last week about a guy (freelance journalist for the Journal) saying that he was going to run DCM with just 1 months preparation and his predicted race time was ~ 3:20 based on a 3 year old 10k time. I dont think they guy does much training - he is 22 and plays a bit of football and the odd run. There were a couple of thoughts I had:

- Fair fecks to him for even considering to do the Marathon after 4 weeks training!
    - 3:20 is absolutely not in an asses roar achievable!!
    - He could feasibly do the distance but in probably not less than 4 hours?
    - He will be in a world of pain from HM onwards if he tries a sub 4 hour !!
    - He will be in another world of pain for a week afterwards and risks some major injury!

I wish him the best and hope he does well!!
    Personally speaking I think the HUGE investment we have all made in preparing for the race is actually the inspiring part of the journey, and what will (hopefully) give me the bulk of my sense of achievement on Oct 26th.... the race itself is less than 1% of the effort we have put into this!

I have checked the journal to see if this guy has posted any updates on his training - cant find anything on it or on the web. His name is Shane Hannon, would love to know how he is getting on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Being the empty head I am yesterday's run was cancelled as I packed my gym bag with my eyes closed and forgot my trainers. A swim and turbo session at home had to do instead.
    Got my recovery run in at the end of today's session thankfully.
    The first 2k hurt but after that everything clicked back into gear.

I'm planning a few laps of Corkagh Park first thing on Saturday morning. There is a 10k loop in it so a few slow laps of that will do the job.
    I'll be dropping down on Friday evening with the kids and hiding a few water bottles and gels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

shin splints were the bane of my 1st year runnning, cant believe i can do 22 miles now

sometimes an injury just disappears overnight, chiefly because another injury just came along thats worse :D

(edit: oops didnt refresh the screen, now i see the chat has moved on a bit....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    MrsMc some times I get dry mouth on run, gargle small bit water & spit out
    for me not always thirst, but when mouth dry feels like thirst, brought small
    Bottle with me from water stations on half, most left by time got to next, but
    Good to have little gargle now & then. Because energy was good don't think
    hydration was problem. Just a thought.

Had two bottles with me G and then got another was still thirsty afterwards. Will try salt tabs at weekend and report back !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Quick question, who hasn't registered yet?

conor_mc wrote: »
    Yes boss!!!
    Great report, thanks conor :)
    frash wrote: »
    First evening time run in ages & I wake up with a sore throat!
    Not fair!
    Aw sorry to hear that frash, early bed and all the usual concoctions, manuka honey, echinacea, vit c, ginger, turmeric...hot whiskey if nothing else works :)
    My sore throat turned into a head cold. Buggerit! Missed my 3 mile recovery run last night due to just generally having no energy. I got about 4 hours sleep last night and am not looking forward to a long day at work followed by a long evening at college. First day of class too! Luckily these things tend to pass quickly so here's hoping I'm better for tomorrow's run!!

Dubgal, thanks for your understanding and encouragement re my 18 miles! The plan has me at another 18 this weekend followed by a taper. We decided not to go for a 20 miler as the benefits didn't outweigh the risks. I am happy with that.

Have a great day everyone, if you can! If not, I hope at least one beautiful thing happens to you today.
    Thanks for that TFGR, hope college goes well this evening :) see advice to frash above but you may not take up the whiskey advice :)
    frash wrote: »
    Just signed up for the marathon!!

Almost a year to the day since I said goodbye to last year's novice thread.
    Woohoo, well done!
    So, last Thursday I was feeling really tired after my run but couldn't figure out why since it hadn't been a particularly taxing one. Friday gave me the answer with a big wallop unfortunately. I was sick with a mix between a massive head cold and a cough. Nevermind, determined to stick to the plan I formulated a Plan B - only run 15 miles on Saturday instead of 20. Plan C was to run only 10 miles on Sunday afternoon. Needless to say none of them happened. I couldn't sleep on both nights and I had no energy to go anywhere.

I seem to be better today so I'm heading off for my 5mi. Wish me luck.
    Oh dear, well better now than week T-1?! Listen to your body and ease back in gently....
    BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    Hi DG, I didn't see a physio the first time I experienced shine splints as I knew that I was still a new runner back then and that they would pass after a bit of time on my foot ....... which they did after a few weeks.
    The pain I was experiencing on Sunday night/Monday in my left leg felt a lot more then just standard shine splint pain.
    So I rested yesterday and today it felt a lot better [not completely gone, but better]. I decided to gingerly head out this afternoon and see what I could manage. I took it very very slow and after the first mile the dull pain in my leg started to dissipate so I continued on and another mile down and the pain was almost completely gone. I ended up doing the full 8 mile run and did a LOT of stretching when I got home, so I'm felling a lot better about it now. Hopefully I will get some answers from the Physio on Thursday.
    .... this episode has really brought it home to me that we are not home and dry yet and we all really need to take care over the next couple of weeks. The last thing anyone wants is for the wheels to fall off at this late stage.
    Thanks BC1. Glad to hear it went well and you're feeling better now. Let us know how physio goes.
    JMSE wrote: »
    bought a roll of kinesiology tape to lift pressure off the kneecap and up slightly, wasnt recommended or not-recommended by the phys, didnt ask actually, I feel it might do a job for tomorrows run

Good luck. Don't tape your knee too high :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

So I gave my knee a weeks rest and went out again today on grass and did 3 km. I could still feel it niggling me so stopped again. I am not sure what to do. It doesn't hurt to walk or anything I feel fit its just when I am running its like a strain beneath my knee. I have already missed out on a full weeks training and getting a bit worried now. I am thinking of maybe going to a physio? Does anyone have any recommendation of someone to go to? I am based in Lucan. Feel free to PM me. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

So I gave my knee a weeks rest and went out again today on grass and did 3 km. I could still feel it niggling me so stopped again. I am not sure what to do. It doesn't hurt to walk or anything I feel fit its just when I am running its like a strain beneath my knee. I have already missed out on a full weeks training and getting a bit worried now. I am thinking of maybe going to a physio? Does anyone have any recommendation of someone to go to? I am based in Lucan. Feel free to PM me. Thanks.

Mark Keneally out in Celbridge would be very close to you. Irish Olympic marathon runner. I have never heard a bad word said about him.
    http://www.performanceclinic.ie/about/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Had two bottles with me G and then got another was still thirsty afterwards. Will try salt tabs at weekend and report back !

No worries let's know how it goes, when warm like Sunday I finish like I've
    had a shower, but only drank about 330mls, but put some powder In drink
    Got in Holland & b has some electrolyte in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Quick question, who hasn't registered yet?

Me, but I'll be doing it first thing in the morning when I get paid! :)

A wee post...

A timely reminder from Smash below re the importance of hydration.

Most of you will know by now that lots of liquid on the morning of a race is not a good thing, if only because it will take valuable time out of your race and warm up time. Unfortunately, too much liquid has more sinister implications as Smash's friend discovered to his detriment. Really glad to hear he's had a full recovery.

smashiner wrote: »
    What Is Overhydration?
    Nearly all the major systems of your body depend on water to work properly. Drinking plenty of water throughout the day aids in regulating body temperature, preventing constipation, flushing waste products out of the body, and many other important functions.
    Most people, especially those who exercise in hot weather, are more concerned about not drinking enough water. However, overhydration—or drinking too much water—is also a potentially deadly condition, one that can throw off the balance between water and sodium in your blood.

Just thought that I would post on this one after the near miss my friend had at the DHM. I was speaking with him today (fine now BTW) and he told me that he took 3 full pints of water before the race and was 'weeing like a race horse' and that his wee was nearly clear (sorry for mental image). I then by chance received a call for one of the DHM race directors following up on how my friend was and I told her about the 3 pints of water he had taken and and she reckons that there was a high chance that he over did it with water before the race and washed the salts and electrolytes out of his system before he even ran, hence the sudden crash!!

This would probably explain what happened as my friend said that his training went really well and although he doesn't really drink too much when running,he was shocked to crash too (hospital said that he had exhausted all electolytes in his blood). Last year on this thread another mentor posted that he had taken on way too much water in the days leading up to his first DCM and also had to pull out due to exhaustion halfway through.

Just a word of caution not to over do the whole water thing and flush yourself out before an LSR or in the days leading up to the DCM. ;)

Any mentors (Clearlier et al??), have anything to add on this?
    Smash.
    We've had some wee chat throughout the thread...
    from the beginning...
    Morning novices, one week down and 17 more to go!

REVIEW:
    Last week, on the boards plan, you will have had a gentle introduction to pace via strides and completed the first official lsr of 8 miles. The HHN1 group will have done a lsr of 6 miles so congratulations to both groups, you are officially in training for the marathon :)
    Some of you will have raced over the weekend, well done in what were trying conditions. Believe it or not, you may need this warm weather training come October, last year's marathon saw very unseasonal heat and humidity. Clearlier has given great advice on running in hot conditions; get out early if you can (see below) and get into the habit of drinking plenty of water throughout the day (you want to be seeing straw coloured wee/something in between dark and clear urine). Most importantly, on your lsr, drink to thirst.

THE WEEK AHEAD:
    This week sees the HHN1 plan increase the lsr from 6 to 7 miles. Make sure you stretch after this run and book a bath in the evening if you can. Got shares in Epsom salts yet?!

The boards plan has its first proper session this week: a 'pace run' of 3 miles after warm up. A pace run is done at your PMP (planned marathon pace). 'But I'm a novice, I haven't a clue what my PMP is :eek:!'

"Pace Runs– these are done at your (realistic, not aspirational) planned marathon pace (PMP). Again you can use McMillan to work out your current marathon pace by plugging in a recent race result but note that McMillan is not always very accurate at working out marathon pace for novice marathon runners. Don't be afraid to run a bit slower than your predicted pace. You should feel like you're working a little harder than during your lsr but you should still be able to talk in short sentences and it should be a pace you feel you can sustain for a long duration. It's better to start out very slow and pick it up a bit as you warm up rather than starting too fast and having to slow down. Do a mile very slowly to warm up and the same to cool down at the end rather than just stopping to a halt."

This week, focus on two things:
    1) give yourself a range of 20-30 seconds per mile this week. So if your target is 4 hours, this gives you a PMP of just over 9m/m pace. For the pace run, aim to keep the pace no faster than 8:55 pace and allow yourself a range of up to around 9:20 pace.
    2) the important thing at this stage is to go by effort: it should be comfortably hard so you should be working steadily but not eyeballs out.

This is the first session of its kind on the plan, you are not expected to *get it right* this week: from Wednesday's run, you will be able to establish more accurately how you felt, what you are capable of right now and 'pace' for future runs of this kind.

The boards plan sees the lsr move from 8 miles to 10. Which brings me to...

THE LSR AND FUELLING
    You should all be aiming to make the lsr a morning run. The marathon is...in the morning ;) so it makes sense to practise morning running. Now is the time. Four weeks out is too late, eight weeks out is too late...now is the time to start fitting those pieces of jigsaw puzzle together :)

Establish your routine: get up early, find out what breakfast works for you (usually a light carbohydrate-based one) and at how long before running is comfortable. For me, it's at least two hours but I know of one - successful - runner who scoffs a bowl of porridge 20-30 minutes before a run.
    You need to find out how much/little water works too. Trips to the bushes are pretty inevitable but you want to minimise these as much as poss. You should get into the habit of hydrating throughout the week. If you do this, you don't need to worry too much about liquids on the morning of a lsr; I find a glass of water and coffee is enough and don't send me to the bushes mid-run. Again, now is the time to find what works for you.
    You also want to leave that bowel as empty as possible. Coffee works great here too so if you don't drink coffee, let us know what works for you. The legs are not the only piece of anatomy that needs training here ;)

FUELLING:
    You should also be reading as much as you can about refuelling in training and on marathon day.
    - you might decide to forgo any kind of refuelling and train your body to utilise its own resources. In that case expect Enduro to add you to his Christmas card list.
    - you might decide to use chemical free/natural foods to refuel
    - you might decide to go down the gel etc route

All these are valid choices and each one has worked for runners. You need to find out which one is for you and....now is the time ;)
    There is a lot of information online. Use your discretion when reading. Just because it's online, doesn't mean it's *true*. Source personal feedback and more reputable sites (Runners World etc). If you're in a club or know marathon runners, ask them. Real life experienced people are the best source of information, use them but remember what works for them may not be what works for you. Yep...now is the time ;)

TAPERING:
    Those of you who are racing this weekend: follow the plan but reduce the intensity and if you feel it necessary, take an extra day rest or recovery towards the end of the week. Too much rest will not necessarily make you fresher, it may even make your legs a bit lethargic. As the weeks and races progress, you will find what works for you. The important thing is, we start to fit the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle into place now.
    Good luck and strong legs!!

FOCUS FOR THE WEEK:
    This week, I want you to continue practising the elements of strong running from the last two weeks summarised as:

Breathe

Run Tall

Relaaaaax

I have one more very important ingredient to add this week:

Smile

Believe me, it makes a difference. Yeah, I've had you looking somewhat unhinged by making you talk to yourself in the conversation test and now I'm making you look like manic sweaty crazed runners by smiling on the hoof. Trust me, it works :D
    You don't need it to be a full-on gum-baring gurn (although if that works for you....), it can be a little Mona Lisa style smile.
    - you will immediately relax when you smile
    - you will be reminded of how bloody good it is to just get out and run
    - you will send some (more!) feel good thingys flooding through your body

Happy running Novices :)
    It's a scorching hot day today. Looking forward to hearing how you all cope with the heat on your long runs this weekend. Drink to thirst and you should be ok. I have found that it is the day before that is crucial for hydration and that I generally don't need to drink much, if anything, in the couple of hours before a run (unless it's a run first thing in the morning).
    Make sure that you hydrate fully after your run. Dark yellow urine means you need to drink more, clear means you have probably drunk too much. A light straw colour is a happy medium :)
    ...to more recently
    Could be over hydration...what colour is your wee btw? In the morning it will (normally) be dark yellow but you should achieve a light yellow/straw colour by lunch time if properly hydrated. If your urine is frequently clear, it may be a sign that you're drinking too much. I usually have a glass of water before bed, two if I've been ahem sipping vino but not any more. I suppose that's an individual capacity so try cutting back liquids at night and see if that gets you through the night. Getting up to wee counts as a sleep interruption so it would be worth trying to fix it now :)
    summarised excellently as usual by Clearlier:
    Clearlier wrote: »
    Well done to all at the weekend. It sounds like most had races that reflect the great training that has been going on.

With the death of that poor man and the collapse of smashiner's friend there's been a fair bit of discussion about hydration. Aside from how sorry we feel for the friends and family of the young man who died hearing about someone so young dying doing something that we're doing is a scary experience - it brings us into touch with our own mortality and there's an understandable desire to do whatever we can to mitigate the risk of the same happening to us.

I've done some searching about this in the past and what I found was that most deaths in a marathon come about because of a pre-existing condition. People do die from dehydration but it's hard to find examples of it - it's much easier to find examples of people who die from being over-hydrated (hyponatraemia).

The difficulty with hyponatraemia is that the symptoms are almost identical to dehydration and in the past there has been a tendency to assume that a runner collapsing towards the end of a marathon is dehydrated - they were put on a drip lowering the sodium levels to a point where they fell into a coma and died. Thankfully medical crews are much better educated in respect of this issue and know to look out for the warning signs.

The best advice on drinking remains to drink to thirst. That doesn't mean that common sense doesn't apply, if it's 30 degrees celsius, there's no shade and you're sweating buckets you can probably assume that you're going to need water but don't overdo it and drink litre upon litre.

Here's a link to a more lengthy discussion of hydration in races.

This is a broader discussion about deaths during exercise. Possibly the key point to take out of this article is that the risks are minimised by training properly for an event.

Final point is that everybodys needs are different so avoid any kind of guidance that suggests you should drink x amount.

Follow your thirst, use your common sense and you'll almost certainly be fine.
    And remember that thing called summer?! In case we get 17-19 degrees again :eek: ....
    Clearlier wrote: »
    I did post a bit about hot weather running earlier in the thread but it's a big thread now and I've had a few more thoughts about it since. I'm assuming that you're on holiday for up to two weeks in a location that is significantly hotter than what you're used to. I'm also taking a relatively cautious approach.

Ignore your pace - you will be slower.
    Run for time rather than distance i.e. if your plan says 12 miles at 10mm pace then run for 2 hours at the same effort which is likely to be less than 12 miles.

Run when it's coolest.
    Run in the shade if possible
    Wear white clothing (reflects the sun)
    Wear a hat
    Drink water on the run - bring a bottle if you have to or do loops.

One last point to note is that different people respond differently to heat. Body mass may have a role to play in this. One guy I know ran his half marathon PB wearing a beanie and ran a significant marathon PB in Paris when all around him was carnage. I personally enjoy running in the heat but if I want a PB I need cold conditions (body mass may have a role to play in this!).

An out-there idea i've only recently become aware of is that there are some companies out there claiming to manufacture clothing that keeps you cool in hot weather. I've never tried it so have no idea if they work although technical tops are definitely better than cotton ones! Has anyone here tried any of this clothing?

I'll bump this post over the next few weeks to remind ye and anyone popping in who might be interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

I would also strongly recommend Michael Spillane at First Physio in the Clondalkin Community Center, does physio for Ireland youths and also a few of the League of Ireland teams in the past. PH 01 4572897, try to get an appointment for Michael himself as he 'teaches the lame to walk again'. He has ironed out a few creases in me over the years (IT Bands, Back and hip problems etc), really nice guy too. He is always booked up, but go on the cancellation list and they will normally slot you in.

He normally only has to have one or two sessions to sort out any problem rather than 'see you twice a week for the next 6 months' approach...worth looking at as you are close enough to him in Lucan....best of luck ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

Me. Still undecided after this advice you gave me yesterday:

Hi runnerholic, I see you've had sound advice from Clearlier and I'd tend to agree with him, perhaps not what you want to hear at this stage.
    Firstly, only managing 50% of the plan is a red flag signalling that you won't be able to run near your full potential. And secondly, I suspect you're loading your mileage on the lsr part which while not helping your recovery, may even be the cause of/exacerbating your injury. If I were you, I'd pull out now, get the niggles sorted and use this base as foundation towards your next training cycle.
    I'd be quite worried that proceeding this year could knock you out of action for quite a while, I'm sure you don't want that. Can you see a physio, preferably one with a running background? We could give some recommendations, depending on where you are.
    Best of luck!

You are correct Dubgal it's not what I wanted to hear. I have physio in the morning and will decide after that. Here is what I've done this month.
    Thurs 3rd Sept 9 miles sub PMP
    Sat 5th Sept 15 miles LSR
    Mon 7th Sept 6 miles sub PMP
    Tues 8th Sept 8 miles Slow
    Tues 15th Sept 6 miles Slow
    Wed 16th Sept 7 miles Slow
    Thurs 17th Sept 8 miles sub PMP
    Sun 20th Sept 10 miles PMP
    Mon 21st Sept 20 miles LSR
    Sunday 27th Sept 18.5 miles LSR
    Tuesday 29th Sept 5 miles sub PMP

I think if I can get a good weekend in this weekend, my plan is 10miles on Sunday and 20 on Monday, I may have enough done to do a decent marathon, and I can start my taper.
    I would really appreciate your feedback on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Glad to be back to the Physio in the morning (follow up on last week's session), had to cut short tonight's planned 5 miles to 3 miles. It was sore from the off and didn't really ease much, also I was running without any strapping (had taken that off after the LSR on Sat, the Physio is going to show me how to put it on myself). Errr...

Me. Still undecided after this advice you gave me yesterday:

Hi runnerholic, I see you've had sound advice from Clearlier and I'd tend to agree with him, perhaps not what you want to hear at this stage.
    Firstly, only managing 50% of the plan is a red flag signalling that you won't be able to run near your full potential. And secondly, I suspect you're loading your mileage on the lsr part which while not helping your recovery, may even be the cause of/exacerbating your injury. If I were you, I'd pull out now, get the niggles sorted and use this base as foundation towards your next training cycle.
    I'd be quite worried that proceeding this year could knock you out of action for quite a while, I'm sure you don't want that. Can you see a physio, preferably one with a running background? We could give some recommendations, depending on where you are.
    Best of luck!

You are correct Dubgal it's not what I wanted to hear. I have physio in the morning and will decide after that. Here is what I've done this month.
    Thurs 3rd Sept 9 miles sub PMP
    Sat 5th Sept 15 miles LSR
    Mon 7th Sept 6 miles sub PMP
    Tues 8th Sept 8 miles Slow
    Tues 15th Sept 6 miles Slow
    Wed 16th Sept 7 miles Slow
    Thurs 17th Sept 8 miles sub PMP
    Sun 20th Sept 10 miles PMP
    Mon 21st Sept 20 miles LSR
    Sunday 27th Sept 18.5 miles LSR
    Tuesday 29th Sept 5 miles sub PMP

I think if I can get a good weekend in this weekend, my plan is 10miles on Sunday and 20 on Monday, I may have enough done to do a decent marathon, and I can start my taper.
    I would really appreciate your feedback on this.
    Hi again runnerholic. Without seeing more recent training and without more general context, it's hard to say. Can you give an idea of the pace of your runs and PMP? I'm still not convinced you will do yourself justice. I'm going to pass this one over...
    Over to you Team...Clearlier, Myles, NE, FBOT, meno et al?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

Hi again runnerholic. Without seeing more recent training and without more general context, it's hard to say. Can you give an idea of the pace of your runs and PMP? I'm still not convinced you will do yourself justice. I'm going to pass this one over...
    Over to you Team...Clearlier, Myles, NE, FBOT, meno et al?

PMP is 5 minute kilometres for a 3 1/2 hour marathon. My LSR's are at 5.25/Kilometre.
    My ankle injury is long term and does not look like it will heal completely. Its an injury that I am having to manage. I've had an operation on it before and extensive physio this year. If I thought I would manage to prepare better in the future I would leave the marathon for this year but there is no guarantee of that. So having got a fair amount of work done its kind of now or never. I may still have the same issues in the future.

Meno and AMK, have you anything to add to this for anyone running the Athlone 3/4 this week please?
    menoscemo wrote: »
    I actually paced it with AMK. We were the 3;30 group and our instructions were to run it 'steady' i.e. about 25-30 seconds/mile slower than PMP.
    Unfortunately as you say we were mostly followed by runners who were actually targetting 3:50/4 hours so a lot of them were racing it and many of them blew up as a result on the hills towards the end or else were really struggling to keep up.
    My advice is don't be that soldier!! I don't think I have ever heard of anyone who raced the 3/4 and went on to run a good marathon. If you run it as an LSR or at a steady pace (slower than PMP) it is an excellent idea to do it. But If you are the kind of runner who is going to go faster in a race environment it's better to avoid it IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Dubgal72 wrote:
    Thanks for that TFGR, hope college goes well this evening see advice to frash above but you may not take up the whiskey advice

Class was really great!! I enjoyed it, the lecturer is brilliant; makes a huge difference! I'm already looking forward to next week :D

I don't mind a hot whiskey now and then but I'm off alcohol now until after the marathon. Have been doing lemon crops a good turn though! And ginger! A colleague told me to add chili flakes...any truth to that?

I still feel like crap but will get my run in tomorrow after work. I'll pace accordingly depending on how I feel.

Anyway, I'm up past curfew but only just home from class and wanted to report.

Night, all!

Zzzzzzzzz

^^^ chilli flakes are worth a try. I used a concoction of chilli, turmeric, ginger honey and lemon in hot water earlier in the year. And hot whiskey :D:D

Glad to hear college went well! :) And listen to your body tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭sideshowbob321

Hi all ðŸ˜႒ I've been dropping in and out of this thread over the last few months but haven't posted in a while.
    All good with the training so far *quickly crosses everything* and looking forward to getting to the 20 mile milestone this weekend.
    Was guilty of being a bit stupid at the end of September before holidays and doubled up on some Gym condition training and an lsr on the same day and the body screamed out WFT???!!!
    Some stern but fair words from physio and I dropped the gym to concentrate on running and managed to get 3 runs in on hols and came back in better mental and physical shape.
    Did 1.54 in the Half (new PB by 2mins) and all well bar that bitch of a hill at the end!
    Hoping to average around 9.30/m on the day but not sure if I should pace off the 4.10 or 4.20 pacer??
    Might just see how I feel and how the conditions are on the day???
    Anywho can't believe after all these weeks it's tapering from next week and hopefully all goes well for us all until then.
    Starting to get a wee bit excited .......

diego_b wrote: »
    Glad to be back to the Physio in the morning (follow up on last week's session), had to cut short tonight's planned 5 miles to 3 miles. It was sore from the off and didn't really ease much, also I was running without any strapping (had taken that off after the LSR on Sat, the Physio is going to show me how to put it on myself). Errr...

Sorry to hear that :( Good call on cutting it short. Let us know how you get on!

Sorry about that wolfyboy. Yup, definitely time to see a physio for peace of mind if anything. Anyone else reading, don't let a niggle go beyond four days, especially now. Put that physio on speed dial!

Hi all ðŸ˜႒ I've been dropping in and out of this thread over the last few months but haven't posted in a while.
    All good with the training so far *quickly crosses everything* and looking forward to getting to the 20 mile milestone this weekend.
    Was guilty of being a bit stupid at the end of September before holidays and doubled up on some Gym condition training and an lsr on the same day and the body screamed out WFT???!!!
    Some stern but fair words from physio and I dropped the gym to concentrate on running and managed to get 3 runs in on hols and came back in better mental and physical shape.
    Did 1.54 in the Half (2 mins off my PB) and all well bar that bitch of a hill at the end!
    Hoping to average around 9.30/m on the day but not sure if I should pace off the 4.10 or 4.20 pacer??
    Might just see how I feel and how the conditions are on the day???
    Anywho can't believe after all these weeks it's tapering from next week and hopefully all goes well for us all until then.
    Starting to get a wee bit excited .......

Ah welcome back and well done on the half! Hold off on nailing down a target for now. We're going to do a lot of work on that in week T-2 :)

Meno and AMK, have you anything to add to this for anyone running the Athlone 3/4 this week please?

Sorry DG I meant to come back to this!!
    Just to say that the pacers will be running at 5% slower than MP.
    Dublin Runner is pacing the 'sub 3' group. Normally 3hr should be 6:50/mile but he will be running 7:15/mile
    Myself and Yaboya will be doing the 3:30 group. Normally that would mean 8:00/mile but we will be doing 8:25/mile.
    Mr And Mrs marthastew will be running the 4hour group to 9:40/mile (would normally be 9:09/mile)

The organiser asks us to run slower than PMP because he doesn't want people putting their race in the roads of Athlone. We are still running 'steady' which should be faster that your normal LSR, but as a good final long run that should be fine.

My Only advice is not to go with the 3:30 pacers if you are targeting 3:40-4hours just because you can. Similarly Don't go with the 4hour pacers if you are actually targeting 4:10+.

The organiser of this race (Bazman on Boards) is a good example of his own philosophy. A few years ago he ran his own race as a tune up to DCM and finished 2nd (or 3rd?) having ran the race at approxiately 2:25-2:30 Marathon pace. In DCM itself he ran 2:18 and finished leading Irishman, easily beating those who finished ahead of him in the 3/4.

So the bottom line is to run it a a good hard training run but not as a race. You should still be fairly comfortable with the pace at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Animella

Sorry DG I meant to come back to this!!
    Just to say that the pacers will be running at 5% slower than MP.
    Dublin Runner is pacing the 'sub 3' group. Normally 3hr should be 6:50/mile but he will be running 7:15/mile
    Myself and Yaboya will be doing the 3:30 group. Normally that would mean 8:00/mile but we will be doing 8:25/mile.
    Mr And Mrs marthastew will be running the 4hour group to 9:40/mile (would normally be 9:09/mile)

The organiser asks us to run slower than PMP because he doesn't want people putting their race in the roads of Athlone. We are still running 'steady' which should be faster that your normal LSR, but as a good final long run that should be fine.

My Only advice is not to go with the 3:30 pacers if you are targeting 3:40-4hours just because you can. Similarly Don't go with the 4hour pacers if you are actually targeting 4:10+.

The organiser of this race (Bazman on Boards) is a good example of his own philosophy. A few years ago he ran his own race as a tune up to DCM and finished 2nd (or 3rd?) having ran the race at approxiately 2:25-2:30 Marathon pace. In DCM itself he ran 2:18 and finished leading Irishman, easily beating those who finished ahead of him in the 3/4.

So the bottom line is to run it a a good hard training run but not as a race. You should still be fairly comfortable with the pace at the end.

I wish there was going to be 4.15 or 4:30 pacers in Athlone. My half marathon pace is only just under 9:00/ mile . This will be my first marathon and really don't know what pace I should aim for - about 10:00/ mile???

Animella wrote: »
    I wish there was going to be 4.15 or 4:30 pacers in Athlone. My half marathon pace is only just under 9:00/ mile . This will be my first marathon and really don't know what pace I should aim for - about 10:00/ mile???

You don't have to run with pacers in Athlone. Just make sure to let the 4hour guys drift away in front of you and you'll be fine.

As for what time you should run in DCM, I wouldn't have enough info to give you an answer but you should be running Athlone at a slower pace than you intend running in DCM

You don't have to run with pacers in Athlone. Just make sure to let the 4hour guys drift away in front of you and you'll be fine.

As for what time you should run in DCM, I wouldn't have enough info to give you an answer but you should be running Athlone at a slower pace than you intend running in DCM

Thanks, I know I don't have to run with pacers but it would be nice when it's longer than I've ever run before. .. I'm sure I'm not the only novice marathon runner who's going to take more than 4hrs , do we not matter?
    PB for half is 1.56 so in theory could manage 4:15 but I know anything could happen and I just want to finish uninjured.

Sorry for butting in to thread but I've only just discovered it. Wish I'd gound it months ago. Best of luck to everyone else running the 3/4 on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Animella wrote: »
    Thanks, I know I don't have to run with pacers but it would be nice when it's longer than I've ever run before. .. I'm sure I'm not the only novice marathon runner who's going to take more than 4hrs , do we not matter?
    PB for half is 1.56 so in theory could manage 4:15 but I know anything could happen and I just want to finish uninjured.

It's more a case of resources to allocate. Much smaller field for this (900) so I imagine it's a case of catering for the most popular target times. Perhaps see if anyone else here is running it at a similar target pace and make up an unofficial pace group.