Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Singer wrote: »

Unfortunately I can relate to both of these - I "ran" London in April and at 15 miles it all fell apart.

I feel the memory of that, plus now I'm following a proper plan and putting in the miles that this marathon will be much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

TheBazman wrote: »
    Hey all

Have only been lurking for the past couple of weeks as I've been concentrating on physio and core work and still struggling with my hamstring...with a few runs in between.

Did the 5mile this morning in the Phoenix Park. Excellent event but the heat was a struggle. I also need to up my mileage a bit as my fitness was struggling in the second half. Didn't help that I was just in from an overnight flight from the states. All in all I came in at 35.06 which I was very surprised and happy with.

Great atmosphere around before and after. Unfortunately I won't be around for the next race in the series.
    Hey good to hear from you. Well done, that sounds like there's plenty more in the tank when circumstances stop lining up against you :eek: Well done!! Keep in touch :)
    1 down, good run today felt good all the way around and came in comfortably in 37:51. Well done to all who got around as it was hot out there.

Big thanks to the woman who threw her arms around me in the finishing area only to realise I wasn't who she thought I was .

Dubgal maybe next time I will get one of those flapjacks, spent a lot of time smiling and nodding at women in pink tops each time receiving a smile which was more scared than friendly
    Haha that made me splutter a bit visualising that :D well done on a good race too :D
    FeenaM wrote: »
    Well done to all that did the 5 mile today and any other races or indeed runs at all in that heat. Found the last mile of the 5 mile so tough this morning and really didn't have anything left to push on in the last stretch but happy enough with my time of 36.48.

Hadn't checked the forum or I'd have looked out for you dubgal (and your flapjacks) but might spot you next time!

Anybody have any suggestions for a nice 5k race between now and the Race Series 10k?
    Thanks for that FeenaM, you definitely should be happy with your time, well done. I will be making firmer identification arrangements next time to avoid incidents like Betty's :D
    PJD wrote: »
    So..... Learning curve for today at the Irish runner 5 mile. I was due to get collected and was running late. First I couldn't find shorts as they were all in the laundry. Eventually found a pair in the clean dry laundry pile. I quickly dressed and lashed on some tape and body glide and was back on schedule. Quickly grabbed my race number 465 (in case you forgot!) and tried out some fancy race magnets which I had bought to hold on my race number. But could I get the feckers lined up- no chance. Then my lift arrived resulting in me panicking and dropping a magnet under the bed. Solution- back to safety pins which subsequently took the entire trip to the park to get comfortable! After the initial clothing incidents, all went well and the highlight was meeting some boardsie friends. The event was well organised and as predicted by FBOT01 I went much quicker than planned but managed to sustain my usual parkrun pace for the entire run. Some hugs and high 5's at the end rounded off the day and the gps was quickly uploaded to strava to see who had been out in the park. Kudos to you all. The downside- well, I missed dubgal and the flapjacks. Gutted! Next time go in fancy dress carrying a helium balloon so we can find you. The learning- preparation, preparation, preparation! I was a wee bit blasé this morning just rocking up and going for an old jog! I guess you get out what you put in. All good though..... I'm off to foam roll now. Better late than never!! Paul
    Hehe I'll say no more ;) except for at least this wasn't 26 October :pac: You wouldn't have got any flapjacks either if I'd heard about your *preparation* :p
    donglen wrote: »
    Also, to add as a suggestion, at the moment it just seems to be a random sort. Would it be handy to sort by "plan" then "name" thereby enabling you to quickly see how you're doing compared to others following your plan. It'll give you an early readable indication of whether you need to push on a little or even scale it back a little.
    No, no! No comparing!! :) Everybody has different things going on during the week and I don't want anybody eyeballing someone else's mileage feeling like they should be doing more. Different things work for different people, you could cross the line in October half an hour ahead of someone who has done more mileage than you...it has been known :)
    Did a 10km road race today in Dunlavin, Co Wicklow including a 1km warmup and a 1km cool down. Lovely setting for a race out there though it was pretty warm, 20 degrees according to the car.

I took it handy enough during it. Didn't want to race it the whole way this early into the programme. Came in at just under 55 minutes and the last 3 kms were the quickest for me which I was happy with.

1 week down, 17 to go
    Well done, sounds like you had an enjoyable race alright. Was it the Funlavin one? Heard good things about that race.
    Omeceron wrote: »
    First LSR done today, 8 miles. Didnt go too well. Good bit of walking between mile 2 and 4. Was going to call it a day at 6 but kept going.

Not sure what was wrong, legs and breathing felt fine but the energy wasn't there.
    Sorry to hear that. Could be a number of things, sleep, heat, too fast first mile etc but unless it happens again this week, chalk it up and keep moving forward.
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Good to get legs moving a bit faster
    Again at 5 miler,

MrsMC hope u got recovery run done,
    I'm sure ur coach had u up & out early.

Did my run at 9.30, much easier to run
    Slow after long day yesterday.

Heard a girl calling to runners at about
    Half mile to go, it's easier if u smile, not
    Sure if it was Dubgal, as I see her quoting
    Often, anyway who ever it was, gave a bit
    Of boost at end.
    That was me :) Glad it helped! Sorry I didn't get to meet you, next time!
    Phoebas wrote: »
    I'm definitely finding running in warm weather to be energy sapping and dehydrating. In cooler temperatures I can run around 10 miles or so without feeling the need for water, but not in the warm weather.
    I'd say the difference for me between running on a warm humid day and a cool evening is about a minute a mile.

But, is there any advantage to be had in forgoing water? (I'd imagine not and its probably dangerous, but thought I'd ask)
    Definitely second Clearlier's advice, drink to thirst!
    jake1970 wrote: »
    33.1 miles for the week and a new 5k PB(19:06).
    the 5k PB is a nice confidence boost for a sub 40
    10k attempt in 2 weeks time.

well done to everyone on completing the first week of
    marathon training.
    Fantastic result, well done! Sub 40 is looking very good, best of everything!
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Hey G yes was out today, decided to have a lie in this morning not sure if I was tired from the 5 miler or the glass of something nice the DG suggested we have, she is our mentor after all !! Went out at 1.30 for a 5 mile recovery run, was a lovely day, no headphones which I am really surprised I am not missing at all. Bumped into PJD on the way home and had a catch up with him. We were both cursing M having us out on a recovery run today !!:)
    Glad to see somebody's doing what they're told ;):D Nice about the headphones too!
    PJD wrote: »
    The recovery run was draining today. Feet up this evening. Thankfully a rest day is listed for tmrw! Yes!! Is it wrong to relish the rest days! Glad to see kennyg doing his recovery run round st annes this morning but he was running too fast to recognise me (I was pushing the baby in her pram) and MrsMc as I plodded round on my own recovery run this afternoon. Seems like we are all feeling the same. That's why this group works!! You will not suffer alone!!

Hmmmm, too fast on a recovery run :mad: I have eyes in the back of my head, I see everything....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Well done, sounds like you had an enjoyable race alright. Was it the Funlavin one? Heard good things about that race.

Yeah, that was the one alright. Really enjoyed it, good fun alright. And they provided lots of sandwiches in the local after the race which was nice! Would recommend it to anyone for next year.

Singer wrote: »
    Here's my weekly training report update posted on my training log: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96047287&postcount=17

How not to train for a marathon.

I came across two excellent blog posts with very similar stories - both involved under-preparing for marathons and completely falling apart as a result. They're both brutually honest writeups, and provide a lot of inspiration to follow a structured plan :) - if you're on this thread you almost certainly don't need this advice, but I thought they'd be worth sharing with the group anyway. When reading them I was reminded a bit of a comment made on last year's novices thread about male runners being more likely to be over-confident with training before marathons etc.

http://scriptogr.am/conorwinders/post/marathon

http://greatist.com/fitness/jason-shen-first-marathon-blunder

Hehehe thanks for that. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: That is all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Feeling a slight tightness in my calf since the 10km yesterday. Noticed it during the race especially going uphill. I actually thought it was cramp at the time. Is there any specific stretches I should be looking at? Would the foam roller be any use in this scenario? Thanks.

Morning novices, one week down and 17 more to go!

REVIEW:
    Last week, on the boards plan, you will have had a gentle introduction to pace via strides and completed the first official lsr of 8 miles. The HHN1 group will have done a lsr of 6 miles so congratulations to both groups, you are officially in training for the marathon :)
    Some of you will have raced over the weekend, well done in what were trying conditions. Believe it or not, you may need this warm weather training come October, last year's marathon saw very unseasonal heat and humidity. Clearlier has given great advice on running in hot conditions; get out early if you can (see below) and get into the habit of drinking plenty of water throughout the day (you want to be seeing straw coloured wee/something in between dark and clear urine). Most importantly, on your lsr, drink to thirst.

THE WEEK AHEAD:
    This week sees the HHN1 plan increase the lsr from 6 to 7 miles. Make sure you stretch after this run and book a bath in the evening if you can. Got shares in Epsom salts yet?!

The boards plan has its first proper session this week: a 'pace run' of 3 miles after warm up. A pace run is done at your PMP (planned marathon pace). 'But I'm a novice, I haven't a clue what my PMP is :eek:!'

"Pace Runs– these are done at your (realistic, not aspirational) planned marathon pace (PMP). Again you can use McMillan to work out your current marathon pace by plugging in a recent race result but note that McMillan is not always very accurate at working out marathon pace for novice marathon runners. Don't be afraid to run a bit slower than your predicted pace. You should feel like you're working a little harder than during your lsr but you should still be able to talk in short sentences and it should be a pace you feel you can sustain for a long duration. It's better to start out very slow and pick it up a bit as you warm up rather than starting too fast and having to slow down. Do a mile very slowly to warm up and the same to cool down at the end rather than just stopping to a halt."

This week, focus on two things:
    1) give yourself a range of 20-30 seconds per mile this week. So if your target is 4 hours, this gives you a PMP of just over 9m/m pace. For the pace run, aim to keep the pace no faster than 8:55 pace and allow yourself a range of up to around 9:20 pace.
    2) the important thing at this stage is to go by effort: it should be comfortably hard so you should be working steadily but not eyeballs out.

This is the first session of its kind on the plan, you are not expected to *get it right* this week: from Wednesday's run, you will be able to establish more accurately how you felt, what you are capable of right now and 'pace' for future runs of this kind.

The boards plan sees the lsr move from 8 miles to 10. Which brings me to...

THE LSR AND FUELLING
    You should all be aiming to make the lsr a morning run. The marathon is...in the morning ;) so it makes sense to practise morning running. Now is the time. Four weeks out is too late, eight weeks out is too late...now is the time to start fitting those pieces of jigsaw puzzle together :)

Establish your routine: get up early, find out what breakfast works for you (usually a light carbohydrate-based one) and at how long before running is comfortable. For me, it's at least two hours but I know of one - successful - runner who scoffs a bowl of porridge 20-30 minutes before a run.
    You need to find out how much/little water works too. Trips to the bushes are pretty inevitable but you want to minimise these as much as poss. You should get into the habit of hydrating throughout the week. If you do this, you don't need to worry too much about liquids on the morning of a lsr; I find a glass of water and coffee is enough and don't send me to the bushes mid-run. Again, now is the time to find what works for you.
    You also want to leave that bowel as empty as possible. Coffee works great here too so if you don't drink coffee, let us know what works for you. The legs are not the only piece of anatomy that needs training here ;)

FUELLING:
    You should also be reading as much as you can about refuelling in training and on marathon day.
    - you might decide to forgo any kind of refuelling and train your body to utilise its own resources. In that case expect Enduro to add you to his Christmas card list.
    - you might decide to use chemical free/natural foods to refuel
    - you might decide to go down the gel etc route

All these are valid choices and each one has worked for runners. You need to find out which one is for you and....now is the time ;)
    There is a lot of information online. Use your discretion when reading. Just because it's online, doesn't mean it's *true*. Source personal feedback and more reputable sites (Runners World etc). If you're in a club or know marathon runners, ask them. Real life experienced people are the best source of information, use them but remember what works for them may not be what works for you. Yep...now is the time ;)

TAPERING:
    Those of you who are racing this weekend: follow the plan but reduce the intensity and if you feel it necessary, take an extra day rest or recovery towards the end of the week. Too much rest will not necessarily make you fresher, it may even make your legs a bit lethargic. As the weeks and races progress, you will find what works for you. The important thing is, we start to fit the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle into place now.
    Good luck and strong legs!!

FOCUS FOR THE WEEK:
    This week, I want you to continue practising the elements of strong running from the last two weeks summarised as:

Breathe

Run Tall

Relaaaaax

I have one more very important ingredient to add this week:

Smile

Believe me, it makes a difference. Yeah, I've had you looking somewhat unhinged by making you talk to yourself in the conversation test and now I'm making you look like manic sweaty crazed runners by smiling on the hoof. Trust me, it works :D
    You don't need it to be a full-on gum-baring gurn (although if that works for you....), it can be a little Mona Lisa style smile.
    - you will immediately relax when you smile
    - you will be reminded of how bloody good it is to just get out and run
    - you will send some (more!) feel good thingys flooding through your body

Happy running Novices :)

Feeling a slight tightness in my calf since the 10km yesterday. Noticed it during the race especially going uphill. I actually thought it was cramp at the time. Is there any specific stretches I should be looking at? Would the foam roller be any use in this scenario? Thanks.

Hi eyeball :) Don't know how close I'm sailing towards medical advice here ;) but here goes. If it was me, I'd have it seen to if the pain doesn't go away or indeed worsens when running, stop and have it seen to.
    Foam rolling generally is good for tight calves. Have a look at foam rolling and some stretching ideas here (towards the end of the post).
    Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Training update for the last week

First week of the plan done and enjoyed it, I quite like having a plan to follow and I think I'm doing okay on keeping things easy so far.
    Feeling good today so planning some cross training today.
    Tomorrow's nights club session is due to be some trail running but easy as it's an introduction to the it for us all. I'm hoping to get my 3miles for Tuesday in there.

Thanks for the advice above dg, planning on doing all my LSRs in the morning time as much as possible as it's disrupts family life a lot less I think also. Makes me get up early on a Saturday, get it done and still have the rest of the day with my wife and daughter then.
    For food I think I am one of those people who can do the food quite soon before running and not feel any impact which is lucky for me, races being a bit different and I'd leave a good two hour gap before those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

And well done to all the Irish Runner 5 milers, I was envious on Saturday with all the posting! Hoping to do the 10 mile race in the series, it's the only one I can make this year as I've a wedding clashing with the half unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Just on the sharing what works for you - my only advice is beware eggs before a run. I would normally have eggs for a breakfast midweek but learned on a weekend that it wasn't the best food to have before a run at all, but good for refuelling after. There were a couple of faster than intended miles at the end of some runs as I made my way home to avoid a bush break!! Took a couple of weeks to figure out what the culprit in the routine was :) could be different for others though but if it helps people at all!

Lads, thank you all so much for all the time you put in to answering questions and giving advice. It's appreciated so much. If I do make it to the start line, this thread will certainly be one of the reasons why :)

Dubgal you're a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Thank you for the advice, DG, it is much appreciated. One week down, 17 to go! :)

I also try to do the LSRs as early as possible. I have a 6yo alarm clock who trundles in <7am every morning :) and the best mornings are when I can get her installed with Paw Patrol, Sofia the First, or Frozen (and a bit of breakfast), and out the door before everybody else wakes up!

As for feeding: I have started experimenting with the gels, I'd like to get used to the ones that they're handing out on the big day itself - I forgot the brand name now. So far, it seems OK, I can't really say I am noticing a difference tho.

I am struggling with water-intake tho. I don't really like running with a bottle in my hand, but I guess best to start the practice now. Do people bring bottles out on their run with them? I saw the conversation about hiding bottles in the Park, but that isn't going to work on the day itself :)

Well done to everybody racing and LSR'ing this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

nop98 wrote: »

I am struggling with water-intake tho. I don't really like running with a bottle in my hand, but I guess best to start the practice now. Do people bring bottles out on their run with them? I saw the conversation about hiding bottles in the Park, but that isn't going to work on the day itself :)

I'm the same and cant run with a bottle.. I tried on a few of the batman style utility/water belts but they annoyed me even running around the shop..

On long LSR runs i usually have a few euro in the pocket and i grab a small bottle of water once or twice in shops or garages..

On the day there are plenty of water stops to grab a bottle. Last year they were the really tiny kids bottles which are ok for holding on to for a little bit.

I also had the GF out on her bike on the day meeting me a predetermined locations to hand off a small bottle and gel so i didn't have to carry much..

Thank you for the advice, DG, it is much appreciated. One week down, 17 to go! :)

I also try to do the LSRs as early as possible. I have a 6yo alarm clock who trundles in <7am every morning :) and the best mornings are when I can get her installed with Paw Patrol, Sofia the First, or Frozen (and a bit of breakfast), and out the door before everybody else wakes up!

As for feeding: I have started experimenting with the gels, I'd like to get used to the ones that they're handing out on the big day itself - I forgot the brand name now. So far, it seems OK, I can't really say I am noticing a difference tho.

Well done to everybody racing and LSR'ing this weekend.

Hi N, thank you for the great work on the tracker sheet! The gels used on the day are Hi5, Amphibian King in Bray stock the full range. You probably won't see a noticeable difference but you will find out how many you are comfortable with or if they make you nauseous. You will also be able to plan your strategy ex water, unwrap, gulp, water etc.
    I don't like carrying a bottle either. Have you come across belts? I used a double carrier last year. I picked it up in Aldi, one bottle was for water, the other for my isotonic drink. You might get one with a pocket for holding gels/keys/€5 for emergencies too but I found my multiple-pocketed and zipped Ron Hill shorts held everything I needed. Got them in AK Bray too.
    On the day, I left the water belt at home and just used the drinks stations but that's a personal decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Hi, I wear a belt for runs btw 8 to 13 miles and when training goes above 13 miles, I wear two (I couldn't get a 4 bottle belt so I borrow a friends belt). What works for me is water in two of the bottles and Nunn tablet in two of the bottles for salt replenishment. Now I'm not sure if it really helps, or I just mentally think it helps, but it works for me. I live in the country, no shops to pop into on my lsr's and I don't like doing loops for training, so I can't bring a bottle and hide it somewhere for the next loop.

I can't hold a bottle when I run, it just doesn't feel right and for DCM, because they have all the water stations, I'll probably wear one belt with Nunn tablets in.

I use a gel I get locally, again for runs over 13miles, but I'm diabetic T2 so paranoid about food intake (as opposed to collapsing with a hypo) so I probably overdo the gels, but for me, better safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

no but on the day itself you'll have the water stations, pre hiding your bottles, or as someone else suggested bring a few euro and buy en route, means you can run without the water but still grab a bottle at intervals simulating what will happen on the day. Plus 1 to having friends/family out on the course too and prearranged places. As Dubgal said now is the time to practice all of these things to see what will work best for you on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Firedance wrote: »
    no but on the day itself you'll have the water stations, pre hiding your bottles, or as someone else suggested bring a few euro and buy en route, means you can run without the water but still grab a bottle at intervals simulating what will happen on the day. Plus 1 to having friends/family out on the course too and prearranged places. As Dubgal said now is the time to practice all of these things to see what will work best for you on the day.

I thought about asking friends to do that for me (I've no family here) but I feel bad asking them as they'd be standing there an awfully long time waiting for me! It's a lot to ask of them! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

I thought about asking friends to do that for me (I've no family here) but I feel bad asking them as they'd be standing there an awfully long time waiting for me! It's a lot to ask of them! :(

Isn't there an app to track runners? Perhaps they can follow you on that and then meet you with whatever you need.

If there isn't then I'm sure they'd be fine with ball-park times, there's always plenty to watch while waiting for someone you know.

Toulouse wrote: »
    Isn't there an app to track runners? Perhaps they can follow you on that and then meet you with whatever you need.

If there isn't then I'm sure they'd be fine with ball-park times, there's always plenty to watch while waiting for someone you know.

The drinks stations are very frequent, not sure you need extra along the way unless you are planning on taking some sort of specialised drink in which case, using the tracking app/ball park figure is a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

only doing 10.30 min avg. with Dog in toe, sorry missed PJD, but probably still asleep.
    Wouldn't be best at recognising people, next time give me a kick. I missed out on facial
    recognition gene,takes me couple of times meeting someone - my Wife will back me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭KillianByrne

Toulouse wrote: »

Closer to the big day a spreadsheet will appear here that you can put your planned pace into it & the spreadsheet will determine at what time you should arrive at each road / mile / point on the course.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,491 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Closer to the big day a spreadsheet will appear here that you can put your planned pace into it & the spreadsheet will determine at what time you should arrive at each road / mile / point on the course.

It's already on the spreadsheet.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1X4ruB5STPrJP1UXONBsWM-WTXFJQreeZbHiO6XHxohc/edit#gid=76

While we're talking about it, I'm on the hunt for 24 new friends that will stand at each mile marker to pull me up the road. I've already one ready and willing who understands the completely ludicrous and mental desire to want to do this in the first place. So if anyone who isn't doing it wants to volunteer to be my friend for a mile, just drop me a PM :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    The drinks stations are very frequent, not sure you need extra along the way unless you are planning on taking some sort of specialised drink in which case, using the tracking app/ball park figure is a great idea.

Just to add that you should take care if making arrangements like this. Choose a specific point (ideally something like a bus stop) on a specific side of the road. Also, (and this may seem obvious) make sure that you know who it is you'll be picking things up from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Clearlier wrote: »
    Just to add that you should take care if making arrangements like this. Choose a specific point (ideally something like a bus stop) on a specific side of the road. Also, (and this may seem obvious) make sure that you know who it is you'll be picking things up from.

That's a good point!

My problem is, the few friends I have that I wouldn't hesitate to ask to do this all live outside of Ireland. The friends I have here I would hesitate to ask. I hate being a bother, that's just me, so I wouldn't ask because I wouldn't want them to say yes out of obligation. It's their bank holiday too! Not that they aren't good friends, just that...like I said, I hate being a bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

That's a good point!

My problem is, the few friends I have that I wouldn't hesitate to ask to do this all live outside of Ireland. The friends I have here I would hesitate to ask. I hate being a bother, that's just me, so I wouldn't ask because I wouldn't want them to say yes out of obligation. It's their bank holiday too! Not that they aren't good friends, just that...like I said, I hate being a bother.

You will likely find closer to the date that some of your friends are planning to watch the marathon. Having never spectated myself I was floored by the number of people supporting runners along the route. If they're watching already it might not be a huge deal for them to hold something for you. The issue with that is that you might have to wait until closer to the marathon to find out who you might ask and if there turns out not to be anybody you'll have to go with plan B which you should make sure that you have practiced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I have an appointment with my physio next Monday night to have a look at my calf/achilles. Better be safe than sorry in these situations. She said to keep running between now and then unless it gets bad and to make sure I stretch plenty and go on the foam roller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

That's a good point!

yes sorry I should have been clearer, as Clearlier said make sure you pick an exact spot and tell them where to be and roughly what time. I gave a 30 min window and an indication of what pace group I would be coming after and there is the official tracker too. I never ask my friends or family to help out with running related stuff but this was my exception, I was running a a marathon and I needed their help!! even if it was to know there were out on course cheering me on, I'm not suggesting that you rely on them for hydration etc, for me that was an extra back up 'in case' they also had things like Vaseline, extra gels, my energy drink pre mixed etc etc. Its just one option though and not necessary at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I used to use a bottle belt but I found the bouncing and sloshing about too much of a pain, so I started just going without. That was fine until the sun started shining again over the last month or so, so last Saturday I carried a bottle with me.
    Carrying a bottle was a very small price to pay for having water on my lsr. I think it would be a real inconvenience on faster runs, but I didn't mind at all on the lsr.

On the day itself you'll be getting water from the stations, so you'll never be too far away from hydration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Any chance of putting the dates in the date column in the HHN1 plan in the same way as it is on the boards plan?