Makeup artists on my Facebook

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

i am a man and i wear make-up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

If girls disapprove then the simple solution is not to partake in said activity and mind their business. And yes, it is a hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Clearly the two of ye have never given Coppers a try :D

I've never had a night out in Dublin. I've seen this place recommended a lot so must give it a lash. The shift is always nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

oxw wrote: »
    Most men if I'm not mistaken, and girls too disapprove of the layer of bullshXt that makeup applies.

Wouldn't consider it a hobby either it's like a science, all women searching for that perfect face.

"Disapprove"? Most lads I know feel that women look better without makeup, but that's more the expression of a passive opinion than actual "disapproval".

And eh... If you think most women also disapprove of it, then why do most of them do it and enjoy doing it? :p

"Disapprove"? Most lads I know feel that women look better without makeup, but that's more the expression of a passive opinion than actual "disapproval".

And eh... If you think most women also disapprove of it, then why do theymost of them do it and enjoy doing it? :p

Well lets not generalise now. I doubt its done in the Middle East too much. Didn't see it in Tanzania either. China yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The problem is facebook and how people make 'friends' with those they would never otherwise put up with, not what interests other people have
    I have several girls on my Facebook
    Is it only me that finds this extremely irritating?

You're part of the problem OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 oxw

I agree, there's plenty of things you could be doing instead. Nothing like a bit of variety to break up the day. Doing makeup all day long would be tiresome. When I'm not doing makeup, I'm painting nails, or applying eyelashes, or sculpting eyebrows, or waxing legs and intimate bits.
    God forbid a woman wants to take care of herself, tart!

Applying eyelashes lol don't you have eyelashes naturally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

The problem is young women don't realise that plastering their faces in makeup is destroying their skin. They get bad acne and don't realise it's the makeup that is causing it.

Reiver wrote: »
    I've never had a night out in Dublin. I've seen this place recommended a lot so must give it a lash. The shift is always nice.

Oh I wouldn't recommend it in a million years. The comparatively easier shift truly isn't worth braving the horrors of that place.

Coppers continues to have a problem which most other Dublin nightclubs have copped on to in recent years - they judge "capacity" by adding up the number of people that can fit in a room without making any allowance for the fact that those people need empty space in the room to be able to walk around eachother. Try, for example, ordering a pint at the bar and making it to your friends' table five feet away without spilling almost all of it from the sheer amount of jostling - in my experience it can't be done. They simply let the place get too crowded.

I understand how this helps people get the ride a little easier, but well, when you can get the ride easily enough already you don't need that kind of boost ;)

jamesbere wrote: »
    The problem is young women don't realise that plastering their faces in makeup is destroying their skin. They get bad acne and don't realise it's the makeup that is causing it.

+1. My cousin in a pharmacy said loads that come in for acne is because of makeup. She doesnt wear it too much but says its a fairly vicious circle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

To make myself clear I'm not talking about the profession in its entirety, more so the proliferation and multiplication of MUA's everywhere on social media. Eveyone seems to have 'MUA' attached to their names on facebook nowadays.

anna080 wrote: »
    To make myself clear I'm not talking about the profession in its entirety, moreso the proliferation and multifunction of MUA's everywhere on social media. Eveyone seems to have 'MUA' attached to their names on facebook nowadays.

Don't you think it's better than ~2007 when everyone had "armchair economist" attached to their social media presence? ;)

anna080 wrote: »
    To make myself clear I'm not talking about the profession in its entirety, moreso the proliferation and multifunction of MUA's everywhere on social media. Eveyone seems to have 'MUA' attached to their names on facebook nowadays.

If I spent 3 hours a day painting something I'd call myself an artist too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Don't you think it's better than ~2007 when everyone had "armchair economist" attached to their social media presence? ;)

Well aren't you a funny one

Reiver wrote: »
    +1. My cousin in a pharmacy said loads that come in for acne is because of makeup. She doesnt wear it too much but says its a fairly vicious circle.

Exactly it's nuts, to make it worse they put makeup over the acne which is the worst thing you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'm going with my tried and tested 'Living the dream' and 'works at full time mad ba*tard'. You can't beat a classic...

The problem is facebook and how people make 'friends' with those they would never otherwise put up with, not what interests other people have

You're part of the problem OP

I don't think I'm part of the problem to be quite honest, I would only wish to wake up one day and see every girls skin bare and them being happy, to be finally be free of the burden of looking like someone else they would all finally be on one level!

Hitmen for max factor are on the way to your house right now

jamesbere wrote: »
    Hitmen for max factor are on the way to your house right now

LMFAO my sisters just got word of my post and they're banging on my bedroom door so no need :D

My point was that if these people irk you so much, then why are the loads of them on 'your Facebook'

I know loads of cnuts in real life that I actively try to avoid and ignore on social media. Other people seem to seek out those that annoy them most in real life and befriend them on Facebook

The internet is a bizarre place.
    I would only wish to wake up one day and see every girls skin bare and them being happy

If you ever become a serial killer the newspapers will have a field day

My point was that if these people irk you so much, then why are the loads of them on 'your Facebook'

I know loads of cnuts in real life that I actively try to avoid and ignore on social media. Other people seem to seek out those that annoy them most in real life and befriend them on Facebook

If you ever become a serial killer the newspapers will have a field day

Because these people I know, it's just they are choosing to follow the sheep with this makeup circus! I don't dislike them personally it's just their interests and their priorities that have me seconding guessing things lol!

If I ever became one, none would ever find out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

Yep they post pictures of the amazing work they did on people and they all look like hookers, and not the expensive kind of hookers! You'd swear it was a Halloween costume!
    After a week or two of these hideous photos they usually only post selfies of themselves looking like talcom powder on my anus after a does of the ****s as no one will go near them for any event.

booooring! wrote: »
    Yep they post pictures of the amazing work they did on people and they all look like hookers, and not the expensive kind of hookers! You'd swear it was a Halloween costume!
    After a week or two of these hideous photos they usually only post selfies of themselves looking like talcom powder on my anus after a does of the ****s as no one will go near them for any event.

dead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

dead :D

Please explain :)

booooring! wrote: »
    Please explain :)

As in dead from laughter lol :P

↑↑↑ serial killer

Told yiz. Better make friends with them on Facebook quick before they're caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Back in my day these people would be working in Dunnes or whatever, but even that is a hard target these days with the way things are. If they can make a few bob by plastering women with makeup, then fair balls.

I dunno lad. You think you know a person. Lately I've had one friend of mine who seems completely normal start sharing stuff about vaccines causing all sorts of ****.

Another has seemingly discovered britain firsts anti migrant stuff and blares it as face. You can never tell sometimes, facebook just shows them up sometimes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Had a few on Facebook and I made use of the unfriend option And it was mainly to do with unbridled narcissism. They’re totally convinced the sun shines out of their arses and the world revolves around them