Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Makeup artists on my Facebook

• 28-09-2015 10:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38 oxw

So recently becoming a "Makeup Artist" is the new norm amongst young girls in their late teens early 20's!

I have several girls on my Facebook posting faces caked in makeup promoting to be the next Picasso!

Is it only me that finds this extremely irritating?

Sorry if I offended anyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Alright, Mark.. what's the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Defriend then. Simples.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 oxw

Mark? Afraid not :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

I wonder what they look like underneath all the makeup.

Defriend then. Simples.

I could but that's not the point I'm making :D the point is the rise of the makeup artists nowadays, am I deluded or is their a wave of them nowadays!? :P

I wonder what they look like underneath all the makeup.

Some show before and after pictures, oh Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

I abhor it. Especially them going on about true beauty and then plastering it on. I've worn makeup, for the stage, so people wont just see a ghost. I thought as well in our modern world it's an unfair standard placed on people. FFS, why waste so much time on appearance? The usual people were banging on about KONY a few years back and then bringbackourgirls

oxw wrote: »
    Some show before and after pictures, oh Jesus Christ.

I bet :pac:

Reiver wrote: »
    I abhor it. Especially them going on about true beauty and then plastering it on. I've worn makeup, for the stage. I thought as well in our modern world it's an unfair standard placed on people. FFS, why waste so uch time on appearance?

I do wonder myself, makeup is scary business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

They're all brain washed. Social media has become a power house whereby we are all influenced and we don't even realise it. It's all false consciousness. The reason all these girls are suddenly jumping on the make up artist bandwagon is because the beauty industry has such power over us that it's main aim is to make us feel insecure and ugly so we succomb and buy what they're selling.

It's the same with make up artistry and social media. It's being perpetuated on social media so vastly that now most young girls believe that this is what they now must do and advance towards that. Instagram is crazy, it's just scrolling down image by image but we are unaware of what this is actually doing to us subconsciously. All these images are creating and perpetuating a certain ideal which young girls are so impressionable towards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

anna080 wrote: »
    They're all brain washed. Social media has become a power house whereby we are all influenced and we don't even realise it. It's all false consciousness. The reason all these girls are suddenly jumping on the make up artist bandwagon is because the beauty industry has such power over us that it's main aim is to make us feel insecure and ugly so we succomb and buy what they're selling.

It's the same with make up artistry and social media. It's being perpetuated on social media so vastly that now most young girls believe that this is what they now must do and advance towards that. Instagram is crazy, it's just scrolling down image by image but we are unaware of what this is actually doing to us subconsciously. All these images are creating and perpetuating a certain ideal which young girls are so impressionable towards.

Your post reminds me of the smart Gremlin in Gremlins 2. Just by the prose like, before you get offended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Young women using initiative to make money for themselves. Such c*nts!

Your post reminds me of the smart Gremlin in Gremlins 2. Just by the prose like, before you get offended!

I'll take that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I could but that's not the point I'm making :D the point is the rise of the makeup artists nowadays, am I deluded or is their a wave of them nowadays!? :P

No you're not deluded. Make-up is the root of all evil.
    In fact, I would go further and say that make-up is the root of ALL of mankind's problems. Every single one of them. Even Crystal Swing.
    If women didn't wear make-up (and heels) then they would be forced to accept that they should be dating men on the same rung of the 'Good Looks Ladder'® as they are on (there are 10 steps in total).
    Women who are 5's, 6's and 7's become 8's, 9's and 10's thanks to Max Factor and Manolo Blahnik.
    This in turn causes all the genuine women (who are 8's, 9's and 10's) to resent the fake 8's, 9's and 10's.
    As you see, the male 8's, 9's and 10's should be theirs by birthright, but the faux good looking ladies, steal them from them.
    The 1's, 2's, 3's, 4's women obviously become 4's, 5's, 6's, 7s and so there really is nobody that this doesn't have a drastic and negative impact upon.
    Which begs the question, who is left to shag the men who are 1's, 2's, 3's and 4's when their women are all off chasing better looking men?
    Nobody, that's who, and this creates untold stress for the males of our species and they must find ways of releasing this pent up tension.
    Thus far, World Wars and violent video games have provided the only sufficient means of expressing that level of fury.
    Ban make up and heels though and women would have no choice but to stop playing dress up and have sex with men on the same 'Good Looks Ladder'® rung as they are on.
    World peace would soon follow. Mark my words.

In fact, I would go further and say that make-up is the root of ALL of mankind's problems. Every single one of them. Even Crystal Swing.
    If women didn't wear make-up (and heels) then they would be forced to accept that they should be dating men on the same rung of the 'Good Looks Ladder'® as them (there are 10 steps in total).
    Women who are 5's, 6's and 7's become 8's, 9's and 10's thanks to Max Factor Manolo Blahnik.
    This in turn causes all the genuine women who 8's, 9's and 10's to resent the fake 8's, 9's and 10's.
    As you see, the men who are 8's, 9's and 10's should be theirs by birthright, but the faux ladies steal them.
    The 1's, 2's, 3's, 4's women obviously also become 4's, 5's, 6's and 7s.
    So begs the question, who is left to shag the men who are 1's, 2's, 3's and 4's, if their women are all off chasing better looking men?
    Nobody, that's who, and this creates untold stress the make species and they must find ways of releasing the pent up tension.
    World wars have so far provided the only means of sufficient means of expressing their fury.
    Ban make up and heels and women will have no choice but to stop playing dress up and have sex with men on the same I]'Good Looks Ladder'®[/I] as them.
    World peace will soon follow. Mark my words.

Every hole is a goal lad. You learn something every time. Don't be shallow and discriminate by appearance.

Totally agree Anna, I think as we progress into the future girls will want to perfect themselves more and more and be like the girl they saw in a certain photo not truly knowing the mental state of the girl in that photo!

She might hate how she looks it's just an outsiders opinion that ends up setting a standard and them trying to achieve that standard!

There's so much wrong with society and so much people are oblivious to it, it's hard to witness! Girls think by achieving a certain standard in apply makeup that their problems/imperfections will just disappear but it doesn't work like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There's decent enough money to be made at it to be honest. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Why specifically do you find it irritating?

Every hole is a goal lad. You learn something every time. Don't be shallow and discriminate by appearance.

Ya but he's saying the ugly lads cant even get the hole in the first place

If women didn't wear make-up (and heels) then they would be forced to accept that they should be dating men on the same rung of the 'Good Looks Ladder'® as they are on (there are 10 steps in total).
    Women who are 5's, 6's and 7's become 8's, 9's and 10's thanks to Max Factor Manolo Blahnik.
    This in turn causes all the genuine women who 8's, 9's and 10's to resent the fake 8's, 9's and 10's.
    As you see, the men who are 8's, 9's and 10's should be theirs by birthright, but the faux ladies steal them.
    The 1's, 2's, 3's, 4's women obviously also become 4's, 5's, 6's and 7s.
    So begs the question, who is left to shag the men who are 1's, 2's, 3's and 4's, if their women are all off chasing better looking men?
    Nobody, that's who, and this creates untold stress for the males of our species and they must find ways of releasing that pent up tension.
    World wars have so far provided the only sufficient means of expressing that fury.
    Ban make up and heels and women will have no choice but to stop playing dress up and have sex with men on the same 'Good Looks Ladder'® as them.
    World peace will soon follow. Mark my words.

Post of the month.. Take a bow son..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ratings are for eggs and Coronation Street

Well that's me fcuked. Guess I can always find a vocation.

Why specifically do you find it irritating?

Because isn't their something else that girls may be doing instead of finding out how to contour and apply cheek bones where there isn't any in the first place??

Why would girls want to sculpt themselves and others to appear different for a few hours till they have to remove it and start from scratch the next day?

Fine, some may feel insecure or ugly without it but Jesus enough is enough like! It's daft!

Well that's me fcuked. Guess I can always find a vocation.

Clearly the two of ye have never given Coppers a try :D

Those silly girls and their silly hobbies that sensible men posting on boards after midnight disapprove of. What a waste!

Because isn't their something else that girls may be doing instead of finding out how to contour and apply cheek bones where there isn't any in the first place??

Why would girls want to sculpt themselves and others to appear different for a few hours till they have to remove it and start from scratch the next day?

Fine, some may feel insecure or ugly without it but Jesus enough is enough like! It's daft!

I agree, there's plenty of things you could be doing instead. Nothing like a bit of variety to break up the day. Doing makeup all day long would be tiresome. When I'm not doing makeup, I'm painting nails, or applying eyelashes, or sculpting eyebrows, or waxing legs and intimate bits.
    God forbid a woman wants to take care of herself, tart!

There is, but clearly these ones aren't.

Why would I want to spend hours pumping iron in the gym when I'll lose it and have to start from scratch the next time the Christmas Party season rolls around? Same question :p

See above

People enjoy doing these things, that's all that matters. Personally what I find irritating is this proto-nanny psychoanalysing of every common human behaviour and trying to find a reason to deem it "harmful". It's analogous and every bit as irritating as the online trend of cultural authoritarians analysing common media and labelling various aspects of it "problematic". Can't we just leave people alone and let them be happy? Naturally if I didn't do anything I'd have a gigantic Moses beard and a labyrinth of curls in and around my bollocks. How is artificially interfering with those things any different to artificially colouring one's skin or eyelids? Serious question, I'm honestly not getting it - either artificially changing your appearance is annoying or it isn't. If people are taking issue with makeup but not with lads shaving their faces every morning, I genuinely don't understand what distinguishes one from the other - apart from the fact that shaving probably requires less effort.

bluewolf wrote: »
    Those silly girls and their silly hobbies that sensible men posting on boards after midnight disapprove of. What a waste!

Most men if I'm not mistaken, and girls too disapprove of the layer of bullshXt that makeup applies.

Wouldn't consider it a hobby either it's like a science, all women searching for that perfect face.

bluewolf wrote: »

</thread> :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

i am a man and i wear make-up

If girls disapprove then the simple solution is not to partake in said activity and mind their business. And yes, it is a hobby.

Clearly the two of ye have never given Coppers a try :D

I've never had a night out in Dublin. I've seen this place recommended a lot so must give it a lash. The shift is always nice.

Most men if I'm not mistaken, and girls too disapprove of the layer of bullshXt that makeup applies.

Wouldn't consider it a hobby either it's like a science, all women searching for that perfect face.

"Disapprove"? Most lads I know feel that women look better without makeup, but that's more the expression of a passive opinion than actual "disapproval".

And eh... If you think most women also disapprove of it, then why do most of them do it and enjoy doing it? :p

"Disapprove"? Most lads I know feel that women look better without makeup, but that's more the expression of a passive opinion than actual "disapproval".

And eh... If you think most women also disapprove of it, then why do theymost of them do it and enjoy doing it? :p

Well lets not generalise now. I doubt its done in the Middle East too much. Didn't see it in Tanzania either. China yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The problem is facebook and how people make 'friends' with those they would never otherwise put up with, not what interests other people have
    I have several girls on my Facebook

You're part of the problem OP

I agree, there's plenty of things you could be doing instead. Nothing like a bit of variety to break up the day. Doing makeup all day long would be tiresome. When I'm not doing makeup, I'm painting nails, or applying eyelashes, or sculpting eyebrows, or waxing legs and intimate bits.
    God forbid a woman wants to take care of herself, tart!

Applying eyelashes lol don't you have eyelashes naturally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

The problem is young women don't realise that plastering their faces in makeup is destroying their skin. They get bad acne and don't realise it's the makeup that is causing it.

I've never had a night out in Dublin. I've seen this place recommended a lot so must give it a lash. The shift is always nice.

Oh I wouldn't recommend it in a million years. The comparatively easier shift truly isn't worth braving the horrors of that place.

Coppers continues to have a problem which most other Dublin nightclubs have copped on to in recent years - they judge "capacity" by adding up the number of people that can fit in a room without making any allowance for the fact that those people need empty space in the room to be able to walk around eachother. Try, for example, ordering a pint at the bar and making it to your friends' table five feet away without spilling almost all of it from the sheer amount of jostling - in my experience it can't be done. They simply let the place get too crowded.

I understand how this helps people get the ride a little easier, but well, when you can get the ride easily enough already you don't need that kind of boost ;)

jamesbere wrote: »
    The problem is young women don't realise that plastering their faces in makeup is destroying their skin. They get bad acne and don't realise it's the makeup that is causing it.

+1. My cousin in a pharmacy said loads that come in for acne is because of makeup. She doesnt wear it too much but says its a fairly vicious circle.

To make myself clear I'm not talking about the profession in its entirety, more so the proliferation and multiplication of MUA's everywhere on social media. Eveyone seems to have 'MUA' attached to their names on facebook nowadays.

To make myself clear I'm not talking about the profession in its entirety, moreso the proliferation and multifunction of MUA's everywhere on social media. Eveyone seems to have 'MUA' attached to their names on facebook nowadays.

Don't you think it's better than ~2007 when everyone had "armchair economist" attached to their social media presence? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

To make myself clear I'm not talking about the profession in its entirety, moreso the proliferation and multifunction of MUA's everywhere on social media. Eveyone seems to have 'MUA' attached to their names on facebook nowadays.

If I spent 3 hours a day painting something I'd call myself an artist too

Don't you think it's better than ~2007 when everyone had "armchair economist" attached to their social media presence? ;)

Well aren't you a funny one

+1. My cousin in a pharmacy said loads that come in for acne is because of makeup. She doesnt wear it too much but says its a fairly vicious circle.

Exactly it's nuts, to make it worse they put makeup over the acne which is the worst thing you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'm going with my tried and tested 'Living the dream' and 'works at full time mad ba*tard'. You can't beat a classic...

The problem is facebook and how people make 'friends' with those they would never otherwise put up with, not what interests other people have

You're part of the problem OP

I don't think I'm part of the problem to be quite honest, I would only wish to wake up one day and see every girls skin bare and them being happy, to be finally be free of the burden of looking like someone else they would all finally be on one level!

Hitmen for max factor are on the way to your house right now

jamesbere wrote: »
    Hitmen for max factor are on the way to your house right now

LMFAO my sisters just got word of my post and they're banging on my bedroom door so no need :D