Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3 RWC coverage

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Oh he is on commentary? I thought he was on the panel

He did the pre match on the pitch stuff, not seen him on any panel yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Stheno wrote: »
    He did the pre match on the pitch stuff, not seen him on any panel yet

For the Ireland game?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

wp_rathead wrote: »
    For the Ireland game?

Think so himself and some tinygirl were down on the pitch before it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Cheers
    Was gonna ask how he got on but I'm guessing he got 30seconds in before they cut to an add break :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Redgirl82 wrote: »
    Don't shoot me if wrong but according to a podcast I heard today UTV/ITV are providing all the actual camera work for the games. So all TV3 are doing is borrowing the same coverage from UTV/ITV and just putting there commentary team on top of it. So posting that moving to ITV because of poor camera work is pointless.

It's not the camera work people have issues with, it's the picture quality.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

DrFloppy wrote: »
    Haven't had any problems with the picture or sound quality on TV3... but those ads.

Behind the hooker at a line outs, looks like someone has stuck an old webcam to the end of a pole. It gets incredibly fuzzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Mr Man

Danny2580 wrote: »
    Am I the only one who can't find Japan vs South Africa on the 3 player?

Highlights show is unwatchable because the picture quality is absolutely rubbish, dizzying stuff. Pity anyone watching in Saorview. They've dropped the ball big time, coverage is pants.

It's not available on the UPC 3Player but does seem to be available on the web player. I've asked them on Twitter what the story is and also emailed 3playersupport@tv3.ie - seems odd as the other matches are available on the UPC player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's not the camera work people have issues with, it's the picture quality.

Seriously? I can't be bothered to read all 420+ posts on this thread but is it all really about the picture quality.

We really do have some serious 1st World issues in Ireland these days:P

I do seem to remember a c**p load of posts every 6N about how poor RTE is, also how poor the BBC are at same time....can't please a lot of people by the looks of it.....

I watch TV3 simply because it is Irish station and it supports Irish jobs....

I am actually more interested in the game and tactics than if the picture could be a little bit clearer on ITV than on TV3 on my 102" TV....:P:P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I watch TV3 because I've no choice :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Behind the hooker at a line outs, looks like someone has stuck an old webcam to the end of a pole. It gets incredibly fuzzy.

I'm pretty sure that "pole" is the touch judge, and the webcam is one of those ref-cam things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

We're also spoiled by international standards when it comes to ads. Ever tried watching sports in the USA? Christ. Even Australian TV shows ads during rugby matches whenever there's a break in play, very annoying.

The only solution then is to give the next set of rights to Sky Sports. Those lads know how to televise rugby.

You can imagine the bit*hing and moaning if Sky got it. Sure the last time Leinster played Munster in Heineken cup wasn't some minister crying because he couldn't watch on free to air???
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/news/2010/0430/264487-ryane/

I do agree it would be great if Sky did have it, they do know how to do it proper....

He's right though, Rugby World Cup and Six Nations should never be off free-to-air in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ken76

Just texted the right hook about the **** coverage to see if George had an opinion,text wasn't read, so then i decided to text the last word, obviously it wasn't read there

It'll be interesting to see how the coverage for Japan 2019 is given the host country usually controls the video footage - 8K, VR, and 3D feeds anybody?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Seriously? I can't be bothered to read all 420+ posts on this thread but is it all really about the picture quality.

Maybe you should, as it's a valid complaint. You'll also see it's not all about the picture quality too, but when there is complaints about the picture it's to do with the quality, not camera angles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

You can imagine the bit*hing and moaning if Sky got it. Sure the last time Leinster played Munster in Heineken cup wasn't some minister crying because he couldn't watch on free to air???
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/news/2010/0430/264487-ryane/

I do agree it would be great if Sky did have it, they do know how to do it proper....

Yeah there would be war, I was more just making the point that maybe people need to accept that free to air coverage comes at a cost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

deadybai wrote: »
    Watching both TV3SD and ITVHD the weekend and have to say Tv3 are doing a great job. Without doubt the picture quality is vastly improved over the blurry Champions League games we were getting a while ago. Its clear that the main commentator doesn't watch rugby regularly but he has improved since the first game. I love the Southern Hemisphere commentators. Think their accents fit the rugby perfectly. Its a shame you have to subscribe to watch in HD but I have to say theres very little difference between TV3 in standard definition than ITV in HD.

Overall I think Tv3 have done great so far and will be watching them over ITV.

Hello Mr Cooper.... Your doing a ****e job have a chat to the execs for us will you? Please direct them to this page.... Thabks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

I haven't bothered reading this whole thread, but thought I'd add my 2 cents anyway.

I've UPC Horizon with TV3 in HD, on a relatively new HD TV. The picture is great and I have to admit that I've thought tv3 are doing a very good job so far in the coverage.

They've got good pundits, a proper set, excellent co-commentators in Stuart Barnes & Liam Toland. Matt Cooper is a little awkward as a host, but he asks intelligent questions.

I'm not saying TV3 are the best in the world, but I'm definitely enjoying it compared to the tired old RTE fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭OldRio

We really do have some serious 1st World issues in Ireland these days:P

I do seem to remember a c**p load of posts every 6N about how poor RTE is, also how poor the BBC are at same time....can't please a lot of people by the looks of it.....

I watch TV3 simply because it is Irish station and it supports Irish jobs....

I am actually more interested in the game and tactics than if the picture could be a little bit clearer on ITV than on TV3 on my 102" TV....:P:P

I refuse to pay subscription to Sky to watch an Irish TV Station. The SD quality picture on Saorview is a disgrace. Third world countrys will have better quality TV pictures than 3e.
    It's 2015 and the handing of the contract to a provider who puts the product behind a paywall is stupid.
    But hey its Ireland. It'll be grand.
    ITV are doing a fine job and guess what? You can watch it on HD for nothing. (Thank God for freeview)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

OldRio wrote: »
    I refuse to pay subscription to Sky to watch an Irish TV Station. The SD quality picture on Saorview is a disgrace. Third world countrys will have better quality TV pictures than 3e.
    It's 2015 and the handing of the contract to a provider who puts the product behind a paywall is stupid.
    But hey its Ireland. It'll be grand.

TV3 and 3e are on Saorview

efb wrote: »
    TV3 and 3e are on Saorview

Not in HD. Thats the point.

There is no requirement to show them in HD. TV3 are a commercial station, HD is a revenue stream tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

You can add itv, or bbc on extra channels even if you have no current sky subscription ,on a sky reciever.
    http://www.techkings.org/general-cable-tv/10748-how-add-extra-channels-your-sky-box-ireland.html

i think there itv london, itv 1,2 ,3 etc there
    You might need an old sky card in the reciever .

There is no requirement to show them in HD. TV3 are a commercial station, HD is a revenue stream tbf

ITV are a commercial station and yet their HD coverage is on freeview. TV3 will not pay the carriage costs for saorview HD.
    It is what it is.

ITV are a commercial station and yet their HD coverage is on freeview. TV3 will not pay the carriage costs for saorview HD.
    It is what it is.

ITV have access to a much larger revenue stream and ITV2-4 isn't on Freesat in HD

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

My issues with TV3 are the amount of ads basically. However by all accounts (my twitter feed) ITV are at the same carry on.
    Also they schedule a whole day for the matches but very quickly run out of things to talk about. To me that seems to be the fault of the main presenter on TV3. It seems like je has a list of very basic questions and just asks one, let's someone talk for a bit then moves onto the next question rather than having an actual conversation. Sometimes one of the guys will say something quite interesting and there's an obvious follow up question that a better host would ask but Cooper just goes on to the next question and after about 5 minutes they've run out of things to say and end up going over the same stuff.

But it is what it is. I have no other option but to watch it on TV3 so I'll get on with it.

I get over the ads, watching on ITV I don't have a problem, I mean they have 50 min uninterrupted coverage a half, they are non subscribtion commercial stations, they need to make money

ITV have access to a much larger revenue stream and ITV2-4 isn't on Freesat in HD

I know that. ITV4 are showing some matches, not many, and the difference in quality between 3e/TV3 and ITV4 is remarkable.
    I just think HD should be the normal standard. TV3 think different.

Anyone listen to Hook etc doing the half time analysis online?