Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanker watch: Warning signs that someone is a tosser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

For me it is Irish people who "support" British soccer teams , yes I am including Celtic in it. It is really annoying that people get sucked into the bandwagon (of who ever is top team aged 10 ) then claim a connection...

If you grow up being entertained and excited by a certain football team then there is a connection. Do you feel the same way about Irish people growing up listening to British bands?

Anyone that likens supporting a football team to liking bands hasn't a clue what supporting a football team actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Omackeral wrote: »
    Anyone that likens supporting a football team to liking bands hasn't a clue what supporting a football team actually is.

Having attended both a number of football matches and a number of concerts, I disagree.

Children are impressionable. What draws young Irish children to British football teams isn't really any different to what draws young Irish children to British and American bands and popstars.

Music: You like what you hear, you want to hear more of it. You're friends also like what they hear, and want to hear more. You admire the musician's talent. You develop an interest in their career. You're excited by the fame, the sold out shows. Your perhaps inspired to try singing or playing an instrument. You get a chance to go to a concert and thoroughly enjoy it. You want to go again. You maintain an interest as you get older. You associate songs with positive memories and happy times in your past. You look forward to new releases, announcements of live shows.You listen to the music every now and then because it makes you enjoy it and it makes you happy.

Football: You like what you see, you want to see more of it. You're friends also like what they see and want to see more. You admire the world class talented players. You develop an interest in the players and the club. You're excited by the fame of the players and the sell out stadiums every week. You're perhaps inspired to start playing football, maybe joining a local club or just playing at lunch time in school. You get a chance to go to a match at Old Trafford or Anfield and thoroughly enjoy it. You want to go again. You maintain an interest in the progress of the clubs and players as you get older. You associate the team with positive memories and happy moments in your past. You look forward to big matches, the announcement of big players signing. You watch the team play every now and then because you enjoy it and it makes you happy.

Granted, most Irish fans aren't from Manchester or Liverpool or Chelsea, but when you grow up with an interest in football and supporting a side that made you happy as a child then there is a connection. To me, people that can't understand, look down upon, and get annoyed by the fact that some Irish football fans enjoy supporting British football teams isn't just a sign of being a wanker or a tosser, it's a sign of being a grade A pr*ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

People at bus stops.

Bus ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

When you see somebody with their pants tucked into their socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Aidric wrote: »
    Anyone wearing converse high tops.

Yeah, shoes. What's up with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

People who use a suitcase as a bag. It's not quirky or unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭brian_7070

Sorry but I am going to have to include people who use smileys of any kind at the end of a comment that is supposed to be funny or witty or tongue in cheek. 9 times out of 10 they are not really any of these things. It’s like canned laughter on a comedy show if it’s funny we will laugh we don’t need to be prompted to laugh or we don’t need an emoji with a wink or thumbs up if a comment is witty we will know.
    Again sorry had to get that off my chest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

People who send that thumbs up in Messenger.

Talk to me you twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

People who send that thumbs up in Messenger.

Talk to me you twat

They don't want to talk to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Lads in office jobs who wear their suit jackets even when sitting down doing work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Saipanne wrote: »
    They don't want to talk to you.
    U ok hun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Cuban Pete

U ok hun?

People who think this is funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

razorblunt wrote: »
    Lads in office jobs who wear their suit jackets even when sitting down doing work.
    Call the Guards quick! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,138 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

"loonie Lefties"
    "bleedin heart liberals"

if you have ever typed the above you are a wanker

and i'm spending too much time on the journal

"loonie Lefties"
    "bleedin heart liberals"

if you have ever typed the above you are a wanker

and i'm spending too much time on the journal

Crazy neo liberal, etc, etc.

Face it. People on both sides are ****ing idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Thargor wrote: »
    Call the Guards quick! :eek:

It's more a case for the fashion police more than anyone else, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,479 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

brian_7070 wrote: »
    Sorry but I am going to have to include people who use smileys of any kind at the end of a comment that is supposed to be funny or witty or tongue in cheek. 9 times out of 10 they are not really any of these things. It’s like canned laughter on a comedy show if it’s funny we will laugh we don’t need to be prompted to laugh or we don’t need an emoji with a wink or thumbs up if a comment is witty we will know.
    Again sorry had to get that off my chest

:) whew..that was close..good job I had it at the front of my comment or I'd be a complete wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,622 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Somebody who launches a "dramatic" sneeze and sprays everyone with his snot nodules in a crowded bus or train and does not even wince. Dick.

It's ****ing disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,307 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Lads scratching their holes and picking their nose in mass and then offering you their hand in friendship. They can feck away off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I have personal experience of a grown man sitting in front of me and a friend, picking a huge massive globe of stringy snot, holding it in the air with some still attached to this nostril and proceeding to eat it, right in front of us.. on the first early morning dart from Bray.

W.A.N.K.E.R

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

JJJJNR wrote: »
    I have personal experience of a grown man sitting in front of me and a friend, picking a huge massive globe of stringy snot, holding it in the air with some still attached to this nostril and proceeding to eat it, right in front of us.. on the first early morning dart from Bray.

W.A.N.K.E.R

Bray eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

People that seem to have an opinion on all the topical big issues. Be it on Facebook or in person. You're not an expert on everything and how to fix all of the world's problems.

I've not really looked at the refugee issue at the moment so I'm not going to tell everyone how it should be dealt with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Someone who has a right to water poster as their avatar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,251 ✭✭✭Daith

If they ever utter the phrase "I'm loyal to my political party".

anyone on Ireland AM!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Those who pull out in front of you, from a side road onto the main road, and then don't bother their arse speeding up, so you end up having to jam on the brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

rusty cole wrote: »
    anyone on Ireland AM!!

What about Sinead Desmond? She's a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,138 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Swing - the music of the wanker