Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

Ah here, they were playing against the greatest hurling dynasty of all time - not at their peak, but not too far off it either. Kilkenny have improved this year from the last couple. Cut the Galway lads some slack, not many even thought they'd make the final.

Ah stop, their best team passed years ago.

Who cares what pre season predictions were... So we should be happy that we threw in the towel at HT due to some ridicules notion that we should have been honoured to be part of KKs day?.

I'll cut slack to lads who show effort... Not a team scoring 14 points in one half and 4 in the next 35mins.
    Collins, the Burkes, P.Mannion the only ones to emerge with credit...they'll get slack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Who cares what pre season predictions were... So we should be happy that we threw in the towel at HT due to some ridicules notion that we should have been honoured to be part of KKs day?.

I'll cut slack to lads who show effort... Not a team scoring 14 points in one half and 4 in the next 35mins.
    Collins, the Burkes, P.Mannion the only ones to emerge with credit...they'll get slack.
    Hanbury was good considering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

So you're not going to bother supporting them anymore but then you accuse the players of not trying. Perhaps s little hypocritical?

I understand you're disappointed but that's a major over reaction!

Hanbury was good considering.

Hanbury was excellent.

So you're not going to bother supporting them anymore but then you accuse the players of not trying. Perhaps s little hypocritical?

I understand you're disappointed but that's a major over reaction!

Didn't say support but not go to games and that includes AI finals, no interest turning up to the final only.

Also I don't see what's hypocritical, there's a big difference between the two. Why go to support something/someone who gives the much effort in the biggest 35mins of the year?.

Don't think its a major over reaction, I'm sick of spending time and money and constantly being let down by pitiful efforts year after year. I wasn't expecting a win but wasn't expecting a 4 point 35min half either.

I'll watch from the comfort at home anymore was only my point... Easier to put the game behind being at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

Didn't say support but not go to games and that includes AI finals, no interest turning up to the final only.

Also I don't see what's hypocritical, there's a big difference between the two. Why go to support something/someone who gives the much effort in the biggest 35mins of the year?.

Don't think its a major over reaction, I'm sick of spending time and money and constantly being let down by pitiful efforts year after year. I wasn't expecting a win but wasn't expecting a 4 point 35min half either.

I'll watch from the comfort at home anymore was only my point... Easier to put the game behind being at home.

I understand your frustration but I don't think Galways capitulation was due to lack of effort; or at least I don't understand how it come about.

They finished the first half three points up and really should have been six to the good after a largely dominate display. Considering the games they have won this season they should have been full of confidence and honestly I felt we were 35 minutes away from lifting the cup.

I suppose after ten minutes into restart it was becoming apparent that the majority of the team were absent from the game. For what reason I can not understand.
    Giving their previous displays I find it hard to call it a lack of effort or laziness or even a pitiful display. They were in such a great position to lift the cup. On the face of it they should have had the belief that they could achieve that; they do, or did, possess the work ethic to do so.

It looked like a pitiful effort or even laziness to crack on but could that apparent display have been manifested from some deep rooted doubt of being deserved of the win?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I understand your frustration but I don't think Galways capitulation was due to lack of effort; or at least I don't understand how it come about.

They finished the first half three points up and really should have been six to the good after a largely dominate display. Considering the games they have won this season they should have been full of confidence and honestly I felt we were 35 minutes away from lifting the cup.

I suppose after ten minutes into restart it was becoming apparent that the majority of the team were absent from the game. For what reason I can not understand.
    Giving their previous displays I find it hard to call it a lack of effort or laziness or even a pitiful display. They were in such a great position to lift the cup. On the face of it they should have had the belief that they could achieve that; they do, or did, possess the work ethic to do so.

It looked like a pitiful effort or even laziness to crack on but could that apparent display have been manifested from some deep rooted doubt of being deserved of the win?
    KK were simply devastating in the 2nd half and Galway couldn't compete with that level of play. Look at the amount of comments over in the match thread about how KK have ruined hurling and how it's not competitive anymore, conveniently forgetting that Galway dominated the first half today and went in with a 3 point lead. The difference is that KK were able to stay close enough to Galway even when playing below par and being outplayed - the converse of which was not true as seen in the 2nd half. What is the reason for this? Only the players themselves can truly know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

very disappointing...felt at the match the ref screwed them with soft frees to kk that were vital. will need to review it again

in fairness to the backs and mid field - i thought they all hurled well. have no idea how kk managed to crowd out their defence in the 2nd half..it was frustrating to witness!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Unlucky lads, thought ye had it in the bag and would push on, great young team. It will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I know Galway wilted in the second half but they deserve credit. Its been a long hard year going through the qualifiers where there are no easy games. The galway players looked tired and leg weary in the second half particularly Canning. Kilkenny on the other hand still looked fresh at the final whistle. This Galway team will be around for a while but they need another top class forward or two.

First of all congrats to Kilkenny, best team in 2015 undoubtedly. Same old story really. When the real heat came on we wilted.

We more than paid the price for Johnny Coen not being sent off (should have been to be fair) as some outrageous decisions went against us in the 2nd half. We got a few frees at the end when the game was over to even up the free count a bit but we were a well beaten team at that stage. However, real teams react to setbacks and react to Kilkenny upping the intensity. The 10 minutes after half time is always Kilkenny's moving period and we weren't able to hang in there when they went through the gears after half time. 4 points in the 2nd half tells its own story and in reality the game was over with 15 or 20 to go.

It was like groundhog day from the Leinster final in the 2nd half, aimless ball been pumped down on top of the Kilkenny blanket and the forward line completely losing their shape. Once Kilkenny got ahead, they closed down the space and made it a battle on the ground which they always win.

Like 2012 Day 1 we should have been a lot further up at half time and you need to take any chances going against Kilkenny.

For me Cunningham and his management team deserve praise for the way they have made Galway a physically and mentally stronger team but that aspect still needs work as today demonstrated. Tactically though once things start rolling against us Cunningham has been shown to be a disaster on all the big occasions. More than anyone I wanted Galway to win this all-ireland for Eugene Cloonan as he has given so much to Galway hurling, he has undoubtedly improved the forwards and its clear the lads look up to him.

We have made progress but ultimately there is still a huge barrier to cross. I'd be a lot more positive about Galway's future than this time last year, we had a good win in the minors and also won the intermediate and there is only 2 or 3 of that team (Smith, Tannian and Collins) who are coming to the end. We've brought through a good number of players in the last couple of years.

We need to try and push on next year unlike 2013 when we collapsed in a pathetic heap in the most winnable All-Ireland series since Kilkenny took charge in 2000. We need to find replacements for Tannian and Smith, the likes of Lally, Brehony etc. have to step up and try and get the likes of Dean Higgins, Shane Maloney, Shane Cooney and a few others to step up to the plate.

It was a big ask for Conor Cooney to make an impact today but hopefully we'll get him back next year. Niall Burke etc.

The manner of the defeat today disappointed me more than losing as at half time we looked like we'd at the very least bring it to the wire but like Kilkenny we need to take our defeat on the chin, learn the hard lessons and come back stronger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The long bus home never gets easier. Speaking here as somebody who wasn't alive when Galway last won a hurling AI I'm gutted (again). Losing All-Ireland's will never be easy but I was a proud Galwayman leaving today after seeing how Hanbury recovered from that early mistake and stood up bigtime. Same goes x2 for Padraig Mannion who was slated from all sides of the media after Callanan-gate.

The ball into the limited forward line in the second half was just aimless and ultimately cost us. Thought everybody bar Cathal Mannion had average-good showings in the first. Nothing went right for him. Nothing went right for any of them in the second half.

You don't deserve to win an AI scoring what they did in that second half. They were outgunned by the best dynasty I've ever seen in any sport. Cody will always have that edge over Galway. Except those rare days that make you travel to games in hope.

What worries me is that the first half showed that this Galway team could make the breakthrough very soon, but that second half is the performance of a side that won't be in the championship after the Quarter Finals next season.

Just to clarify what I was saying:

Hypocritical accusation was based on:

- you accusing the team of 'throwing in the towel'

And then saying

- you are not going to games any more.

Couldn't 1 say you are throwing in the towel by not going to games any more?

That's where I was coming from.
    I've probably felt the same as you before but I always go back. And I think you will too! Remember the day we win will be all the better because of days like this!

Personally, I don't think the players can be accused of not trying. They are in an Al final. They have put more into getting there than anybody else in the country, hence why they are there. They are not going to stop trying in the second half. They were beaten by a better team today :-( but I really feel this Galway team have the potential to match today's Kilkenny team. Players like whelan, Flynn, both mannions are very young. I'd be very optimistic for the future if cunningham keeps this panel together. It would be nice to give this panel one more year, one big push next year under cunningham. Hopefully a couple of young players to strengthen that bench. Canning back to his best, Cooney fully fit. The worst thing for Galway is to lose this momentum. We are not far away!

I understand what you're saying but that second half in what should have been the most important out their lives was comical.

Cannings missed free exemplified the half for me... Very few tuned in.

It was like 13/14 again where a player needed support and you could count 5/10 seconds before anyone came to help.

4 points in 35 minutes is just not good enough.
    Id fancy Mayo to score 4 on KK in fairness and to compound it KK kept getting cheap scores with the marking gone to the dogs and players left free.

Sure the players tried, I don't doubt that but can you honestly say you thought 110% was given in the second half?... For whatever reason the intensity and concentration was completely void 4-18 reflects that(not counting the consolation goal).
    Collins was the only one I saw showing 110 in the second half, David Burke had a solid game but without the same intensity(performance was enough to compensate)... Collins drove through two KK players at one point.. That's what they all should have been doing as they had at previous points.

We needed a goal and where was Canning? Out the field not in the game.
    Glynn? Out the field... God forbid he'd put either into FF for any length of time.
    Glynn could easily switch to the wing for puck outs and back to FF again for general play.
    He can catch but struggles after that, id tell him to run for goal from HF but its a bit far, at least at FF he can just shoot.

Whelan should be playing off a FF to maximise his use but always seems to be inside with smaller players where the ball won't stick.

Id be against giving AC another year after that. His tenure summed up Galway.. Inconsistent. Two finals and two disasters. And blew two HT leads in each final.
    I think the talent is there but they need somebody in there along the mentality of Davy Fitz(not saying him in particular but of that cloth).. Someone who won't put up with going through patches of games not playing at a high enough intensity.

Also I can honestly say I've zero interest in attending a AI final again anyway.
    Too long of a day to put up with that disappointment and too hard to put it to bed.

I understand what you're saying but that second half in what should have been the most important out their lives was comical.

Cannings missed free exemplified the half for me... Very few tuned in.

It was like 13/14 again where a player needed support and you could count 5/10 seconds before anyone came to help.

4 points in 35 minutes is just not good enough.
    Id fancy Mayo to score 4 on KK in fairness and to compound it KK kept getting cheap scores with the marking gone to the dogs and players left free.

Sure the players tried, I don't doubt that but can you honestly say you thought 110% was given in the second half?... For whatever reason the intensity and concentration was completely void 4-18 reflects that(not counting the consolation goal).
    Collins was the only one I saw showing 110 in the second half, David Burke had a solid game but without the same intensity(performance was enough to compensate)... Collins drove through two KK players at one point.. That's what they all should have been doing as they had at previous points.

We needed a goal and where was Canning? Out the field not in the game.
    Glynn? Out the field... God forbid he'd put either into FF for any length of time.
    Glynn could easily switch to the wing for puck outs and back to FF again for general play.
    He can catch but struggles after that, id tell him to run for goal from HF but its a bit far, at least at FF he can just shoot.

Whelan should be playing off a FF to maximise his use but always seems to be inside with smaller players where the ball won't stick.

Id be against giving AC another year after that. His tenure summed up Galway.. Inconsistent. Two finals and two disasters. And blew two HT leads in each final.
    I think the talent is there but they need somebody in there along the mentality of Davy Fitz(not saying him in particular but of that cloth).. Someone who won't put up with going through patches of games not playing at a high enough intensity.

Also I can honestly say I've zero interest in attending a AI final again anyway.
    Too long of a day to put up with that disappointment and too hard to put it to bed.

Oh man come on, cunningham deserves at least 1 more year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

Cunningham is a gentleman and he has brought that team a long way, maybe they need someone who'll give more of the stick and less the carrot to get them the whole way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

It sounds harsh but i'd be against it also. We've historically been terrible in the years following our 'good' years where we've made finals. It's going to be a massive job to piece things together again next year and I think we need a new face to bring fresh ideas and enthusiasm to the players heads. Harsh on Cunningham but so be it. I'd imagine he'll stay however

Id have been in agreement until HT.
    A credible loss would have sufficed.. Not for me but could see how it would be acceptable.
    But I couldn't give him another year after that, and tbh some of the players don't deserve another year either.. They're just as culpable for making him look bad.

As I said his tenure just reflects an inconsistent trend.

Id have been in agreement until HT.
    A credible loss would have sufficed.. Not for me but could see how it would be acceptable.
    But I couldn't give him another year after that, and tbh some of the players don't deserve another year either.. They're just as culpable for making him look bad.

As I said his tenure just reflects an inconsistent trend.

Which players do you not think should have another year? And what players are better alternatives that are currently not involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I know Lynskey is the main suggestion for a replacement after today from most people I talked to on the way home but realistically who would ye have?

Which players do you not think should have another year? And what players are better alternatives that are currently not involved?

I don't know, I guess id have to watch the second half again but there has to be some players responsible for the second half performance.
    Surely if 100% isn't given in an AI final you can forget about them upping it again.

As for players in, well if you want to pay me a salary ill happily scour the county for improvements.

At the end of the day, id blame AC more than the players.
    So its not like 09 where you'd be saying this guy, this guy and this guy needs to go.
    As I already said Glynn bar puck outs isn't offering enough threat in HF.
    Canning is constantly negated out the field.
    We needed a goal and neither was deployed closer for any length of time.

I don't feel we're getting enough from what we have.
    So no need for me to name players in and out, I wasn't really looking for players to point fingers at but more looking at players who impressed me where others faltered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭spurshero

Get some fresh air Gilberto besides spending all evening knocking lads who have probaly trained 200 times this year to represent galway . People are sick of moaners like you . These players put their lives on hold to play inter county hurling . They give if their best and to suggest they weren't trying today in the second half is nonsense . The reality is that the best team will nearly always win and kk were the best team today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Think its a disgrace to be questioning management or players after the year we have had. These guys have given everything for us this year and what ever disappointment we may feel as fans it cant compare with what these guys feel tonight all we ever have a right to expect is that these guys give 100% and I think we have had that and more of them this year. These guys will win an All-Ireland and please God I will be there to witness it

As for players in, well if you want to pay me a salary ill happily scour the county for improvements.

This is what drives me mad about fans! I'm not having a go at you personally - this is a general point.

It's very easy to say x isn't good enough. A couple of months ago on this forum, there were people posting over and over that finian Hanley wasn't good enough to be galways full back. When I'd push them for alternatives, none were forthcoming. Why? Because there were none! I go to enough Galway football club matches to know there was no better alternative.

Now with hurling club matches, I admit my knowledge of club players isn't as up to scratches with football. But if somebody suggests that we need to bring new players in, the least you should do is say who would be an improvement. 'Scouring the county' isn't exactly a very innovative idea and I'd be fairly confident that the Galway management team have a grasp on who's potentially good enough to be playing at this level. Do you really feel if you were to attend numerous matches over the next few months that you'd find better alternatives to what took the pitch today????

No my original point is being completely taken out of context now.

I said in passing due to the poor return in the second half that maybe some of the players don't deserve another year.

The "another year" was used in conjunction with saying AC doesn't deserve another year.

I didn't specifically say new players needed to be brought in which is what you countered.

There's a few options on the bench for starters.
    Also personal positions in some cases are poor.

I probably should have said this first instead of entertaining your question and making it seem like that was my original point.

As I said this isn't a 09 where its clear major surgery is needed.
    I think a fresh perspective on the line would do wonders.

No my original point is being completely taken out of context now.

I said in passing due to the poor return in the second half that maybe some of the players don't deserve another year.

The "another year" was used in conjunction with saying AC doesn't deserve another year.

I didn't specifically say new players needed to be brought in which is what you countered.

There's a few options on the bench for starters.
    Also personal positions in some cases are poor.

I probably should have said this first instead of entertaining your question and making it seem like that was my original point.

As I said this isn't a 09 where its clear major surgery is needed.
    I think a fresh perspective on the line would do wonders.

Even galways bench is very weak. I looked at it today and couldn't see much to improve things. Maybe a back to form joe canning and a fully fit Conor Cooney next year will help!

Anyways it's been a disappointing day and I hope you feel more optimistic about attending matches in the future. Losing a final is always hard but do not despair as there's plenty to be optimistic about.

Think its a disgrace to be questioning management or players after the year we have had. These guys have given everything for us this year and what ever disappointment we may feel as fans it cant compare with what these guys feel tonight all we ever have a right to expect is that these guys give 100% and I think we have had that and more of them this year. These guys will win an All-Ireland and please God I will be there to witness it

To be honest it isn't a disgrace. I saw the look on David Collins' face when the ball went over the sideline near the end and that awful realisation that there is nothing more you can do after all the training, matches, strength and conditioning work, watching what you eat etc. and that sort of moment is awful for the players.

I'm not going to have a go at anyone for the effort they have put in over the year. Its an unbelievable commitment to play for any county team regardless of whether you are successful or not. However, we have to learn from what's continuing to go wrong for us if we want this to be a stepping stone rather than our once in a blue moon flash in the pan year.

I was in Thurles in 2013 when Cork beat Kilkenny and some Kilkenny lads were giving out about how Cody had got it all wrong on the day (a manager who had won 9 All-Irelands with them at that stage) which I found unbelievable but they demand success and the highest standards of their players and management and that is part of the reason why they are so successful.

For me with the talent we have/have had Galway should be in at least an All-Ireland semi-final more often than not but we have failed to meet those standards over the years.

I'll admit I was against Cunningham getting another year but i'll give him his due he has improved us in many ways and brought through some new players. I think Eugene Cloonan is the main positive of that coaching team to be honest.

However, when the chips were down we reverted to type and really lost our way in a similar way to countless Galway teams over the last couple of decades. Cunningham has probably earned another year for improving our mentality and our ability to physically compete but we need to demand more of ourselves. I heard an interview with Joe Canning saying how people were going on about 2012 as a great year and he said it wasn't as we didn't win the All-Ireland. We need that mentality. This year hopefully represents progress but for me anything less than an All-Ireland isn't a great year.

You have to credit Kilkenny for the intensity they brought to the 2nd half but we reacted very poorly. We went from a position of 3 up and probably should have been more up to a stage around 50 minutes where we were swamped and the game was effectively over.

If we want to be the best we have to learn from days like today and the Leinster final. If we want to pat ourselves on the back for some good victories we will make the same mistakes next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

To be honest it isn't a disgrace. I saw the look on David Collins' face when the ball went over the sideline near the end and that awful realisation that there is nothing more you can do after all the training, matches, strength and conditioning work, watching what you eat etc. and that sort of moment is awful for the players.

I'm not going to have a go at anyone for the effort they have put in over the year. Its an unbelievable commitment to play for any county team regardless of whether you are successful or not. However, we have to learn from what's continuing to go wrong for us if we want this to be a stepping stone rather than our once in a blue moon flash in the pan year.

I was in Thurles in 2013 when Cork beat Kilkenny and some Kilkenny lads were giving out about how Cody had got it all wrong on the day (a manager who had won 9 All-Irelands with them at that stage) which I found unbelievable but they demand success and the highest standards of their players and management and that is part of the reason why they are so successful.

For me with the talent we have/have had Galway should be in at least an All-Ireland semi-final more often than not but we have failed to meet those standards over the years.

I'll admit I was against Cunningham getting another year but i'll give him his due he has improved us in many ways and brought through some new players. I think Eugene Cloonan is the main positive of that coaching team to be honest.

However, when the chips were down we reverted to type and really lost our way in a similar way to countless Galway teams over the last couple of decades. Cunningham has probably earned another year for improving our mentality and our ability to physically compete but we need to demand more of ourselves. I heard an interview with Joe Canning saying how people were going on about 2012 as a great year and he said it wasn't as we didn't win the All-Ireland. We need that mentality. This year hopefully represents progress but for me anything less than an All-Ireland isn't a great year.

You have to credit Kilkenny for the intensity they brought to the 2nd half but we reacted very poorly. We went from a position of 3 up and probably should have been more up to a stage around 50 minutes where we were swamped and the game was effectively over.

If we want to be the best we have to learn from days like today and the Leinster final. If we want to pat ourselves on the back for some good victories we will make the same mistakes next year.

All very fair points but my view is this to beat KK you have to match them in work rate and intensity we are getting very close to that but we have a very young team and it will take a bit of time for these lads to be able to bring that intensity for 70 mins but the number of games that this squad played this summer will bring them on and turn them into a team. The other thing that has cost us big time is bad wides if we had the same amount of misses today as KK we would have won. But if you look this year for the first time i can remember there was no talk of lads not wanting to play with other lads this club hateng that club they are developing into a group willing to put it all on the line for each other and that is a big change and I think is down to the management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭mike2015

I'm a munster man living in Galway along time and i feel very disappointed for them and their supporters tonight.Just didn't do themselves justice,a big let down from the tipp game.People may not agree with me but kilkenny were not at there best today and we're there for the taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

A pure embarrassment.

To be winning by 3 and basically score 4 in the second half?.
    They should honestly be ashamed and anyone not in it for Galway should head off.

Some of those KK scores in the second half were just dreadful.

I'm packing in my attendance after that, going consistently for 10years and I'm fed up of it after that.. Wouldn't mind a committed loss but that was a complete capitulation.
    I'll watch on TV anymore.

This is what Galway need now, a real genuine fan :rolleyes:
    donnem33 wrote: »
    very disappointing...felt at the match the ref screwed them with soft frees to kk that were vital. will need to review it again

in fairness to the backs and mid field - i thought they all hurled well. have no idea how kk managed to crowd out their defence in the 2nd half..it was frustrating to witness!!

Thought he was very harsh on KK in the first half and tried to balance the books in the second, he certainly didn't influence the result in any way and the biggest decision of the day went in Galway and Johnny Coen;s favour, any other game of the year and its a straight red and deservedly so.