Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭orl

LUHG wrote: »
    As a Cork man I really hope yee do it in Sep, huge fan of Joe Canning I travelled the country a couple of years back watching him play with my son and I think hes just incredible to watch, I really hope he produces in the final, that final pass to moloney on sunday was something else. David burke is also a real quality stickman and ive noticed every time he gets the ball he looks for Joe I wonder is he under instruction from the side-line to find Joe with the majority of possession he has
    think Richie Hogan is the key man for Galway to stop his scoring from play needs to be limited to 2 pints maximum

What a lovely post. A pity some of your countymen are not as magnaminous. It was like Kilkenny beat them in football the way some of them reacted after Thurles. Why Cork were favourites going into that match is beyond me. We had the better panel and a greater ability to score goals. Cork will be back and the GAA needs your colour and panache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

A couple of days old now I admit so apologies, but U-21 management team need to have a deep look at themselves, very poor management throughout.

Got destroyed with our own puck outs, how can you keep driving them out to the Limerick wing backs who were clearly winning everyone. no variation to break this cycle. It was pretty clear before the game that was an area where Limerick were strong.

I know the seniors use this tactic, but its a different kettle of fish when you have Jonathan Glynn and serious amount of ball winners in the team.

Positives, no major injuries although Jason Flynn will have a few bruises! Brian Molloy had a good game, but for me performances of Cooney and Killeen, at centre/full back were the most positive aspects of game.

Killeen especially will have done himself no harm when it comes to team selection for the big day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭sporter1

Great to see Conor Cooney back to full training!!

Heard from two sources that they're putting big screens in Eyre Sq for the match.

Glad to see common sense for a change, the area is ideal for such an event and it was disappointing the foresight wasn't seen to do it in previous years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

Heard from two sources that they're putting big screens in Eyre Sq for the match.

Glad to see common sense for a change, the area is ideal for such an event and it was disappointing the foresight wasn't seen to do it in previous years.

Great idea.

There will be a great crowd and atmosphere. Weather supposed to be fairly good next weekend aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭threeball

cocoman wrote: »
    Great idea.

There will be a great crowd and atmosphere. Weather supposed to be fairly good next weekend aswell.

It'll definitely be sh1te so. Expect snowstorms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Sales of Buckie will hit Rag Week levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Corofin lucky to still be in the championship after drawing with Tuam Stars. Tuam 3 points up with 8 minutes to go and threw it away. Had 2 scoring chances could have been goals right near the end but turned into the tackle instead of laying it off to a man in a better position. Looking forward to the replay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

If yer out in Dublin next weekend lads, make sure to tell the bouncer you're from Galway and have ID to prove it. Severe risk in cases like this of being mistaken for Mayo people and not let in anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

http://connachttribune.ie/plan-to-show-hurling-finals-on-giant-screen-in-eyre-square-201/

It be great craic if it goes ahead....be great buzz from everyone....plan on having a supermac as well

You'd imagine it would pay for itself if they installed some bars but maybe they don't want any drinking.

The build up to the final will be very low key now after the draw today.

There certainly cant be excuses given in relation to hype hindering performances.

Whether we win or not, it's important that this level of work rate and intensity is continued on into the future.
    I've no doubt we'd make the break through in the next 3/4 years if we maintain this level of performance.

AC has earned himself at least another year regardless of the result on Sunday, though his reign has proven a stark contrast in consistency... 2 finals and 2 blow outs in between.
    We cant afford a return to two and outs next year and beyond.
    That's as important as the result on Sunday, two finals in four years shows the required ability is there, just needs to be added with consistency.

Id wager if we kept getting back for the next few years we'll have years like 2013 where 4 average teams contested the semi finals or late noughties where KK got soft finals against second rate teams.. And we might be the ones to benefit from an easy run.

The build up to the final will be very low key now after the draw today.

That is one major positive coming out of today. Whatever issues there are in football at the moment, in terms of coverage it gets far more than the hurling and with Dublin and Mayo involved, all the tactical planning, all the controversy of today, who will ref the next game etc. that will only increase.

It'll be helpful to Galway to be able to prepare under the radar with only limited media coverage. I really don't want to hear anything out of Galway this week only the usual clichés. In particular I don't want to see David Collins or Joe Canning giving interviews. Canning gave an extremely level headed reply after the Tipp game to be fair but both are prone to saying something in the heat of the moment which could be dragged out of context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

Id wager if we kept getting back for the next few years we'll have years like 2013 where 4 average teams contested the semi finals or late noughties where KK got soft finals against second rate teams.. And we might be the ones to benefit from an easy run.

You still have not learned the Cody message, "There are no second rate teams when it comes to championship hurling" For a Galway poster to refer to Limerick, Waterford, Cork and Tipperary as second rate beggers belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

You still have not learned the Cody message, "There are no second rate teams when it comes to championship hurling" For a Galway poster to refer to Limerick, Waterford, Cork and Tipperary as second rate beggers belief.

That Galway poster is exactly right to call it as it is they are a lot of second rate teams around that look good beating one another
    As a cork man he's absoultey right saying cork were the last few years second rate when results proven cork good against team there level but not great and that's been present since last ten years when under age famine crippled cork

As for cody saying no second rate team
    I'm huge fan cody greatest manager ever but I take that statement pinch salt just like I do when says kk don't do tactics, kk all about just working hard and cody belived managers can not see lot from game on side line
    All nonense when cody greatest tactical manager ever and kk more just work rate
    Cody playing it down

Classic example cody last year or so came down to cork in Ballincollig and said as knew cork media would get excited he said pat horgan he's love be kk player
    Let's call spade spade
    Skill wise yes horgan great but consistency and attuide and work rate club and county way off what cody require and wouldn't get near kk panel let alone team
    Cody just telling cork media what they wanted to hear
    Cody is shrewd and plays the game in the media and correctly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

That Galway poster is exactly right to call it as it is they are a lot of second rate teams around that look good beating one another
    As a cork man he's absoultey right saying cork were the last few years second rate when results proven cork good against team there level but not great and that's been present since last ten years when under age famine crippled cork

As for cody saying no second rate team
    I'm huge fan cody greatest manager ever but I take that statement pinch salt just like I do when says kk don't do tactics, kk all about just working hard and cody belived managers can not see lot from game on side line
    All nonense when cody greatest tactical manager ever and kk more just work rate
    Cody playing it down

Classic example cody last year or so came down to cork in Ballincollig and said as knew cork media would get excited he said pat horgan he's love be kk player
    Let's call spade spade
    Skill wise yes horgan great but consistency and attuide and work rate club and county way off what cody require and wouldn't get near kk panel let alone team
    Cody just telling cork media what they wanted to hear
    Cody is shrewd and plays the game in the media and correctly so
    The Cork team I referred to were a team going for three in a row and for you to insinuate they were second rate is about as unbelievable as the original Galway posters comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MfMan

The Cork team I referred to were a team going for three in a row and for you to insinuate they were second rate is about as unbelievable as the original Galway posters comments.

Think the original comment refers to the later '00's when Waterford and Limerick both contested finals. Don't think it's fair to call them 'second-rate', but some years more than others there are weaker finalists; i.e. Tipp' then hadn't yet reached their peak, while Cork were in decline after '06.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Fair enough but you need to be more clearer going forward with dates then as you did not specify exactly
    Your view was cody said no second rate teams around
    Your a knowledge hurling man so you know as well I do there are numerous second rate hurling team past times and as said many times this year lot second rate team below top two
    And I hope Galway win sunday for hurling as there's if Galway don't win no one going challenge kk next few years

Cork new management and God knows who we get
    Limerick have problems as seen by ccb making Ryan let two back room team go
    Very much depends who comes in
    Tippeary have selector there eight years now managing so not fresh voices needed
    Dublin have good manager but in transition
    Waterford need change system and kk second gear won handy

Galway only team could compete kk only they win sunday
    Win would remove huge pressure on them and could move them forward no end
    A loss and cunningjham could go but even if not hard see Galway coming back next year
    Kk win or loose will be back next year as with greatest manager around are gift that just keep on giving And will always be there like Xmas comes every year under cody
    I believe Galway have good chance sunday
    If Galway don't win i said this before kk will win five in a row

Actually I didn't refer all non 2015 final participating teams as second rate.

But there are a fair few Liam McCarthy teams who are second rate and their league participation reflects that as they bounce from 1A to 1B.

Edit: I understand why the teams were listed now.
    The only two I referred to as second rate were Limerick and Waterford.
    You can try gloss it all you want but they were two extremely easy finals which even Galway would have won.
    I didn't make that claim about the Cork or Tipp teams.
    My point was only that if you keep getting back to the final, every few years a pretty average team makes it through to the final.
    It would have happened in 09-11 had both teams faired off before the final, luck plays a big part in whether both standout teams can even make it to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Actually I didn't refer all non 2015 final participating teams as second rate.

But there are a fair few Liam McCarthy teams who are second rate and their league participation reflects that as they bounce from 1A to 1B.

Edit: I understand why the teams were listed now.
    The only two I referred to as second rate were Limerick and Waterford.
    You can try gloss it all you want but they were two extremely easy finals which even Galway would have won.
    I didn't make that claim about the Cork or Tipp teams.
    My point was only that if you keep getting back to the final, every few years a pretty average team makes it through to the final.
    It would have happened in 09-11 had both teams faired off before the final, luck plays a big part in whether both standout teams can even make it to the final.
    Why didn't Galway win them then?

There are always going to be lucky final opponents in both codes. For example, Galway were a shambles throughout to 2005, following on from a 19 point humbling against Kilkenny in 2004 but stumbled over the line against Limerick who shot some ridiculous wides on the evening, looked to be going out with a whimper against Tipp before launching a late surge and then took Kilkenny out of the blue. Cork dealt with us without stretching themselves in the final.

Waterford should have reached more than one All-Ireland but when they did get there they were a year or two past their best and it showed against Kilkenny who were near their peak. Limerick caught Waterford on the hop the year they reached the final.

I suppose you could say in 2012 we won one game against Kilkenny and struggled past a mediocre Cork side and got to the final. In years where there is a shock which puts two of the big names together it can open doors for average sides to reach the final.

It has been the frustration for Galway that we have never been able to get ourselves to the level of best of the rest and most of the serious teams have been more consistent than us over the years. We have only reached 4 semi since 2001 but won them all which says a lot about the boom/bust Galway cycle that hopefully this team will put an end to.

In the football, Mayo in 2004 and 2006 were finalists almost by default. Down in 2010 haven't made any impact on the championship before or since.

Locally you look at the championship in Galway and teams like Kinvara in the hurling and Carna-Caiseal & St. Michael's amongst others reached finals completely against the odds.

Have to say it was poor thought from the council erecting top of the range flags in Salthill on poles no more than 7 feet off the ground.

About 3 left with only one being between the start of them and the guard station.

By the time the finals on there won't be one left.

It would be nice to think you could erect flags in flower beds but people will just pinch them when they're that easy to take and that nice.

Time they had cop on and started erecting them high on the light poles again.

Seems to be more colour around the place in comparison to 2012 which is nice to see.
    Quay street in particular is impressive. My memory of 2012 was there was a pitiful effort at supporting the team in the city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

If Kilkenny were ever there for the taking, its this year. Lost some key leaders last year, particularly Shefflin. I know they have gained some good young players, especially in the forwards, but youth is no substitute for experience, particularly in an AI final. I think it will be a close game, hope Galway come out on the right side. Well due an AI. Eugene Cloonan a big addition on the sideline too. More of a cooler, analytical head than Cunningham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Most low-key buildup to an All-Ireland in recent memory? Granted it's only Tuesday but the fallout from the football has really taken attention away from the hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Most low-key buildup to an All-Ireland in recent memory? Granted it's only Tuesday but the fallout from the football has really taken attention away from the hurling.

Agreed, but Personally, I do not think that is a bad thing.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Never saw so many Galway flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Manofthewest

Never saw so many Galway flags.

Agreed. I was at home the weekend and there were flags everywhere. Not to mention every second person buying one on Saturday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

But the general Meeja are covering the football replay and the hype around the various incidents in the Dublin game, it helps keep a lid on things and keep the concentration on the big prize. Great to see the colours out around town and the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Did any of ye come across brian cody [cut fox] doing his best building up galway on utv news last night ,he has every trick.Anthony cunningham just said galway will have to keep improving to be in with a chance.
    Best of luck to ye anyway ,imo it will be both mayo's and galways weekend .
    The stage is set for joe and co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

cute geoge wrote: »
    Did any of ye come across brian cody [cut fox] doing his best building up galway on utv news last night ,he has every trick.Anthony cunningham just said galway will have to keep improving to be in with a chance.
    Best of luck to ye anyway ,imo it will be both mayo's and galways weekend .
    The stage is set for joe and co.

I really dont get this whole Irish thing of talking up the opposition and everyone thinking he's cute or clever by doing so. Literally none of the top managers in other sports partake in it, whether it was Fergie or Guardiola in Soccer, Belichech, Arians in NFL, Graham Henry in Rugby etc. I think for most managers it's just to appease the old timer fans where if you dont have something kind to say about the opposition, you're perceived as arrogant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Yeah the football replay is going to take away a lot of the attention for the hurling final. Might not do Galway any harm. Kilkenny are well used to it either way.