Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bandits. I'm sure I recall people on here getting them or the toyota equivalent from Mr T for pennies. Although that could be my mind playing tricks on me again.

Meh, I'll survive the fact they have financially crippled me :pac:

I got 3 of those bulbs for the dash on the Focus when I had it. Worked out at €1 per bulb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Seen a new Passet today in silver with hubcaps and it looked awful. And likewise with the base spec (LX ?) 152 mondeo I seen last week too, that looked even worse actually.

I'm not going to say how/why do people buy cars like this because I know a lot of them are fleet cars but to the minority that do what is the attraction ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Price. Cheapest possible as long as it has the reg.

Seen a new Passet today in silver with hubcaps and it looked awful. And likewise with the base spec (LX ?) 152 mondeo I seen last week too, that looked even worse actually.

Naa, that's a zetec would ya believe, 16" puny alloys, along with dechromed doors, grille etc. Looks nasty.

They all looked well at the beginning of the year when Ford offered the appearance pack (which made the zetec almost identical to the titanium) for only a few bob extra. It was a promotional idea to kickstart sales. Everyone went for it, hence them all looking decent. Now it appears the offer is over and the boggo zetecs are showing their face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Naa, that's a zetec would ya believe, 16" puny alloys, along with dechromed doors, grille etc. Looks nasty.

They all looked well at the beginning of the year when Ford offered the appearance pack (which made the zetec almost identical to the titanium) for only a few bob extra. It was a promotional idea to kickstart sales. Everyone went for it, hence them all looking decent. Now it appears the offer is over and the boggo zetecs are showing their face!

Just after a quick Google there it must of been the Style model I seen, all 1.6 tdci no doubt. I can see there on carzone what you mean about the 151 zetec and titanium been very alike.

The new Focus is a cracking looking car, the front grill suits it much better than the Mondeo. Even the black mesh grill suits it very well also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Well lads, RIP ford. Checked coolant level, the tank is empty. Last week it was up to the max.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,313 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Center armrest clippy thing arrived and fitted. Just waiting on a price now from the George Dalton place for the ariel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Pov06 wrote: »
    Well lads, RIP ford. Checked coolant level, the tank is empty. Last week it was up to the max.
    It been acting up at all? Can you see the leak at all? I had 1.8 before had coolant leak couldn't figure it out was the frost plugs in the end. Car was driving and working fine but coolant just be gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Fcuk...warranty on it? Any visible leak?

Working fine, not overheated, temp gauge normal but barely any coolant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Check frost plugs so sounds like what I had. Bit of work to get to mind I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Far smaller than a parking bulb. Dash bulb is what yer man called them. 2.20 a bulb too! Needed 3 of them. Had a sneaky suspicion that they were more than a few pennys!

Weird, they're parking bulbs in my Civic. Maybe they're bigger in most cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Working fine, not overheated, temp gauge normal but barely any coolant.

My mk2 focus pissed coolant everywhere when I had it turned out it was one of the rubber hoses that runs over the top of the radiator not sure if 1.8 has similar set up ah I seen the leak on the ground wrecked the engine. But then infairness Whalen that yoke wasn't leaking coolant it was leaking oil and when I wasn't leaking oil it was leaking diesel the poor engine was never dry. Obviously it's a different engine to yours.

In other news I got my car washed today after work as it got covered in a light layer of powder from work and went all sticky and was hard to see out the window. I didn't actually wash it though I need to do it next time and give it a polish but looks very clean at the moment they did a good job.

Last day of placement tomorrow after nearly 6 months I'll seriously miss the place and people but it was a great experience :)

Filled up with coolant, ran for 40 mins, no bother.

So I'm thinking. Hmm last week I used AC on the N7. Turned on AC, big puddle on the ground. As far as I can see an AC hose is covered in coolant

Thank fcuk

No leak when AC is off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I wouldn't be that quick to write it off!

Edit, ah you have a possible cause.
    Tbh I'm fairly ignorant of ac, being a recent convert, but I thought the ac system was separate?

I wouldn't be that quick to write it off!

Edit, ah you have a possible cause.
    Tbh I'm fairly ignorant of ac, being a recent convert, but I thought the ac system was separate?

Same as myself so. It's strange but coolant leaks when AC is on, no idea how AC works.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Same as myself so. It's strange but coolant leaks when AC is on, no idea how AC works.

It should not work of the coolant AFAIK.
    I had a bad coolant leak once in my cmax, the thermostat housing tends to leak in fords. It won't be obvious, there wasn't even a puddle under the car, but check if you can see any small leak from the thermostat housing.

It should not work of the coolant AFAIK.
    I had a bad coolant leak once in my cmax, the thermostat housing tends to leak in fords. It won't be obvious, there wasn't even a puddle under the car, but check if you can see any small leak from the thermostat housing.

Not sure but the leak was on the driver side at the front of the bumper so it could be anything.

Bringing it to a garage tomorrow so they can raise it and have a gander.

Not sure but the leak was on the driver side at the front of the bumper so it could be anything.

Bringing it to a garage tomorrow so they can raise it and have a gander.

Front drivers side, there's a bent hose near the alternator coming from the rad, on my car that once came lose and was rubbing on the fan belt, check that out as well.

Edit:
    I don't blame Ford for that, this was due to damage suffered when I ran over a Christmas tree that fell off someone's car one year. How many people here have managed to run into a tree on the motorway?

Front drivers side, there's a bent hose near the alternator coming from the rad, on my car that once came lose and was rubbing on the fan belt, check that out as well.

Edit:
    I don't blame Ford for that, this was due to damage suffered when I ran over a Christmas tree that fell off someone's car one year. How many people here have managed to run into a tree on the motorway?

Sorry about that. Forgot the rope that day. Do you still have it? Will be needing it in the coming months :pac:

Sh*t! NCT due next week and forgot to tax the car!
    Will they test a car with tax out a few days?

Sh*t! NCT due next week and forgot to tax the car!
    Will they test a car with tax out a few days?

Forgot :pac:

They will indeed.

Applied for the Motorbike Theory Test.

As far as I can see it's identical to the car test in every way. There are a handful of bike orientated questions that come up, but I'm confident they also appear in the Car test, too?

Don't be hounding us all if you decide to get a bike :pac: :P

I'll still have a car :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Will work for driveshafts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Will work for driveshafts

Do they all go through them that quick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Ive only had the pipe on since Sunday :o

Its badly melted, i have silicone pipe to collect later but I'm unsure if that will cure it :(

It worked, boost and savage cooooo restored :) the drive into work really woke me up :D

Now to sort out a better pipe solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It worked, boost and savage cooooo restored :) the drive into work really woke me up :D

Now to sort out a better pipe solution

Can I just say, at this point: Give 'er shoe an' make 'er boo laaaaad!! :pac: