IFA Protest Dublin 31st Aug 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I'd like to see the subs payed from factory's and marts to an independent observer over factory grads and weights representing the farmers.

Have you noticed that in the farmers journal they never show finished cattle in the mart section at the back. What does that alone tell you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,890 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Why is this constantly presented on this forum as some sort of revelation? Why would anyone think that Joe punter ever gave a half a fcuk about farmers or their incomes anymore than I as a farmer give a damn about the trials and tribulations of the average paye worker?

It Just shows the futile nature of public protest. If no one cares then why do it ??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

_Brian wrote: »
    I think the hard cold truth is that outside farming no one gives a flying **** about farm incomes.
    It's widely believed across society that farmers are coining it and so see this as another bout of "crying wolf"
    Were going to see a steady decline in proper food production in this country with shoppers being dished up whatever ****e possible as long as it's cheap - cheap is the only thought in the minds of your average shopper.

Was in company of some friends where some are farmers. Farmers wife said she buys pork and chicken from any country as long as it's cheap, some ****e attitude there !!

Rangler is right in many respects in that the can has mostly been kicked down the road. If there were a sizeable change in the SFP 2019 the farm production in this country would collapse as in many (or most) cases the profit margins on the actual produce wouldn't support a tight arsed bachelor or never mind a family.

Protest away boys but it will only reenforce what joe public think - farmers are never happy and always looking for a financial dig out.

I just don't get this post, of course no one gives a fook about farm incomes outside farmers. Do we farmers give a fook about the poor fellas on minimum wage working their asses off in McDonalds, pennys, local shop or pub. Most of these people are on minimum wage and getting no assistance or grants.

Not sure what proper food production is but at the end of the day times are hard for alot of people(including some farmers wives) they want cheap food, just like they want cheap clothes from places like pennys. Of course they don't give much of damn where it's produced. Do farmers worry about the Irish clothes industry when they buy the kids school uniforms from pennys? Do we care about the kids working in sweat shops. In general most don't and most buy according to price. That's why places like pennys are packed in every town in the country.

As farmers I think we should be grateful for some of the grants and assistance we get. As well as SFP, look at REPs, now GLAS. We aren't doing too bad. You are correct in your last sentence, from my office today it was mentioned about the protest (half joking as they know I am a part time farmer), there was very very little sympathy.

I see farmers booming around my way, lot of new jeeps and tractors, I certainly can't complain myself either. Fellas would need to get their heads out of their arses and try at look at it from Joe publics point of view as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

It Just shows the futile nature of public protest. If no one cares then why do it ??

Why not do it, everyone has the right to protest, it's in our constitution.
    jeering them is fairly pointless too ,1000 people felt aggrieved enough today to exercise their rights, they didn't do anyone any harm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

AP2014 wrote: »
    I just don't get this post, of course no one gives a fook about farm incomes outside farmers. Do we farmers give a fook about the poor fellas on minimum wage working their asses off in McDonalds, pennys, local shop or pub. Most of these people are on minimum wage and getting no assistance or grants.

Not sure what proper food production is but at the end of the day times are hard for alot of people(including some farmers wives) and they want cheap food, just like they want cheap clothes from places like pennys. Of course they don't for give much of damn where it's produced. Do farmers worry about the Irish clothes industry when they buy the kids school uniforms from pennys? Do we care about the kids working in sweat shops. In general most don't and most buy according to price. That's why places like pennys are packed in every town in the country.

As farmers I think we should be grateful for some of the grants and assistance we get. As well as SFP, look at REPs, now GLAS. We aren't doing too bad. You are correct in your last sentence, from my office today it was mentioned about the protest (half joking as they know I am a part time farmer), there was very very little sympathy.

I see farmers booming around my way, lot of new jeeps and tractors, I certainly can't complain myself either. Fellas would need to get their heads out of their arses and try at look at it from Joe publics point of view as well!

Grand to sit back and have the IMPACT, CPSU, ITGWU (in fact I can't even remember the names of the cohorts of the bearded ones!) do your lobbying/protesting/negotiating for you.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Grand to sit back and have the IMPACT, CPSU, ITGWU (in fact I can't even remember the names of the cohorts of the bearded ones!) do your lobbying/protesting/negotiating for you.

Not sure the relevance of this statement, I think you are going down the big bad public sector route but I can tell you there are feck all lobbying for the minimum wage guys and the guys at the front end off most sectors whether private or public.

As for people lobbying on my behalf, I am a member of none of the organisations you have attempted to name nor am I member of any farming organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,890 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Not sure what proper food production is but at the end of the day times are hard for alot of people(including some farmers wives) they want cheap food, just like they want cheap clothes from places like pennys. Of course they don't give much of damn where it's produced. Do farmers worry about the Irish clothes industry when they buy the kids school uniforms from pennys? Do we care about the kids working in sweat shops. In general most don't and most buy according to price. That's why places like pennys are packed in every town in the country.

I suppose my point is that if traditional farming declines in the whole as it has in the US then more and more junk food moves in to take the place of properly produced and prepared foods..
    We make a specific effort to buy Irish farmed produce, supports irish farms, less air miles, probably fresher and better too..

I don't want sympathy for farmers, I want to see the industry supported by the population it should be feeding..

BTW, new jeeps and tractors are what the townies see as a successful farm, a tractor is just a farm tool, If a PAYE worker is standing at a new machine at work - does that mean he's booming ?? I see farms here with shiny new stuff and they don't have an arse in their trousers..

I suppose my point is that if traditional farming declines in the whole as it has in the US then more and more junk food moves in to take the place of properly produced and prepared foods..
    We make a specific effort to buy Irish farmed produce, supports irish farms, less air miles, probably fresher and better too..

I don't want sympathy for farmers, I want to see the industry supported by the population it should be feeding..

BTW, new jeeps and tractors are what the townies see as a successful farm, a tractor is just a farm tool, If a PAYE worker is standing at a new machine at work - does that mean he's booming ?? I see farms here with shiny new stuff and they don't have an arse in their trousers..

I think it's admirable of you to buy Irish and I understand your point about the junk food moves. I was only in tesco today and they had an any 3 for €3 deal on wedges, waffles, chicken tenders etc. It was hugely popular deal and unfortunately it's reality that this deal could feed people cheaply compared to the price of fruit and veg and meat products.

The reality is not all people are as well to do as yourself, they just can't afford to buy Irish, whether it helps farmers, the economy or the environment. Like we are seeing with milk and beef and everything else pretty much, price rules.

You have to ask yourself why the shiny new machinery if they don't have an arse in their trousers? This is what the general public find very hard to swallow and again why I think a lot of farmers will receive little support from these protests.

I think it's admirable of you to buy Irish and I understand your point about the junk food moves. I was only in tesco today and they had an any 3 for €3 deal on wedges, waffles, chicken tenders etc. It was hugely popular deal and unfortunately it's reality that this deal could feed people cheaply compared to the price of fruit and veg and meat products.

The reality is not all people are as well to do as yourself, they just can't afford to buy Irish, whether it helps farmers, the economy or the environment. Like we are seeing with milk and beef and everything else pretty much, price rules.

You have to ask yourself why the shiny new machinery if they don't have an arse in their trousers? This is what the general public find very hard to swallow and again why I think a lot of farmers will receive little support from these protests.

Economics probably, cost of repairs, time broken down.etc.etc
    Took me a long time to learn that if you can't afford a machine new, you probably can't afford to have it at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

That and the fact land is still bringing stupid money...

rangler1 wrote: »
    Took me a long time to learn that if you can't afford a machine new, you probably can't afford to have it at all
    One more payment and my 1983 68 hp tractor is all mine! It does everything I need a tractor to do and no I wouldn't have a hope of affording the new equivalent machine? Nonsense rangler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,932 ✭✭✭mf240

Why not do it, everyone has the right to protest, it's in our constitution.
    jeering them is fairly pointless too ,1000 people felt aggrieved enough today to exercise their rights, they didn't do anyone any harm

I000 people werent too busy and went to dublon for the drive.

Most of them probably didnt know what they were there for.

Its getting to be an yearly outing at this stage.

Ever here of the boy who cried wolf?

Nonsense.

Seen the news. Yer man waving the beef placard was fairly stuck when he was interviewed. Prize plonker Imo. The veg man was brilliant tho.

Willfarman wrote: »
    Seen the news. Yer man waving the beef placard was fairly stuck when he was interviewed. Prize plonker Imo. The veg man was brilliant tho.

An absolute clown, it's getting embarrassing at this stage. A few years ago there was an IFA president who could hardly talk, actually I think 2 in a row.

One more payment and my 1983 68 hp tractor is all mine! It does everything I need a tractor to do and no I wouldn't have a hope of affording the new equivalent machine? Nonsense rangler.

Yes and I bought a 1983 crystal new, cost me shag all after 5 years repayments, clocks stopped at 7500 hrs( don't know when) and traded it for another new one in 2007, over the same years went through two other second hand crystals to work along side that cost an f..ing fortune. both newer than 1983, nothing is ever traded without a reason as far as I'm concerned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

There's very few brand new machines out there that aren't financed to the hilt, someone buys then after three years they can't afford the balloon payment at the end so just kick the can down the road by trading up again using their old tractor as the deposit for the next one and just keep on with the repayments. And so the cycle starts over again and lads just think the neighbours making more money.

mf240 wrote: »
    I000 people werent too busy and went to dublon for the drive.

Most of them probably didnt know what they were there for.

Its getting to be an yearly outing at this stage.

Ever here of the boy who cried wolf?

And wtf is to you if they did go to Dublon for a drive, it's a free country isn't it

Yes and I bought a 1983 crystal new, cost me shag all after 5 years repayments, clocks stopped at 7500 hrs( don't know when) and traded it for another new one in 2007, over the same years went through two other second hand crystals to work along side that cost an f..ing fortune. both newer than 1983, nothing is ever traded without a reason as far as I'm concerned

I get you now. Yes I'd have to agree.

An absolute clown, it's getting embarrassing at this stage. A few years ago there was an IFA president who could hardly talk, actually I think 2 in a row.

If you're in the public service, you should be very careful criticising any self employed workers

Don't turn it into a public service bashing thread, or private or self employed. I would have little sympathy for public, private or self employed if they were protesting every year over the same so called causes. Like the clown that was interviewed this evening on the news, he hardly new what day of the week it was never mind what he was protesting about when asked.

Yes he is allowed his day in dublon as you put it, but if he is protesting for farm incomes, holding up traffic etc at least fookin know why you are there when being interviewed by national tv on farmers behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I think we'll leave the consutancy work to the consultants, eh
    IFA have always promoted sustainable expansion, what's happening in dairying is definitely not sustainable

just shows how far behind the bus the IFA are
    I think the hard cold truth is that outside farming no one gives a flying **** about farm incomes.
    It's widely believed across society that farmers are coining it and so see this as another bout of "crying wolf"
    Were going to see a steady decline in proper food production in this country with shoppers being dished up whatever ****e possible as long as it's cheap - cheap is the only thought in the minds of your average shopper.

Was in company of some friends where some are farmers. Farmers wife said she buys pork and chicken from any country as long as it's cheap, some ****e attitude there !!

Rangler is right in many respects in that the can has mostly been kicked down the road. If there were a sizeable change in the SFP 2019 the farm production in this country would collapse as in many (or most) cases the profit margins on the actual produce wouldn't support a tight arsed bachelor or never mind a family.

Protest away boys but it will only reenforce what joe public think - farmers are never happy and always looking for a financial dig out.

It will be very interesting in 2019 with the SFP especially if the Western seaboard farmers are organized
    The message that gets lost is that letting retailers processors creameries coin huge profits, paying foreign labour and creating food barons is robbing the wide rural economy.

That is why we can never complain to the competition authority

No the PAYE worker may not have an arse in his trousers but the lad that own's the machine is more than likely coining it. There is a huge fancinisation with machinery on Irish farms. I have been on livestock farms where the machinery is worth more than the stock:eek:

It took me very little time to learn that any machine (car or Tractor) that costs more than 10K new is often much more viable to buy secondhand. If you break something second hand you will break the new version as well.

Don't turn it into a public service bashing thread, or private or self employed. I would have little sympathy for public, private or self employed if they were protesting every year over the same so called causes. Like the clown that was interviewed this evening on the news, he hardly new what day of the week it was never mind what he was protesting about when asked.

Yes he is allowed his day in dublon as you put it, but if he is protesting for farm incomes, holding up traffic etc at least fookin know why you are there when being interviewed by national tv on farmers behalf.

Damien o reilly writes about keyboard cowards, ie anonymous posters that belittle people that have no way of defending themselves.... and I despise them too.
    No ones perfect in this world only a bully takes advantage of weaknesses.
    I put the o in Dublin to highlight to mf that he too could get it wrong,, because that's the way he spelt it...yes even he wasn't perfect.
    You won't get too many spelling mistakes in my posts, will I correct your spelling mistakes for you:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I dont have time for a protest, between milking and young family. A tad unfair on the guy interviewed, wer not all blessed with high levels of eloquence. Fair fecks to the lads that protest, answer me this. Are we paid enough for what hours we work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Keep it civilised lads.:rolleyes:

just shows how far behind the bus the IFA are
    It took me very little time to learn that any machine (car or Tractor) that costs more than 10K new is often much more viable to buy secondhand. If you break something second hand you will break the new version as well.

But if you have a new machine and service it properly, it'll be harder to break.
    A lot of tractors don't even get the oil changed, greased, kept tight,
    I'm surprised that a part time farmer doesn't agree with keeping fresh machinery, because time is at a premium if working away

And wtf is to you if they did go to Dublon for a drive, it's a free country isn't it

A dont be getting yourself worked up. I dont care where anyone goes for a day out. Life is too short to be working everyday. At least they had nice weather for the pilgrimage.

Damien o reilly writes about keyboard cowards, ie anonymous posters that belittle people that have no way of defending themselves.... and I despise them too.
    No ones perfect in this world only a bully takes advantage of weaknesses.
    I put the o in Dublin to highlight to mf that he too could get it wrong,, because that's the way he spelt it...yes even he wasn't perfect.
    You won't get too many spelling mistakes in my posts

Apologies for the mistake. Its all about teamwork at the end of the day . There was no I in dublin today.!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

[/B]
    But if you have a new machine and service it properly, it'll be harder to break.
    A lot of tractors don't even get the oil changed, greased, kept tight,
    I'm surprised that a part time farmer doesn't agree with keeping fresh machinery, because time is at a premium if working away
    Time is a premium but any lad that has his head half screwed on sees that the return isn't there to buy such machines. Say 60k for a new tractor, then it's buy a tank for the back a new loader and a few other bits and pieces. It doesn't be long adding up, id have 20 far more lucrative investments I could throw that money at without having to get up and spin around the yard in. I was thinking of buying a second hand teleported at home here for feeding and just general rooting, even at 14k I couldn't make it work . If I was to write it down to say 8k for selling on id still have 6k to make up and keeping it simple without more maintainance and costs that 6k allowing 10€ per hour I would have to save myself 600 hours work. It won't be that much faster than the tractor and loader.

Seen the news. Yer man waving the beef placard was fairly stuck when he was interviewed. .

Sure a lot of them didnt know exactly what they were protesting about.

Some of them were only there because thats where the bus stopped.:D