Gang demands protection money in Dublin 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Jaysus I remember back in the day when I used to go to the Dublin matches in Croker and you'd pay the youngfella €2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I posted my solution to the problem several times --

No free Legal Aid after the first two offences. If found innocent then FLA. If not take it as well as cost of damage from their dole or parents dole or wages.
    The pocket is the only place to hit them.
    Some people just don't set standards of behaviour for their children.

Sure theres probably something in the European human rights thing that means they have to get free legal aid and they have to get dole to support their kids or whatever.

It a pity those involved in direct work with juveniles and youth worker working with at risk groups don't engage in these threads and who are prepared to really honest about the issue it would be interesting. The reason I say this because the replies always decent in vigilantism is the answerer or some verson of that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

traprunner wrote: »
    Can we neuter these youngsters before they procreate?

I really, really wish we could. There should be an incentive for voluntary sterilization, extra dole money maybe.

Anyway best way to deal with these little knackers is get a squad a lads together, patrol the streets, and beat the **** of them next time they try and mess with someone's car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

well be glad i'm not in charge, as such vigilanteism would be met by a swift responce from the army on the grounds of people trying to overthrow the state.

Presumably gangland scumbags would be met with the same response? Sounds good to me, there'd be no need for the vigilantes then so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

communities should have the right to say "we don't want these f*ckers living in our square anymore

actually, no they shouldn't.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Why not? Decent people shouldn't have to live with scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

well be glad i'm not in charge, as such vigilanteism would be met by a swift responce from the army on the grounds of people trying to overthrow the state.

How do you equate vigilantism against a few scumbags with overthrowing the state?

I posted my solution to the problem several times --

No free Legal Aid after the first two offences. If found innocent then FLA. If not take it as well as cost of damage from their dole or parents dole or wages.
    The pocket is the only place to hit them.
    Some people just don't set standards of behaviour for their children.
    problem is it would cost us more in the long run to do that then free legal aid. increased sentences and proper meaningful education and rehabilitation is what should be happening. it won't work for all but at least it might get through to some if done right

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Why, exactly? If there are 20 houses in an estate, 19 of which are decent families and 1 of which is owned by people with 25 previous convictions for assault, whose kids shout abuse at neighbours and visitors as they're getting out of their cars, who smash windows, spray paint people's doors and beat up strangers for "looking at them funny", how do you justify forcing the 19 decent families to live in close proximity to the aforementioned criminals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

KatW4 wrote: »
    This just disgusts me. Is nothing safe anymore? Why should some people act like absolute idiots and hurt other people when the rest of us try hard to live like law abiding citizens.

It's not often that a news story makes me angry but this has my blood boiling!

its in the Hearld so it must be true :pac:
    save your blood boiling anger for stories that have a fair chance of being true.
    This is either a total Bullsh1t story or wildly exagerated.

I think it's one of those areas in which laws on self defense should be extended to (a) bystanders, and (b) "chronic" attacks as well as "acute" (in other words, right now it's only self defence if someone is attacking me in that moment, not if I beat the crap out of them so they don't come back to my house day after day harassing me. By bystanders, I mean that if I'm out walking and I see scumbags like this assaulting someone I don't know, I shouldn't be held responsible for their injuries if I decide to intervene.
    to dangerous. the current self defence laws are perfectly fine, infact they could do with being a bit more strict but they will do

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Why throw more money at these scumbag reprobates?

Cut every state payment and every state assistance they receive, if they need a doctor or hospital make them pay cash or go away and be sick or die.

the whole thing of these fookers having more rights than the decent people they kill and maim and rob makes me sick!
    but they don't have more rights. the courts hands are simply tied and there aren't enough prison spaces because we use what exist for people who genuinely can't afford to pay a charge. allowing people to die rather then give them health care is a breach of international law i should suspect so its not going to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Ship them off to North Korea.

Old Jakey wrote: »
    I really, really wish we could. There should be an incentive for voluntary sterilization, extra dole money maybe.

Anyway best way to deal with these little knackers is get a squad a lads together, patrol the streets, and beat the **** of them next time they try and mess with someone's car.
    such squads would be a threat to the state so would have to be put down if they tried their little patrols

Presumably gangland scumbags would be met with the same response? Sounds good to me, there'd be no need for the vigilantes then so!
    there is no need for vigilante vermin anyway. i would be increasing the garda numbers and emergency responce units for the gangland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

such squads would be a threat to the state so would have to be put down if they tried their little patrols

Wha'?

Why, exactly? If there are 20 houses in an estate, 19 of which are decent families and 1 of which is owned by people with 25 previous convictions for assault, whose kids shout abuse at neighbours and visitors as they're getting out of their cars, who smash windows, spray paint people's doors and beat up strangers for "looking at them funny", how do you justify forcing the 19 decent families to live in close proximity to the aforementioned criminals?
    if the scum actually own the house then they have a right to be there no questions asked. if they are renting chances are the authorities will move them on eventually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

well be glad i'm not in charge, as such vigilanteism would be met by a swift responce from the army on the grounds of people trying to overthrow the state. vigilantes only care about attention and taking over certain trades, they certainly don't care about dealing with genuine issues. anyone who takes the law into their own hands has no argument to complain about law breaking, because they condone it themselves

did you do a Doctoral Thesis on Vigilantism ?
    because you seem very confident in your assertions.

there is no need for vigilante vermin anyway. i would be increasing the garda numbers and emergency responce units for the gangland.

So people are vermin for standing up for themselves against scumbags?

if the scum actually own the house then they have a right to be there no questions asked. if they are renting chances are the authorities will move them on eventually

I don't agree, personally. They belong in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭Calibos

lanos wrote: »
    did you do a Doctoral Thesis on Vigilantism ?
    because you seem very confident in your assertions.

I get the impression that he thinks all vigilantes are RA heads.

Increasing AGS numbers in the area will have zero effect on this type of thing.

These guys are going door to door and are demanding €50 per night or else the people's cars (and I'm sure property) will be vandalised.

The threat of being in front of a Judge or the increase of AGS numbers is not enough of a deterrent.

Either they get put in front of a Judge and get locked up for more than 2 years (not going to happen) or a bigger boy beats the fcuk out of them when they knock on the door, nothing will change.

In situations like this, violence is realistically the only effective response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Charles Daarrwin

Dublin and Ireland is a kip
    The gards assisting in evictions and these little ****s running amok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The suggestion that things are getting progressively worse over time is indeed a valid one IMO, and it's not entirely down to these gangs themselves.

Think about it.. instead of calling them out as the troublemaking scummers they are and dealing with them decisively, our progressive types will suggest that they're "disadvantaged", "from a broken home" and even a spot of victim blaming - in short it's always "Someone else's" fault or responsibility other than the individual themselves.

This paralysing mindset started in the US but has now spread to the rest of the "Modern World" to the point that these people can't be dealt with effectively for fear of upsetting some liberal PC nonsense.
    Take for example the current situation in the Med as a perfect illustration of what I mean. While our "leaders" issue press releases and hold meetings, the migrants in question are using violence and intimidation to force the hand of the authorities on the ground, who are as a result of the hand-wringing above them, effectively powerless to do anything about it.

Those of you in your late 30s or above, think back to your childhood and what would have happened to you if you'd been brought home by the cops or even a neighbour - the phrase "dead meat" probably comes to mind, right? Nowadays though the cops will be told to f-off and threatened with legal action, with the whole encounter (or an edited version thereof) being uploaded to Facebook shortly thereafter! Remember the anti-drugs marches of the 90s? Can't see those happening ever again because shure aren't they really just poor unfortunates who need our help and support? And those marching are probably SF/AAA-voting dole spongers themselves anyway! :rolleyes:

It's not just this though.. everything from parenting in general, to personal attitudes to "controversial" topics (look at how people who weren't fully on-board and vocal about the SSM referendum were attacked on this very forum for nothing more than expressing their own opinion - something nowadays apparently only allowed only if it conforms to the consensus of the more "enlightened" among us), right to the point of people actively looking to be offended in the most innocuous of circumstances!

In short, our society has become a responsibility-shirking, naval-gazing shadow of its former self where calling a spade a spade or having a bit of cop on are things to be shouted down and belittled with a vast array of PC-approved shyte frankly.. but it's a situation that ignores the real issue and emboldens the scum even further!

You think things are bad now.. just give it another 10/15 years given the way things are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

In situations like this, violence is realistically the only effective response.

Agreed. First thing I learned in secondary school was that if someone tries to push you around You Push Them Back. To be fair though if someone knocked on my door asking for fifty euro and threatening me with repercussions if it wasn't paid up on a daily basis he'd receive more than a few casual slaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

To be fair that must be terrifying for residents, knowing that they will follow through with their threats.

€50 a night is madness though. They need a lesson in economics. At that rate you'll have auld Mary giving them €150 to keep her car safe for just Monday, Thursday and Saturday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

People give out about the old days, but we didn't have this sort of lawlessness. There was respect and common courtesy. Country has gone down the toilet recently. God knows what it'll be like in a few years from now.

Yeah we just had, y'know, the IRA.

Anyone else fantasise about doing a Travis Bickle when reading about these incidents?

All "internet warrior" stuff aside.

If there was a guy / gang going door to door in your area, harassing and extorting yourself and your neighbours.
    What would / could you do?

These people have no problem doing this, no fear of the authorities and they know there will be little or no repercussions for their actions.

Their threat of violence and almost guaranteed successes far outweigh any possible deterrent that the State has at its disposal. They know they can get away with this type of thing.

It's a big concern that they are starting at such a high figure...€350 per week per house, am I correct?

They obviously know that it's is not sustainable for residents to actually pay that for any length of time. They have a bigger plan with this. It will be ramped up considerably. If you can't pay €50 every night, they may want them to work / do jobs in lieu of a cash payment. They may take valuables or demand to use the houses as a safe house or to store stolen items......it's not something that stops at €50 a night protection racket!

If it was to happen to me, I could confidently say that I would pay for the week but I'd get every penny back and make their life hell for a long time to come.