Gang demands protection money in Dublin 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

No, the old days where children weren't allowed to grow up in broken homes. Where unfit mothers were looked after, and their children given a better chance in life. The old days where people respected law and order. It's pure anarchy now; anything goes.
    yes, the good old days where "unfit mothers" were imprisoned against their will, beaten, enslaved, had their children stolen against their will, to be sold off for proffit. great days indeed.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

No, the old days where children weren't allowed to grow up in broken homes. Where unfit mothers were looked after, and their children given a better chance in life. The old days where people respected law and order. It's pure anarchy now; anything goes.

Friend of mine's mum was sent to a Magdalene laundry in the 50s when she was 4.... as her widowed father was deemed unfit to look after her. From crumlin ironically.

She ended up spending her life there and having 3 kids while in the laundry - raped by men visitors. Her kids were forcebly taken from the mother and adopted out while she died in the laundry from a life of inhaling the chemicals she worked with. She was so institutionalised by the time she died she was not capable of life outside the laundry.

Yeah- great system, totally fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

GarIT wrote: »
    What do you mean by broken homes? How would you define an unfit mother?

A home without a loving, stable, parental unit to raise kids. An unfit mother is one who brings children up in that environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

You sound like an elderly priest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

no, those bunch of deluded failures can stay in the past.

AAD maybe?

Few ex provos with experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A fifty a day opening demand reeks of amateurism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

This is where the laundries came in handy. Little scumbags like this would have been put up for adoption or sent to an orphanage and taught manners, instead of being allowed to grow up in dysfunctional environments. Progressive country me hole, we're going backwards.

That's a really scummy thing to say considering the history of the laundries in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

I for one am all for vigilantism.

Group of accountants by day, snipers by night, take out all the scummers one by one.
    Eventually eliminating all of them.
    Might free up some houses for people who actually want to contribute to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

A home without a loving, stable, parental unit to raise kids. An unfit mother is one who brings children up in that environment.

I was going to argue with you until I saw your post history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Kinda hope Frostyjacks is a parody account, but considering the sort of claptrap that's being posted on AH lately, someone saying bring back the laundries doesn't surprise me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

yes and young lads from disadvantaged areas were send down to "homes" down the country to be "reformed"

The General was one of them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Links234 wrote: »
    Kinda hope Frostyjacks is a parody account, but considering the sort of claptrap that's being posted on AH lately, someone saying bring back the laundries doesn't surprise me.

I'm not saying bring back the laundries, I'm saying the antisocial behaviour we have today didn't happen in the old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I'm not saying bring back the laundries, I'm saying the antisocial behaviour we have today didn't happen in the old days.

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Yes. Yes it did. You just didn't hear about it as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

People are always banging on about how this didn't happen in the old days. It did, you just never heard about it.

What didn't happen is that someone could post about it on the internet, allowing you to hear about it almost instantly. The internet and social media does little but ramp up this sort of crime hysteria and then we get all this 'string 'em up, it's the only language they understand!!' crap.

How far back in to 'the old days' do we have to go to where this didn't happen, at all, ever? When exactly was this fabled paradise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Next weeks news

"Crumlin Kids named and shamed "

Followed by :

"My Kid is not a scummer, He now fears for his life "

And No1 in the top ten excuses :

" Kids will be Kids "

Nah, far more likely scenario:

"Crumlin Kids Named and Shamed"
    "Crumlin Kids in Hiding Following Abuse on Social Media"
    "One of the Crumlin Kids Commits Suicide Due to Scandalous Abuse on Social Media"
    "Outrage on Social Media About Abuse of Crumlin Kids on Social Media"
    "Social Media Abusers of Crumlin Kids In Hiding Following Abuse on Social Media"

Bring back the IRA lads. They'd take care of these guys sharpish. Great bunch of lads the 'ra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've said it a hundred thousand times and I'll say it again - most of the scumbags in the D8 and D12 areas seem to be "known to the Gardai", and when they're brought to court, you'll often hear about them having previous convictions in the double digits.

The issue here is not policing, the issue is courts which refuse to accept that some people are just f*cking assholes and shouldn't have the right to live among decent human beings.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    That's a really scummy thing to say considering the history of the laundries in this country.
    ah but but shur didn't they respect the law? oh, wait. selling children, enslavement, even cases of rape in these places. there were a lot of laws broken all right.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I've said it a hundred thousand times and I'll say it again - most of the scumbags in the D8 and D12 areas seem to be "known to the Gardai", and when they're brought to court, you'll often hear about them having previous convictions in the double digits.

The issue here is not policing, the issue is courts which refuse to accept that some people are just f*cking assholes and shouldn't have the right to live among decent human beings.

Well in theory it is more effective to rehabilitate someone then stuff them in an overcrowded prison.

I say in theory cos it doesn't seem to bloody work, just hear more and more of these stories of little bastards running rampant and don't even seem to care if they caught cos they'll only get a caution or a suspended sentence or whatever.

I for one am all for vigilantism.

Group of accountants by day, snipers by night, take out all the scummers one by one.
    Eventually eliminating all of them.
    Might free up some houses for people who actually want to contribute to society.

well be glad i'm not in charge, as such vigilanteism would be met by a swift responce from the army on the grounds of people trying to overthrow the state. vigilantes only care about attention and taking over certain trades, they certainly don't care about dealing with genuine issues. anyone who takes the law into their own hands has no argument to complain about law breaking, because they condone it themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Well in theory it is more effective to rehabilitate someone then stuff them in an overcrowded prison.

I say in theory cos it doesn't seem to bloody work, just hear more and more of these stories of little bastards running rampant and don't even seem to care if they caught cos they'll only get a caution or a suspended sentence or whatever.

That's because they're not being rehabilitated; they're just being given a slap on the wrist and sent home.

The best solution is to get in there while they're young and educate, educate, educate. That needs the full support of their family as well though.

The problem I have with the rehabilitation argument is that it fails to take into account the civil rights of these scumbags' neighbours. None of the people I know who live in the vicinity are scumbags themselves, should they not have a civil right to be allowed to live their lives in peace? Is it right that they have to put up with this crap because they choose to live somewhere that's close to the city and close to their family and friends?

That's my frustration with the rehabilitation argument - it's all about the welfare of the convicted. Nobody ever seems to take into account the rights of the ordinary people living nearby, not to have to put up with scumbags on their doorstep.

It's funny, I sound very right wing when I talk about this and I never used to be, it's only since I've started paying attention to the sheer number of scumbags who come before a judge, have multiple previous convictions for general scumbaggery, and are allowed immediately back out onto the streets to continue doing what they were doing. I'm lucky enough to live in a quiet area outside the city, but I don't think it's particularly fair that nice, decent people have to put up with this because of where they choose to live - communities should have the right to say "we don't want these f*ckers living in our square anymore, all they do is make life hard for the rest of us".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

VinLieger wrote: »
    Bit of vigilantism is whats required here, gardai are either too lazy, under resourced or restricted by the ridiculous rights of criminals so its unfortunately up to the local people to step up. Couple of mass beatings these knacks will learn their lessons. Also in previous reports it was reported these are young kids age 12-17 so the useless parents should have similar behaviour brought upon them until they begin dealing with their spawn

no what's required is for our police force to do what it's paid to do

and then for courts to punish those who are determined to live outside the bounds of decent society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

lawred2 wrote: »
    no what's required is for our police force to do what it's paid to do

The Gardai are underfunded and understaffed. They do a good job with inadequate resources.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

The Gardai are underfunded and understaffed. They do a good job with inadequate resources.
    They're great at giving out speeding fines... Feck all resources for anything else

To me the issue is if they are criminals then they need to be treated as criminals, now they may very well be in need of rehabilitation but that should be seen as an addition to a sanction for braking the law. A sanction is not the same as a punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I posted my solution to the problem several times --

No free Legal Aid after the first two offences. If found innocent then FLA. If not take it as well as cost of damage from their dole or parents dole or wages.
    The pocket is the only place to hit them.
    Some people just don't set standards of behaviour for their children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

well be glad i'm not in charge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

well be glad i'm not in charge, as such vigilanteism would be met by a swift responce from the army on the grounds of people trying to overthrow the state. vigilantes only care about attention and taking over certain trades, they certainly don't care about dealing with genuine issues. anyone who takes the law into their own hands has no argument to complain about law breaking, because they condone it themselves

Ah no, sure a bunch of accountants? Nah, they just want a nice life for themselves and their children. They get up every morning, do an honest days work, and sniper rilfe the $hit out of the waste of space idiots with 100+ convitions to their name, that nobody else seems to want to deal with, and whos full time job seems to be to make a menace of themselves.

Who says a normally law obiding citizen, who wants a nicer world to live in, is going to go robbing banks etc.? Most of us just want the scumbags dealt with.

I think it's one of those areas in which laws on self defense should be extended to (a) bystanders, and (b) "chronic" attacks as well as "acute" (in other words, right now it's only self defence if someone is attacking me in that moment, not if I beat the crap out of them so they don't come back to my house day after day harassing me. By bystanders, I mean that if I'm out walking and I see scumbags like this assaulting someone I don't know, I shouldn't be held responsible for their injuries if I decide to intervene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Why throw more money at these scumbag reprobates?

Cut every state payment and every state assistance they receive, if they need a doctor or hospital make them pay cash or go away and be sick or die.

the whole thing of these fookers having more rights than the decent people they kill and maim and rob makes me sick!