Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Nothing like done deal to give you a laugh. 'Clean van' :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/damagedcars-for-sale/renault-megane-van-2007-1-5-dci/10254584

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I did not buy petrol.

254980d1383063709-gbp-jpy-pairs-good-day....jpg

Fixed your post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

CIP4 wrote: »
    Nothing like done deal to give you a laugh. 'Clean van' :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/damagedcars-for-sale/renault-megane-van-2007-1-5-dci/10254584

"Engine Prefect". There's your problem, it has an ancient Ford engine in it.
    And "Immobiliser Prombels", no, not familiar with that make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

jimgoose wrote: »
    A one-litre Volkswagen is about as much fun as a toaster and will die after 70,000 miles if you do much in the way of highway driving. A Saxo is a Citroen and will drive you to drink, drugs and divorce as it mugs you at knife-point while shouting "Allez les Bleus!!", but it's at least a quirky, fun little thing. Neither of them have any power. I hope that much helps! :D

Well, the saxo it is then...

Seriously though, looking for a car now is getting tiring..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

"Engine prefect". There's your problem, it has an ancient Ford engine in it.

"Not starting"

Where do these people come from? How can an engine be perfect and not start? Sure an engine that starts but misfires would probably be "mint" to this guy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

"Engine prefect". There's your problem, it has an ancient Ford engine in it.

Ha! You don’t see old 100E sidevalves calving three grand worth a' fcukan dual-mass particulate injectors, do ya! :D

Bought some wind deflectors on ye olde ebay for the C5. Only place I could find them. Thought I'd get them on Mick's Garage handy enough, but apparently not.

job seeker wrote: »

Confucius say "man who run in front of car get tired. Man who run behind car get exhausted"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

"Engine Prefect". There's your problem, it has an ancient Ford engine in it.
    And "Immobiliser Prombels", no, not familiar with that make.

Judging from the back bumper the driver must of just stood back and tried to throw in whatever needed to go in the boot. I hate seeing yokes like that so abused engines probably wrecked from being run on cheap diesel and not being serviced probably just fit for scrapyard at this stage unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Pov06 wrote: »
    "Not starting"

Where do these people come from? How can an engine be perfect and not start? Sure an engine that starts but misfires would probably be "mint" to this guy :pac:

Well, if it is in fact an old Ford sidevalve that makes prefect sense as written. See what I did there?? :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

job seeker wrote: »

I'd to put upb with eight chuffin months of the oh looking for a car was like living with a lunatic

Never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Which insurance company is that with?

Aviva, they've sorted myself and my brother out now with good quotes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I know we're not supposed to talk about old posters, but is Cleveland Hot Pocket gone or what? Hasn't posted in ages...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I know we're not supposed to talk about old posters, but is Cleveland Hot Pocket gone or what? Hasn't posted in ages...

I was wondering the same

Aviva, they've sorted myself and my brother out now with good quotes!

If you do the driving thing and your car is 2002 or above, they may give you a good quote.

What's this malarkey about Merlin Car Auctions getting a sponsored forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They got a sponsored forum.....

Any particular reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

GvidoR wrote: »
    If you do the driving thing and your car is 2002 or above, they may give you a good quote.

I'm not sure if my ignition test is still valid but they've always given me good online quotes, even when I was throwing in fake information for future quotes.

Any particular reason?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOZC3LblyLk

:P

Ah sure it's a bit of advertising for them, isn't it. Puts a few Euro into Boards, too. No harm in it. Could come back to bite them though when someone gets a trouble car and starts giving them endless hassle on here over it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

French any better? Le automobile de la fromage et escargot c'est un Peugeot!

Peugeot est français à la ferraille....! :p:p:p

I actually have a crummy humpy Corolla with a Peugeot engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I think CHP was at the most recent meet.

Peugeot est français à la ferraille....! :p:p:p

I actually have a crummy humpy Corolla with a Peugeot engine

Oh, Japanese styling combined with French reliability, シック!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I think CHP was at the most recent meet.

He was indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

YbFocus wrote: »
    He was indeed.

Knew I saw him there alright.

So he browses the forum but doesn't post?

He's banned outright so he can't

11889493_164771313859403_5718940727323516424_n.jpg?oh=635d76644932c1616b2a6e4b8a52d125&oe=566E80EA

No idea man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The Panda 4x4 episode on wheeler dealers was great. I love the paint job :)

$_57.JPG