Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Detailing chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bbari

MarkN wrote: »
    Had a 2012 m-sport but sold it last year, bought a house an E60 and a kid (didn't pay for the latter as such) - sold the other 520d a few weeks ago and doing some saving at the moment maybe for a 420d, we'll see.

I am thinking of doing the samething myself and I hope I will be able to sell it at good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bbari

How many F10 owners are in here who are also into detailing their F10? :P

bbari is the only one I can think of!

BMW 5 Series. F10 is the chassis code.

Thanks Metz, I don't know the abc of Detailing, I have learnt a couple of things from few kind guys (Vectra, Curran etc) on this forum and still learning :)

I'm looking at changing cars. I know I do a bit of my own detailing, but I'm wondering if anyone here would be able to advise on this.

I looked at a car yesterday. Car seemed great in everything but cosmetics. Lots of scuffs and light scratching. Mostly around the driver's side door handles (front and back).

Would it be possible to completely (and I mean 100% completely) eliminate these? You can't feel them, and i've no idea how they got there so bad, but...

DSC_0005.jpg

DSC_0004.jpg

And is there a fix for peeling/'nibbled' looking coatings like this, that are peeling away:

DSC_0007.jpg

Or is that just a case of looking for a scrapyard to replace the parts?

I'm interested in the car and wouldn't have any issue picking up a proper orbital (instead of the DA sh*te I have) to do a proper number on the car (I'd enjoy it, as a hobby, really) but I don't think they'd come out? (the scratches), and it being a 2008+ C5, it doesnt look like there'll be an abundance of them in scrapyards for interior parts to take out. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Short answer; no, you wont get it 100% right, and I dont think you'd even improve on them vastly to be honest.

Previous owner(s) were pretty carless with their keys when opening the doors!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

looks like a drunk person was trying to unlock the door with their key but couldn't quite line it up right :D. you'd wonder how there could be that many scratches and on both sides. maybe they had big dangly metal bracelets that scratched it every time they opened the door.

that interior bit could be fixed with plastidip that's what it looks like it is? if it feels rubbery

Curran wrote: »
    Short answer; no, you wont get it 100% right, and I dont think you'd even improve on them vastly to be honest.

Previous owner(s) were pretty carless with their keys when opening the doors!!

I don't understand the scratches to be honest. It has central locking, so no need for the key to be anywhere near the handle :confused: And the second picture (the worst one) is the rear door! :confused:

What if I didn't try to DIY it.. would there be any likelyhood of better results handing it over to one of the lads on here to do a number on it?

Tempted by it, but can't live with those marks. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Open the car with the central locking, but still have the keys in their hands when they pull the door handle open. Back doors would be caused by opening the door for kids!

True enough.. wasn't really thinking along those lines. I usually tend to use the hand with nothing in it to open the door, and keep sharp steel objects away from the paintwork. Obviously the previous owner wasn't of the same mindset. :rolleyes:

So just to throw it out as I won't be buying anything til monday.. I've asked a chap that I know that does repairs how much a full respray would cost (I'd imagine it'd be far too pricy, but i'd rather ask and be told than not ask and find out later it's not too expensive at all).

But if there's a boardsie on here that reckons they could bring that up (as new) and fancied taking it on let me know. You'd also have pretty bad stone chips on the front bumper, bonnet and wings (some barely noticeable, but definitely about half a dozen that I copped, where the paint is practically gone).

I'm going to look at a different C5 today that has been described as 'immaculate' (obviously!) so mightn't even buy the one above, but either way I'm not buying anything today, so will be Monday, and if one of ye chaps reckon you can do a job on that car I posted above, let me know (feel free to PM me either). I know its unlikely, but no harm in asking.

How anyone could be so careless. The car above is a 2011. My 2001 Focus looks like it's had an easier life! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭tommer

Previous owner probably had dogs?? Maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Probably could improve them a lot by carefully touching up followed by touch up lacquer
    Then wet sand and polish.
    Will never be 100% though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,138 ✭✭✭✭cena

I was at the local body shop yesterday, had to drop some paper work for the brother. I asked him about removing the swirls {compound} on the astra he gave me a price of 80 euro for the whole job.

sound good???

cena wrote: »
    I was at the local body shop yesterday, had to drop some paper work for the brother. I asked him about removing the swirls {compound} on the astra he gave me a price of 80 euro for the whole job.

sound good???

There is a difference in Compounding swirls out and doing a 2 or 3 stage machine polish.

You will most likely get some swirls out but be left with horrible holograms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

What does this mean in laymans terms? It's a response from a company with regards to removing defects on paint (swirl matks etc.)

" Questions always are welcome. We use rotary instead of dual action polishers. It saves a lot of time. Schols concept or menzerna compounds will be used to polish a car, subject to condition. Full ipa wipe down after polishing stage to ensure all oils removed before waxing stage."

What does this mean in laymans terms? It's a response from a company with regards to removing defects on paint (swirl matks etc.)

" Questions always are welcome. We use rotary instead of dual action polishers. It saves a lot of time. Schols concept or menzerna compounds will be used to polish a car, subject to condition. Full ipa wipe down after polishing stage to ensure all oils removed before waxing stage."

Could be wrong but it sounds to me like "we'll use a decent machine polisher and a good quality polish, and then clean the car before waxing it".

Speaking of rotary polishers, anyone able to recommend one? Or indeed, anyone want to buy a DAS6 Pro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Rotary polishers are the ones that spin in a smooth 360 whereas D/A polishers oscillate in order to prevent any potential damage by newcomers to detailing. The rotary does work a lot faster but should only be used by someone experienced.

Scholl and Menzerna are both good on hard German paint. Then again Chemical Guys V range has aggressive enough polishes for German paint.

IPA Wipedown - IPA is Isopropyl Alcohol which is used to remove traces of polish from a car's paintwork after it has been thoroughly washed in order to give the best possible surface for the wax layer to bond to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

tommer wrote: »
    Previous owner probably had dogs?? Maybe

Or was it dags? Like who the hell does that to a new car (in their ownership).

So it seems like a good combination of tools/products provided it's done right?

Won a 50 euro voucher off them so I'm going to put it towards proper paint correction.

If they know how to use them then should be fine. One main issue with rotary polishers is that if pressure isn't evenly applied across the pad surface, this could result in holograms which will appear just like swirl marks.

Ya I asked him about them and he said he knows about them and won't let them happen. I've seen some of their work and it looks quite well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

...... Or indeed, anyone want to buy a DAS6 Pro?

Yes, I'm looking for a DAS6 Pro. PM me if you want to discuss.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Was looking at the Mequirs DA power system. The one that fits onto a mains power drill. this looks ideal for me, anyone use them?

http://www.halfords.ie/motoring-travel/cleaning-body-repair/polishers-steam-cleaners/meguiars-da-power-system

Would I be right in saying that hand-polishing is not the way to go? IMO SRP does not have enough cutting in it, by hand anyway.

Was looking at the Mequirs DA power system. The one that fits onto a mains power drill. this looks ideal for me, anyone use them?

http://www.halfords.ie/motoring-travel/cleaning-body-repair/polishers-steam-cleaners/meguiars-da-power-system

Would I be right in saying that hand-polishing is not the way to go? IMO SRP does not have enough cutting in it, by hand anyway.

Wouldn't have any mass in that to be honest.
    And at that price you would get a used DA for not much more.

vectra wrote: »
    Wouldn't have any mass in that to be honest.
    And at that price you would get a used DA for not much more.

You'd be saying a mass for your car after using that yoke :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭booooonzo

Anyone looking to sell on a DA polisher or do they come up second hand that often?

Also what will polishing with a compound and DA do to a front bumper with stonechips? will they look better/worse or the same?

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭Danger781

Think I might pick up the Karcher K2 next time I'm near Halfords..
    http://www.halfords.ie/motoring-travel/cleaning-body-repair/pressure-washers-hoses/karcher-k2-compact-pressure-washer

€20 cashback too so it would bring the cost down to €70. I noticed there is an attachment for a shampoo / cleaning agent bottle - Would you still recommend getting a snowfoam lance with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Newtown90

Danger781 wrote: »
    http://www.halfords.ie/motoring-travel/cleaning-body-repair/pressure-washers-hoses/karcher-k2-compact-pressure-washer

€20 cashback too so it would bring the cost down to €70. I noticed there is an attachment for a shampoo / cleaning agent bottle - Would you still recommend getting a snowfoam lance with this?

My k2 gave up the ghost the weekend after 18 months.

Granted it was used nearly every weekend to wash the car! Have picked up a Nilfisk c120 on recommendations over the karcher again.

Deffo get a snowfoam lance as the cleaning agent bottle is no comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Danger781 wrote: »

I got a k2 for 75euro about 3 or 4 years ago. Owes me nothing now at this stage after cleaning cars, driveways, decking over the years.
    That suction thing for a shampoo bottle or whatever isn't great tbh - I found that it didn't such much at all if you had either of the high pressure lances fitted. It would only suck from the bottle and generate some suds if you removed the lances and sprayed straight from "pistol" part.

I got the karcher snowfoam lance on offer recently enough. I wasn't using the best of snow foam shampoo, but the guys here say the karcher one won't give you the "6 inches of awesome foam" you see in online pictures no matter what. I only use it if there's serious stuck on grime that I want to soften up.

Do you still have the mini?

You have some memory on you! :pac: I do indeed.. Planning on sticking with it for another while yet!

I was looking into buying something new over the past couple of months but decided against it for now. I had my eye on a Seat Ibiza Cupra for quite a while and everything looked to be going in my favour. The dealership has a partnership with my place of work so I was getting a discount. To top it all off my GFs uncle is a salesman there so he could probably have worked a little extra into the deal. You can imagine my disappointment when I learned it only comes in automatic..! :(

So my plan for now is to hold onto the car until early next year at least and I might look into something else. In the meantime, one thing I've always hated about the car is the chrome parts around the body. I bought some plasti dip so I'm planning on blacking out all the chrome.. Headlights, door handles, belt line, and probably the mirror caps too. Depending how this turns out I'll look into doing the roof in black plasti dip as well.

The joy of plasti dip is that I can take it off if I don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

There was a lad on here years ago with a very cool R53.
    His opinion was that the chrome was a very femine feature and didn't suit a modifed Mini. IIRC he used black tape for the strip around the bottom of the windows. I don't know how durable that was, or which particular type of tape. I'd say he plastidipped the headlights black.
    That was on a black car with red accents.

There was a lad on here years ago with a very cool R53.
    His opinion was that the chrome was a very femine feature and didn't suit a modifed Mini. IIRC he used black tape for the strip around the bottom of the windows. I don't know how durable that was, or which particular type of tape. I'd say he plastidipped the headlights black.
    That was on a black car with red accents.

Doesn't help that my MINI is electric blue either - hardly the most masculine colour going! :pac: Yeah I've heard of people using black electrical tape on the belt line, but I reckon I'll try with the plasti dip and if all else fails I can attempt taping it.