Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Anyone heading to the big grill festival? Gonna go down and cure my hangover with a tonne of rare meat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

.ak wrote: »
    Anyone heading to the big grill festival? Gonna go down and cure my hangover with a tonne of rare meat

Haven't got a chance to go this year but, in fairness, the weather didn't really make me want to go in the last few weeks.

Last year we were all eagerly looking to go weeks in advance. This year we all just reckoned we'd be cold and possibly soaked.

It sold out last year but still tickets available this week. I would say it's still an enjoyable enough day out, though. Missed a few of the usual places off the website. No Pitt Bros, for example. Smokin' Bones was due to be there. Never tried them so wouldn't mind giving them a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I was there on Friday night. Very good food but it's a tad expensive considering you have to pay to get in as well.

Buer wrote: »
    Haven't got a chance to go this year but, in fairness, the weather didn't really make me want to go in the last few weeks.

Last year we were all eagerly looking to go weeks in advance. This year we all just reckoned we'd be cold and possibly soaked.

It sold out last year but still tickets available this week. I would say it's still an enjoyable enough day out, though. Missed a few of the usual places off the website. No Pitt Bros, for example. Smokin' Bones was due to be there. Never tried them so wouldn't mind giving them a go.

To be honest pit bros and smokin bones are there just to make up the numbers, their fare isn't great.

I'm actually going there to try something from Andre Lima de Luca. I've been a fan of his for a while and I was actually considering going to London to catch him, so it's the main reason in going.

I'm also looking forward to a few curers... Looks like a good beer selection. I'm hanging.

Weather looks fair, fairly warm actually... Or maybe that's the hangover.

I'm actually going there to try something from Andre Lima de Luca. I've been a fan of his for a while and I was actually considering going to London to catch him, so it's the main reason in going.

Jaysus .Ak, you've pulled ahead of Molloy with this little beaut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Went at midday yesterday for our pre game. Finished my masters on Friday so I was hanging, got one cider, then managed to wrangle myself 3 free jameson ginger and limes. Shame to go to craft beer festival and drink jemmy, but it was free so I spent my money on food instead, got some asador, kinara and some ribs from somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Epic game of hurling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

In other news, Maria Walsh the current Rose of Tralee just did a tandem parachute jump.... And the poor girl could be heard screaming all the way down! :):)
    Fair play though, she did the 10k race this morning, she's really throwing herself into these last few days of her reign

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

We were in the very upper seats in the east stand yesterday. Is it just me or does anyone else who's been up that high (ff seats) get a slight dizzy feeling at first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Wang King wrote: »
    In other news, Maria Walsh the current Rose of Tralee just did a tandem parachute jump.... And the poor girl could be heard screaming all the way down! :):)
    Fair play though, she did the 10k race this morning, she's really throwing herself into these last few days of her reign

She also cycled 242 km in the last 3 days... Some woman for one woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Epic game of hurling!
    Great game. Some how managed to get free premium ticket for myself and the father. Free drink during game. Shame about result at end. Hopefully Galway can beat Cats in few weeks time

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

It appears that in my efforts to convert the OH, I've created a monster.

He made friends with the women beside us yesterday, and spent the entire match asking such questions as "when is the throw in" (he's a soccer fan), and "why are they kicking to the corner?"

However, he LOVED the whole experience of being at the match, much more so than watching it in the pub, so we are now planning to go the the Wales match, and maybe planning a weekend away for the England match.

How do I go about getting tickets to the English match?

For some bizarre reason he is now starting to pay attention to golf, we went out for a couple of drinks tonight, and were watching the PGA and I was explaining the different players, and he decided Jason Day has to win as it's the Australian major :confused:

Regardless, I'm enjoying the fact he enjoyed going to a game, and actually got into it :) We tend as a couple to have very disparate interests, but goiing to the game was something we both really enjoyed.

Leinster season tickets have been ordered :)

Jaysus .Ak, you've pulled ahead of Molloy with this little beaut.

Haha, I've always been ahead... That's why the abuse poor Molloy gets is so funny for me. ;)

Sure I was drinking hemp beer n all, and it wasn't even ironic!

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Stheno wrote: »

For what section?

awec wrote: »
    For what section?

South stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Quality bit of work there Stheno!
    Haha, I've always been ahead... That's why the abuse poor Molloy gets is so funny for me. ;)

Sure I was drinking hemp beer n all, and it wasn't even ironic!

Ahead!? I've yet to leave the starting line. That's why the whole thing is so funny. I'm almost as far from hipster as you can get.

molloyjh wrote: »

Wait till you are seated near me, and hear him asking loads of questions :)

Seriously though I was absolutely delighted, for him it had no comparison to being in a bar and watching it, he just loved it, and asked all the questions as he doesn't know the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Ahead!? I've yet to leave the starting line. That's why the whole thing is so funny. I'm almost as far from hipster as you can get.

Molloy was "not a hipster" before it was cool not to be a hipster... ;)

Zzippy wrote: »
    Molloy was "not a hipster" before it was cool not to be a hipster... ;)

Well here now in molloys defence, I was eating sushi a good ten years ago

I'd the good sense to realise the skinny jeans trend was not for me, but a good coffee bar was what I experienced in Rome in 96 :D

So you both found it funny before anyone else. You're practically a Hipster Couple.

Do scarves become gradually more tartan when both of you are in the one room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

So you both found it funny before anyone else. You're practically a Hipster Couple.

Do scarves become gradually more tartan when both of you are in the one room?

I believe their cravings for obscure fine foods eventually sync onto the same cycle when they're living together.

It appears that in my efforts to convert the OH, I've created a monster.

He made friends with the women beside us yesterday, and spent the entire match asking such questions as "when is the throw in" (he's a soccer fan), and "why are they kicking to the corner?"

However, he LOVED the whole experience of being at the match, much more so than watching it in the pub, so we are now planning to go the the Wales match, and maybe planning a weekend away for the England match.

How do I go about getting tickets to the English match?

For some bizarre reason he is now starting to pay attention to golf, we went out for a couple of drinks tonight, and were watching the PGA and I was explaining the different players, and he decided Jason Day has to win as it's the Australian major :confused:

Regardless, I'm enjoying the fact he enjoyed going to a game, and actually got into it :) We tend as a couple to have very disparate interests, but goiing to the game was something we both really enjoyed.

Ahm...will your OH be on the sidelines serving quality H2o at the next game?

I believe their cravings for obscure fine foods eventually sync onto the same cycle when they're living together.

No this is not the way it works, I took the OH to bon appetit in malahide so we could have that japanese beef, his favourite part of the entire meal was the bloody bread!
    Wang King wrote: »
    Ahm...will your OH be on the sidelines serving quality H2o at the next game?

Ah now, give him a chance.

No this is not the way it works, I took the OH to bon appetit in malahide so we could have that japanese beef, his favourite part of the entire meal was the bloody bread!

Ah now, give him a chance.

That's probably what you said to your parents when they first met him....... Last one, I promise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Venice is smelly and busy...

When you have to queue just to walk you know things are too busy. Went to Portofino yesterday. Apparently all the famous celebs have been known to go there...probably the reason that a mixed salad in a seafront restaurant was €25!! I'd say yacht envy is prevalent - as is supercar ownership, due to the high numbers of both. A lot of these lads must live their life as one big mickey swinging contest!!

mfceiling wrote: »
    Venice is smelly and busy...

When you have to queue just to walk you know things are too busy. Went to Portofino yesterday. Apparently all the famous celebs have been known to go there...probably the reason that a mixed salad in a seafront restaurant was €25!! I'd say yacht envy is prevalent - as is supercar ownership, due to the high numbers of both. A lot of these lads must live their life as one big mickey swinging contest!!

Did you actually pay 25 Euro for a mixed salad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Did you actually pay 25 Euro for a mixed salad?

Jesus no way!! We paid nearly €60 for 3 small pizzas and 2 large bottles of water.

Went to a Michelin recommended restaurant on Saturday night in a tiny village on the top of a mountain. Really stunning scenery. Dinner for 6 (3 adults and 3 kids) with starters, mains, wine, coffees and desserts came to €122!! It's like they almost don't know how much to charge for their worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I was in Copenhagen a few years back. Two small pizzas and 2 cokes cost about 80 euro. Expensive town...

Venice is just a tourist trap imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

RuggieBear wrote: »
    I was in Copenhagen a few years back. Two small pizzas and 2 cokes cost about 80 euro. Expensive town...

I was in Copenhagen this year and I def agree it's expensive but I have to say we ate fairly well and paid no where near that for food