Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

awec wrote: »

Most women who play off that sort of handicap I think would be older women who don't have the distance any more.

But awec, I AM old!!!!

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

28 degrees in our living room right now, complete sweat box. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Be thankful you're not on a bus right now!

molloyjh wrote: »
    Be thankful you're not on a bus right now!

Our living room has two walls that are just glass from floor to ceiling and they're the two that face the sun! It just magnifies the heat!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Our living room has two walls that are just glass from floor to ceiling and they're the two that face the sun! It just magnifies the heat!

Ugh, my bedroom in an old apartment was like that on one wall. Absolutely ridiculous design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Be thankful you're not on a bus ever!

FYP

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm having a golf lesson for the first time later this week :)

Good luck. I swear I won't be lurking in the bushes outside the driving range, but who are you going to? If you're on d'Northside there's some very good pros in Kinsealy Grange.
    Synode wrote: »
    Enjoy. The most important thing in a golf swing (imo) is remembering to keep your head down and your eye on the ball. Don't look up until you're sure the ball is well gone. Absolutely crucial

I have this problem in a bad bad way. I just can't keep my head still through the shot, and my ball striking ends up all over the shop. I played on Sunday and I didn't three putt at all, I didn't hit any really bad chips or pitches, but some of my irons were just appalling. Cost me shots all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

When I joined a club I handed in 3 cards and had to play a round with one of the handicap committee - they gave me 17.5 which was kinda hard to play to for a while! Haven't played in a couple of years and would probably struggle to beat 25 now... could always hit the ball a mile, it was keeping it straight was the problem! :pac:

Best tip I ever got was to slow down my backswing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Probably about the same in this apartment. I put a mosquito plug in yoke in the wall, wiped myself down with mosquito wipes, sprayed my legs with a kind of deet spray and the window mosquito nets are closed. One bite and i'm sleeping in the car tomorrow night.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Good luck. I swear I won't be lurking in the bushes outside the driving range, but who are you going to? If you're on d'Northside there's some very good pros in Kinsealy Grange.

ce.
    Sue in Roganstown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Balls! Forgot the Rose of Tralee starts this weekend, watching the game in my normal pub is going to be difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Wang King wrote: »
    Balls! Forgot the Rose of Tralee starts this weekend, watching the game in my normal pub is going to be difficult.

Is it because you're an escort?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Do ye not have blinds?!?!

Is it because you're an escort?

Would they be that desperate though?

Didn't know there were men in the rose of tralee.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Roll call for fantasy this year lads.

Me
    ibf
    Buer
    Teferi
    P_1
    ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Anyone see the RTE shows for the Autumn?
    Monday nights will host a new series of documentaries including Recruits, which goes behind the scenes with the Irish Defence Forces; Ireland's Wealth Revolution which sees David McWilliams investigating the wage gap; The Boston Nanny centres around the trial of Cavan nanny Aisling Brady McCarthy and Alan Quinlan will feature in Hidden Impact: Rugby’s Concussion Crisis.

Just about 2 years too late there Quinny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Roll call for fantasy this year lads.

Me
    ibf
    Buer
    Teferi
    P_1
    ?

Me too please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Wang King wrote: »

Thankfully my parents moved out of Tralee last winter so now I dont have to deal with that ****e when im home. (I happen to be home) Finding a pub in Ballyheigue to show the rugby can be just as hard though.

chupacabra wrote: »
    Thankfully my parents moved out of Tralee last winter so now I dont have to deal with that ****e when im home. (I happen to be home) Finding a pub in Ballyheigue to show the rugby can be just as hard though.

There'll be no foreign ball games in BallyH boy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

chupacabra wrote: »

At least they'll show the hurling on Sunday... ;)

Sweet suffering jesus

Asked oh wwoild he like to go to the game on Saturday last night and bought tickets

We were chatting about it this evening and he said, oh that will be fun, who's playing :eek:

Sweet suffering jesus

Asked oh wwoild he like to go to the game on Saturday last night and bought tickets

We were chatting about it this evening and he said, oh that will be fun, who's playing :eek:

He's a keeper :);):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Sweet suffering jesus

You've really got to sort that **** out.

Ah he's just not a sports fan, and in fairness to him, he's the patience of a saint, he spent the entire of the last day of the six nations through all three matches in Duffys in Malahide, surrounded by fans.

When it gets to screaming OMFG we might do it levels, he leaves to go for a walk.

And he's not a drinker :D

He not only has to put up with the rugby, but with tennis, the Majors in the golf and various other events during the year :) Last weekend we were on our first weekend away in years, and Saturday revolved around making sure I got to see the match. About 60 minutes in, he goes "what's the score", I told him whatever it was, and he asked who was winning!

He loves live stuff and the atmosphere of a big crowd, so I'm hoping to start the conversion this weekend.

L

Ah he's just not a sports fan, and in fairness to him, he's the patience of a saint, he spent the entire of the last day of the six nations through all three matches in Duffys in Malahide, surrounded by fans.

When it gets to screaming OMFG we might do it levels, he leaves to go for a walk.

And he's not a drinker :D

He not only has to put up with the rugby, but with tennis, the Majors in the golf and various other events during the year :) Last weekend we were on our first weekend away in years, and Saturday revolved around making sure I got to see the match. About 60 minutes in, he goes "what's the score", I told him whatever it was, and he asked who was winning!

He loves live stuff and the atmosphere of a big crowd, so I'm hoping to start the conversion this weekend.

L

Your relationship sounds like my relationship only with the genders reversed.

Is very funny sometimes if we are in strange places, people think it's him into the sports then get a shock when he spends an entire match on reddit etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

Sweet suffering jesus

If I can answer who's playing can I get his ticket? :pac:

Just watched Terminator Genesis and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

At how sh:t it was.

Just watched Terminator Genesis and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

At how sh:t it was.

giphy.gif