Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Doesn't look like construction work on the bridge will be starting anytime soon ......

Not bridge, this happens I'm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Jayop wrote: »
    Not bridge, this happens I'm done.

Well you better not be shagging off this forum :( .. you're one of the most rational posters regards their own county we have here and yer slant on things is appreciated (well at least by me)

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Well you better not be shagging off this forum :( .. you're one of the most rational posters regards their own county we have here and yer slant on things is appreciated (well at least by me)

Cheers Docta. I've been told a right few times in the last few days I'm viewing everything through tinted glassed, and hell, maybe I am. It's kinda tough when you're so invested in something to take a step back and look at things rationally.

As far as I'm concerned there's a few things that are true and a few things that are just getting me wholly pissed off.
    • Tyrone are not a clean team.
    • Tyrone play to the edge.
    • Tyrone have players who are willing to do things that people see as unsavoury to get them over the line.
    • Tyrone would win nothing without these players.
    • Tyrone deserved every single AI and Ulster they have won.
    • Everything Tyrone do that's bad is highlighted way beyond what happens with any other team.
    • RTE have had a campaign against Tyrone since at least 2003 that has tainted other people's opinions of the county.
    • The GAA looks like it's decided to change the rules to unfairly punish Tyrone, just because it's Tyrone.
    • Diving is bad and should be punished...within the laws of the game.

Would I expect or welcome the GAA banning any other player for a dive with an 8 week ban? Would I F! Would I welcome reasonable bans next year is a rule was introduced, hell yes.

Honestly, I've gotten to the point where I'm just so sick of all the bashing and all the crap. This move by the CCCC to engage in a witchhunt that's being pushed by the media is simply scandalous. I've already said in the Tyrone thread that I'm at the point now where I'm actually concerned for the lad. Here's a 22 year old kid that's done something stupid in the heat of the moment, he's not the first and I doubt he'll be the last, but he's being destroyed by the media and on social media. I've heard he had to delete his twitter account and it can't be a healthy position.

Some perspective is needed by people here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

What length of ban did Meath's Joe Sheridan receive a few years for his blatant cheating act when he dived over the line in the Leinster Final?
    Colm O'Rourke has a short memory.

Imagine the kids now copying their idols just throwing the ball around the place.

Kerrymen know how to handpass right? The dark art that it is. :)

What length of ban did Meath's Joe Sheridan receive a few years for his blatant cheating act when he dived over the line in the Leinster Final?
    Colm O'Rourke has a short memory.

When was that and who were they playing again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

When was that and who were they playing again?

2010 6 Nations v Louth ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

Someone asked should JOD be retrospectively punished for diving.

Are ye referring to the end of LAST year's AIF?

There was no dive this year and I don't understand why some people keep claiming that he did.

There are clips of Aidan O'Mahoney, Michael Shields and Tiarnan McCann. There is no such clip of JOD because it didn't f****n' happen.

Jippo wrote: »

There was no dive this year and I don't understand why some people keep claiming that he did.

There are clips of Aidan O'Mahoney, Michael Shields and Tiarnan McCann. There is no such clip of JOD because it didn't f****n' happen.

Take off your Kerry tinted glasses. ;)

(before you go daft read up about 3 posts)

Jippo wrote: »

Yeah. No dive at all this year at all.

---

Harte on OTB now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Hold on a second. When did this become Tyrone bashing driven by the media ? I think its more likely driven by the GAA themselves and by GAA fans who are sick of this nonsense.

The simple case is that Article 2B is about bringing the game into disrepute. Its a rule that does not require a player to have been issued a card in the first instance. That is where Brolly's arguement falls down that feigning an assault on the pitch would have only warranted a yellow card.

Breaching the Article and resulting bans etc are nothing new.

Managers have been on the receiving end of bans for criticising officials in the media. Players not carded in games involved in mass brawls have received lengthy bans, some of which hadnt even received cards on the pitch. 20 years ago the Dublin team were expelled from the under 21 championship for a mass brawl with Offaly in Parnell Park. 3 of the panel who were subs on the bench got 6 month bans whilst another (actually playing) was giving 3 months for striking a player.

All of these are breaches of 2B, bringing the game into disrepute.

Faking a blow to the head which results in a player being sent off, in addition to the trainwreck that was the last 10 minutes of a QTR final does need to be investigated by the GAA. It was witnessed by thousands of fans at the game and those watching on TV and did bring the game into disrepute.

Nothing new is being brought in here. Cetainly there is no argument to be made that ah sure would you not bring it in next year when we will all treat the already in place rules more respectively (because we have an important semi final coming up).

Yeah. No dive at all this year at all.

---

Harte on OTB now!

Never heard him so pissed off before. He's losing his cool a little.

He's right to lose his cool. McIntyre talking some shoite though.

What Wooly is talking about now is worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Here's a 22 year old kid that's done something stupid in the heat of the moment, he's not the first and I doubt he'll be the last, but he's being destroyed by the media and on social media. I've heard he had to delete his twitter account and it can't be a healthy position.

To he fair I was following him on twitter and the impression I got by his retweets was that he was proud of what he did/thought it was all a big joke. I think your jumping to conclusions as to why he came off it, aka he was probably told to in order to protect his reputation as he was doing more harm staying on it.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    To he fair I was following him on twitter and the impression I got by his retweets was that he was proud of what he did/thought it was all a big joke. I think your jumping to conclusions as to why he came off it.

I'm jumping to no conclusions because I didn't make a conclusion.

Well the insinuation I took from your post was that it was to do with the tweets he was receiving, and he couldn't be in a healthy position because of them. I think it was more to do with what he was retweeting after the incident.

The insinuation I made was that the media and social media witch hunt can't be good for someone's wellbeing. The twitter account was a possible indication of that. I don't know what he posted and I don't know what was said to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

So everything monaghan did up to the 55th minute is OK? Yeah sound.

No, I didn't say that at all.
    You seem to be in denial about Tyrone's deserved reputation for orchestrated game killing.

The insinuation I made was that the media and social media witch hunt can't be good for someone's wellbeing. The twitter account was a possible indication of that. I don't know what he posted and I don't know what was said to him.

If nothing happended then there would be no issue and no witch hunt. The sports papers would be writing about something else.

But I get what you are saying, he is a young lad and whilst it was a moment of stupidity, its not the end of the world.

I always wonder why players in any spotlight (amateur or otherwise) would want twitter type interaction, because there are a lot of headbangers out there.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    No, I didn't say that at all.
    You seem to be in denial about Tyrone's deserved reputation for orchestrated game killing.

Here, reading clearly isn't your strong suit so this was posted 4 down from the post you quoted.

Am I in denial?
    Cheers Docta. I've been told a right few times in the last few days I'm viewing everything through tinted glassed, and hell, maybe I am. It's kinda tough when you're so invested in something to take a step back and look at things rationally.

As far as I'm concerned there's a few things that are true and a few things that are just getting me wholly pissed off.
      [*]Tyrone are not a clean team.
      [*]Tyrone play to the edge.
      [*]Tyrone have players who are willing to do things that people see as unsavoury to get them over the line.

[*]Tyrone would win nothing without these players.
      [*]Tyrone deserved every single AI and Ulster they have won.
      [*]Everything Tyrone do that's bad is highlighted way beyond what happens with any other team.
      [*]RTE have had a campaign against Tyrone since at least 2003 that has tainted other people's opinions of the county.
      [*]The GAA looks like it's decided to change the rules to unfairly punish Tyrone, just because it's Tyrone.
      [*]Diving is bad and should be punished...within the laws of the game.

Would I expect or welcome the GAA banning any other player for a dive with an 8 week ban? Would I F! Would I welcome reasonable bans next year is a rule was introduced, hell yes.

Honestly, I've gotten to the point where I'm just so sick of all the bashing and all the crap. This move by the CCCC to engage in a witchhunt that's being pushed by the media is simply scandalous. I've already said in the Tyrone thread that I'm at the point now where I'm actually concerned for the lad. Here's a 22 year old kid that's done something stupid in the heat of the moment, he's not the first and I doubt he'll be the last, but he's being destroyed by the media and on social media. I've heard he had to delete his twitter account and it can't be a healthy position.

As for what you didn't say at all, you replied to the following post;
      Monaghan started all the crap on Saturday. Clearly you're not impartial like most observers buy Tyrone didn't get involved till the last 10/15 minutes. What happened after was bad, but nothing like your 'analysis'.

with this;
      Monaghan where going after the game when Tyrone decided to shut it down in their classic fashion.
      We all know no team are saints, but this tactic that Tyrone have become rightly infamous for is an orchestrated one.
      Tyrone either want to deal with that reputation or they don't. Expressing pride in that reputation is begining to get slighty nauseating tbh.

So you quoted a post where the whole point of it was saying that Monaghan were at the dirty play long before Tyrone by completely blanking that point and complaining again about Tyrone in the last 10 minutes.

What conclusion am I to draw from this other than you either don't think Monaghan were guilty of starting the crap or that you think they did and you don't care and just want to complain about Tyrone.

STB. wrote: »
      If nothing happended then there would be no issue and no witch hunt. The sports papers would be writing about something else.

But I get what you are saying, he is a young lad and whilst it was a moment of stupidity, its not the end of the world.

I always wonder why players in any spotlight (amateur or otherwise) would want twitter type interaction, because there are a lot of headbangers out there.

Because he's a 22 year old kid who probably uses social media to keep in touch with his friends. I don't really get twitter anyway but I don't think an amatuer player should be denied the right to have one just because people think thay can be keyboard warriors.

Its not about denying the right, its more the consequences of social media these days, especially for the younger lads who might not have that wisdom.

A lot of the players including the older ones have twitter and its used to good effect for charity angles etc. However, it must become heavy when criticism is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,152 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The real winner here is Jim Gavin. All this talk of Tyrone's behaviour, can Kerry win another AI, will Mayo finally win one and all the while the Dubs will be quietly going about their business.

Less of a shīte I could give about McCann or Kerry for that matter. The real interest for me is can we stop AOS and who will win the battle between our half forwards and Mayo's half backs.

Probably the 2 best players in the country will be on display in AOS and Dermo.

I just hope the ref is completely anonymous but given how poor we've been refed so far this championship I'm not holding out much hope.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Like most social media, Twitter is good and bad but it all depends on how it's used.

It can keep these lads within touching distance of the ordinary fan which may be a massive thing for some younger fans who see their county's players as heroes and idolise them. My own nephew thinks it's the greatest thing ever that he can interact with some of the Donegal players as he sees them as superstars who belong on another planet.

It can also leave them open to abuse which is par for the course online. I've absolutely no idea what the lad was tweeting or retweeting but I'll take the other posters word that he did himself no favours with his tweets.

No more than the Meath keeper a few weeks ago (can't think of his name right now), it's very disingenuous to cry about getting abuse on Twitter if you yourself are no angel on it. I'm obv not defending physical threats or crap like that but standard trolling and abuse is all part of social media once you engage with it at all.

Like most social media, Twitter is good and bad but it all depends on how it's used.

It can keep these lads within touching distance of the ordinary fan which may be a massive thing for some younger fans who see their county's players as heroes and idolise them. My own nephew thinks it's the greatest thing ever that he can interact with some of the Donegal players as he sees them as superstars who belong on another planet.

It can also leave them open to abuse which is par for the course online. I've absolutely no idea what the lad was tweeting or retweeting but I'll take the other posters word that he did himself no favours with his tweets.

No more than the Meath keeper a few weeks ago (can't think of his name right now), it's very disingenuous to cry about getting abuse on Twitter if you yourself are no angel on it. I'm obv not defending physical threats or crap like that but standard trolling and abuse is all part of social media once you engage with it at all.

I'll be honest that last post of yours (I think) was the first I seen even suggesting he said anything untoward. Not by any means saying it didn't happen, just surprised I don't know if he did and exactly what it was. As you mentioned the Meath keeper, we al knew what he was saying because it was spread everywhere. Where's the retweets you would expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,799 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I'll be honest that last post of yours (I think) was the first I seen even suggesting he said anything untoward. Not by any means saying it didn't happen, just surprised I don't know if he did and exactly what it was. As you mentioned the Meath keeper, we al knew what he was saying because it was spread everywhere. Where's the retweets you would expect?

Wooly said on off the Ball this evening that he retweeted someone's joke about the incident that evening and that it was the sort of joke that wouldn't have indicated any sense of remorse if you know what I mean.

I didn't see it myself but I might dig around at some stage.

keane2097 wrote: »
      Wooly said on off the Ball this evening that he retweeted someone's joke about the incident that evening and that it was the sort of joke that wouldn't have indicated any sense of remorse if you know what I mean.

I didn't see it myself but I might dig around at some stage.

Wooly who I did like has been sticking the boot in mercilessly the last few days so I'd take that with a pinch of salt. Would be interested to hear though.

This is all I can find and it's going back to March relating to something in a United soccer match.

CMEHMUeWUAASh9q.jpg

If that's what they're referring to then I give up.

Wooly who I did like has been sticking the boot in mercilessly the last few days so I'd take that with a pinch of salt. Would be interested to hear though.

Ah come on, get those rose tinted glasses off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

So RTE, Today FM, Newstalk, the Indo, are all anti Tyrone, or is it that they just have an opposite opinion of Tyrones tactics, along with 90% plus of the rest of the country?

By the way Mickey Harte was interviewed on Newstalk tonight and hinted at media bias versus Tyrone.
      Peter Canavan was on Today FM earlier and seemed to imply that there would be legal proceedings over the supposed Donegal sledging incident.