Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Thanks again to everyone involved in todays lsr in the park. It was such a gorgeous morning and the miles passed very quickly with the chats. Pity I couldn't stay for coffee and cake but I had a 'little minions' party to get to… (yes, 15 children running around dressed as minions, wired with sugar).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Today's group LSR was the easiest long run I've ever done - time flew by while chatting away, I felt like we almost could have kept going for another 11.5 miles and get this bloody marathon out of the way ;) Thank to all for organising, showing up and hanging around for chats afterwards!

Myself and FeenaM were chatting about running books, so I said I'd share what I've read on the thread.

The Non-Runners Marathon Trainer:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Non-Runners-Marathon-Trainer-David-Whitsett/dp/1570281823

While the book covers the basics of novice marathon training, the interesting part is that it's based on the material covered in "The Marathon Class" in the University of Northern Iowa - 98% of people who took the class finished their marathon, and they all came from a very low base (running less than 5 miles). A lot of the book is spent covering the psychological aspects of getting through the training and race, but also how empowering and life changing running a marathon can be. The training plan itself is very easy, they tell you to not worry about time at all for your first marathon (d'oh!).

Advanced Marathoning:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Advanced-Marathoning-Peter-Pfitzinger/dp/0736074600

Mostly laughably inappropriate training material, but the science aspects are interesting. When I'm looking to go from sub-2.59 to sub-2.30 I'll be reading this ;)

Faster Road Racing:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Faster-Road-Racing-Peter-Pfitzinger/dp/1450470459

I bought this out of idle curiosity, thinking about training for a shorter distance after the marathon. Similar enough material to Advanced Marathoning at times, though I found it easier to read.

I tried to buy the Chi Running book, but the damn things aren't available on Kindle. I might have to go to a bookstore and buy a real book :mad: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Well done with all the LSR's yesterday. Got my 12 miles done yesterday morning - would have loved to join you in the park (sounded like a great run) but the other half was working so needed someone to mind the kids and didn't want to ask for longer than I needed. There have been gentle hints dropped that if the next organised run clashes with weekend work, some holidays could be taken haha.

Singer, thanks for those links. Just bought the Non-Runners book on the kindle which was nice and cheap! Looking forward to reading it.

Up since 6 to watch the ironman take off from Dun Laoghaire. Going to head in and watch the runners in the park. Body feeling much better today. Wonder if they'd notice me just hopping in and doing the IM half marathon route with them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Up since 6 to watch the ironman take off from Dun Laoghaire. Going to head in and watch the runners in the park. Body feeling much better today. Wonder if they'd notice me just hopping in and doing the IM half marathon route with them :p

What time are cyclists/ runners expected in the park ? Might head over now to cheer them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

For anyone watching Ironman :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

I'm in the PP too supporting my friends brother doing the iron man great atmosphere ....signs of what it might be like in Oct !!!! Cycled over legs felt fine after run yest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

LSR done at 9 am this morning after
    Meeting friends for dinner last night,
    Late night, so was expecting to feel
    Tired this morning.
    But 14.2 miles done avg 9.17, I know
    On high end of scale for LSR, miles
    Where comfortable & was able to chat
    All the way, splits where all within few
    Seconds of each other so consistent,
    On the up side, had watch set for 9.55
    Pace, so was surprised at split times
    When finished as running bud had mapped
    Out run with 4-5 miles of a drag uphill.
    Will make conscious effort to dial back
    Pace next week.
    Nice to meet all novices yesterday, thanks
    To PJD & Dubgal for making it all happen &
    Going smoothly.
    45 miles completed this week & still feeling
    Good after run today & looking forward to
    Weeks ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

While all ye dubs were having fun in the park yesterday on the nice leisurely jog, I went off plan to do the Streets of Galway 8k race. I don't do many running races, but this is a great event so I try to do it each year. The marathon plan this year had given me a great training build up to it, so my plan was go hard or go home:D (well, hard at my pace anyway).

Weather conditions weren't ideal here, it was very wet and windy before the start, although the rain then stopped, it was still windy. I was aiming for 36 mins, with my cunning plan being to follow the 35 min pacers for as long as possible (hoping this would be until 6km or so!) then see how I was feeling from there. The first 5km of the race would be mostly into the wind, but this is through the town so I hoped it wouldn't be too much of an issue, with the last 2.5-3k along Salthill Prom, which is flat, and a side/tail wind in our favour. I did a gentle 2.5 km warm up/stretch just to ease myself in!

So, started the race grand, just a bit behind the pacers but with them in sight all the time. Stuck with them until 4.5km, when a testy little hill seemed to affect my pace but not theirs!! I was disappointed to lose them so early, but I didn't let it affect me and just kept plowing on, knowing the water stop at 5k was the last of the inclines, and the wind would be in my favour shortly after that. On the Salthill Prom I could see the pacers in the distance and with the wind in my back I kept at a just above comfortable pace to the finish, coming over the line in 35.28, so not too far off the pacers in the end, and delighted with myself.

Split times were: Km1 - 4.13, Km2 - 4.20, km3 - 4.17, Km4 -4.21, Km5 - 4.33, Km6 - 4.42, Km 7 - 4.35, Km8 - 4.32. I'm happy enough with the consistency of these. Certainly at the finish line I had no more in the tank to give. What I love about this race is the support from the crowds all aorund the course, even in poor weather, and this is something I am really looking forward to in Dublin, the crowd can really motivate you to keep going when you feel crap.

I took my 9 y.o. for a 15k cycle this morning, which was a good way to just spin out the legs before foam rolling. 35k run this week and I'm happy to have done the race, but I will be looking forward to getting back on-program now with no more distractions until D-Day:D:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Week 2 of 12

Monday: 11.1 miles @8:32 MLR

Wednesday: 8.3 miles/4 miles @LT pace
    LT Splits
    6:56
    6:57
    6:59
    7:00

Saturday: 5 miles @9:21 Rec.

Sunday: 15 miles @8:36 LSR
    Splits:
    8:45
    9:07
    9:00
    9:02
    8:54
    8:42
    8:41
    8:26
    8:19
    8:15
    8:13
    8:12
    8:09
    Running is going well at the moment, long may this last:)
    I was at the Physio on Thursday for some maintenance, he concentrated on my calves which are a bit tight and he also highlighted a weakness in the muscles above my knee, so plenty of squatting going on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭araic88

I've only read some of the pages of this thread but it seems great :-)
    I'm a total newbie to marathon running and DCM will hopefully be my first!
    I'm up to 15 miles on my long run but keeping it a really handy pace. I'm not too worried about time, I'd just rather take it slowly & try to avoid injury. I literally just checked my watch a few times today & was happy that my second half was quicker than first. If I did that pace for the full thing I'd squeak in under 5 hours (most of ye would be nearly recovered at that stage ha) but I'm enjoying it and hope to continue to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Made up for the missed group run yesterday with 14miles this morning. Decided to run to the park and throw an eye over ironman Dublin while doing a lap of the park. Run was very enjoyable and kept a steady 10min mile. Difference in a week! No gel again.. I think I'll start getting them in from now on as the stomach growling!!

Was great seeing all the early guys and girls doing their last 13 miles as I plodded around.. Just thinking they had done their swim and nearly 100k on the bike and well into a half marathon by half 10..

So getting ahead of myself i want to do a triathlon next!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Really enjoyed yesterdays Novices LSR in the park. Got some great advice and the run has provided me with plenty of motivation. Great to hear what other people are doing. At some stage during the run we were chatting about "form" and I have just come across this James Dunne video which offers some realistic advice http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/how-much-do-you-really-need-to-improve-running-form/

Some quick questions-
    I'm hoping to increase my long run by a mile a week for the next few weeks (currently at 15) but I'm not sure should I be doing more during the week. I'm doing about 50mins of interval sprints, another 50mins of hills/sprints etc and an easy run of 4-5 miles. I'm not too worried about time for my first marathon (but would likeuto get in under 5hrs if possible) but should I try and increase my mileage a bit. I'd be inclined to leave it as it is to get as much recovery in between long runs but maybe that's just an excuse to stay on the couch ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Made up for the missed group run yesterday with 14miles this morning. Decided to run to the park and throw an eye over ironman Dublin while doing a lap of the park. Run was very enjoyable and kept a steady 10min mile. Difference in a week! No gel again.. I think I'll start getting them in from now on as the stomach growling!!

Was great seeing all the early guys and girls doing their last 13 miles as I plodded around.. Just thinking they had done their swim and nearly 100k on the bike and well into a half marathon by half 10..

So getting ahead of myself i want to do a triathlon next!!

Down with that sort of thing!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

i want to do a triathlon next!!

the dark side triathlon forum is thataway >>>>>>>>>>>>:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

araic88 wrote: »
    Some quick questions-
    I'm hoping to increase my long run by a mile a week for the next few weeks (currently at 15) but I'm not sure should I be doing more during the week. I'm doing about 50mins of interval sprints, another 50mins of hills/sprints etc and an easy run of 4-5 miles. I'm not too worried about time for my first marathon (but would likeuto get in under 5hrs if possible) but should I try and increase my mileage a bit. I'd be inclined to leave it as it is to get as much recovery in between long runs but maybe that's just an excuse to stay on the couch ;-)

Some of the more experienced runners will give you better advise than I can, but I think they'll say that your lsr is too big a proportion of your weekly mileage.

If you haven't filled in the questions in the OP already you should, as it will give Dubgal and her crew a better picture to base their advise off of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Some quick questions-
    Phoebas wrote: »
    Some of the more experienced runners will give you better advise than I can, but I think they'll say that your lsr is too big a proportion of your weekly mileage.

If you haven't filled in the questions in the OP already you should, as it will give Dubgal and her crew a better picture to base their advise off of.
    Hi araic88, welcome aboard (I'll take your first post as an 'in' :) ).
    Phoebas is right, the more info we have about your running background, how long you've been running, your weekly shedule,what plan you're following etc, the better placed we'll be to offer advice. It's a long long thread at this stage but I'll link to some of the more relevant posts as soon as we know *all* about you ;)

You'll find the questions we need you to answer at the end of the very first post on this thread. TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Firedance wrote: »
    the dark side triathlon forum is thataway >>>>>>>>>>>>:D

Ha... I'll have a look.. But only after October!

TheBazman wrote: »
    While I know the importance of doing your long runs slowly, for among other things avoiding injury, I'm wondering (given my own experience above) if I should just continue doing my long runs at a comfortable pace, whatever that may be?
    Hi The Bazman, i think both Clearlier and NE have given you spot-on advice.
    I would just like to calrify on the following post: are your mid week runs 1 minute slower than your planned marathon pace (PMP) or 10k race pace? Hopefully it's PMP....
    TheBazman wrote: »
    I hear you...I suppose I felt so demotivated after the last LSR that I felt it was the pace that was the problem and needed to do another long run where I felt fairly upbeat afterwards. I'll be aiming to slow it down again on the next one and hopefully feel okay afterwards.

I did a 10k race last Sunday and followed it up during the week with 3 x 10ks at around 1min/km slower than race pace so just need to extend it to the longer runs.
    Have had pains in my knees the last couple of days since my run on Thursday so didn't do my lsr today. Might see how they are tomorrow and just do a 10 miler or something. Hopefully its nothing too serious.

Sounds like the Phoenix Park run went well today. Hope you all enjoyed it.
    How's the knee pain today EK, did you attempt a run and if so, how did it go?
    JacEim wrote: »
    I had two beautiful bottles of cider when I got home, followed by a nice curry, toblerone cheesecake (made by yours truly) and 6 or 7 more bottles of cider!!!

18 holes of golf / walking around a golf course this morning surely counts as my recovery??
    Trip to get new runners tomorrow - urgent need at this stage!
    Well done everyone on Lsr's
    Ah that sounds like a perfect recovery all round :D:D Enjoy for now, the alcohol discussion starts in september ;)
    BobDylan wrote: »
    14 mile LSR done this morning. Nice weather here in Cork so enjoyed it.
    Anyone else finding that after all 7 weeks of "the plan" their pace is naturally slowing. No need to be told anymore Dubgal!
    Top o the class BD :)
    Singer wrote: »
    Today's group LSR was the easiest long run I've ever done - time flew by while chatting away, I felt like we almost could have kept going for another 11.5 miles and get this bloody marathon out of the way ;) Thank to all for organising, showing up and hanging around for chats afterwards!

Myself and FeenaM were chatting about running books, so I said I'd share what I've read on the thread.

The Non-Runners Marathon Trainer:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Non-Runners-Marathon-Trainer-David-Whitsett/dp/1570281823

While the book covers the basics of novice marathon training, the interesting part is that it's based on the material covered in "The Marathon Class" in the University of Northern Iowa - 98% of people who took the class finished their marathon, and they all came from a very low base (running less than 5 miles). A lot of the book is spent covering the psychological aspects of getting through the training and race, but also how empowering and life changing running a marathon can be. The training plan itself is very easy, they tell you to not worry about time at all for your first marathon (d'oh!).

Advanced Marathoning:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Advanced-Marathoning-Peter-Pfitzinger/dp/0736074600

Mostly laughably inappropriate training material, but the science aspects are interesting. When I'm looking to go from sub-2.59 to sub-2.30 I'll be reading this ;)

Faster Road Racing:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Faster-Road-Racing-Peter-Pfitzinger/dp/1450470459

I bought this out of idle curiosity, thinking about training for a shorter distance after the marathon. Similar enough material to Advanced Marathoning at times, though I found it easier to read.

I tried to buy the Chi Running book, but the damn things aren't available on Kindle. I might have to go to a bookstore and buy a real book :mad: :D
    I have the chi running book at home if you're stuck. Tbh, I found his writing style hard going but there are nuggets of common sense within. If you've a birthday/christmas etc coming up, you could also hint at a voucher towards a workshop run by no other than Caitriona McKiernan herself....
    How's that hip today missus and did you get out at all today? Any feedback from physio? Hope you had a glass of that bubbly for me :D
    ratracer wrote: »
    Weather conditions weren't ideal here, it was very wet and windy before the start, although the rain then stopped, it was still windy. I was aiming for 36 mins, with my cunning plan being to follow the 35 min pacers for as long as possible (hoping this would be until 6km or so!) then see how I was feeling from there. The first 5km of the race would be mostly into the wind, but this is through the town so I hoped it wouldn't be too much of an issue, with the last 2.5-3k along Salthill Prom, which is flat, and a side/tail wind in our favour. I did a gentle 2.5 km warm up/stretch just to ease myself in!

So, started the race grand, just a bit behind the pacers but with them in sight all the time. Stuck with them until 4.5km, when a testy little hill seemed to affect my pace but not theirs!! I was disappointed to lose them so early, but I didn't let it affect me and just kept plowing on, knowing the water stop at 5k was the last of the inclines, and the wind would be in my favour shortly after that. On the Salthill Prom I could see the pacers in the distance and with the wind in my back I kept at a just above comfortable pace to the finish, coming over the line in 35.28, so not too far off the pacers in the end, and delighted with myself.

Split times were: Km1 - 4.13, Km2 - 4.20, km3 - 4.17, Km4 -4.21, Km5 - 4.33, Km6 - 4.42, Km 7 - 4.35, Km8 - 4.32. I'm happy enough with the consistency of these. Certainly at the finish line I had no more in the tank to give. What I love about this race is the support from the crowds all aorund the course, even in poor weather, and this is something I am really looking forward to in Dublin, the crowd can really motivate you to keep going when you feel crap.

I took my 9 y.o. for a 15k cycle this morning, which was a good way to just spin out the legs before foam rolling. 35k run this week and I'm happy to have done the race, but I will be looking forward to getting back on-program now with no more distractions until D-Day:D:eek:
    Well done ratracer, good prep re wind direction etc too, always good to know where you'll be battling/need to tuck in along the course. Great time too. Thanks for the race report.
    And glad to see you've got the distractions out of your system ;)
    jake1970 wrote: »
    Week 2 of 12

Sunday: 15 miles @8:36 LSR
    Splits:
    8:45
    9:07
    9:02
    8:54
    8:42
    8:41
    8:26
    8:19
    8:15
    8:13
    8:09
    Running is going well at the moment, long may this last:)
    I was at the Physio on Thursday for some maintenance, he concentrated on my calves which are a bit tight and he also highlighted a weakness in the muscles above my knee, so plenty of squatting going on here.
    I don't think I really need to remind you, but try keep the first mile sloooooow as you ease into the run. Good run anyway and hopefully no ill after effects with the knee and calves.
    denis b wrote: »
    Really enjoyed yesterdays Novices LSR in the park. Got some great advice and the run has provided me with plenty of motivation. Great to hear what other people are doing. At some stage during the run we were chatting about "form" and I have just come across this James Dunne video which offers some realistic advice http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/how-much-do-you-really-need-to-improve-running-form/
    Great to meet you Denis. James Dunne is one to follow, I follow him/Kinetic revolution on FB and all sorts of interesting stuff pops up on my feed. Thanks for that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Hi Dubgal72 and all you fine people, last year I joined Ososlo's thread and by this time I think I was out of it again. I know its well into this years program but the training has been goin fairly well lately. Not wanting to let that go to waste and to try and push on, I'll throw my name in the hat here if its not too late.....

Heres me:
    I dont have a background in athletics really, I'm 44 and up to last year it was school cross country when I last ran. Last year though I joined C25k and have been at it since. No other sports, ever. Still am a skinnymalink and lucky didnt have any weight to loose.

I like doing races every now and again, have a 5k best of 20.44 May '15, 4 mile 28.56 Mar '15, 5 mile 34.10 May '15, 10 mile 79mins Feb '15.

Am currently only managing 3 days a week, was getting 4 days in up to end May but then changed job and its been impossible lately. No structure on it, am trying to do a long run at the weekends and then maybe an 8 miler and a 6 miler during the week. The LSR 2 wks ago was 17miles, last week 10miles, today 16miles. I dont do cross training.

What I want to achieve is finish a marathon under 4 hours, its not something I've been dreaming about, its just what I want to drive at, and get from myself.

I am brutal at structure and programs, but thats probably why I'm joining the group. I think I said more or less the same thing as that last year, but then injurys and niggles had me parked up for too long so I jumped ship.

Thanks for reading, Jim.

JMSE wrote: »
    Hi Dubgal72 and all you fine people, last year I joined Ososlo's thread and by this time I think I was out of it again. I know its well into this years program but the training has been goin fairly well lately. Not wanting to let that go to waste and to try and push on, I'll throw my name in the hat here if its not too late.....

Heres me:
    I dont have a background in athletics really, I'm 44 and up to last year it was school cross country when I last ran. Last year though I joined C25k and have been at it since. No other sports, ever. Still am a skinnymalink and lucky didnt have any weight to loose.

I like doing races every now and again, have a 5k best of 20.44 May '15, 4 mile 28.56 Mar '15, 5 mile 34.10 May '15, 10 mile 79mins Feb '15.

Am currently only managing 3 days a week, was getting 4 days in up to end May but then changed job and its been impossible lately. No structure on it, am trying to do a long run at the weekends and then maybe an 8 miler and a 6 miler during the week. The LSR 2 wks ago was 17miles, last week 10miles, today 16miles. I dont do cross training.

What I want to achieve is finish a marathon under 4 hours, its not something I've been dreaming about, its just what I want to drive at, and get from myself.

I am brutal at structure and programs, but thats probably why I'm joining the group. I think I said more or less the same thing as that last year, but then injurys and niggles had me parked up for too long so I jumped ship.

Thanks for reading, Jim.

Hi Jim/JMSE, your user name is definitely familiar, welcome back :)

Good to hear that training has been going well until May. No niggles or injuries this year?
    Your PBs show that you are stronger at the shorter distances which suggests that endurance could well be a weak spot for you this year.
    I see that you have only been able to manage three days per week for the last two months, be careful here as it seems that your lsr has on occasion been more than 50% of your weekly total, i.e., not desirable. Is there any way you could squeeze another day in to distribute the load more evenly? It will help you enormously in the long run (pathetic pun intended :) ).
    If you struggle with structure, by all means hop into the HHN1 or boards plan. If you can only manage three days, you would probably be best off on a modified HH plan. The boards plan (and HH) is scaffolded in such a way that you transition from one platform to the next in a set period, building in increments, and would be ideal for you if you can commit to another day's running per week.

Best of luck, and if you decide that the commitment to marathon training is too much this year, I think you will be setting the roads on fire before long at the shorter distances :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

Nice to read the LSR reports and sorry I missed the one in the Phoenix park. I've been running there all year but moved house down to Carlow town last weekend so I'm getting used to trying some new routes. My maps on Strava are becoming increasingly erratic, akin to a toddler scribbling, as I loop around the town and find some nice places to run. , The Barrow Trail along the banks of the river is the nicest place I've found so far but It's an out-and-back sort of run rather than a loop.
    I didn't get out as often this week due to the house move, unpacking and had to do last week's LSR on the Bank Holiday Monday which was Monday - 17 miles at 8.52 per mile
    Wednesday - 6 miles at 8.24 per mile
    Friday - 8.2 miles at 8.13 per mile (a little too fast)
    Sunday - 15.8 miles at 8.40 per mile

A good few miles but the Monday run belonged to last week really.

Before this morning's LSR which was a loop in Cork city I had a big bowl of porridge about 1 hour before leaving at 9am. I brought 700ml of water in a small running backpack with a small pack of Haribo jellies. I also brought 2 High 5 gels that I got from Lidl last week. I tried the for the first time on Monday's LSR in Carlow taking 2 - one after 10 miles and 1 at mile 15. I'm not sure what benefit they had but I didn't feel sick or have a dodgy stomach after taking them so that's something I suppose. For this morning's run I wasn't too pushed about taking the gels to be honest but I popped them in the bag anyway. It was a humid morning but with a nice breeze down near the harbour.
    I had a few of the jellies at mile 12 and decided against the gels. I'm going to try this for the next few LSRs if I can. The less I have to remember/worry about on the day the better. I also quite like Haribo. I forgot to bring my HRM with me to Cork but didn't feel under pressure except for two big enough hills in the last 2 miles and had even enough splits the whole way through.

I'm not sure if it's running related or not but over the last few weeks I've been craving sugary foods like never before. Chocolate, biscuits, any sort of badness. It's almost as strong as the cravings you'd have for a cigarette after giving up smoking. Skulking around the kitchen, guiltily concealing the fact I was stuffing my face with chocolate digestives from my inquisitive three year old daughter. 'It's just brown bread'. Her knowing face looking up at me almost sympathetically, then jealously, then conspiratorially. 'I like brown bread too Dada'.

It looks like a warmer week this week. Enjoy the running

Mob

Before this morning's LSR which was a loop in Cork city I had a big bowl of porridge about 1 hour before leaving at 9am. I brought 700ml of water in a small running backpack with a small pack of Haribo jellies. I also brought 2 High 5 gels that I got from Lidl last week. I tried the for the first time on Monday's LSR in Carlow taking 2 - one after 10 miles and 1 at mile 15. I'm not sure what benefit they had but I didn't feel sick or have a dodgy stomach after taking them so that's something I suppose. For this morning's run I wasn't too pushed about taking the gels to be honest but I popped them in the bag anyway. It was a humid morning but with a nice breeze down near the harbour.
    I had a few of the jellies at mile 12 and decided against the gels. I'm going to try this for the next few LSRs if I can. The less I have to remember/worry about on the day the better. I also quite like Haribo. I forgot to bring my HRM with me to Cork but didn't feel under pressure except for two big enough hills in the last 2 miles and had even enough splits the whole way through.

I'm not sure if it's running related or not but over the last few weeks I've been craving sugary foods like never before. Chocolate, biscuits, any sort of badness. It's almost as strong as the cravings you'd have for a cigarette after giving up smoking. Skulking around the kitchen, guiltily concealing the fact I was stuffing my face with chocolate digestives from my inquisitive three year old daughter. 'It's just brown bread'. Her knowing face looking up at me almost sympathetically, then jealously, then conspiratorially. 'I like brown bread too Dada'.

It looks like a warmer week this week. Enjoy the running

Mob

Hey mob, that's brilliant!! You do know that three year olds can smell chocolate from 50 paces?! Yeah, marathon training can bring out the sugar beast in you alright. Don't forget to knock back a glass of water before you hit the sin-bin, that will help...and of course try to refuel with a mix of carbs and protein within half an hour of a hard run/session. Especially after a long run, try to have something more substantial within an hour to hour and a half, if it's not dinner time, something like scrambled eggs. All of you, make friends with eggs, they were my best friend during marathon training.
    If you want to limit your attack on the biscuits/pretend to be healthy try a mashed banana, peanut butter and honey mixed together. You can spoon it from the bowl or put it on toast.

You are right about the fuelling, at this stage it is more about finding out what DOESN'T agree with you than what does.

Nice running btw, especially with a house move and travelling on the go :) Hope you've settled in nicely by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Love that paragraph, am there with you mfc, lost my self discipline since Easter Sunday, have a 3 year old too who just misses nothing :D

Thanks Dubgal, I hope you're wrong on the endurance :);) .
    My average pace for todays 15.83mls was 8mins 20secs. I did something today though I wont be doing again .... after 2 miles, I got to a 1 mile stretch where on shorter runs I like to go as fast as I can for that mile, and so not wanting to break the habit, I hit the gas. But that gas was definitely missing in the last 3 miles of the LSR and I struggled to keep running but did.

Average pace on my last 17 mile LSR two weeks back was 8.27 though so thats where I'm at. Its just my comfortable pace, can't do it much slower and I know I need to.

On my 2nd of 2 beers before I head to bed, (does anyone else find that the body can be a bit restless after a run and it can be harder to drop off and stay asleep?? hence the beer) and looking forward to the next run....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

:D:D:D

I've been attacking the kitchen and raiding the kids junk food press with increasing regularity. I've been trying to keep to nuts, bread with peanut butter or tahini with honey (satisfies both sugar and salt cravings), smoothies etc. with some success... but sometimes I'll eat something "good" then have "dessert" too :/
    On my 2nd of 2 beers before I head to bed, (does anyone else find that the body can be a bit restless after a run and it can be harder to drop off and stay asleep?? hence the beer) and looking forward to the next run....

I find if I'm not back from running before 10 I won't be asleep before midnight, it definitely takes me a good while to wind down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Mob

I'm the same. I have to force myself to stop. I literally boiled two eggs at 10:30pm last night to stop myself stuffing myself with Kimberly biscuits!

Thanks for the reply dubgal :-)

Feeling a little out of place, I was surprised to read you recommend being able to run 20 miles by June for the DCM but I'll not run away yet ;-)

About me:
    1.I did a small amount of running a few years ago and got back to it properly last Spring. I had never entered races before (had previously been a run/walker just to enjoy it. Last April I ran my first 5k race, in June my first 10k, in October first 10 mile and in December my first half marathon. So I'm pretty new to it! I've since done another half marathon & 10 mile race and the idea of a full marathon fascinates me.
    2.5k PB was 25.25 a few weeks ago, my second half marathon was quicker by 10 mins than my first, but still a super-slow (eh "steady") 2.17. I hope to get under 2.10 next month but had been ill before the last one so couldn't train as much as hoped.
    3.Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do) No usually not.
    4.How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    At the moment, a long run at the weekend (adding a mile a week for the next few weeks, then two half marathon races in September, aiming to get to 20-22 miles by end of September). Then 3 days during the week, an 'easy' one of about 5 miles, another of similar distance but focusing on sprints/intervals, and another incorporating hills. I do one 'cross training' day of spinning, walking or pilates but try to do some of the pilates exercises every day.
    5.How many days a week do you run only? 4 but think I should increase it to 5?
    6.What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Mostly just complete it un-injured and not horribly put off!! I was trying for a time in my first half and it was a disaster. I missed the time by loads and struggled the whole way. I'd be pleased with a time between 4.40 and 4.59 ;-)
    7.What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    Sounds ridiculous but what got me into running last year was the book "Run Fat Bitch! Run!" and I've modified the marathon plan in that a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭dintbo

I was surprised to read you recommend being able to run 20 miles by June for the DCM but I'll not run away yet ;-)

I could be picking this up wrong but I'm sure Dubgal meant 20 miles in a week, not in one run :eek: Maybe you realise that though!

Thanks Dubgal, I hope you're wrong on the endurance :);) .
    My average pace for todays 15.83mls was 8mins 20secs. I did something today though I wont be doing again .... after 2 miles, I got to a 1 mile stretch where on shorter runs I like to go as fast as I can for that mile, and so not wanting to break the habit, I hit the gas. But that gas was definitely missing in the last 3 miles of the LSR and I struggled to keep running but did.

Average pace on my last 17 mile LSR two weeks back was 8.27 though so thats where I'm at. Its just my comfortable pace, can't do it much slower and I know I need to.

Morning JMSE, I am definitely wired after a hard run at night. I had to do them quite a bit last year but have since been able to arrange my day so I can run earlier. I feel it catches up with you eventually, so try limit them to once or twice a week. Tom Joad, a poster here, gets up at 5:30am every morning to train :eek: He's a sub-38 10k man so he's doing something right :)

Ok, so you know you're doing your lsrs too fast. I hope the following links convince you that you need to slow down. I seriously think you'll blow up from mile 18 on marathon day if you don't slow down now and believe me, it won't be pretty. You'll have over 8 miles to go and every mile will feel like three. You really don't want that for your first marathon experience.

You're aiming for a sub-4 hour marathon (around 9m/mi pace) which means your lsrs should be between 9:45 and 10:30m/mi pace. You say 'you can't' go slower, but you can.
    Marathon training isn't about training fast to race fast. That = burnout. You won't recruit the slow twitch fibres Myles Splitz refers to and you're not graduallly extending your lactic threshold as the Hadd article discusses. The Hadd article is linked to in Clearlier's post. Please read it, it makes so much sense. It's long but is really accessible.

Marathon training is all about discipline and if you apply that discipline to slow down in training, you will succeed. It's that simple. (Counter-intuitive I know, but still simple ;) )

Clearlier pacing post

SLOWING DOWN MYLES SPLITZ

Runners world article

And finally

Yaboya on slow running and speed