Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Oh well that'd be ideal for me then if you're sure.

No prob what distance are you on tomorrow ?

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    No prob what distance are you on tomorrow ?

I'm that really awkward one who runs for time not miles but 12 miles should be around right!!!

I should probable actually get some sleep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Enjoy the run tomorrow folks. Sorry I can't make it anymore (stupid PF) to help out. Have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Have fun in the Park tomorrow, I hope to get up there running again before D-day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Hi from Sweden!

I haven't been running yet but we're doing an insane amount of walking (5 hours yesterday!) so the legs are still feeling the miles! I''m having a blast though! :D

Enjoy the run in the park today! I look forward to reading all about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Hi from Sweden!

I haven't been running yet but we're doing an insane amount of walking (5 hours yesterday!) so the legs are still feeling the miles! I''m having a blast though! :D

Enjoy the run in the park today! I look forward to reading all about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

I should be finishing my lsr around 9:30 in the Phx Pk. Might see some of you as I finish up. I'll be the red faced sweaty guy (in the blue race series half marathon tshirt) hobbling around😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Enjoy the hols TFGR!

See ya later Yoda!

I dunno what kind of pull you have with the weather gods PJD but if you could see your way to having a word about Electric Picnic weekend I'd really appreciate it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

I started a bit later than planned, then got a bit lost (surprise surprise!) on my lsr & ended up running 20k. As a result, I didn't get back to the tea rooms till 9:52, so must have missed you all. I couldn't see anybody around. Hope it went well for everybody.

That was my longest ever training run. I really enjoyed it, but could begin to feel the legs tire towards the end. It was also getting warm as I was finishing up, so I'm kind of glad I did go out early.

I used the Lidl bottle belt for the first time. Best €7 I've spent on running gear. I had an isotonic drink in one and water in the other. Aside from the splashing noise, I forgot I was wearing it. Only downside is that the bottles are probably too small. Still, I was glad of them towards the end of the run.

I averaged 5:47/km, which I know is probably still a bit too fast. Having said that, at that pace, I was able to talk to myself (quite a bit as it happens!) during the run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

14mile LSR completed this morning, started at almost 9am on the button. Ran from Tralee to home with a mate from my running club. It was nice to do a LSR with company for a change and we just talked away for the whole run.

Total time running: 2:15:32
    Distance: 14.05miles
    Avg pace: 9:39min/mi
    Avg heart rate: 156bpm
    Splits:
    10:10
    9:50
    9:13
    9:45
    9:42
    9:36
    9:24
    9:24
    9:32
    9:29
    9:35
    9:57
    9:40
    9:47

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    I started a bit later than planned, then got a bit lost (surprise surprise!) on my lsr & ended up running 20k. As a result, I didn't get back to the tea rooms till 9:52, so must have missed you all. I couldn't see anybody around. Hope it went well for everybody.

That was my longest ever training run. I really enjoyed it, but could begin to feel the legs tire towards the end. It was also getting warm as I was finishing up, so I'm kind of glad I did go out early.

I used the Lidl bottle belt for the first time. Best €7 I've spent on running gear. I had an isotonic drink in one and water in the other. Aside from the splashing noise, I forgot I was wearing it. Only downside is that the bottles are probably too small. Still, I was glad of them towards the end of the run.

I averaged 5:47/km, which I know is probably still a bit too fast. Having said that, at that pace, I was able to talk to myself (quite a bit as it happens!) during the run.

I used mine too for the first time, at the start I was thinking that it was'nt for me the noise of the water swishing was a bit off putting but a few miles in I hardly noticed it I would agree they are a bit small but a bargain for sure.

12miles done by 9.30am nice slow pace averaged 11-11.30mm sometimes I think I can't see myself going much faster than this on D day..? took a gel at 6miles (not as bad tasting as I thought) all fine for few miles then at 10miles tummy felt a bit queer... lets say I was glad I was on the home stretch at that stage. I still feel a bit off so not sure if it was the gel or something else. I will have to experiment a bit more with the gels

I hope u all enjoyed your run today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Did you take water with the gel? Apparently, you need to. I just stick to jelly tots. Much nicer :)

I ran 'naked' as such today - only had the mileage visible on the watch - started off slowly, but finished on an average of 11:55/mile, which was fine, and a bit more comfortable than last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Depending on the brand of gel you take; I use high 5 brand. On the bike I'd use their normal gels while I have plenty of water with me. When running I use their isogel which is much more diluted and can be taken without water.

Had a lovely morning with the other novices, and some not so novices!!!

Unfortunately after mile 5 my hip started to give me hassle and I had to walk. I'm home now and my lower back is killing me too.

I'm hoping it was because I was at physio last night and I ran too soon, if that's the case, I'll happily treat today as a short easy run and try my 12 miles again tomorrow (evening, because wine).

Well done to everyone today! Was brilliant to meet ye, hopefully we'll do it again in a few weeks and I'll have a more successful time of it. Not writing this weekend off just yet :)

Big shout out to Dubgal for putting up with me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Hey folks, hope the park runs went well this morning. Sorry I wasn't able to make it but wasn't feeling well.. Having a couch day today. Will get the miles in tomorrow on my lonesome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Great run in the park today. Thanks to those who organised. Big shout out to Denis who paced us very well for the 14 miles. Declan I hope you got that Mr.Whippy ice cream in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

So two weeks ago I did a 25k LSR and deliberately set off to do it in a nice slow pace. Conditions weren't fantastic but I struggled the whole way. My PMP is 5.30-5.40 /km and finished the run just under 6 min average. What was discouraging was that I was slowing aggressively and every km felt like 5. I can safely say it was the most tortuous run I have ever done.

Anyway today I said I'd run at a pace that I felt comfortable with...be it fast or slow. Needless to say it was a good bit faster. The strange thing is that I felt really good, and even ended up adding on a little bit for a total of 28k.

Average pace was 5.22/km, for a total running time of 2h30mins.

While I know the importance of doing your long runs slowly, for among other things avoiding injury, I'm wondering (given my own experience above) if I should just continue doing my long runs at a comfortable pace, whatever that may be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Have had pains in my knees the last couple of days since my run on Thursday so didn't do my lsr today. Might see how they are tomorrow and just do a 10 miler or something. Hopefully its nothing too serious.

Sounds like the Phoenix Park run went well today. Hope you all enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Had a lovely morning with the other novices, and some not so novices!!!

Unfortunately after mile 5 my hip started to give me hassle and I had to walk. I'm home now and my lower back is killing me too.

I'm hoping it was because I was at physio last night and I ran too soon, if that's the case, I'll happily treat today as a short easy run and try my 12 miles again tomorrow (evening, because wine).

Well done to everyone today! Was brilliant to meet ye, hopefully we'll do it again in a few weeks and I'll have a more successful time of it. Not writing this weekend off just yet :)

Big shout out to Dubgal for putting up with me :)

Hope you'll feel better tomorrow.

Was lovely to meet ye all, I look forward to meeting up again. The 12 miles flew! (and the extra .5 mile around the carpark!! :))

Thanks again to PJD and Dubgal for making it happen.

Was hoping to have deserved this a lot more than I do but feck it. We'll call it medicinal.

Cheers everyone ;)

11865323_10153628538045984_8852256440412379192_o.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

TheBazman wrote: »
    So two weeks ago I did a 25k LSR and deliberately set off to do it in a nice slow pace. Conditions weren't fantastic but I struggled the whole way. My PMP is 5.30-5.40 /km and finished the run just under 6 min average. What was discouraging was that I was slowing aggressively and every km felt like 5. I can safely say it was the most tortuous run I have ever done.

Anyway today I said I'd run at a pace that I felt comfortable with...be it fast or slow. Needless to say it was a good bit faster. The strange thing is that I felt really good, and even ended up adding on a little bit for a total of 28k.

Average pace was 5.22/km, for a total running time of 2h30mins.

While I know the importance of doing your long runs slowly, for among other things avoiding injury, I'm wondering (given my own experience above) if I should just continue doing my long runs at a comfortable pace, whatever that may be?

Unless you've got a lot fitter since you ran the 5 mile race then an average pace of 5:22 is just too quick and you're not training your muscle fibres like you need to. Ifyou keep training at this pace you will probably blow up at about the 20 mile mark in DCM.

Clearlier wrote: »
    Unless you've got a lot fitter since you ran the 5 mile race then an average pace of 5:22 is just too quick and you're not training your muscle fibres like you need to. Ifyou keep training at this pace you will probably blow up at about the 20 mile mark in DCM.

I hear you...I suppose I felt so demotivated after the last LSR that I felt it was the pace that was the problem and needed to do another long run where I felt fairly upbeat afterwards. I'll be aiming to slow it down again on the next one and hopefully feel okay afterwards.

I did a 10k race last Sunday and followed it up during the week with 3 x 10ks at around 1min/km slower than race pace so just need to extend it to the longer runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

14 miles LSR done, thanks so much to PJD for organising and Dubgal for keeping us company in the PP today for the first boardies outing, lovely to meet everyone thanks to Toulouse,PJD, Dubgal, Woopsa, and KennyG for making the miles slip away so quickly. First time ever to do 14 miles so really chuffed with myself. Whoopsa hope you are feeling better tomorrow for your LSR enjoy that glass of processo looks very tempting. Was a lovely morning and felt quiet the professional amongst all the runners in the park this morning have never run in the PP other than race day so was a welcome change of scenery will deffo do again. Enjoy the weekend everyone, enjoyed the coffee afterwards thanks for the cake KennyG !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

We have 17 people staying with us this weekend so replanned my long run from Sunday to last night. Had spent the day yesterday cooking food for the weekend and stocking my beer fridge (so was at least looking forward to enjoying the food and beer afterwards!!!)

Planned run was 14 miles- my longest yet ever. Was a beautiful evening and very warm in the sun. I haven't brought a drink with me on my runs as I felt as if I haven't needed it so far, however today I brought a high 5 Isogel to see how it reacted in my tummy.
    Started the run and breathing was very good, however after about a mile the legs started to feel very heavy. Pacing was about 8.45 and after a couple of miles I started to realise that the feet were also sore. Started to ease after a while, but still didn't feel 100%...
    Got to 7 miles in 60:32 and it gave me a lift that my pacing was still good despite the tired legs. For the second half I said that I would put in a negative split, that the running with tired legs would help me for the future. Had my Isogel at 11 miles and it definitely gave me a boost, it went down easily enough and no impact on the tummy. Finished the 14 miles in 1:59:30 and did an extra 1/2 mile to get home (including a 7:50 last mile..)

I had two beautiful bottles of cider when I got home, followed by a nice curry, toblerone cheesecake (made by yours truly) and 6 or 7 more bottles of cider!!!

18 holes of golf / walking around a golf course this morning surely counts as my recovery??
    Trip to get new runners tomorrow - urgent need at this stage!
    Well done everyone on Lsr's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 BobDylan

14 mile LSR done this morning. Nice weather here in Cork so enjoyed it.
    Anyone else finding that after all 7 weeks of "the plan" their pace is naturally slowing. No need to be told anymore Dubgal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

chrislad wrote: »
    Did you take water with the gel? Apparently, you need to. I just stick to jelly tots. Much nicer :)

I ran 'naked' as such today - only had the mileage visible on the watch - started off slowly, but finished on an average of 11:55/mile, which was fine, and a bit more comfortable than last week.

I drank about 100ml of water it was a high5 not an isogel I will give these a try next time thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Here's a cut and paste jobbie, please tell me I haven't forgotten anyone?! Thanks again to Denis and PJD for guiding, and PJD for putting this together. It was a great way to spend a few hours and I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all. You are now all my favourites and will be getting special attention Ooops, just been told i'm not allowed say that :mad: :pac: :p

Sat
    AM 5 miles or just over, easy pace
    Lsr with novices in PP planned. Excited about this. I have met Singer and Mrs Mc (briefly) and was pretty sure I'd recognise FBOT01 after the run (the whip he cracks over Mrs FBOT01 was sure to give him away ).
    Whoopsadaisydoodles very kindly met me in her gorgeous red car...you know, the kind you have to practice getting in and out of with any kind of grace....I need lots of practice We were in loads of time...until we were sent all around the world to find the Visitors Centre with a vague 'drive down around there, park up and walk across....' *rollseyes*

So, we arrived to see a healthy looking (numbers wise) circle of runners (also healthy looking ), Singer included so I knew we had found the right group (Denis, King Mambo, Mrs Mc PJD, lurker Declan, Toulouse, wolfyboy555, FeenaM and Singer. We divided ourselves into two groups, discussed the route, (PJD to lead #1 and Denis to lead #2) and off we went.
    It was a gorgeous morning, a bit ominous really as we knew it would only get hotter as we warmed up. Group #2 headed off on their route soon enough with dire warnings of the consequences of going too fast ringing in their ears.....not me, I swear
    Our group of myself, whoopsie, Mrs Mc, Toulouse and PJD settled down nicely and chatted away the first few miles until we left the park. At this stage, whoopsie's hip started to spasm and despite stretching, walking etc it did not want to run so we let Mrs Mc, Toulouse and PJD carry on while we walked back across to the café. We spotted some young deer in the woods and had a good chat so really well worth it.*

Back at the ranch we queued for coffee and cake (starving, chatting is hungry work ) to see FBOT01 and yaboya1 sipping lattes and chewing the cud. Not long after, Adrian arrived after completing his 90 mins (90, Adrian, ahem?!). It took a while for the two groups to come bouncing in (a good thing really, if they had come through any earlier I would have had to glower and look generally fierce etc ). They all seemed happy with the run and did some cursory (clocked ;) ) stretching on the grass while chowing down some café goodies.

More chat and what a cool group of novices we have. Kennyg also turned up at this stage so it was great to put a face to his name too. It was really lovely to meet you all today, well done and thank you PJD for putting this together!

*I also *volunteered* to be dropped off in Ringsend on the way home and got my lsr in that way :rolleyes:

Beep beep

11825556_10153629200335984_3239841764037934877_n.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&oh=3e0bb546c94d70a094b4731166b93b87&oe=56372124&__gda__=1451125353_aed2c59d08087b377d220760884b21c8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

TheBazman wrote: »
    I hear you...I suppose I felt so demotivated after the last LSR that I felt it was the pace that was the problem and needed to do another long run where I felt fairly upbeat afterwards. I'll be aiming to slow it down again on the next one and hopefully feel okay afterwards.

I did a 10k race last Sunday and followed it up during the week with 3 x 10ks at around 1min/km slower than race pace so just need to extend it to the longer runs.

I think the important thing to remember is that you will have terrible runs, great runs and everything in between when marathon training and try not to let them get to you and make rash decisions based on how you felt the run went. I had long runs last year where I averaged 8:20+ a mile in training and my goal marathon pace was 6:50. somedays you will feel tired and it's ok if the pace is slower than target as your body is trying to tell you something, it's just sayin I'm not in the form today so take it easy on me. I feel one of the biggest mistakes marathon novices and even experienced runners make is thinking that they have to catchup after a poor or missed run, trying to play catchup and running more and/or harder usually leads to more poor runs down the road. Today's run will have been of no more benefit to you really than a normally paced long run but would have added a lot of unnecessary fatigue.

Don't panic after a bad run, everyone has them.

I think the important thing to remember is that you will have terrible runs, great runs and everything in between when marathon training and try not to let them get to you and make rash decisions based on how you felt the run went. I had long runs last year where I averaged 8:20+ a mile in training and my goal marathon pace was 6:50. somedays you will feel tired and it's ok if the pace is slower than target as your body is trying to tell you something, it's just sayin I'm not in the form today so take it easy on me. I feel one of the biggest mistakes marathon novices and even experienced runners make is thinking that they have to catchup after a poor or missed run, trying to play catchup and running more and/or harder usually leads to more poor runs down the road. Today's run will have been of no more benefit to you really than a normally paced long run but would have added a lot of unnecessary fatigue.

Don't panic after a bad run, everyone has them.
    Cheers - good advice.