Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

If we are to move forward the right thing to do is appoint John Cleary as manager everybody knows that he is the right man to take over now ...I just hope the CCB don't f... this up now .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Lol. Imagine a teacher more interested in culture than sport! Sack the clown. What the hell does he think schools are for anyway?
    Schools are meant to be diverse, a bit of balance does no harm. Not everyone in the school is mad for 'culture'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Lol. Imagine a teacher more interested in culture than sport! Sack the clown. What the hell does he think schools are for anyway?

Yeah - a lot of good Irish Culture is to a young lad and he going for a job in the bank. Tis no wonder the GAA is gone pear shaped in Cork.

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    If we are to move forward the right thing to do is appoint John Cleary as manager everybody knows that he is the right man to take over now ...I just hope the CCB don't f... this up now .

Does a bear **** in the woods ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

He thinks kids are better served doing quizzes, nature walks etc. Worst thing ever to hit the school. He never picked up a hurley or kicked a football in his life. The sooner he ****s off the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yeah - a lot of good Irish Culture is to a young lad and he going for a job in the bank. Tis no wonder the GAA is gone pear shaped in Cork.

God forbid he ever aspire to being something else....a doctor, a scientist, or an engineer, thanks to all those A's in biology, maths, history etc he got in school, from being force fed all that culture stuff, or having to learn stuff out of pesky books. Oh the horror ! :rolleyes:
    Smith614 wrote: »
    He thinks kids are better served doing quizzes, nature walks etc. Worst thing ever to hit the school. He never picked up a hurley or kicked a football in his life. The sooner he ****s off the better.

Children go to school to get an education, not to learn how to hurl. I'm all for P.E being a part of school curriculum, but saying that class time should be given over to it, is going too far. There is a lot more to life than playing sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Surely the parents, management committee etc have a say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

ProudDUB wrote: »
    God forbid he ever aspire to being something else....a doctor, a scientist, or an engineer, thanks to all those A's in biology, maths, history etc he got in school, from being force fed all that culture stuff, or having to learn stuff out of pesky books. Oh the horror ! :rolleyes:

Children go to school to get an education, not to learn how to hurl. I'm all for P.E being a part of school curriculum, but saying that class time should be given over to it, is going too far. There is a lot more to life than playing sports.

Surely sport/PE should form part of the actual curriculum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Surely sport/PE should form part of the actual curriculum?

Yeah & if it does, that's fine...a set time period for it...just as there should be for other non academic stuff...the school choir, the school play, field trips to the zoo or museums or whatever. They are all part of a well rounded education.

The issue is with taking a child out of class time that is already set aside for the academic stuff & letting him go off & play or train with a sports team, when he should be concentrating on what will get him/her a decent Leaving Cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ladies football 1/4 final v Galway confirmed for the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick Aug 15 at 6pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Yeah & if it does, that's fine...a set time period for it...just as there should be for other non academic stuff...the school choir, the school play, field trips to the zoo or museums or whatever. They are all part of a well rounded education.

The issue is with taking a child out of class time that is already set aside for the academic stuff & letting him go off & play or train with a sports team, when he should be concentrating on what will get him/her a decent Leaving Cert.

You are a rock of sense. No one mentioned anything about interfering with school curriculum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

I see your a fully signed up member to the PC brigade. :D

There was a principal in a Cork primary girls ( and I'm not going to name any names or the school) school recently that thought girls were not particularly serviced by spending time playing Sports in general. Meantime the nearby boys school were sports mad.

The girls school is very good as is the boys school academically and in terms of all the other activities, e.g. music, culture, science activities, debating, quiz's, you name it they're doing it but little or no sports in the girls school.

I'm relatively new to both schools but I went to all the various parents meetings and there loads of parents giving out that it was sexist !!! that there was practically no sports in the girls school. :D :P

Anyway very long story short the 'anti-sports' principal ( and I think it is fair to call this principal anti-sports in this instance) is gone and a new male principal is in who has a "balanced" approach and the girls like a flick of a switch the girls are playing a load of sports. There is no pressure on them at the same time, but it's there in a proper way if they want it.

My personal opinion is that for fitness and well being as much as anything boys and girls should be playing sports away and of course we have the Cork ladies who are winning All-Irelands at a fantastic level.

I think the bias of the principal has a huge impact on what is going on is the schools. It certainly had a huge impact in this actual instance. It is a complicated topic and of course the minute you open your mouth you're immediately in danger labeled a "sexist" ( as the vast majority of primary school teachers are female - I think it's in the range of 80%/90%) so it was very interesting to see how that one panned out. Basically a lot of the people doing the considerable complaining about the setup were the women. The hand that rocks the cradle.

Also, in general to have sports the staff in general in schools teachers may be asked to provide some "unpaid" time which they may or may not be willing to do, at the end of the Day it's their choice. If there is no traditional of that being provided it will of course create a blocker in terms of it being provided but I think the teachers that do it, get it back in spades in terms of their relationships with the children and the parents but each to their own at the end of the Day.

So basically I agree with the caveat that I think there needs to be a balance, particularly in schools. At the end of the Day it's all just common sense really.

It is as much for this very complicated topic as much as any other that I think Cork GAA should appoint a Football and a Hurling development officer who could liaise with schools/government to deal with items like this as they arise where sports are gone to wreck and ruin in various schools around Cork and particularly in Cork City for whatever reason. But by Christ you'd have to be one tough cookie to take it on I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

I'd agree with you 100% about the Leaving cert, there can be too much pressure applied regarding sports.

I remember when I was in Christ Ri many moons ago one of the first team dropped off the football team to concentrate on his leaving cert and there was blue murder. The parents were called in and there was all sorts of stuff going on but the young fellow stuck to his guns, but looking back clearly that situation was not on, in terms of what should be happening.

I think there is considerably discussion going on in the GAA at the moment to make minor U17, which would take the Leaving cert out of the equation for them at least.

Your leaving cert is massive so more that any other Year you should not be put under pressure albeit l'm sure it all still goes on in the successful sporting schools. Again I think balance is the key.

At the end of the Day the GAA is an amateur sport and only the top .01% will make a living out of it via other work opportunities that come their way if they are very successful and dedicated.

Best of luck to the Intermediates this evening. Any silverware is welcome at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 GSXR_GUY

youngbob wrote: »
    How does Darren O Driscoll qualify to play when he played senior for club last week. Was he not playing for Carrigtwohill seniors last year?

He didn't play senior last year

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,015 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Despite drawing 0-09 each at ht, we were well beaten in the second half.
    Ft Cork 0-14 v Galway 0-23

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Despite drawing 0-09 each at ht, we were well beaten in the second half.
    Ft Cork 0-14 v Galway 0-23

HT was the only time we got level, never led. Disappointing game but I don't think much was expected at the start of the championship with a new team so credit to them for winning Munster. Heard on the radio on the way home that we have only done back to back once, so these lads deserve a lot of credit for getting to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Only our great womens and camogie teams can win All Irelands now.2015 has been the worst year on record for all of our intercounty teams at all grades and codes since 1962.That's some legacy for Frank and the county board and god help us with the spiraling costs of the monument.Cork GAA needs help.We are in a very bad place right now.The club members need to make their voices heard.This is our heritage, our pride and our passion were talking about here.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Better team won and in truth won well

Galway are coached by senior management and it was their b team in trained with senior

I'm still doubtful regards dwayne tactics while not doubting he's commitment but I said year two year judge as year one always huge ask and they got all ireland with a new team so done good however I certainly wouldn't be having him minor set up based on this as would need to convince more tactics wise but deserves credit for team getting final with new team and Cork panel never gave up and credit management players that

Cork correctly played a sweeper Collins but should started meade and indeed Ciarán o brien
    The sweeper was right call but with wind cork should been more attacking but sweeper has be practiced more all cork team as Cork can play orthodox but new system takes time

There's few should be looked at for the seniors in Leahy won lot ball three points and Murphy looks strong won lot ball superb season club county

O Neill also
    Darren driscoll showed good but like him and those and last year lads dennehy Spillane brother Cronin sullivan and o brien should be looked at next year at senior in trial games

Good year in won munster and got final new team but another loss cork hurling but truth be told Galway were always favourite with lot former senior and under twenty one lads and Cork always had tough ask

Leahy looks good prospect but needs coaching see like other can he progress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Another Cork loss, christ I didn't think things could get any worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Think Denis Walsh should get the senior football job. Doing great with Ballygunner. Be right candidate for taking the footballers to a higher level.

He with great respect to he's management hardly made such a wonderful job of the hurlers and st Catherine yes it would make great sense to give him the senior football job
    He's done nothing of note yet with Ballygunner, unless I'm mistaken he hasn't won a county championship yet even
    He imo would need to win a munster club before he'd be even imo deserving to be considered as the bottom line is there's around five better candidates and whether they would win an all ireland yes remains to be seen but there management record are by far superior to Walsh management

Now just to be clear crystal clear no way am I doubting he's management commitment passion etc or doubting he's greatness cork football hurling jersey as a player
    He was good in those but this is management of a senior elite inter county team were talking about
    A lot to prove
    Jbm had he's tactics limitations but less panel than Walsh but done way better
    Cork were dreadful under him bar yes the one of false dawns win v tipp when they had no interest
    Cork were destroyed by kk and Galway under him and lost a munster final
    No way should he be the next senior football manager
    Cork football has already lost huge ground the last two years it can't do another two years to kerry etc
    Walsh was with waterford football didn't do much and kiely and English managed get them ist munster win years with limited resources v clare

He with great respect to he's management hardly made such a wonderful job of the hurlers and st Catherine yes it would make great sense to give him the senior football job
    He's done nothing of note yet with Ballygunner, unless I'm mistaken he hasn't won a county championship yet even
    He imo would need to win a munster club before he'd be even imo deserving to be considered as the bottom line is there's around five better candidates and whether they would win an all ireland yes remains to be seen but there management record are by far superior to Walsh management

Now just to be clear crystal clear no way am I doubting he's management commitment passion etc or doubting he's greatness cork football hurling jersey as a player
    He was good in those but this is management of a senior elite inter county team were talking about
    A lot to prove
    Jbm had he's tactics limitations but less panel than Walsh but done way better
    Cork were dreadful under him bar yes the one of false dawns win v tipp when they had no interest
    Cork were destroyed by kk and Galway under him and lost a munster final
    No way should he be the next senior football manager
    Cork football has already lost huge ground the last two years it can't do another two years to kerry etc
    Walsh was with waterford football didn't do much and kiely and English managed get them ist munster win years with limited resources v clare
    The next CB meeting is on Tues Week (18th Aug) and I suppose they'll decide on a method to pick the football manager. John Corcoran suggested a bigger committee with 3 ex managers/players included with executie mems and delegates (might be a bit unwieldly)

Assuming they stick with the exisiting method (Sec, Chair, V Chair & 3 delegates) - You would hope that the Nemo and Castlehaven Delegates go for the committee as they have direct access to a few players. Nobody was bothered who went for it last time and as it was a controversial decision/process -maybe there won't be rush now either.

Lane and Kennedy will pick the best man - Would Frank be reluctant to pick Cleary as if he was successful, he's show him up - Is Frank that Machieavellian or does he care what anyone thinks ? Let's hope some of the club delegates are better prepared than last time.

Only our great womens and camogie teams can win All Irelands now.2015 has been the worst year on record for all of our intercounty teams at all grades and codes since 1962.That's some legacy for Frank and the county board and god help us with the spiraling costs of the monument.Cork GAA needs help.We are in a very bad place right now.The club members need to make their voices heard.This is our heritage, our pride and our passion were talking about here.

Do we need more GDA's ? We have 7 and Dublin have 50 - but the clubs in Dublin cover half the wages. Our clubs couldn't possible afford any extra costs.

We have a GDA for every 30 or so schools - Kerry have a GDA for every 8 or so. And we're dual, allegedly. AFAIK KK don't have many GDA's but ex players do a lot of voluntary work with development squads. They try to get teachers who've hurled at top level too - is that working for them ?

Kevin O Donovan has got a few ex footballers working (Derek Kavenagh, Canty, Counihan etc) and he's now talking to some of the O Grady/Allen teams.

We need a new stadium, a centre of excellence and more GDA's - we can afford only the stadium, it seems.

Friends of Tyrone raise £500k pa - but we'll never get people to dig deep or even support a draw in good numbers as long as Frank is there. Too much water under the bridge with that man in charge. The dogs in the street blame the Don for the malaise. Maybe we can't blame him for everything but if a corporation is failing dismally then the CEO usually walks the plank.

Cork has massive problems but massive potential - solutions and realisation of potential cannot be maxed out until Frank is gone IMO - maybe Kevin O Donovan thinks otherwise and I'm a glass half empty man ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

You are having a laugh right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,015 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Ah Stopitwillya

Amprodude wrote: »
    You are having a laugh right?

I bust my hole laughing this week in fella texted radio saying Cork should get pat Spillane

Unbelievable the logic some apply

Christ above kerry didn't even want him under twenty job and rightly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

The next CB meeting is on Tues Week (18th Aug) and I suppose they'll decide on a method to pick the football manager. John Corcoran suggested a bigger committee with 3 ex managers/players included with executie mems and delegates (might be a bit unwieldly)

Assuming they stick with the exisiting method (Sec, Chair, V Chair & 3 delegates) - You would hope that the Nemo and Castlehaven Delegates go for the committee as they have direct access to a few players. Nobody was bothered who went for it last time and as it was a controversial decision/process -maybe there won't be rush now either.

Lane and Kennedy will pick the best man - Would Frank be reluctant to pick Cleary as if he was successful, he's show him up - Is Frank that Machieavellian or does he care what anyone thinks ? Let's hope some of the club delegates are better prepared than last time.

Are these people not on the executive with the great kevin o Donovan who put out that outrageous statement during the week? have any of them gone against it? NO, why is there an assumption that they are differnet in any way to frank, pearse or bob?? people are being very naïve if they think the ccb have or are going to change in any way, ffs this same executive is still looking at putting out a statement attacking cusack........come on gary, the manager will be picked based on the old system of 3 members of the executive and 3 men from hurling clubs, as far as I know cleary is very reluctant to go forward based on 2 years ago and the fact that cork are not willing to spend the money ala other counties for essential training camps etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

sean mac wrote: »
    Are these people not on the executive with the great kevin o Donovan who put out that outrageous statement during the week? have any of them gone against it? NO, why is there an assumption that they are differnet in any way to frank, pearse or bob?? people are being very naïve if they think the ccb have or are going to change in any way, ffs this same executive is still looking at putting out a statement attacking cusack........come on gary, the manager will be picked based on the old system of 3 members of the executive and 3 men from hurling clubs, as far as I know cleary is very reluctant to go forward based on 2 years ago and the fact that cork are not willing to spend the money ala other counties for essential training camps etc

Agree with all of the above. Like others here I had a lot of faith in the likes of Kennedy and lane and thought they might be the ones to bring something different. That hair brained statement issued on behalf of the ccb has definitely dented my hope and faith in them. I've seen or heard nothing to suggest that there's any meaningful change in the offing. Here's hoping I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I think that statement could have caused a fair rift in the executive if I'm honest, feels like a rogue member of the executive, or even Frank himself putting that statement out. Lane had already commentated on Cuthbert's statement, so there was no need for it, and it was embarrassing, as well as degrading to Fermanagh

CDA job available on the website